Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 300 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

300 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

300 reviews | 4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
133
4 stars
104
3 stars
27
2 stars
16
1 stars
20
1-20 of 267 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews
Very functional
9/9/2009

Customer review by CavyMom

5.0 stars 9/9/2009 by CavyMom
by CavyMom

I was thrilled to find these because it seems I can't find them anywhere else! I searched every store in my area (not just Wal-mart) I couldn't get them anywhere so I checked Wal-mart.com and used site to store. The cubes serve their purpose wonderfully which is for a guinea pig cage. The only problem I found was that I needed about 6 more connectors, and had two panels left over. I understand it's not meant for a cage, but still... The price isn't too bad for what you get. I'd buy these again, but I'll probably go with Amazon. com because I can get free shipping for this item and it will come right to my house. Had I known that I would have gotten them there rather than Wal-mart because it's a better deal.

Was this review helpful? (141) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CavyMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Makes a Great Guinea Pig Cage!
5/20/2009

Customer review by LeeLeezd

5.0 stars 5/20/2009 by LeeLeezd
by LeeLeezd

I bought 2 boxes of these storage cubes to make my guinea pig cage. They make great cages for guinea pigs & they have 9x9 grid holes so it's safe for them as well. They look nice and they're so easy to put together, the only tool you need is some pliers because the connectors can sometimes be stubborn. You can also use cable/zip ties if you don't want to use the connectors. And the fact that you can ship it for free to your local store is a big plus since it saves a lot on shipping. After building my cage I had some leftover cubes & connectors so I used them for storage & so far it works really good. I definately recommend this product to anyone who wants to make a C&C (cubes & coroplast) guinea pig cage or if you want to use them for storage.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeeLeezd
Ville Plate, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Low-cost alternative for Cavy (Guinea Pig) Cage!
2/10/2014

Customer review by lkjdflaksjd

5.0 stars 2/10/2014 by lkjdflaksjd
by lkjdflaksjd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When searching for "the best" habitat for my pair of guinea pigs I found C&C Cages to be what I was looking for. I was shocked however at the cost. ($184.98 without tax and shipping for 5X2 grid base, 1X2 loft, 5X2 grid base/storage) Looking for a less expensive alternative, I happened on the testimonials for the Whitmor Storage Cubes and was sold. I spent $65.91 for three 4-Storage Cubes, and picked up a 4X8 ft sheet of coroplast (corrugated plastic) from a local sign shop for $25, which I was able to make a liner, ramp, and separate liner for food/potty area (Cavy Café, $22.99). Spending a total of $90.91 with out tax and shipping, saving myself $117.06! Assembly was easy, all I needed was a rubber mallet for getting the connectors in place and zip-ties for extra security. My 13 year old son actually assembled this with my guidance. It took some time, but well worth it for happy piggies!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lkjdflaksjd
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product with poor packaging
2/5/2010

Customer review by MomToThomasFan

4.0 stars 2/5/2010 by MomToThomasFan
by MomToThomasFan

I have to admit, I didn't buy this product to use it for it's intended use. I used the panels to build a rabbit cage. I have however used this product before and they are super sturdy if you use them as intended and for larger objects (as smaller toys fall through, of course). I would like to point out because of how they package them, many of my panels had scratched off paint on the top corners where they are exposed while still packaged. Obviously, okay for Mr. Buns, but not if you wanted them for actual decoration. Just thought I'd mention that to those of you ordering these sight unseen. They work great, but may come a bit scratched up.

Was this review helpful? (70) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomToThomasFan
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked great for Guinea pig cage!
11/21/2013

Customer review by Julie86

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by Julie86
by Julie86
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased these to build a guinea pig cage. I bought three boxes and used everyone one to build a 2x4 cage with stand and cage cover, outside ramp and 1X2X1 loft area. They are 9X9 grids that measure around 14in and you get 16 in each box. They went together easy enough but they are tough on your hands to secure into the connectors. I used some pliers with a small towel to pull them together or to bang the caps on tightly. Then I used zip ties for added strength. Overall I am really satisfied with my purchase. The free shipping over $50 is awesome too! I am planning to buy another box to make a playpen area and maybe even buy some of the pop up storage containers they make to fit inside the cube for storage underneath.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julie86
NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Price For A Good Product
12/17/2008

Customer review by Onnajaja

5.0 stars 12/17/2008 by Onnajaja
by Onnajaja

I used it to make a rabbit cage.. well "rabbit condo". It was bigger than I expected it to be, which is nice. Works Great. I looked around at a lot of other stores. They either didn't have it at all or it was twice as much as the price on here.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Onnajaja
Corning, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hard to put together
4/26/2008

Customer review by auronsgirl

3.0 stars 4/26/2008 by auronsgirl
by auronsgirl

I bought these cubes to make a guinea pig cage and they were a pain to put together. The connectors kept popping off. It took forever to get the cubes together. If you are planning on putting them together make sure you have an extra set of hands. I also recommend using Zip ties to hold the cubes together. It makes them more secure.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
auronsgirl
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for Guinea Pig Cages
8/16/2009

Customer review by TiWi

4.0 stars 8/16/2009 by TiWi
by TiWi

My husband and I used these to build a guinea pig cage. We paid about $10 more than we would elsewhere because I really wanted the white and could only find it here. They're perfect for what we wanted to do with them except there's not enough connectors in it to build the cage so we used zipties. I can't comment on what they're like as shelves but they're great for a guinea pig cage. Also, the connectors are more of a light gray than white.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiWi
Frederick, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Storage Cubes
8/4/2009

Customer review by ScooterSaurus

5.0 stars 8/4/2009 by ScooterSaurus
by ScooterSaurus

I purchased these to use for a C & C (cubes & coroplast) cage for our guinea pigs - they work absolutely perfectly. Our piggies are ecstatic! =o)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ScooterSaurus
The Great State of Arkansas!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Met My Needs
10/24/2008

Customer review by MissLilysOwner

5.0 stars 10/24/2008 by MissLilysOwner
by MissLilysOwner

Used this product to make a "Cube & Cloroplast" guinea pig cage. Met my basic needs, though I could have used a few more connectors. Easy to assemble and that's a fact. I can't understand how anyone could have had any trouble. I plan to purchase this item again to expand the cage I built.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissLilysOwner
Somerset, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/4/2012

Customer review by gabyv

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by gabyv
by gabyv

i really like it, looks more quality than the price!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gabyv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
useful product
9/21/2009

Customer review by erinbouss2

4.0 stars 9/21/2009 by erinbouss2
by erinbouss2

This product is great. It is very sturdy and holds a storage cube perfectly. I mounted them in our mud room area to hold gloves, hats, etc.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
erinbouss2
Golden, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Storage Cubes made an excellent cat enclosure
11/21/2013

Customer review by VineyardView

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by VineyardView
by VineyardView
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used a mallet to firmly tap together an enclosure so that my cat can go out on the front porch of my mobile home. Used zip ties to firm it up. Now that I know she likes it, I'll add some amenities. These cubes were perfect for the job. Not sure about the durability (outdoors) - they may get some rust over time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VineyardView
Sonoma, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap Portable Storage
9/9/2010

Customer review by Paluckilove

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by Paluckilove
by Paluckilove

This item is easy to build and holds my gym stuff really well! I am glad that I bought it. Although, it is not too sturdy for heavy items. So, if you need to hold books I would not recommend this. But I could see this as a great storage for kids toys or other lightweight items.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paluckilove
Pasadena, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Pet Cage
11/3/2011

Customer review by Dashelle

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by Dashelle
by Dashelle

I, like many, built a pet cage from these. They are similar to the NIC cages you see online. 16 square mesh sheets come with 18 connectors to allow you to make many combinations of cool cages! Most caged animals love multilevels so they can feel like they are burrowing, and small closed areas to hide in. What better way to show your pet you love them than to give him/her a fortress he/she can feel safe in? Advice: For flooring, never let the pet walk or stand on these grids, though. They are very hard on their feet, even with their foot padding. I would recommend using plywood or, even simpler, cardboard on top of these grids (with maybe a blanket on top) to provide ample flooring for your pet. For the ground floor, I usually put down a shower curtain and 2 blankets. The only hard part for me was making the door--ended up using zipties. Used a clip to keep it latched. Had to use two, since she figured out that if she pushed hard enough, she could tilt the door enough to get out.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dashelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for Guinea Pig cage
11/30/2008

Customer review by MomKat03

4.0 stars 11/30/2008 by MomKat03
by MomKat03

After seeing several sites recommending this type of shelving to build guinea pig cages out of, we ordered two sets. We built a roomy cage complete with a hayloft and some built in storage underneath. A wonderful home for our two gp's. These two sets of shelves plus a sheet of corrugated plastic and LOTS of zip ties were all we needed. I do recommend using plenty of zip ties no matter how you use these shelves though. The connectors are not the best. Two of them broke while we were assembling. We still had enough though to finish our project. It would be nice to be able to order extra connnetors. Site to store shipping was great since we didn't have to add a shipping fee, keeping the cost down. I would recommend this product for building guinea pig cages or for shelving for lighter weight items. If you need to shelve books or something heavier, these won't do the trick.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomKat03
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
they fall apart
1/15/2016

Customer review by fashberry

2.0 stars 1/15/2016 by fashberry
by fashberry

if you can get these things to stay together, they're fine, but it took me hours to assemble them because as soon as i started attaching more pieces, the ones i'd already put together would come apart. the instructions say you don't need tools but i think the average person definitely needs a rubber mallet to pound the pieces in place. the more cubes you join together, the harder it is to keep them in place because if you try to tighten one spot, another spot gets loose or falls off altogether. i haven't even tried putting anything in them yet--i'm a bit scared it'll come tumbling down when i do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fashberry
Would recommend to a friend? No
not using it for storage
3/22/2008

Customer review by KelseyandCorgansMommy

4.0 stars 3/22/2008 by KelseyandCorgansMommy
by KelseyandCorgansMommy

I bought 2 sets of these to make a cage for my guinea pigs. I don't really care for the connectors, but opted for zip-ties to hold it together. My guinea pig cage is coming along beautifully. They will have alot more room to roam now. Much cheaper and more room than a store bought cage.

Was this review helpful? (195) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KelseyandCorgansMommy
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good organizational item
1/21/2016

Customer review by Dismayed

4.0 stars 1/21/2016 by Dismayed
by Dismayed

We had purchased these some time ago so this was a second set (actually 2 sets). They are great for organizing items and the cubes are about 1 foot so hold a lot. The instructions say you don't need any tools, but a rubber mallet or similar to tap the connectors securely onto the side pieces definitely makes it go faster and ensures everything holds together well. Absolutely follow their instructions for the order of assembly. Definitely a good deal at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dismayed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price for Grid Shelving
1/15/2016

Customer review by lmbj

4.0 stars 1/15/2016 by lmbj
by lmbj

This was the best price I could find for grid shelving. We used the grids to build a C&C guinea pig cage (didn't use the connectors, we used cable ties instead). The grids were perfect for our purpose. Didn't give 5 stars only because I don't really know how they would have worked out for shelving since that was not the purpose we bought them for, and because we didn't use the connectors, so can't vouch for their quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lmbj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1-20 of 267 reviews