Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 538 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

538 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

538 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
414
4 stars
108
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 420 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 420 total reviews
1-20 of 420 reviews
better than tomtom
7/4/2008

Customer review by rainyday2003

5.0 stars 7/4/2008 by rainyday2003
by rainyday2003

I love thtis gps. I had bought a tomtom first but after using it the first day I did return it the second day. Then I choose to get the streetpilot. the price was great for everything it came with. This screen size was not the largest but I can still see it fine. I did like the Bluetooth that works with my phone. I do have a cell phone that is two years old and this Garmin works with my cell phone. The tomtom , to me, only works with recent and current phone which upset me. When I use my Garmin bluetooth I do not have complaints on the other end of the line. This system was easy to use and easy to setup. I had no problems with downloading the free map updates unlike the tomtom that froze up. i also like the extras that came with mine like the carrying case. this gps also has a list of fast food places , the zoo and even walmart , the tomtom did not have. I do love this Garmin and would choose it over the tomtom anytime. I know as a shopper looking for a good deal, this gps would be it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rainyday2003
Killeen, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice GPS
4/6/2008

Customer review by TampaEMT45

5.0 stars 4/6/2008 by TampaEMT45
by TampaEMT45

I bought the Garmin to use at work, found myself using it in my car as well. The unit gets good satellite reception even in urban areas, and calculates routes very quickly. The routes provided by the unit are not always the best available route, if you know the area well you can usually figure out a quicker or more efficient route. However, the routes provided will get you to your destination. I mainly use it for responding to 911 calls when I have to get to an unfamiliar address quickly. The Bluetooth feature is very nice. If either myself or my partner have our hands full in the back, whoever is driving can just tap the screen and call the ER to give a report enroute. This feature is awesome. This unit also has text to speech, so I can hear the street names and I dont have to look at the screen as much. Got a good price from Walmart, but the site-to-store thing took forever. The unit's settings are not as configurable as I would like, this is the only bad thing. Overall a good product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TampaEMT45
Tampa,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Great GPS!
11/14/2007

Customer review by Email2thee

4.0 stars 11/14/2007 by Email2thee
by Email2thee

I was overall very happy with this GPS. It does way more that I really need it to do, but having extras never hurt. I really like the voice commands, the BlueTooth, and the preloaded destination information. I love the fact that if I want to go to the nearest hungry, but I need to stop by the ATM first, I can find the nearest restaurant of my liking and the nearest ATM to stop by en route. Also, the GPS connects with my cell phone when ever it is in range, so I don't have to connect every time I get into my vehicle. If I get a text message, I can choose to have the GPS speak the message to me! I love that feature. The only thing that I am not so happy with is the fact that all the roads are not correct, like the GPS might want you to make a turn on a one way going the wrong way! It also doesn't have all the banks and stuff that are on my military installation. But besides that, I love it. I would recommend this GPS to anyone who wants/needs a very handy tool to help you stay safe on the road and get to your destination.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Email2thee
Fort Bragg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
I'm not lost anymore
10/15/2007

Customer review by buckeye

5.0 stars 10/15/2007 by buckeye
by buckeye

I used the StreetPilot c550 for the first time in a rental car - with no instructions, I was able to use the GPS and find most of the features, because it is extremely user friendly. The windshield mount suction is awesome, I was worried about the security of the GPS on the windshield, knowing how other products have crept over time. Out of the box, the suction is extremely secure, even in hot weather. Overall, the product is exactly what I expected and it works great - the estimated arrival time has been within minutes on 7 hour trips. I also like the trip stats. I like that the voice does not interrupt when I am talking on the phone (via the bluetooth), but it does interrupt if I am just using the MP3 player. My only complaints would be that voice dialing is inconsistent (which may be related to my phone) and people say that I sound like I am in a tunnel - so I might try the external microphone accessory. I would highly recommend this product and I have recommended it to my friends already.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buckeye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
8/29/2007

Customer review by Upmich

5.0 stars 8/29/2007 by Upmich
by Upmich

After having a C330 for over 2 years and loving it, I was thinking about upgrading to a newer one so I bought a C340... What a mistake! It was slow with the maps...Would tell me to turn when I was in or past the turn ... And did I mention the lost signals? Even when I was going down a devided highway! I returned it and stepped up to the C550. It is everything that it says and it works perfect too! No lost singals.. Tells me to turn before the turn and the maps do keep up with you even when you have the display at most. Should have bought it first. Yes it is a little bit more money but it WORKS!!! It is worth every penny. This is my 4th Garmin not including the C340 and have loved every one. Garmin does make a great product. Still use my 7 year old Garmin GPS V for my motorbike and I still get updates thru Garmin for it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Upmich
U.P. Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great Product
6/2/2008

Customer review by ahboby

5.0 stars 6/2/2008 by ahboby
by ahboby

This is great product. I have used auto-built in GPS and I found that one lot easier and with great features. I live in DC metro area and I commute in DC, VA and MD and this device does not have option to select multiple states in one time. Let me make it more clear. If I am in VA and want to go to any recreation/measum in DC then the FIND place thing is not going to help me or I don't know how to use this feature in this device. Its only my second week and I used it rarely. One other thing I noticed is that if you want to add any current place to your favotrite then its complicated process and it needs few extra steps. Like first to add to favorites and then rename it. it would be nice if it ask me before saving about the name I want to give that place. Don't worry about my review, over all this is great device and I strongly recommed. I have not used TOm TOm or nuvi, can't give any comparison. But response time, route recalculation and accuracy is so far great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ahboby
Herndon, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
lost without garmin
8/7/2008

Customer review by lenora023

4.0 stars 8/7/2008 by lenora023
by lenora023

I purchased this product after using a similar one of my sisters. I picked this model because I loved that is has bluetooth and found that it is hard to find unless you send much more money. It is easy to set up and use without even reading the instructions. Another one of the highlights to this product is that it has talk to turn instructions, which is easy to follow without distracting you from driving. The only down-fall is it does not have a smart setting for your navagation. You have 2 options either shortest distance or fastest time (which I use). The bad thing is it may take you in town if this is what garmin thinks is the fastest way, but I have no sense of direction so for me -in town is better then lost. As far as I am aware of this is the way all gps navagation systems are. There are many useful functions with this product, I would recommend it to anyone that doesn't like the stress of being lost. I feel comfortable now just getting in the car and going.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lenora023
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great gift for husband
12/27/2007

Customer review by alwayslooks4deals

4.0 stars 12/27/2007 by alwayslooks4deals
by alwayslooks4deals

In some ways this Garmin works better than I thought it would. I bought it for my husband for Christmas and he loves it. He programed our home address into it and then drove around in unknown territory trying to get lost and the Garmin took him back home without a hitch! If you miss your turn, which would be hard to do since this thing gives you ample warning of your next turn, it will just recalculate immediately and give you a new route to your destination. Out and about and decide you want to find some Mexican food? No problem just use the Garmin. It lists restaurants and tells you how far away they are. Just choose the one you want and it will get you there. Love it! The only problem we have is that our cell phones are not compatible with it even though we have bluetooth phones. Apparently only some brands of phones work with this Garmin and Sanyo phones are not one of the brands. Too bad since we chose this model for the bluetooth capability. If you have a compatible phone you'll like this product even better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alwayslooks4deals
Temecula, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding
12/24/2007

Customer review by LTCRETIRED

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by LTCRETIRED
by LTCRETIRED

I tried a hand held Garmin about six years ago. I could not get past the second page in the manual. In other words I am no Techie. But I broke down and tried the auto version and it is nearly fool-proof. My son is even impressed with how I can use it and especially all the features it has. My friend and I were in a hurry one day last week and she had the address but neither of us were for sure where it was. We drove around for a few minutes and I remembered I had "Mabel" in the glove compartment. I turned her on, tuned her in, gave her the address and "bingo" she took us right straight there. My wife used it to drive to her brothers in NC and it took her in a different way than we were used to. She made a few unnecessary turns she could have avoided but she got there anyway. I love the bluetooth feature also. No-hands phone calls. Outstanding. I will learn to use the MP3 player as soon as my son has time to instruct me. Great buy, great product, great fun.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LTCRETIRED
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A wonderful, easy to use product!
1/12/2008

Customer review by HappywithGarmin

5.0 stars 1/12/2008 by HappywithGarmin
by HappywithGarmin

I received this product as a gift, and not having much of a knack for GPS units, I was skeptical of how easy it would be for me to use. I found that it is incredibly self-explanatory, and so easy to use! I love my Garmin; this product makes it impossible to get lost! The screen is large and simple, and the options are impressive. One may easily find a restaurant, gas station, lodging, etc., from where they currently are on the road. It also gives traffic updates and detour routes. I love how it recalculates if you take a wrong turn. One may also look at their route in advance or while traveling, for the Garmin offers a screen that gives you written directions, in addition to the map. One may also, having a Bluetooth phone, use the GPS unit as a hands-free phone. After using it once, both my mother and grandmother bought one. A person of any age can use this. I would suggest shopping around before purchasing...the prices ranged from $299 to $600+. I found Walmart to be the cheapest by far. I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappywithGarmin
Plymouth, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing product, Outstanding Value
7/11/2007

