Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

92 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

92 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
28
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 80 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
Exactly what I was looking for
2/8/2009

Customer review by GrandpaGoose

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by GrandpaGoose
by GrandpaGoose

This box is surprisingly large inside. Although the walls are thick and overall HEAVY there is plenty of storage room. I use this to keep instruction manuals of everything I own, with attached receipts - sort of like a proof of purchase in case of a fire. I found it a great addition to the 3 hour safe I have for valuables, and I ran out of room!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaGoose
Broken Arrow, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Buy
1/9/2013

Customer review by lynda8630

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by lynda8630
by lynda8630

I have been looking for a new safe for a long time. To get one this size was just too expensive in the past. I have many files and I keep them in file folders in my old box and they are warped because my old one was not big enough to store them. This has a hanging file channel, I can file everything I need neatly and have plenty of room. The price was the best part of the deal. I have seen safe's this big for over $200. This one was $50. A huge bargain!!!! and it is waterproof to boot. I have spent a few years looking for the perfect item and I am proof and this product is proof that with a little patience, it can be found. Very happy with my purchase, very happy with the price. but I will warn you the thing is wicked heavy! The only thing I think I would change is to have a combo lock instead of a key. I don't keep valuables in my safe, just important documents, but if I did I would feel better if it was a combo lock instead of a key. Excellent product by a name I trust. Let's just hope I never have to put it to the test.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lynda8630
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Fire safe
2/10/2016

Customer review by Diana

5.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Diana
by Diana

Just as described.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
9/18/2010

Customer review by grannyfromtx1954

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by grannyfromtx1954
by grannyfromtx1954

The size is perfect for what I needed. I have mostly legal size documents but was able to fit them in without having to fold them. I plan to take them out every so often and rearrange so they aren't permanently "looped". I did notice when I first opened the safe that the instruction pamphlets were damp but after leaving the door open for a while then testing again, things remained dry. I tried all this before putting my important papers in there. Having read another review that talked about the moisture problem, I took their suggestion and called customer service. The very nice lady explained that it was a common thing and recommended I open the safe at least once a month and let it dry out. She is also sending me more of the packets that absorb moisture. Without having any way to prove that it truly is water and fire proof I would still say that overall it is as advertised and will work great for my needs. Keep in mind that while it is fairly heavy it would not be something you would want to use as a true safe, as someone could easily pick it up and carry it off.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grannyfromtx1954
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
keeps important papers safe
1/17/2016

Customer review by yebnikelb

4.0 stars 1/17/2016 by yebnikelb
by yebnikelb

This safe arrived dented on the top corner,probably dropped by carrier,Other than that it will serve its purpose keeping some important papers safe from fire and water. Its heavy but roomy enough for what I need.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yebnikelb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid, except latch.
1/24/2009

Customer review by jimmd

2.0 stars 1/24/2009 by jimmd
by jimmd

The unit seems to be quite solid, except for the latch/lock. The lock operates well, but it is made of plastic. The silver part on the front is what keeps the lid from being opened and it is thin plastic. Obviously this is not a security safe, but in a bad fire it seems like the latch could melt or burn away. The lid is heavy, but if knocked over the unit would become useless. Might be an unlikely scenario, but isn't that why we get a safe? I would save my money and get a real safe.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimmd
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It's plastic...
6/2/2008

Customer review by MrWright

3.0 stars 6/2/2008 by MrWright
by MrWright

It's heavy and seems solid... Both the outside and inside are plastic which makes me kind of nervous it wouldn't survive a fire. It's cheap, and hopefully I'll never have to test it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrWright
West Chester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Arrived with a cracked lid
5/10/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/10/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Upon opening the cardboard packing, you will come across an important piece of information in form of a red warning label (namely "... be sure to place important papers, documents, currency, jewelry an other delicate items in an airtight, dishwasher-safe container") which is nowhere to be found in the product description prior to ordering. There's not really a lot of storage space inside the product to begin with, so following this advice would further cut down on that space. On the other hand, the unit arrived with an already cracked lid. While the outside of the unit is some sort of plastic, one would think it's a bit sturdier and would survive the shipping process. This is, however, the second recent order from Walmart that arrived with some damage and has to be returned, so perhaps the shipping process needs to be reviewed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
what's "not" in the description
2/5/2012

Customer review by haphaight

2.0 stars 2/5/2012 by haphaight
by haphaight

just wanted a secure item for safe storage of household documents. found out after i bought it that this thing has condensation problems and that you should open the top every two weeks to let it air out or one could end up with a bunch of wet paper. would not let me return it cause it was a special order. good boat anchor though. go a different direction

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
haphaight
upstate, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product at great price...
12/8/2015

Customer review by RickNJ1

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by RickNJ1
by RickNJ1

needed a few more fireproof boxes for things. Good prices at Walmart and variety and shipping offers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RickNJ1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well-made fire protection.
10/16/2013

Customer review by Burrito1776

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Burrito1776
by Burrito1776
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This box looks well-made and I think it will provide adequate protection against fire; however, buyers should note that this box is not designed to provide much (if any?) protection against theft. If you want theft protection, buy a steel safe. If you want fire protection, buy this box. If you want fire and theft protection, put this box in a steel safe. Also, I am using a rechargeable gun-safe desiccant-based dehumidifier in this box to protect against mold and humidity and it seems to be working so far.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burrito1776
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/20/2008

Customer review by MrsGess

5.0 stars 5/20/2008 by MrsGess
by MrsGess

We bought the safe to store some important documents and picture cd's that couldn't be replaced in case of a fire. Plenty of room. Lid opens and closes easily. The key lock is great compared to some of the other models we looked at. A good buy.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsGess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
12/8/2011

Customer review by lakelady68

3.0 stars 12/8/2011 by lakelady68
by lakelady68

Ordered this with the frame of mind .. I have to evacuate within 20 minutes - where are my valuables? This is a very nice water & fire resistant safe. It has a latch that activates with a push button and a key hole to secure contents. However, there was no key included with the unit. Nor does it have carrying handles for ease of transport in an evacuation scenario. It also has an advisory that one should encase contents in a dish-washer-proof container, which is a bit of a hassle... to find a container of the same dimensions as the internal ones of the safe.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lakelady68
Camdenton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good Quality
7/22/2009

Customer review by SocksOfPower

5.0 stars 7/22/2009 by SocksOfPower
by SocksOfPower

This box is much bigger than I expected. It is also very heavy so don't plan on moving it around a lot. Although it looks big from the outside there is much less space on the inside due to the thick walls. The lock seems fairly sturdy. There is a little slip of paper included in the box (I almost threw it out) that has a code on it that you need if you lose your keys and need new ones. I'm using it to store passports, birth certificates, etc.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SocksOfPower
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
exactly what I wanted.
10/12/2013

Customer review by Jefenir

5.0 stars 10/12/2013 by Jefenir
by Jefenir
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the inside diameter was very important to us and missing from several other smaller products. this one is as I expected and I like that I do not have to lock it to get it closed. id rather a burglar see the contents instead of stealing the whole thing as it only secures important personal paperwork files. very nice product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jefenir
sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid little safe
11/20/2008

Customer review by Kirtlander

4.0 stars 11/20/2008 by Kirtlander
by Kirtlander

Upon receiving and unboxing the safe, I was surprised to discover that the safe was constructed of molded plastic. Apparently the exterior of the safe is designed to burn away, as Honeywell provides free replacements in the event that the safe survives a fire. . Once I got over the surprise of this discovery, I was pleased that the safe operated very smoothly and closed quite securely. There is a rubber gasket that seals the lid to the base of the case. I'm confident that the contents will be safe and dry in the event that my house burns down and the safe is doused with water. . The lock seems adequate to keep peeping eyes from the safe's contents. We don't really plan to lock it, as we purchased the safe only to keep our important documents protected in the event of a fire. The latching lid closes securely; you need to firmly push a button on the latch to release it once the cylinder-type lock is opened.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kirtlander
Kirtland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Solved a storage problem
10/29/2013

Customer review by Gr8Grumpy9

4.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Gr8Grumpy9
by Gr8Grumpy9
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Amazed at the ease of purchase - found it on web site, ordered same, delivered to local WalMart - what more could one ask. Staff were very helpful loading it into my car.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gr8Grumpy9
Wrentham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good product
1/20/2009

Customer review by 2golf

1.0 stars 1/20/2009 by 2golf
by 2golf

Received this and opened it to have the lock on the front fall off. Not well made. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2golf
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Very Happy With This Safe
7/19/2012

Customer review by BAKEinFL

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by BAKEinFL
by BAKEinFL

I purchased this safe after spending a considerable amount of time reading customer reviews on several sites of it and it's competing safe made by Sentry. The First Alert Safe is 5 lbs lighter than the Sentry safe. I consider this to give the First Alert Safe a significant advantage. The Sentry safe also appears to have a major hinge problem. The problem most cited for this safe was that it sometimes arrived with a dented corner or missing keys. I therefore arranged to have the safe delivered to a Walmart store so that I could inspect it before taking delivery. I did not want to carry the heavy safe home, unbox it, find a defect, and then have to bring it back for a refund. I am happy to say that the safe arrived in perfect condition. It has plenty of room inside for hanging folders and they slide easily. I had previously lifted a Sentry safe at a store and found it pretty hard for me to lift. I was very pleased to see this safe that is 5 lbs lighter, while still heavy, is much easier for me to lift than the Sentry. Both brands of safe say that they should be left open for 30 miutes every 2 weeks to prevent condensation forming which could result in mold growth. I decided to open mine on the 1st and 15th day of each month for as many hours as convenient. The bottom line is that I am very happy with this safe. I do not know where one can find a better one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BAKEinFL
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good disaster file box (not a burglar safe)
12/27/2011

Customer review by m913

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by m913
by m913

This is a good value for disaster storage. It is built for hanging files with some additional space beneath. But it is not a burglar-proof safe. Although it has a small keyed lock and would be difficult to carry away (at about 40 pounds), its real purpose is to survive a fire and to fall through debris into a wet cellar. I hope never to check its ability to do so, but it sure looks like it would survive. Unlike some reviewers, the lock and hinge work fine for me. And the user guide warns (as others here have learned) that the insulation will leak humidity, so you must wrap papers in plastic before storage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
m913
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews