Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 75 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
36
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 66 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
A great product
4/13/2008

Customer review by LovedigitalTV

5.0 stars 4/13/2008 by LovedigitalTV
by LovedigitalTV

Before buying this antenna, I could only get 2 analog stations, and most times they were not very clear and the sound was not good either. Now I get 9-10 digital stations and they are clear and the sound is clear and crisp. I also bought the Philips Programmable Antenna Rotator with Remote Control, SDW1850/17, which I would recommend, because with some stations I have to rotate the antenna a degree or 2 and with the rotator remote I can do that while laying on the couch. For the antenna I also had to buy a coaxial cable (with ground wire and a grounding block for lighting protection.) And for the rotator I had to buy a 3 wire cord to run from the control box inside the house to the rotator motor on the antenna mast.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovedigitalTV
Southeastern IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
7/14/2008

Customer review by kenaniah14747

5.0 stars 7/14/2008 by kenaniah14747
by kenaniah14747

This antenna works well for all the new digital channels available in here in Western New York. Thanks to this I will be ready for Feb 2009. I'm taking advantage of this to get channels from stations 70+ miles away. Definately works well and I would recommend it for anybody. One con was that the included mounting hardware was insufficient, and I had to go out and get some parts to make it fit with my house.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kenaniah14747
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy Customer
12/28/2007

Customer review by jadam

4.0 stars 12/28/2007 by jadam
by jadam

I'm happy with this antenna. We had an older antenna, it was just a UHF antenna and we couldn't get in FOX, CBS (VHF channels), and the rest were spotty. With the new antenna the digital channels all come in great in the livingroom and the analog channels are crystal clear in the bedrooms; I've had no trouble with reception. The day after I put it up we had high winds w/50MPH gusts, sleet, and freezing rain; needless to say I was very concerned about it but the next day it was just fine. Even with the other reviews I was still surprised at how big it was, it was quite nearly twice as long as the box. There was only one thing I had trouble with, the mounting kit. The brackets were not shaped right and the little U-shaped pieces wouldn't fit into them. I had to bend the brackets into shape, that would have been very difficult for someone without the proper tools. So keep that in mind if your planning to buy it, although I may have just gotten a bad kit. Overall though, I'm quite happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jadam
Berea, Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good product
11/12/2007

Customer review by fawfhamilton

4.0 stars 11/12/2007 by fawfhamilton
by fawfhamilton

This antenna is perfect for the new digital television. To ensure that you get the most from this antenna make sure that you get an antenna rotator,that is the key. Digital television is broadcast on UHF and is highly directional. The gain of this antenna is more than adequate to receive 50 to 70 miles away as long as the antenna is aimed towards the station. Digital television doesn't pick up on the back side of the antenna as regular UHF does so make sure you purchase a rotator.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fawfhamilton
Oily Branch, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/13/2007

Customer review by ComputerShopper

5.0 stars 8/13/2007 by ComputerShopper
by ComputerShopper

This antenna is much larger than I realized, make sure you have plenty of room. Assemble outside, you can not fit through a door. Works great, has better picture than we had with the Dish, and lots more channels than we expected.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ComputerShopper
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Basic TV Reception
8/28/2007

Customer review by ByeSatnCable

5.0 stars 8/28/2007 by ByeSatnCable
by ByeSatnCable

One word discribes my reception via this new antenna mounted on our roof top...AWESOME! All the Chicago Area Broadcast channels are coming in as good as any satellite or cable can provide. With one big difference. It is "FREE" TV. It was a tad challenging in assembling this antenna. Would suggest to whomever writes the instructions to forget the writing and stick to step by step diagrams. It took about 30 minutes to put the antenna together. Durability is to be determined since only one day of use. Hopefully don't have to find out how good the limited lifetime warranty is. Site to store service was great and saved me $17 in shipping cost. Competitor store would have charged $100 just for the antenna and $10 for the mast pole. Saved another $30. Overall savings was $46. Thank you Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ByeSatnCable
Portage, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
11/7/2007

