Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
7
1-20 of 120 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews
Sam's Auctions Provide an Opportunity to Save $$
5/10/2016

Customer review by twetherholt1

5.0 stars 5/10/2016 by twetherholt1
by twetherholt1

My purchase exceeded my expectations!!! Thank you, Terry Wetherholt

twetherholt1
El Monte, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Well built light weight water-proof safe
9/6/2014

Customer review by Sharpcreases

4.0 stars 9/6/2014 by Sharpcreases
by Sharpcreases

On the recommendation of my insurance salesman, I have moved some of my more important documents into a waterproof safe. I have 2 other safes that hold a lot of pictures and documents chronicling my children's lives. He related that having so much in non-water-proof safes may end up in a loss given a possible fire and water needed to put out a fire that most safes don't stop water from entering. Check it out. By the way, more banks are becoming resistant to storing expensive documents....

Sharpcreases
West Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
For my purpose, I give it 5 stars!
1/24/2013

Customer review by Constance

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Constance
by Constance
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only thing that would make this box even "more perfect" would be one that offers legal size files and paperwork. These are perfect for storing photos and those special items that may never make it through a fire. I will be utilizing a moisture-free device, the same as is recommended in safes and safe-deposit boxes. Of course, these don't take the place of either a safe or safe deposit box, but they serve a purpose.

Constance
NEW BRAUNFELS,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
lame product
6/15/2012

Customer review by slicksam

2.0 stars 6/15/2012 by slicksam
by slicksam

Basically a "portable" file safe. So where is the handle(s)????? Living in Florida, I have greater concern about leaving quickly in the event of extremely foul weather. A handle would be of great convenience. Not much thought put into the design. It's locking but that just keeps the "honest" people out! Waterproof and fire resistant are its only redeeming qualities.

slicksam
Hudson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Wise choice
4/16/2011

Customer review by BillCII

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by BillCII
by BillCII

When you compare this model to others you will find that for the price you received both Fire & Water proof coverage AND free replacement after a fire. None of the other model's offered that coverage and guarantee. Only drawback is that it has to be shipped, not carried in the store.

BillCII
Saltville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Value, Good Quality
10/11/2014

Customer review by SASGAS

4.0 stars 10/11/2014 by SASGAS
by SASGAS

Very impressed with the safe. Believe it will protect valuables if ever needed. Arrived with some minor damage on the top.

SASGAS
texarkana, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Exactly what I was looking for
2/8/2009

Customer review by GrandpaGoose

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by GrandpaGoose
by GrandpaGoose

This box is surprisingly large inside. Although the walls are thick and overall HEAVY there is plenty of storage room. I use this to keep instruction manuals of everything I own, with attached receipts - sort of like a proof of purchase in case of a fire. I found it a great addition to the 3 hour safe I have for valuables, and I ran out of room!

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaGoose
Broken Arrow, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
missing description warning
12/18/2016

Customer review by wallyaussi

3.0 stars 12/18/2016 by wallyaussi
by wallyaussi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a few small safes and wanted one to hold documents. This was a good price for a .6 cube safe. I was surprised when I unpacked it and saw a warning label stating that the cover had to be opened and the safe aired out every 2 weeks to prevent damage to any papers. Not a task that i wanted to do so I returned the safe.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wallyaussi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy
12/12/2016

Customer review by nana

5.0 stars 12/12/2016 by nana
by nana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had two small fireproof file boxes. One the lock was broken and the other the key started to get jammed. I decided it was time to replace them so I bought the First Alert, water and fire protector file chest. It is heavy and larger, but it holds the contents from both of my old file boxes with room for more. The average hanging files place your documents off of the bottom allowing circulation of air. I highly suggest you read the instructions for this file chest. I would have never known to keep the chest in a low humidity area.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Buy
1/9/2013

Customer review by lynda8630

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by lynda8630
by lynda8630

I have been looking for a new safe for a long time. To get one this size was just too expensive in the past. I have many files and I keep them in file folders in my old box and they are warped because my old one was not big enough to store them. This has a hanging file channel, I can file everything I need neatly and have plenty of room. The price was the best part of the deal. I have seen safe's this big for over $200. This one was $50. A huge bargain!!!! and it is waterproof to boot. I have spent a few years looking for the perfect item and I am proof and this product is proof that with a little patience, it can be found. Very happy with my purchase, very happy with the price. but I will warn you the thing is wicked heavy! The only thing I think I would change is to have a combo lock instead of a key. I don't keep valuables in my safe, just important documents, but if I did I would feel better if it was a combo lock instead of a key. Excellent product by a name I trust. Let's just hope I never have to put it to the test.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lynda8630
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great product
9/18/2010

Customer review by grannyfromtx1954

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by grannyfromtx1954
by grannyfromtx1954

The size is perfect for what I needed. I have mostly legal size documents but was able to fit them in without having to fold them. I plan to take them out every so often and rearrange so they aren't permanently "looped". I did notice when I first opened the safe that the instruction pamphlets were damp but after leaving the door open for a while then testing again, things remained dry. I tried all this before putting my important papers in there. Having read another review that talked about the moisture problem, I took their suggestion and called customer service. The very nice lady explained that it was a common thing and recommended I open the safe at least once a month and let it dry out. She is also sending me more of the packets that absorb moisture. Without having any way to prove that it truly is water and fire proof I would still say that overall it is as advertised and will work great for my needs. Keep in mind that while it is fairly heavy it would not be something you would want to use as a true safe, as someone could easily pick it up and carry it off.

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grannyfromtx1954
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
does the trick
2/22/2017

Customer review by AndyS

5.0 stars 2/22/2017 by AndyS
by AndyS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

budget storage solution for sensitive papers

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AndyS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong interior dimension
12/27/2016

Customer review by Meee

1.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Meee
by Meee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for a Christmas present. The interior dimensions were INCORRECT!! This was so disappointing. I'm not sure who writes the descriptions of the products. They need to be more correct in their description. I purchased this in hopes to fit certain items inside. Unfortunately, this was unable to be done seeing that the INTERIOR DIMENSIONS were INCORRECT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep documents safe and at home
7/8/2016

Customer review by woodslady60

4.0 stars 7/8/2016 by woodslady60
by woodslady60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got tired of safety deposit boxes at the bank...It seemed like every time I had opened this box,,days days later I would need something else. So I purchased this First Alert. I picked this one for it's size, and you could hang pendaflex folders in it. Next it is water proof and fireproof to a certain degree. which gives me time to get at it hopefully soon enough to acquire the contents. It is not burglar proof, but there is nothing that is of importance to them.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
woodslady60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Document safe
12/22/2016

Customer review by Wladz

4.0 stars 12/22/2016 by Wladz
by Wladz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Simple file safe . The only issues with this item is weight. Perhaps cutouts in hull for handles. Also requirement to open safe periodically to allow venting so papers don't degrade.. Not a big deal when you consider safe will survive most anything.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wladz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent fire/water safe
1/9/2017

Customer review by Dissolutioned

5.0 stars 1/9/2017 by Dissolutioned
by Dissolutioned
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Room enough plus some. Good price. My only complaint is Walmart's site is confusing. Even if I ONLY want to see what my store has in stock, I still see items that need to be ordered. I try to avoid Walmart as much as I can.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dissolutioned
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
As advertised
1/12/2017

Customer review by Jreview

5.0 stars 1/12/2017 by Jreview
by Jreview
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sturdy chest. Seems just as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jreview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid, except latch.
1/24/2009

Customer review by jimmd

2.0 stars 1/24/2009 by jimmd
by jimmd

The unit seems to be quite solid, except for the latch/lock. The lock operates well, but it is made of plastic. The silver part on the front is what keeps the lid from being opened and it is thin plastic. Obviously this is not a security safe, but in a bad fire it seems like the latch could melt or burn away. The lid is heavy, but if knocked over the unit would become useless. Might be an unlikely scenario, but isn't that why we get a safe? I would save my money and get a real safe.

Was this review helpful? (32) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimmd
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It's plastic...
6/2/2008

Customer review by MrWright

3.0 stars 6/2/2008 by MrWright
by MrWright

It's heavy and seems solid... Both the outside and inside are plastic which makes me kind of nervous it wouldn't survive a fire. It's cheap, and hopefully I'll never have to test it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrWright
West Chester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Size is fantastic!
5/6/2016

Customer review by Karen

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Karen
by Karen

The safe was just what I needed. Not too big but large enough to hold my valuables and store important files in an orderly manner. Easy to open and not horribly heavy but secure. It works for me!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1-20 of 120 reviews