Customer review by VeryHappyCustomer

5.0 stars 7/11/2007 by VeryHappyCustomer
by VeryHappyCustomer

This is the first GPS device I've ever owned and I am amazed at the quality and functionality of this product. It's accuracy is unbelievable, pinpointing your location to within a few feet and giving you precise directions to your destination. The touchscreen is easy to use and the display is clear and easy to see, even in bright daylight. My family went for a test drive the first night, and I tried to fool it by deliberately taking a wrong turn. It simply recalculated my route and immediately got me back on course. This is an incredible product and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VeryHappyCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice gps
12/27/2007

Customer review by dweezle

4.0 stars 12/27/2007 by dweezle
by dweezle

Very easy to use. It has a well designed user interface. I didn't think I would use it, but really like the bluetooth hands-free cell phone feature. The sound quality is definitely not music grade but it works well for voice. The traffic updates are nice, but it's not real obvious if it's telling you that traffic congestion is worse than normal or just normal congestion. I have to question some of the routes it chooses. It likes to send you off a highway onto an exit ramp, just to send you right back on the entrance ramp. Not too bright! However, as long as you treat it as one input into the route you choose and make your own decisions, it's fine. Overall, I think it was a good buy. My main reason for purchasing the 550 was the traffic updates, since I have a long commute from one side of the city to the other. I have been using it for several weeks now and I think it's helping me avoid traffic jams, but it's kind of hard to tell for sure.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dweezle
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great GPS that is well worth the money!
12/17/2007

Customer review by Midnightzen

5.0 stars 12/17/2007 by Midnightzen
by Midnightzen

I purchased the C550 model to update from my C320 Garmin, which served me for years of trouble free service. I gave it to a family member and they love it. The C550 is very close to the C340 model, which I also purchased and have in my wife's truck. The unit performs very well and has spoken street names, which is helpful and is better than "Turn in 200 feet." The 550c has a built in MP3 player, which is easy to operate and has the memory card slot to add hundreds of songs with a 1 or 2 Gig memory card (not included). The C550 has speakers on each side that provide very clear and warm sound from the Mp3 and there are 7 factory installed songs that give you a chance to try it out right out of the box. We were impressed with the sound quality from the speakers and could enjoy the music even above the normal sounds of driving. The traffic feature was impressive and the great thing is the power cord doubles as a FM traffic receiver, so you won't have to spend $130 more for the receiver cord like on the C340 and other models. The traffic shows a freeway grid of all the freeways in your county / City and red or yellow sections of the freeway maps shows where there is a problem. You can also zoom in on your location to just view local freeways, too. This also works out of the box and sets up when you first plug it in. The GPS system got satellite reception very fast and the maps were very up to date. It's basically a C340 with MPS player, Blue Tooth Phone and it comes with a traffic reciver cord. You can also download many Points of interest (POI's) from your computer to add to the tons it comes with and there is also audio tours that can be downloaded to the C550. I personally like that I can use it as an MP3 player and connect it to my car stereo that has an MPS input. This way, you no longer need to have 10+ CD's in your car, because the C550 holds all your music collection and it can play the tunes or you can run it into your stereo. If you're a techy kind of person, this unit is a lot of fun to play with for sure. If you don't need a hands-free bluetooth phone or MP3 player, I suggest getting the C340 and saving some money. The safety they provide in terms of not getting lost is well worth the price and knowing where all the gas stations, rest stops, restaurants and hospitals on long trips is priceless. Add in all the gas you'll save from no longer getting lost and finding the quickest route and the money saved pays for these units many times over. You will also not need to use your cell phone's 411, which my provider charges each call, because the Garmin is basically a phone book, too. When you want a number, simply type in the name and up comes with address and phone number to businesses. Very cool. If you don't have a GPS, you're really missing out on a lot of convenience, added safety and money saving benefits. This C550 and other Garmin's are excellent products and you can give a better gift to a loved one or to yourself.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Midnightzen
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product, Great Price!
12/27/2007

Customer review by FamilyBuyer

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by FamilyBuyer
by FamilyBuyer

After a ton of research last year, I chose the Garmin c550 over the TomTom GPS. TomTom makes a good product as well, but the Garmin seemed superior. After seeing how well my Garmin worked, I bought one for my dad as well as one for my wife this year. Since my wife and I travel for work as well as for pleasure, we've put our c550's through a lot of previously untravelled towns and cities. Our Garmins have guided us to our destinations with accuracy on trips to two coasts as well as the midwest US. I got a really good Christmas sale price on the wife's Garmin and let her put it to use a few weeks before then. It brightened up things even before Christmas. I've bought three Garmins for family now and wouldn't buy another brand if I were to buy another GPS. The c550 may have a few more features than some need, but it is a very reliable piece of equipment that has weathered the airport x-ray machines and numerous travels well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FamilyBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Meets expectations
8/9/2007

Customer review by CATFAN

4.0 stars 8/9/2007 by CATFAN
by CATFAN

I purchased this GPS System to be used by myself and my children. Thus far, they have used it more than me. It seems to have worked well for them. They live in a larger city than me, so the streets they travel are more well known than those in the smaller community I live in. We have found that it doesn't always give you the most logical/direct directions to your destination, but if you were in a completely unfamiliar location, the directions it gives would get you to where you wanted to go (you just wouldn't realize there is a much easier way to get there). We tried a different brand of GPS from a different retail store and returned it before I purchased this one. We like this one much, much better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CATFAN
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Can't go wrong with Garmin
3/3/2008

Customer review by SgtHulin

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by SgtHulin
by SgtHulin

I love Garmin products. They are very user friendly. Easy to use, right out of the box. This is a great GPS for beginners and experienced users. After research, I found that Wal-Mart has the best prices around and quick shipping. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SgtHulin
Florence, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love the c550
7/9/2007

Customer review by buzzy

5.0 stars 7/9/2007 by buzzy
by buzzy

love this thing. very user friendly. only challenge is when you use in a different city takes a little bit to recalibrate. but once you set it, you're set. no issues.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buzzy
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
More Than I Expected
1/15/2008

Customer review by FSUSIX

5.0 stars 1/15/2008 by FSUSIX
by FSUSIX

We bought this because we travel in a RV, all over the country, for about 6 months during the year. I used the Microsoft Street Trips on my Laptop for the last 3 years. I was hesitant to switch over, fearing a smaller screen would be a problem. Nothing compares to the database and information that is on this Garmin 500 Street Pilot. And to think - it does it all FOR YOU! I was manually doing it on the Microsoft Street Trips. (Turns, lane switching etc) This is the best BANG for your bucks, witout going overboard, as you know technology changes so fast, you will be buying another one in probably 2 years or so. Best price here too. I'm thrilled with this product, even the MP3 music is terrific through the speakers on this unit. I feel confident going anywhere, and not getting lost. I LOVE reading Reviews, as I did so, before deciding on this Garmin 550 Street Pilot. THANK YOU to everyone that contributes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FSUSIX
Lenoir , NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GARMIN c550
11/19/2007

Customer review by 4363THETRAVELER

5.0 stars 11/19/2007 by 4363THETRAVELER
by 4363THETRAVELER

VERY SIMPLE TO OPERATE, AND EASY DIRECTIONS TO FOLLOW. WELL DEFINED MAPS AND COLOR FOR THE ROADS AND TURN LANES AND EXITS.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4363THETRAVELER
MIDWAY, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I expected...
7/5/2008

Customer review by HisAmazingGrace

5.0 stars 7/5/2008 by HisAmazingGrace
by HisAmazingGrace

I shopped around on several websites for GPS products; Best Buy, Circuit City, Target...and Walmart had the best price and the easiest-to-read product information and features. I am happy with the product and it is exactly what I wanted. I recommend this product to someone who wants a semi-basic GPS system without too many confusing and over the top features. The built in MP3 player is neat and another cool feature is that you can choose either a car or a monster pick-up truck as your little icon on the map screen. Fun! Still trying to get the bluetooth to sinc up with my cell phone, but I can't tell if it's an operator error or the devices are faulty. ? The only thing that was slightly disappointing with this purchase was that I selected site-to-store shipping and it took almost 2 weeks to arrive when it was supposed to arrive in 7-10 days. Fortunately, I wasn't in a hurry to get it, but if I was, then it would have been problematic. All-in-all, I felt fortunate to not pay for shipping and I imagine the lag in delivery may have been due to Walmart conserving shipments b/c of the high gas prices.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HisAmazingGrace
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 420 total reviews
1-20 of 420 reviews