Customer review by Boxerpug1

5.0 stars 11/7/2007 by Boxerpug1
by Boxerpug1

This is a BIG antenna. It takes a little while to assemble. The picture quality is GREAT. Buy it if you're in the market. You'll pick up channels you never knew were available.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boxerpug1
Pleasant Hill, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My Antenna
1/6/2008

Customer review by Roadgrader

4.0 stars 1/6/2008 by Roadgrader
by Roadgrader

This antenna is an overall good product. It took me about 45 minutes to assemble the antenna. It is very large and fragile so you have to be very careful while handling it and you will most definetely need to enlist the help of a buddy in order to handle and position the antenna where you want it. I was pleased that they provided the 4ft mounting pole and the included brackets and hardware. I was able to pick up an additional 20 channels all from Louisville Ky. The HD programming looks great on my LCD Tv. Overall if your looking for an outdoor antenna this is a great product to own, with really good performance, just allow some caution while you handle the antenna because it is very fragile. Oh yea in order to get the best performance out of the antenna you will need to purchase a rotator to fine tune the position to get the best digital signal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roadgrader
Seymour, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
more than expected
2/6/2008

Customer review by engineer68

4.0 stars 2/6/2008 by engineer68
by engineer68

I live in central Texas at least 50 miles from any television towers. With this product I was able to bring in no less than 35 digital channels!!! Providing that you place the antenna at least 30 ft. in the air. At that height I recieve signals from the DFW area and from the Waco area without having to turn the antenna at all. I am now envied by all my friends who pay to get a lesser quality signal through a cable. I can't wait to see how many more channels will be added as we get closer to the deadline in Feb. 09' For anyone with HDTV and who lives in a rural area? this is a no brainer!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
engineer68
Teague, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/18/2008

Customer review by agility

5.0 stars 2/18/2008 by agility
by agility

The antenna was alot larger than expected. The time to assemble was about thirty mins and installed within the hour. Made a great diference for the better. I am glad I bought this antenna

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
agility
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
antenna
11/3/2007

Customer review by pajo

3.0 stars 11/3/2007 by pajo
by pajo

we just finished putting this antenna up and are happy with the reception, glad we are not paying satelite bills anymore. I was told today that begining January 1st 2008 all tv stations are going digatal and we won't be able to get anything with our new antenna if it is not made for digatal. We will have to buy some kind of box to put on our tv to convert to digatal, don't know what that would cost. I cannot find anything on antenna paperwork that says it works with digatal so our investment of an antenna plus paying a friend to install and now additional cost may be added in January, we are not happy about that. be informed before you buy

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pajo
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good product
6/21/2008

Customer review by hatemonthlybills

4.0 stars 6/21/2008 by hatemonthlybills
by hatemonthlybills

Well illustrated instructions, though somewhat confusing at times, still managed to put together in an hour or so. Did not use mast supplied- instead used a 10 foot section 3/4" conduit and elevated the antenna 15 feet in the air. Wow! What a difference....pulled in roughly 15 stations, all analog as I have'nt gotten my digital box yet, crystal clear reception and I am about 40 miles from where most of the signals originate. Cannot wait to get digital box so that I can experience digital quality picture. Best part-once you pay for the antenna, it's free viewing, no cable or satellite bills.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hatemonthlybills
dayton, texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This antenna is HORRIBLE!
8/22/2008

Customer review by tckx7531

2.0 stars 8/22/2008 by tckx7531
by tckx7531

I bought this antenna from walmart.com, it took over 3 hours just to assemble, not to mention I had to drill some holes in the metal where there weren't any. When I put it on my roof, I brought up my tv too so I could test it out. I tried it out, nothing but snow! Just to be curious I tried out my old pair of $2 rabbit ears and I actually was able to get in 4 analog stations (I guess i'll be doomed when the analog cut off comes) from NY with just the rabbit ears. As for this antenna, DO NOT BUY IT! It's simply a huge waste of time and does not do what it's supposed to do!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tckx7531
East stroudsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Buy
5/4/2008

Customer review by littletree

4.0 stars 5/4/2008 by littletree
by littletree

While I wasn't expecting to put as many pieces together as I did to make up this antenna, it does provide an exellent HD picture on my TVs. I live within 50 miles of the three main broadcasting channels, but live in a low lying area which makes it hard to pick up great viewing for all three on the analog signals, although they do all come in just not all crystal clear perfect. The digital signals for all three are perfect no problem there and since that's where broadcasting is headed next year, WOW!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littletree
Midland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It Helped!
5/15/2008

Customer review by Redhead1947

4.0 stars 5/15/2008 by Redhead1947
by Redhead1947

I live in an area that is terrible on reception of any kind. I have to have Direct TV to get a decent picture, but with this antenna I am not able to pick up 5 network channels. It has a very good HD picture. I think that my picture quality will improve when all of the stations change over to digital. The instruction manual leaves a lot to be desired. It took my wife an I together to be sure the thing was put together properly. I am very happy with the results I am getting from the antenna.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redhead1947
Americus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Super Antenna
4/20/2008

Customer review by zanderqin

5.0 stars 4/20/2008 by zanderqin
by zanderqin

I wanted to get a jump on HDTV. When I hooked up my new HD converter to my old rectangle UHF antenna, I received only some of the local stations and poorly at that! I found out that the stations I didn't receive brodcast their HD content on VHF. My new Philips Outdoor 100 Mile HDTV / SDTV / FM Antenna not only brought in ALL the stations, but superbly as well! The use of 75 ohm coaxial cable instead of 300 ohm flat wire helped. Phillips even included the adapter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zanderqin
Hanford, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works great
9/7/2008

Customer review by DaveDadoftwo

4.0 stars 9/7/2008 by DaveDadoftwo
by DaveDadoftwo

I love this item. Works great, I went from three fuzzy channels to 9 cyrstal clear channels in a rural area. Don't think the anchor or mount is sturdy enough, but it works on the side of my house. This thing is hugh, assemble outside. Directions are a little confusing but if you messed something up, you can figure out where you went wrong. This item along with a digital converter box for DTV, that i also purchased at walmart, made me be able to give up my Sat TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveDadoftwo
Georgetown,De
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great reception
10/1/2008

Customer review by Imperial1964

4.0 stars 10/1/2008 by Imperial1964
by Imperial1964

It's a great product once installed. I now get the best TV reception of anyone in town. I live 50 miles from the closest station and I'm getting stations from 70 miles away, although those start to get a little fuzzy. As with any antenna I've seen, it is difficult to install on a roof with more than 3 inches of overhang. I had to custom make a bracket from aluminum stock. You would think antenna manufacturers would have solved this problem long ago.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Imperial1964
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
okay antenna
12/16/2007

Customer review by katelw10

3.0 stars 12/16/2007 by katelw10
by katelw10

This is a fairly good antenna, but was destroyed by an ice storm a month after I installed it. Before that, it produced a clear picture on the local channel and snowy picture on the desired vhf stations 60 miles away & no picture on the UHF 60 miles away. Two things to remember about all antennas - reduce the estimated range by at least 25% (which is an ideal with no obstructions such as hills, buildings, etc.) and brace it very thouroughly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katelw10
St. Joseph, Missouti
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
TV antenna
2/14/2008

Customer review by SouthernIndiana

4.0 stars 2/14/2008 by SouthernIndiana
by SouthernIndiana

Puchased this product two weeks ago. Took some time to understand the instructions but once it was assembled it then became quite easy to understand. When I mounted it outside which was quite easy to do and saw how it was performing I was really happy with the performance. Am planning on installing a rotor at a later time, then I should be able to pick up stations from another city in the opposite direction. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernIndiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews