Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

89 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

89 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 77 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Solid, except latch.
1/24/2009

Customer review by jimmd

2.0 stars 1/24/2009 by jimmd
by jimmd

The unit seems to be quite solid, except for the latch/lock. The lock operates well, but it is made of plastic. The silver part on the front is what keeps the lid from being opened and it is thin plastic. Obviously this is not a security safe, but in a bad fire it seems like the latch could melt or burn away. The lid is heavy, but if knocked over the unit would become useless. Might be an unlikely scenario, but isn't that why we get a safe? I would save my money and get a real safe.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimmd
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It's plastic...
6/2/2008

Customer review by MrWright

3.0 stars 6/2/2008 by MrWright
by MrWright

It's heavy and seems solid... Both the outside and inside are plastic which makes me kind of nervous it wouldn't survive a fire. It's cheap, and hopefully I'll never have to test it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrWright
West Chester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
5/20/2008

Customer review by MrsGess

5.0 stars 5/20/2008 by MrsGess
by MrsGess

We bought the safe to store some important documents and picture cd's that couldn't be replaced in case of a fire. Plenty of room. Lid opens and closes easily. The key lock is great compared to some of the other models we looked at. A good buy.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsGess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
what's "not" in the description
2/5/2012

Customer review by haphaight

2.0 stars 2/5/2012 by haphaight
by haphaight

just wanted a secure item for safe storage of household documents. found out after i bought it that this thing has condensation problems and that you should open the top every two weeks to let it air out or one could end up with a bunch of wet paper. would not let me return it cause it was a special order. good boat anchor though. go a different direction

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
haphaight
upstate, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
9/18/2010

Customer review by grannyfromtx1954

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by grannyfromtx1954
by grannyfromtx1954

The size is perfect for what I needed. I have mostly legal size documents but was able to fit them in without having to fold them. I plan to take them out every so often and rearrange so they aren't permanently "looped". I did notice when I first opened the safe that the instruction pamphlets were damp but after leaving the door open for a while then testing again, things remained dry. I tried all this before putting my important papers in there. Having read another review that talked about the moisture problem, I took their suggestion and called customer service. The very nice lady explained that it was a common thing and recommended I open the safe at least once a month and let it dry out. She is also sending me more of the packets that absorb moisture. Without having any way to prove that it truly is water and fire proof I would still say that overall it is as advertised and will work great for my needs. Keep in mind that while it is fairly heavy it would not be something you would want to use as a true safe, as someone could easily pick it up and carry it off.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grannyfromtx1954
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Excellent Buy
1/9/2013

Customer review by lynda8630

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by lynda8630
by lynda8630

I have been looking for a new safe for a long time. To get one this size was just too expensive in the past. I have many files and I keep them in file folders in my old box and they are warped because my old one was not big enough to store them. This has a hanging file channel, I can file everything I need neatly and have plenty of room. The price was the best part of the deal. I have seen safe's this big for over $200. This one was $50. A huge bargain!!!! and it is waterproof to boot. I have spent a few years looking for the perfect item and I am proof and this product is proof that with a little patience, it can be found. Very happy with my purchase, very happy with the price. but I will warn you the thing is wicked heavy! The only thing I think I would change is to have a combo lock instead of a key. I don't keep valuables in my safe, just important documents, but if I did I would feel better if it was a combo lock instead of a key. Excellent product by a name I trust. Let's just hope I never have to put it to the test.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lynda8630
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
12/8/2011

Customer review by lakelady68

3.0 stars 12/8/2011 by lakelady68
by lakelady68

Ordered this with the frame of mind .. I have to evacuate within 20 minutes - where are my valuables? This is a very nice water & fire resistant safe. It has a latch that activates with a push button and a key hole to secure contents. However, there was no key included with the unit. Nor does it have carrying handles for ease of transport in an evacuation scenario. It also has an advisory that one should encase contents in a dish-washer-proof container, which is a bit of a hassle... to find a container of the same dimensions as the internal ones of the safe.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lakelady68
Camdenton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Exactly what I was looking for
2/8/2009

Customer review by GrandpaGoose

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by GrandpaGoose
by GrandpaGoose

This box is surprisingly large inside. Although the walls are thick and overall HEAVY there is plenty of storage room. I use this to keep instruction manuals of everything I own, with attached receipts - sort of like a proof of purchase in case of a fire. I found it a great addition to the 3 hour safe I have for valuables, and I ran out of room!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandpaGoose
Broken Arrow, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Quality
7/22/2009

Customer review by SocksOfPower

5.0 stars 7/22/2009 by SocksOfPower
by SocksOfPower

This box is much bigger than I expected. It is also very heavy so don't plan on moving it around a lot. Although it looks big from the outside there is much less space on the inside due to the thick walls. The lock seems fairly sturdy. There is a little slip of paper included in the box (I almost threw it out) that has a code on it that you need if you lose your keys and need new ones. I'm using it to store passports, birth certificates, etc.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SocksOfPower
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
exactly what I wanted.
10/12/2013

Customer review by Jefenir

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by Jefenir
by Jefenir

the inside diameter was very important to us and missing from several other smaller products. this one is as I expected and I like that I do not have to lock it to get it closed. id rather a burglar see the contents instead of stealing the whole thing as it only secures important personal paperwork files. very nice product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jefenir
sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well-made fire protection.
10/16/2013

Customer review by Burrito1776

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Burrito1776
by Burrito1776

This box looks well-made and I think it will provide adequate protection against fire; however, buyers should note that this box is not designed to provide much (if any?) protection against theft. If you want theft protection, buy a steel safe. If you want fire protection, buy this box. If you want fire and theft protection, put this box in a steel safe. Also, I am using a rechargeable gun-safe desiccant-based dehumidifier in this box to protect against mold and humidity and it seems to be working so far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Burrito1776
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solved a storage problem
10/29/2013

Customer review by Gr8Grumpy9

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Gr8Grumpy9
by Gr8Grumpy9

Amazed at the ease of purchase - found it on web site, ordered same, delivered to local WalMart - what more could one ask. Staff were very helpful loading it into my car.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gr8Grumpy9
Wrentham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good product
1/20/2009

Customer review by 2golf

1.0 stars 1/20/2009 by 2golf
by 2golf

Received this and opened it to have the lock on the front fall off. Not well made. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2golf
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Should have had FULL directions on it
5/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Did not know that you had to open and air it for 20 minutes every two weeks.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Exactly as described
6/19/2009

Customer review by Notmyrealnickname2

5.0 stars 6/19/2009 by Notmyrealnickname2
by Notmyrealnickname2

This fire safe appears to be exactly as described. Of course, the only real way to tell if it performs as designed is to stick it in a huge fire, or drop it in the pond, but it does appear to have a sturdy enough lock, and the lid appears to fit tightly enough to keep water out. I'm happy with the product and would buy it again. Surprisingly, WalMart had the best price on the internet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Notmyrealnickname2
Ashburn, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Some what helpful
8/23/2010

Customer review by Thejefe

3.0 stars 8/23/2010 by Thejefe
by Thejefe

It was hard to open. Also, it was humid inside. I hope I don't have any problem when I start putting things inside.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thejefe
Las Vegas, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Just what I need
6/14/2008

Customer review by tiger2325

5.0 stars 6/14/2008 by tiger2325
by tiger2325

This is just the thing for filing important papers for safekeeping. With hanging file folders, everthing is right at your fingertips!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tiger2325
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good disaster file box (not a burglar safe)
12/27/2011

Customer review by m913

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by m913
by m913

This is a good value for disaster storage. It is built for hanging files with some additional space beneath. But it is not a burglar-proof safe. Although it has a small keyed lock and would be difficult to carry away (at about 40 pounds), its real purpose is to survive a fire and to fall through debris into a wet cellar. I hope never to check its ability to do so, but it sure looks like it would survive. Unlike some reviewers, the lock and hinge work fine for me. And the user guide warns (as others here have learned) that the insulation will leak humidity, so you must wrap papers in plastic before storage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
m913
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Protect Imprtant Documents
5/17/2009

Customer review by padrat

5.0 stars 5/17/2009 by padrat
by padrat

If you need to protect (fire & water) important documents - look no further. Store deeds, auto registration, wills, stock certificates, etc. in this file box. Good for PC financial records and photo backups. Nice size, holds standard 9.5x11.75 hanging folders. There is a little space under the folders for whatever. It is water tight and floats, no tie downs, 30 minutes fire resistant, cam latch closure. The lock is not required for fire & water protection. THIS IS NOT A STRONGBOX/SAFE.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
padrat
SF Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Very good qulity for the price
3/27/2013

Customer review by rmelvin

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by rmelvin
by rmelvin

Really needs a set of detachable handles for moving.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rmelvin
MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews