Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 138 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

138 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

138 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
37
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
7
1-20 of 125 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Exactly what I was looking for
2/8/2009

Customer review by GrandpaGoose

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by GrandpaGoose
by GrandpaGoose

This box is surprisingly large inside. Although the walls are thick and overall HEAVY there is plenty of storage room. I use this to keep instruction manuals of everything I own, with attached receipts - sort of like a proof of purchase in case of a fire. I found it a great addition to the 3 hour safe I have for valuables, and I ran out of room!

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaGoose
Broken Arrow, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Excellent Buy
1/9/2013

Customer review by lynda8630

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by lynda8630
by lynda8630

I have been looking for a new safe for a long time. To get one this size was just too expensive in the past. I have many files and I keep them in file folders in my old box and they are warped because my old one was not big enough to store them. This has a hanging file channel, I can file everything I need neatly and have plenty of room. The price was the best part of the deal. I have seen safe's this big for over $200. This one was $50. A huge bargain!!!! and it is waterproof to boot. I have spent a few years looking for the perfect item and I am proof and this product is proof that with a little patience, it can be found. Very happy with my purchase, very happy with the price. but I will warn you the thing is wicked heavy! The only thing I think I would change is to have a combo lock instead of a key. I don't keep valuables in my safe, just important documents, but if I did I would feel better if it was a combo lock instead of a key. Excellent product by a name I trust. Let's just hope I never have to put it to the test.

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lynda8630
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
missing description warning
12/18/2016

Customer review by wallyaussi

3.0 stars 12/18/2016 by wallyaussi
by wallyaussi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a few small safes and wanted one to hold documents. This was a good price for a .6 cube safe. I was surprised when I unpacked it and saw a warning label stating that the cover had to be opened and the safe aired out every 2 weeks to prevent damage to any papers. Not a task that i wanted to do so I returned the safe.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wallyaussi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No Shipping Protection
5/19/2017

Customer review by ZZTT

2.0 stars 5/19/2017 by ZZTT
by ZZTT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Received damaged Chest because the package had no protection. Returned to store for replacement. Lousy lock mechanical design, easy to pry open. Protection from fire, only good for paper works and non valuable items.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ZZTT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy
12/12/2016

Customer review by nana

5.0 stars 12/12/2016 by nana
by nana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had two small fireproof file boxes. One the lock was broken and the other the key started to get jammed. I decided it was time to replace them so I bought the First Alert, water and fire protector file chest. It is heavy and larger, but it holds the contents from both of my old file boxes with room for more. The average hanging files place your documents off of the bottom allowing circulation of air. I highly suggest you read the instructions for this file chest. I would have never known to keep the chest in a low humidity area.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
9/18/2010

Customer review by grannyfromtx1954

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by grannyfromtx1954
by grannyfromtx1954

The size is perfect for what I needed. I have mostly legal size documents but was able to fit them in without having to fold them. I plan to take them out every so often and rearrange so they aren't permanently "looped". I did notice when I first opened the safe that the instruction pamphlets were damp but after leaving the door open for a while then testing again, things remained dry. I tried all this before putting my important papers in there. Having read another review that talked about the moisture problem, I took their suggestion and called customer service. The very nice lady explained that it was a common thing and recommended I open the safe at least once a month and let it dry out. She is also sending me more of the packets that absorb moisture. Without having any way to prove that it truly is water and fire proof I would still say that overall it is as advertised and will work great for my needs. Keep in mind that while it is fairly heavy it would not be something you would want to use as a true safe, as someone could easily pick it up and carry it off.

Was this review helpful? (21) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grannyfromtx1954
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Keep documents safe and at home
7/8/2016

Customer review by woodslady60

4.0 stars 7/8/2016 by woodslady60
by woodslady60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got tired of safety deposit boxes at the bank...It seemed like every time I had opened this box,,days days later I would need something else. So I purchased this First Alert. I picked this one for it's size, and you could hang pendaflex folders in it. Next it is water proof and fireproof to a certain degree. which gives me time to get at it hopefully soon enough to acquire the contents. It is not burglar proof, but there is nothing that is of importance to them.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
woodslady60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Document safe
12/22/2016

Customer review by Wladz

4.0 stars 12/22/2016 by Wladz
by Wladz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Simple file safe . The only issues with this item is weight. Perhaps cutouts in hull for handles. Also requirement to open safe periodically to allow venting so papers don't degrade.. Not a big deal when you consider safe will survive most anything.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wladz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong interior dimension
12/27/2016

Customer review by Meee

1.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Meee
by Meee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for a Christmas present. The interior dimensions were INCORRECT!! This was so disappointing. I'm not sure who writes the descriptions of the products. They need to be more correct in their description. I purchased this in hopes to fit certain items inside. Unfortunately, this was unable to be done seeing that the INTERIOR DIMENSIONS were INCORRECT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Safe
2/24/2017

Customer review by Safe

5.0 stars 2/24/2017 by Safe
by Safe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This safe seems secure. There is plenty of room for papers and other valuables. We would have liked it if it would have had a handle on it as it is very heavy even before putting anything in it, however.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Safe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid, except latch.
1/24/2009

Customer review by jimmd

2.0 stars 1/24/2009 by jimmd
by jimmd

The unit seems to be quite solid, except for the latch/lock. The lock operates well, but it is made of plastic. The silver part on the front is what keeps the lid from being opened and it is thin plastic. Obviously this is not a security safe, but in a bad fire it seems like the latch could melt or burn away. The lid is heavy, but if knocked over the unit would become useless. Might be an unlikely scenario, but isn't that why we get a safe? I would save my money and get a real safe.

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimmd
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
It's plastic...
6/2/2008

Customer review by MrWright

3.0 stars 6/2/2008 by MrWright
by MrWright

It's heavy and seems solid... Both the outside and inside are plastic which makes me kind of nervous it wouldn't survive a fire. It's cheap, and hopefully I'll never have to test it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrWright
West Chester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Good safe....If you can lift it!
3/9/2017

Customer review by Edward

2.0 stars 3/9/2017 by Edward
by Edward
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The safe itself is strong and well made......The only thing that I did not know of, was the weight. It is well over 30 lbs. and it has no handles. You have to bend over, and grab from the bottom to pick it up. Again, VERY HEAVY. Wish I had read up on it more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edward
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Size is fantastic!
5/6/2016

Customer review by Karen

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Karen
by Karen

The safe was just what I needed. Not too big but large enough to hold my valuables and store important files in an orderly manner. Easy to open and not horribly heavy but secure. It works for me!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
File Box
3/11/2017

Customer review by SMiller

5.0 stars 3/11/2017 by SMiller
by SMiller
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm happy about how big it is. It holds all our documents, and a large binder as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SMiller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
what's "not" in the description
2/5/2012

Customer review by haphaight

2.0 stars 2/5/2012 by haphaight
by haphaight

just wanted a secure item for safe storage of household documents. found out after i bought it that this thing has condensation problems and that you should open the top every two weeks to let it air out or one could end up with a bunch of wet paper. would not let me return it cause it was a special order. good boat anchor though. go a different direction

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
haphaight
upstate, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
5/20/2008

Customer review by MrsGess

5.0 stars 5/20/2008 by MrsGess
by MrsGess

We bought the safe to store some important documents and picture cd's that couldn't be replaced in case of a fire. Plenty of room. Lid opens and closes easily. The key lock is great compared to some of the other models we looked at. A good buy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsGess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
12/8/2011

Customer review by lakelady68

3.0 stars 12/8/2011 by lakelady68
by lakelady68

Ordered this with the frame of mind .. I have to evacuate within 20 minutes - where are my valuables? This is a very nice water & fire resistant safe. It has a latch that activates with a push button and a key hole to secure contents. However, there was no key included with the unit. Nor does it have carrying handles for ease of transport in an evacuation scenario. It also has an advisory that one should encase contents in a dish-washer-proof container, which is a bit of a hassle... to find a container of the same dimensions as the internal ones of the safe.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lakelady68
Camdenton, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Well-made fire protection.
10/16/2013

Customer review by Burrito1776

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Burrito1776
by Burrito1776
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This box looks well-made and I think it will provide adequate protection against fire; however, buyers should note that this box is not designed to provide much (if any?) protection against theft. If you want theft protection, buy a steel safe. If you want fire protection, buy this box. If you want fire and theft protection, put this box in a steel safe. Also, I am using a rechargeable gun-safe desiccant-based dehumidifier in this box to protect against mold and humidity and it seems to be working so far.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burrito1776
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
FIRE PROOF BOX
3/1/2017

Customer review by JJJJ

5.0 stars 3/1/2017 by JJJJ
by JJJJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

GOOD PRICE. SPACIOUS. WILL IT HOLD UP TO A FIRE? I DON'T KNOW. THERE'S ONLY ONE WAY TO TEST IT.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JJJJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews