Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 138 reviews
5 stars
78
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-20 of 125 reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Exactly what I was looking for
2/8/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This box is surprisingly large inside. Although the walls are thick and overall HEAVY there is plenty of storage room. I use this to keep instruction manuals of everything I own, with attached receipts - sort of like a proof of purchase in case of a fire. I found it a great addition to the 3 hour safe I have for valuables, and I ran out of room!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Buy
1/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been looking for a new safe for a long time. To get one this size was just too expensive in the past. I have many files and I keep them in file folders in my old box and they are warped because my old one was not big enough to store them. This has a hanging file channel, I can file everything I need neatly and have plenty of room. The price was the best part of the deal. I have seen safe's this big for over $200. This one was $50. A huge bargain!!!! and it is waterproof to boot. I have spent a few years looking for the perfect item and I am proof and this product is proof that with a little patience, it can be found. Very happy with my purchase, very happy with the price. but I will warn you the thing is wicked heavy! The only thing I think I would change is to have a combo lock instead of a key. I don't keep valuables in my safe, just important documents, but if I did I would feel better if it was a combo lock instead of a key. Excellent product by a name I trust. Let's just hope I never have to put it to the test.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
9/18/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The size is perfect for what I needed. I have mostly legal size documents but was able to fit them in without having to fold them. I plan to take them out every so often and rearrange so they aren't permanently "looped". I did notice when I first opened the safe that the instruction pamphlets were damp but after leaving the door open for a while then testing again, things remained dry. I tried all this before putting my important papers in there. Having read another review that talked about the moisture problem, I took their suggestion and called customer service. The very nice lady explained that it was a common thing and recommended I open the safe at least once a month and let it dry out. She is also sending me more of the packets that absorb moisture. Without having any way to prove that it truly is water and fire proof I would still say that overall it is as advertised and will work great for my needs. Keep in mind that while it is fairly heavy it would not be something you would want to use as a true safe, as someone could easily pick it up and carry it off.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
missing description warning
12/18/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have a few small safes and wanted one to hold documents. This was a good price for a .6 cube safe. I was surprised when I unpacked it and saw a warning label stating that the cover had to be opened and the safe aired out every 2 weeks to prevent damage to any papers. Not a task that i wanted to do so I returned the safe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Keep documents safe and at home
7/8/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got tired of safety deposit boxes at the bank...It seemed like every time I had opened this box,,days days later I would need something else. So I purchased this First Alert. I picked this one for it's size, and you could hang pendaflex folders in it. Next it is water proof and fireproof to a certain degree. which gives me time to get at it hopefully soon enough to acquire the contents. It is not burglar proof, but there is nothing that is of importance to them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sturdy
12/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I had two small fireproof file boxes. One the lock was broken and the other the key started to get jammed. I decided it was time to replace them so I bought the First Alert, water and fire protector file chest. It is heavy and larger, but it holds the contents from both of my old file boxes with room for more. The average hanging files place your documents off of the bottom allowing circulation of air. I highly suggest you read the instructions for this file chest. I would have never known to keep the chest in a low humidity area.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Solid, except latch.
1/24/2009
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The unit seems to be quite solid, except for the latch/lock. The lock operates well, but it is made of plastic. The silver part on the front is what keeps the lid from being opened and it is thin plastic. Obviously this is not a security safe, but in a bad fire it seems like the latch could melt or burn away. The lid is heavy, but if knocked over the unit would become useless. Might be an unlikely scenario, but isn't that why we get a safe? I would save my money and get a real safe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's plastic...
6/2/2008
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's heavy and seems solid... Both the outside and inside are plastic which makes me kind of nervous it wouldn't survive a fire. It's cheap, and hopefully I'll never have to test it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Solid little safe
11/20/2008
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Upon receiving and unboxing the safe, I was surprised to discover that the safe was constructed of molded plastic. Apparently the exterior of the safe is designed to burn away, as Honeywell provides free replacements in the event that the safe survives a fire. . Once I got over the surprise of this discovery, I was pleased that the safe operated very smoothly and closed quite securely. There is a rubber gasket that seals the lid to the base of the case. I'm confident that the contents will be safe and dry in the event that my house burns down and the safe is doused with water. . The lock seems adequate to keep peeping eyes from the safe's contents. We don't really plan to lock it, as we purchased the safe only to keep our important documents protected in the event of a fire. The latching lid closes securely; you need to firmly push a button on the latch to release it once the cylinder-type lock is opened.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Document safe
12/22/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Simple file safe . The only issues with this item is weight. Perhaps cutouts in hull for handles. Also requirement to open safe periodically to allow venting so papers don't degrade.. Not a big deal when you consider safe will survive most anything.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
what's "not" in the description
2/5/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
just wanted a secure item for safe storage of household documents. found out after i bought it that this thing has condensation problems and that you should open the top every two weeks to let it air out or one could end up with a bunch of wet paper. would not let me return it cause it was a special order. good boat anchor though. go a different direction
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/20/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought the safe to store some important documents and picture cd's that couldn't be replaced in case of a fire. Plenty of room. Lid opens and closes easily. The key lock is great compared to some of the other models we looked at. A good buy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Well-made fire protection.
10/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This box looks well-made and I think it will provide adequate protection against fire; however, buyers should note that this box is not designed to provide much (if any?) protection against theft. If you want theft protection, buy a steel safe. If you want fire protection, buy this box. If you want fire and theft protection, put this box in a steel safe. Also, I am using a rechargeable gun-safe desiccant-based dehumidifier in this box to protect against mold and humidity and it seems to be working so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Size is fantastic!
5/6/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The safe was just what I needed. Not too big but large enough to hold my valuables and store important files in an orderly manner. Easy to open and not horribly heavy but secure. It works for me!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/8/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ordered this with the frame of mind .. I have to evacuate within 20 minutes - where are my valuables? This is a very nice water & fire resistant safe. It has a latch that activates with a push button and a key hole to secure contents. However, there was no key included with the unit. Nor does it have carrying handles for ease of transport in an evacuation scenario. It also has an advisory that one should encase contents in a dish-washer-proof container, which is a bit of a hassle... to find a container of the same dimensions as the internal ones of the safe.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Arrived with a cracked lid
5/10/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Upon opening the cardboard packing, you will come across an important piece of information in form of a red warning label (namely "... be sure to place important papers, documents, currency, jewelry an other delicate items in an airtight, dishwasher-safe container") which is nowhere to be found in the product description prior to ordering. There's not really a lot of storage space inside the product to begin with, so following this advice would further cut down on that space. On the other hand, the unit arrived with an already cracked lid. While the outside of the unit is some sort of plastic, one would think it's a bit sturdier and would survive the shipping process. This is, however, the second recent order from Walmart that arrived with some damage and has to be returned, so perhaps the shipping process needs to be reviewed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wrong interior dimension
12/27/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this for a Christmas present. The interior dimensions were INCORRECT!! This was so disappointing. I'm not sure who writes the descriptions of the products. They need to be more correct in their description. I purchased this in hopes to fit certain items inside. Unfortunately, this was unable to be done seeing that the INTERIOR DIMENSIONS were INCORRECT!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good product
3/28/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This fire safe works as presented. It holds hanging file folders nicely and the lock works well. This is not a sucurity safe. If somebody wanted to get into it with a crowbar, it would not be hard, but the latch does lock to keep prying kids or unwanted guests out. There is about a half inch of space below the hanging file folders to store extra items. I am very happy with this product and the value. Honeywell says they will replace it should it need replacing after a fire. Good deal!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
safe
2/18/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Did not realize how heavy it was and with items in, I cannot lift. Also not recommended for jewelry or pictures which surprised me,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good safe....If you can lift it!
3/9/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The safe itself is strong and well made......The only thing that I did not know of, was the weight. It is well over 30 lbs. and it has no handles. You have to bend over, and grab from the bottom to pick it up. Again, VERY HEAVY. Wish I had read up on it more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642840, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-