Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 115 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

115 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

115 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
36
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
9
1-20 of 92 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
short and sweet
6/13/2008

Customer review by thenameiwantedwastaken

4.0 stars 6/13/2008 by thenameiwantedwastaken
by thenameiwantedwastaken

All in all this is a nice safe for the money. pros: *easy to program *key tone is quite *opens w/ code OR key (does not require both) *battery life indicator (push of a button) *carpet lined interior cons: *no mounting capabilities (safe is heavy but very movable; no bolt down hardware) better have a good hiding spot. *offers very little protection from fire and water damage (says so on the box), so if that is important to you this is not the safe you want. hope this helps?

Was this review helpful? (147) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thenameiwantedwastaken
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good product
1/14/2008

Customer review by NoNameGiven212121

4.0 stars 1/14/2008 by NoNameGiven212121
by NoNameGiven212121

Product is as described, so far no problems. large enough to fit whatever you'd want to put in it, the description makes it hard to realize the size. Large enough to hold file folders, camera, backup drive, things of that nature....one small removable shelf on the top if you wanted to put little things, it drops about 5 inches from the top. Bigger than the standard hotel size safe though I have been in a few that have safes of this size. Easy to use and no defects noted thus far. No dings, or scratches, door works fine. I'm satisified with product, ease of delivery to store which was nice, I took it out of the box there to inspect before lugging it home.

Was this review helpful? (55) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoNameGiven212121
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Everything I expected in a safe.
5/14/2014

Customer review by Critter1955

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by Critter1955
by Critter1955

This safe came well packaged and shipped fast (less than a week) which surprised me. The digital keypad is easily programmable from 3-8 digits and does come with (2) over ride keys for entry if digital pad fails. I set my pad to the (8) number entry and works perfectly so far. I am 100% Pleased with this product and would highly recommend it if you're looking for a safe place for your valuables. The safe also comes with (2) lag bolts for mounting to floor or wall to be extra "SAFE"!! Although the product description says (BLACK) for the color it is actually Gray. Overall I am satisfied with this product. I searched through a few different stores on the internet and this safe was a hands down winner on lowest price for any safe even close to this one in size. I feel completely safe now with all my valuables locked inside!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Critter1955
Adrian,Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Safty first!
8/14/2007

Customer review by Catwoman68207

5.0 stars 8/14/2007 by Catwoman68207
by Catwoman68207

I ordered this with the site to store shipping. It was very simple and helpful. It's a great product I bought it to hold my computer and documents for college because I was told a lot of stuff gets stollen and there is nothing anyone can do about it so I purchased this safe and I can fit my 15" laptop inside. There is also a shelf and key hooks. It's great for what I needed it for.

Was this review helpful? (38) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Catwoman68207
Wausau, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This safe isn't the greatest
10/1/2013

Customer review by vickster74

2.0 stars 10/1/2013 by vickster74
by vickster74

I am slightly disappointed with this safe. First, only the Panasonic R6 batteries that are included works with this safe. The owner's manual states that this takes AA batteries. Neither the Kirkland brand or Duracell works with this safe. Secondly, once I enter my combination code I have to turn the handle clockwise usually 3 times before it opens, and it doesn't always open. Sometimes I have to enter the code more than once. I called First Alert about the battery problem and the combination code not working properly. I was told they are aware of the battery problem and that most AA alkaline batteries sold in stores won't work and that I would have to use the Panasonic. They will mail me an extra set of batteries. I was told that the size of the batteries is off by a fraction of an inch. How strange is that? If this is the case then they need to change the wording in the Owner's Manual! In reference to the combination not working properly, I was told it could be due to the circuit board and to remove the inner door panel and look at the circuit board to be sure the connections were connected properly. If they were, then there could be a problem with the circuit board and they could mail me a new one. Personally, if the circuit board was bad then I don't think it would work at all. The First Alert company was happy to help me over the phone. But I am a happy camper when things work properly to begin with. This safe does not. Overall, I like the height of this safe and if I can get the circuit board issue (if that's the problem) resolved then I will be happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vickster74
Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent experience
11/8/2009

Customer review by boxerlover84

5.0 stars 11/8/2009 by boxerlover84
by boxerlover84

The Honeywell safe is very secure and allows for ease of use. I use it for my medications and frequently open and close the safe with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boxerlover84
Roseburg. Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not SAFE at all
9/29/2010

Customer review by b1mohr

1.0 stars 9/29/2010 by b1mohr
by b1mohr

This product was and is the worst purchase I've bought in years. Here is why I recommend you keep your money..After purchasing this safe and bringing it home I followed the instructions by setting up your key code to secure my belongs..things seem to be going good until the battery indicator informed me that the batteries that I had placed into the safe were no good...so like anyone else would do I went to the store to purchase the size battery this safe requires, well after wrestling with case that holds the batteries I finally the case open, got them in after an hour of my time seems to go by and could not get the cover back on. After the batteries are secure in place the battery indicator informs me that the batteries are no good, " I just bought them"!!! So I get another set...same story! O Im not done. So I take out the batteries and say forget it I will just use the keys and work with what I have. Well come to find out the locks on the inside of the safe do not go all the way into the proper holes to secure this SAFE that claims to be SAFE!. Its just like when you go to open a door, thats how easy it is to get in this safe. Your better off putting all my stuff in a drawer in the kitchen. Do not waste your time or money.

Was this review helpful? (20) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
b1mohr
Winchester, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Gun safe
3/9/2014

Customer review by Dwalton

5.0 stars 3/9/2014 by Dwalton
by Dwalton

I used it for my guns. , great value and the carpet inside is nice for all my guns so they won't get scratched.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dwalton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Value - with conditions
1/23/2010

Customer review by Chimayo

3.0 stars 1/23/2010 by Chimayo
by Chimayo

I received this product shortly after X-mas. Delivery. I used the $0.49 home delivery option as it is a "heavy" item. Amazing this item was sent door-to-door for less than a dollar. BIG savings. Packaging. I read numerous reviews were the item was damaged in transit (not Wal*Mart). I was betting Wal*Mart would do a better job of delivery and that was #1 reason I bought here. Mine arrived in perfect shape. It was double-boxed with the original packaging placed in a larger shipping box with extra padding on the top and bottom corners. Perfect. Mounting hardware. To my surprise, safe came with large bolts to secure it in place. I knew the safe would be "lighter" (price point) and had seen comments from people about the lack of mounting capability or DIY attempts to secure. Nice. Someone read reviews and addressed the shipping damage and mounting issues I had come across while researching. Thank you! The only issue is the keypad did not work. After checking the batteries and replacing the batteries, no joy. I called the manufacturer's customer service and they were courteous, professional and fast. They shipped a replacement keypad immediately. I received in under five days. VALUE. If you are shopping for a small (understand cu.ft. on the product) safe, with keypad, that can be secured (optional) with included hardware - hard to beat the value I experienced. In closing, the included keys are a backup feature. You only need to use if you forget the code, the batteries die or your keypad stops working. Not needed to operate the safe unless that is how you want to use it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chimayo
ucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great product
11/29/2013

Customer review by roychris

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by roychris
by roychris

Just exactly like the description, heavy and well built. Lock works great. Can be bolted to the wall or floor, bolts included. Shipping was right on time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roychris
utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Safe
9/8/2009

Customer review by Peace2Ya

5.0 stars 9/8/2009 by Peace2Ya
by Peace2Ya

The safe is very useful and sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (14) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Peace2Ya
Bay Shore, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
sad prooduct
1/6/2008

Customer review by sadinny

1.0 stars 1/6/2008 by sadinny
by sadinny

when the product was given as a gift ...how sad ...the door was misaligned on it so as to not shutting properly...how disappointing...the product is being returned to the store and i purchaed a different brand

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sadinny
utica, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Meets expectations
6/7/2010

Customer review by Boomdoggle

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Boomdoggle
by Boomdoggle

Does what I need it to do: Keep handguns and ammo away from children, store a few valuables. Considering the price and convenience of ordering, it is an excellent value. I wish it was somewhat fireproof, but I knew it wasn't when I bought it. The name label keeps falling off, other than that, works fine.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boomdoggle
Wagram, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Value
6/7/2014

Customer review by dogwalker22

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by dogwalker22
by dogwalker22

Solid quality. Bolt it to the wall, or bolt it to the floor, it ain't going nowhere.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dogwalker22
Charleston WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
KEEP YOUR MONEY SAFE !
9/18/2007

Customer review by PROFESSORPAUL

5.0 stars 9/18/2007 by PROFESSORPAUL
by PROFESSORPAUL

THIS SAFE IS VERY EASY TO USE. PUSH A FEW BUTTONS ON THE SAFE AND IT UNLOCKS FOR 5 SECONDS. TURN THE HANDLE QUICK. I LIKE IT . I WILL BUY ANOTHER SAFE IN THE FUTURE.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PROFESSORPAUL
GRASS VALLEY,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
it is a small safe, perfect for an apartment
5/4/2014

Customer review by whipcrack

4.0 stars 5/4/2014 by whipcrack
by whipcrack

The safe works as described, it is compact and heavy which is perfect for my purposes for the price paid. The instructions are clear and easy to read and follow. It came with Panasonic brand AA batteries which allowed me to set my safe's code and start using it right away. There were poor reviews regarding the Panasonic AA batteries being the only batteries the safe takes. If that's the case, there are several retailers that sell those batteries such as Radio Shack, Target, Walmart, and 99 cent stores. Some are very inexpensive and having a key to unlock the safe should the batteries fail is a big win. Plus it delivered three days earlier than promised.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whipcrack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
11/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Good value

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Jersey Show
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Perfect Safe
1/9/2013

Customer review by BRFella

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by BRFella
by BRFella

I bought this safe for my 90-year old mother to keep her jewelry in at her assisted living facility. It replaced a combination safe that was cumbersome for her to get into quickly. The digital touchpad makes it so much more convenient for her, and the carpeted interior makes it perfect for storing her jewelry. The only complaint I have (very minor, not concerning the safe itself) is that there was a large label glued to the front covering the entire door. It took about 45 minutes to remove the label and adhesive glue. First Alert needs to find another way to attach the label to make removal easier.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BRFella
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT VALUE, GREAT SAFE!!
1/21/2013

Customer review by Lovinss

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Lovinss
by Lovinss

Had purchased a secure lock box for medicines and important papers- "box" was good (metal), however the lock handle was plastice and my 6 year old was able to break it and open it after a few minutes (purchased from home improvement store for $80). Decided to get a more secure device and decided on this one. I debated on this one and one that was over $100 more (for fire and water protection- next one will be this for more important files and weapons). Both loked that had the same specs except theo other had more insulation and seals- just as secure. Very happy with this choice- VERY secure!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovinss
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Delivered as described
11/22/2010

Customer review by NowinIndy

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by NowinIndy
by NowinIndy

I spent a great deal of time finding a save that had built in ability to bolt through the bottom and back. I would have had to spend a great deal more for that feature. It was delivered as described. The quality was a little better than anticipated for the price

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NowinIndy
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews