Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 113 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

113 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

113 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 101 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
Exactly what I was looking for
2/8/2009

Customer review by GrandpaGoose

5.0 stars 2/8/2009 by GrandpaGoose
by GrandpaGoose

This box is surprisingly large inside. Although the walls are thick and overall HEAVY there is plenty of storage room. I use this to keep instruction manuals of everything I own, with attached receipts - sort of like a proof of purchase in case of a fire. I found it a great addition to the 3 hour safe I have for valuables, and I ran out of room!

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaGoose
Broken Arrow, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Buy
1/9/2013

Customer review by lynda8630

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by lynda8630
by lynda8630

I have been looking for a new safe for a long time. To get one this size was just too expensive in the past. I have many files and I keep them in file folders in my old box and they are warped because my old one was not big enough to store them. This has a hanging file channel, I can file everything I need neatly and have plenty of room. The price was the best part of the deal. I have seen safe's this big for over $200. This one was $50. A huge bargain!!!! and it is waterproof to boot. I have spent a few years looking for the perfect item and I am proof and this product is proof that with a little patience, it can be found. Very happy with my purchase, very happy with the price. but I will warn you the thing is wicked heavy! The only thing I think I would change is to have a combo lock instead of a key. I don't keep valuables in my safe, just important documents, but if I did I would feel better if it was a combo lock instead of a key. Excellent product by a name I trust. Let's just hope I never have to put it to the test.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lynda8630
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
A Waste of Money
6/30/2016

Customer review by waste

1.0 stars 6/30/2016 by waste
by waste
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First of all, it came damaged. Secondly it is very heavy and no handles.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waste
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
9/18/2010

Customer review by grannyfromtx1954

4.0 stars 9/18/2010 by grannyfromtx1954
by grannyfromtx1954

The size is perfect for what I needed. I have mostly legal size documents but was able to fit them in without having to fold them. I plan to take them out every so often and rearrange so they aren't permanently "looped". I did notice when I first opened the safe that the instruction pamphlets were damp but after leaving the door open for a while then testing again, things remained dry. I tried all this before putting my important papers in there. Having read another review that talked about the moisture problem, I took their suggestion and called customer service. The very nice lady explained that it was a common thing and recommended I open the safe at least once a month and let it dry out. She is also sending me more of the packets that absorb moisture. Without having any way to prove that it truly is water and fire proof I would still say that overall it is as advertised and will work great for my needs. Keep in mind that while it is fairly heavy it would not be something you would want to use as a true safe, as someone could easily pick it up and carry it off.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grannyfromtx1954
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Protector
8/23/2016

Customer review by Rich

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Rich
by Rich
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

WE looked at several options and settled upon the file chest. Just what we wanted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keep documents safe and at home
7/8/2016

Customer review by woodslady60

4.0 stars 7/8/2016 by woodslady60
by woodslady60
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got tired of safety deposit boxes at the bank...It seemed like every time I had opened this box,,days days later I would need something else. So I purchased this First Alert. I picked this one for it's size, and you could hang pendaflex folders in it. Next it is water proof and fireproof to a certain degree. which gives me time to get at it hopefully soon enough to acquire the contents. It is not burglar proof, but there is nothing that is of importance to them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
woodslady60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor quality, very disappointed
8/8/2016

Customer review by Mrsb255

1.0 stars 8/8/2016 by Mrsb255
by Mrsb255
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this safe to protect my family valuables. I liked the price so I thought this would be a good choice. When it arrived I was very disappointed. The lock spot came clean off and it looked like it was severely damaged. It also looked lIke there was some corrosion in and on it. I also couldn't find the keys. Needless to say I returned it to the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mrsb255
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong description
7/10/2016

Customer review by Bolivaruser

2.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Bolivaruser
by Bolivaruser
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The item inner dimensions mentioned on the website is actually outer dimensions. So inner dimensions are small.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bolivaruser
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product
8/10/2016

Customer review by Khras

5.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Khras
by Khras
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Would recommend. No problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Khras
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Size is fantastic!
5/6/2016

Customer review by Karen

5.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Karen
by Karen

The safe was just what I needed. Not too big but large enough to hold my valuables and store important files in an orderly manner. Easy to open and not horribly heavy but secure. It works for me!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice, rugged.
6/5/2016

Customer review by oasisfor4

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by oasisfor4
by oasisfor4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my son because he was leaving important papers all over the place. Toss up between Century and First Alert. Both good products. I think I made the right decision. Heavy duty, fire and water proof. Plenty of room for files and his hand gun. Great locking System. Seems to be well built. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oasisfor4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid, except latch.
1/24/2009

Customer review by jimmd

2.0 stars 1/24/2009 by jimmd
by jimmd

The unit seems to be quite solid, except for the latch/lock. The lock operates well, but it is made of plastic. The silver part on the front is what keeps the lid from being opened and it is thin plastic. Obviously this is not a security safe, but in a bad fire it seems like the latch could melt or burn away. The lid is heavy, but if knocked over the unit would become useless. Might be an unlikely scenario, but isn't that why we get a safe? I would save my money and get a real safe.

Was this review helpful? (29) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimmd
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It's plastic...
6/2/2008

Customer review by MrWright

3.0 stars 6/2/2008 by MrWright
by MrWright

It's heavy and seems solid... Both the outside and inside are plastic which makes me kind of nervous it wouldn't survive a fire. It's cheap, and hopefully I'll never have to test it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrWright
West Chester, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
safe
2/18/2016

Customer review by widow

3.0 stars 2/18/2016 by widow
by widow

Did not realize how heavy it was and with items in, I cannot lift. Also not recommended for jewelry or pictures which surprised me,

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
widow
Would recommend to a friend? No
safe
6/1/2016

Customer review by Mikey

4.0 stars 6/1/2016 by Mikey
by Mikey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This safe is to protect your valuables such as wills and car titles against fire. It is not designed to protect your valuables against theft. You can pick it up and take it away and open it easily if you are a thief. Some think it is a security safe which it is not. It has a key and small lock

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mikey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
just as advertised
6/10/2016

Customer review by Monkeymay

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Monkeymay
by Monkeymay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sturdy, heavy, seems great for the job. Thankfully, haven't had a fire so can't speak to its ability to survive!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monkeymay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/20/2008

Customer review by MrsGess

5.0 stars 5/20/2008 by MrsGess
by MrsGess

We bought the safe to store some important documents and picture cd's that couldn't be replaced in case of a fire. Plenty of room. Lid opens and closes easily. The key lock is great compared to some of the other models we looked at. A good buy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsGess
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
what's "not" in the description
2/5/2012

Customer review by haphaight

2.0 stars 2/5/2012 by haphaight
by haphaight

just wanted a secure item for safe storage of household documents. found out after i bought it that this thing has condensation problems and that you should open the top every two weeks to let it air out or one could end up with a bunch of wet paper. would not let me return it cause it was a special order. good boat anchor though. go a different direction

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
haphaight
upstate, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well-made fire protection.
10/16/2013

Customer review by Burrito1776

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Burrito1776
by Burrito1776
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This box looks well-made and I think it will provide adequate protection against fire; however, buyers should note that this box is not designed to provide much (if any?) protection against theft. If you want theft protection, buy a steel safe. If you want fire protection, buy this box. If you want fire and theft protection, put this box in a steel safe. Also, I am using a rechargeable gun-safe desiccant-based dehumidifier in this box to protect against mold and humidity and it seems to be working so far.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Burrito1776
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid little safe
11/20/2008

Customer review by Kirtlander

4.0 stars 11/20/2008 by Kirtlander
by Kirtlander

Upon receiving and unboxing the safe, I was surprised to discover that the safe was constructed of molded plastic. Apparently the exterior of the safe is designed to burn away, as Honeywell provides free replacements in the event that the safe survives a fire. . Once I got over the surprise of this discovery, I was pleased that the safe operated very smoothly and closed quite securely. There is a rubber gasket that seals the lid to the base of the case. I'm confident that the contents will be safe and dry in the event that my house burns down and the safe is doused with water. . The lock seems adequate to keep peeping eyes from the safe's contents. We don't really plan to lock it, as we purchased the safe only to keep our important documents protected in the event of a fire. The latching lid closes securely; you need to firmly push a button on the latch to release it once the cylinder-type lock is opened.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kirtlander
Kirtland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews