Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 531 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

531 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

531 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
407
4 stars
108
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 413 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 413 total reviews
1-20 of 413 reviews
Great GPS that is well worth the money!
12/17/2007

Customer review by Midnightzen

5.0 stars 12/17/2007 by Midnightzen
by Midnightzen

I purchased the C550 model to update from my C320 Garmin, which served me for years of trouble free service. I gave it to a family member and they love it. The C550 is very close to the C340 model, which I also purchased and have in my wife's truck. The unit performs very well and has spoken street names, which is helpful and is better than "Turn in 200 feet." The 550c has a built in MP3 player, which is easy to operate and has the memory card slot to add hundreds of songs with a 1 or 2 Gig memory card (not included). The C550 has speakers on each side that provide very clear and warm sound from the Mp3 and there are 7 factory installed songs that give you a chance to try it out right out of the box. We were impressed with the sound quality from the speakers and could enjoy the music even above the normal sounds of driving. The traffic feature was impressive and the great thing is the power cord doubles as a FM traffic receiver, so you won't have to spend $130 more for the receiver cord like on the C340 and other models. The traffic shows a freeway grid of all the freeways in your county / City and red or yellow sections of the freeway maps shows where there is a problem. You can also zoom in on your location to just view local freeways, too. This also works out of the box and sets up when you first plug it in. The GPS system got satellite reception very fast and the maps were very up to date. It's basically a C340 with MPS player, Blue Tooth Phone and it comes with a traffic reciver cord. You can also download many Points of interest (POI's) from your computer to add to the tons it comes with and there is also audio tours that can be downloaded to the C550. I personally like that I can use it as an MP3 player and connect it to my car stereo that has an MPS input. This way, you no longer need to have 10+ CD's in your car, because the C550 holds all your music collection and it can play the tunes or you can run it into your stereo. If you're a techy kind of person, this unit is a lot of fun to play with for sure. If you don't need a hands-free bluetooth phone or MP3 player, I suggest getting the C340 and saving some money. The safety they provide in terms of not getting lost is well worth the price and knowing where all the gas stations, rest stops, restaurants and hospitals on long trips is priceless. Add in all the gas you'll save from no longer getting lost and finding the quickest route and the money saved pays for these units many times over. You will also not need to use your cell phone's 411, which my provider charges each call, because the Garmin is basically a phone book, too. When you want a number, simply type in the name and up comes with address and phone number to businesses. Very cool. If you don't have a GPS, you're really missing out on a lot of convenience, added safety and money saving benefits. This C550 and other Garmin's are excellent products and you can give a better gift to a loved one or to yourself.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Midnightzen
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing product, Outstanding Value
7/11/2007

Customer review by VeryHappyCustomer

5.0 stars 7/11/2007 by VeryHappyCustomer
by VeryHappyCustomer

This is the first GPS device I've ever owned and I am amazed at the quality and functionality of this product. It's accuracy is unbelievable, pinpointing your location to within a few feet and giving you precise directions to your destination. The touchscreen is easy to use and the display is clear and easy to see, even in bright daylight. My family went for a test drive the first night, and I tried to fool it by deliberately taking a wrong turn. It simply recalculated my route and immediately got me back on course. This is an incredible product and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeryHappyCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
8/29/2007

Customer review by Upmich

5.0 stars 8/29/2007 by Upmich
by Upmich

After having a C330 for over 2 years and loving it, I was thinking about upgrading to a newer one so I bought a C340... What a mistake! It was slow with the maps...Would tell me to turn when I was in or past the turn ... And did I mention the lost signals? Even when I was going down a devided highway! I returned it and stepped up to the C550. It is everything that it says and it works perfect too! No lost singals.. Tells me to turn before the turn and the maps do keep up with you even when you have the display at most. Should have bought it first. Yes it is a little bit more money but it WORKS!!! It is worth every penny. This is my 4th Garmin not including the C340 and have loved every one. Garmin does make a great product. Still use my 7 year old Garmin GPS V for my motorbike and I still get updates thru Garmin for it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Upmich
U.P. Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Love the c550
7/9/2007

Customer review by buzzy

5.0 stars 7/9/2007 by buzzy
by buzzy

love this thing. very user friendly. only challenge is when you use in a different city takes a little bit to recalibrate. but once you set it, you're set. no issues.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buzzy
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
GARMIN c550
11/19/2007

Customer review by 4363THETRAVELER

5.0 stars 11/19/2007 by 4363THETRAVELER
by 4363THETRAVELER

VERY SIMPLE TO OPERATE, AND EASY DIRECTIONS TO FOLLOW. WELL DEFINED MAPS AND COLOR FOR THE ROADS AND TURN LANES AND EXITS.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4363THETRAVELER
MIDWAY, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't go wrong with Garmin
3/3/2008

Customer review by SgtHulin

5.0 stars 3/3/2008 by SgtHulin
by SgtHulin

I love Garmin products. They are very user friendly. Easy to use, right out of the box. This is a great GPS for beginners and experienced users. After research, I found that Wal-Mart has the best prices around and quick shipping. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SgtHulin
Florence, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Garmin StreetPilot c550 with Bluetooth
11/14/2007

Customer review by cottontail80

5.0 stars 11/14/2007 by cottontail80
by cottontail80

Overall I am very impressed with this product. We researched different brands/models & found that this one was the best value for the money. The set-up was fairly easy & we love the bluetooth capability.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cottontail80
Cottage Grove, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A very helpful product
3/6/2008

Customer review by summer111

5.0 stars 3/6/2008 by summer111
by summer111

I have already used the Garmin streetpilot c550 and I really like the way it worked. I think it will be great thing to have when I travel to some place I don't know of.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
summer111
Cornelia, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Meets expectations
8/9/2007

Customer review by CATFAN

4.0 stars 8/9/2007 by CATFAN
by CATFAN

I purchased this GPS System to be used by myself and my children. Thus far, they have used it more than me. It seems to have worked well for them. They live in a larger city than me, so the streets they travel are more well known than those in the smaller community I live in. We have found that it doesn't always give you the most logical/direct directions to your destination, but if you were in a completely unfamiliar location, the directions it gives would get you to where you wanted to go (you just wouldn't realize there is a much easier way to get there). We tried a different brand of GPS from a different retail store and returned it before I purchased this one. We like this one much, much better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CATFAN
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/3/2007

Customer review by Firefighter8566

5.0 stars 10/3/2007 by Firefighter8566
by Firefighter8566

When travelling out of state on vacation, my wife and I rented car that had an older but similar model GPS. We immediately agreed that this was an awesome unit and simply had to purchase one when we returned home. With its highly intuitive menus it is very easy to use, and we were able to operate the unit (in the rental car) without having a manual or receiving any instructions. We continue to be extremely happy with the Garmin c550 as it completely takes the stress out of trying to navigate in unfamiliar areas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Firefighter8566
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Directions made easy
1/29/2008

Customer review by Ugemmy

5.0 stars 1/29/2008 by Ugemmy
by Ugemmy

So far I am pleased with my purchase. I have not been able to explore all programs offered but believe you me I will.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ugemmy
Maryville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome GPS for price
4/10/2008

Customer review by PhoenixMandy

5.0 stars 4/10/2008 by PhoenixMandy
by PhoenixMandy

This GPS has every option you could ask for. It is an incredible value for the money and it is incredibly easy to use. The only problem is trying to use it in a downtown area with lots of tall buildings, the GPS has a hard time accessing the satellites, but the same thing happens with every other GPS system I have used. My gadget-unfriendly mom used it with ease and I love that it announces the name of the street or exit you need to turn on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhoenixMandy
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Buy
4/15/2008

Customer review by John317

5.0 stars 4/15/2008 by John317
by John317

I bought this for my wife to comply with the new "hands free" law for cell phones that goes into effect in July of 2008 in California. This is our third Garmin. I use them in all of our vehicles. Would not leave home without one. My 2007 Chevie Tahoe has a built in Nav system that I do not use because Garmin is so much easier to use. I take that back, I do use it. The screen is an excellent place to put the Garmin suction cup holder. The C 550 is the best Garmin that we have owned so far. Nav, Bluetooth, MP3, what more do you need? It compares to the Garmin 680 and it is half the price. The receiver is excellent, I was sitting in my family room in a swivel chair with the unit on and as I turned the map tracked my movements perfectly! I wasn't even near a window! It is a little large but houses good sized speakers that are very easy to hear at highway speeds. If the 680 and the 550 were the same price I would still buy the 550 for the better speakers. I'm not saying that the speakers are high fi but they are very clear for phone use. If your car stero has an audio in jack you can connect the unit to that and listen to your mp3 file over your car's sound system. Functionally it is a 10, esthetically it is a 5 in value it is a 10. At this price buy one for each car or motorcycle. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John317
Redding, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great
4/16/2008

Customer review by jwgirl14

5.0 stars 4/16/2008 by jwgirl14
by jwgirl14

This product has done wonders. I am really good at getting lost and it has helped me. This is a great price and the only place you will find it this low. I did not know when i bought it that the power cord has a built in FM transmitter so you can till where the traffic is slow when its plugged it. Its great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwgirl14
renton, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/14/2007

Customer review by just

5.0 stars 11/14/2007 by just
by just

Love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
just
Oneida, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/30/2007

Customer review by znrr65

5.0 stars 8/30/2007 by znrr65
by znrr65

Garmin 550 is a excelent product. I will be buying another one real soon for my son.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
znrr65
albany ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A Great GPS!
11/14/2007

Customer review by Email2thee

4.0 stars 11/14/2007 by Email2thee
by Email2thee

I was overall very happy with this GPS. It does way more that I really need it to do, but having extras never hurt. I really like the voice commands, the BlueTooth, and the preloaded destination information. I love the fact that if I want to go to the nearest hungry, but I need to stop by the ATM first, I can find the nearest restaurant of my liking and the nearest ATM to stop by en route. Also, the GPS connects with my cell phone when ever it is in range, so I don't have to connect every time I get into my vehicle. If I get a text message, I can choose to have the GPS speak the message to me! I love that feature. The only thing that I am not so happy with is the fact that all the roads are not correct, like the GPS might want you to make a turn on a one way going the wrong way! It also doesn't have all the banks and stuff that are on my military installation. But besides that, I love it. I would recommend this GPS to anyone who wants/needs a very handy tool to help you stay safe on the road and get to your destination.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Email2thee
Fort Bragg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good Price Good Product
3/27/2008

Customer review by TennisTower

5.0 stars 3/27/2008 by TennisTower
by TennisTower

This gps works great. Didn't pay for the higher priced ones and stuck with the standard issue. This one does not have the traffic, weather, movie etc updates. If you don't need that this is the one to buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TennisTower
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bad Direction
12/2/2007

Customer review by WhyshouldI

3.0 stars 12/2/2007 by WhyshouldI
by WhyshouldI

Too many bad address and gps is off by as much as 400 ft at times depending on area. Even my home address is off by 65ft. You will be driving thinking the address is going to be at least a block away and then you notice you just passed the street you wanted to turn on or just the oppisite happens. This product was not worth the money. This happens even after I down loaded the updates from the Garmin website.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhyshouldI
Middle Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money
3/24/2008

Customer review by chart

1.0 stars 3/24/2008 by chart
by chart

Took it out of the box and gave it a test run-worked fine. Tried it again and the system died on the highway to my destination. After a few minutes it started up again and got to where I needed to go. Went to use it again to go home and would not work. Tried it several more times and it would work intermittently. What good is it if it dies in the middle of trying to get you to where you need to go and then you can't get home cause it doesn't work???? and then you don't know if it is going to work the next time you need it?

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chart
East Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 413 total reviews
1-20 of 413 reviews