Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

135 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

135 reviews | 3 out of 5

51%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
16
3 stars
15
2 stars
18
1 stars
42
1-20 of 116 total reviews
51%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
bad cord
3/17/2011

Customer review by calikinley

3.0 stars 3/17/2011 by calikinley
by calikinley

Like many others who have reviewed here - I came on this website because of my AC Adapter cord. The cord has spliced and frayed at the point where the cord enters the computer. This appears to be a common problem with these cords. However, I've had my laptop and the cord for 3 1/2 years, so at least it has lasted me awhile!! (unlike some of the other people who posted reviews). The price for a replacement seems kind of high here. I think I might be able to find one cheaper somewhere else. I hope my next cord will last me 3 more years rather than 6 months. I will have to be very gentle with it and hope it helps! ALSO, I should mention that my defective cord has a product # on it that has directed me to this AC adapter when I searched on the HP website using that product #. Yet, the product doesn't mention on this web page that it is compatible with the HP Pavilion dv6000 series (but it mentions other Pavilion series numbers instead). That confuses me.

calikinley
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
problem
8/20/2009

Customer review by oldobrn

2.0 stars 8/20/2009 by oldobrn
by oldobrn

This is the fourth cord inless than 2 years. They tend to bend near the insertion point and short out. I have changed the direction of plug to hope this lasts longer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldobrn
Tyler, tx.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poorly engineered
5/26/2012

Customer review by HowieThree

1.0 stars 5/26/2012 by HowieThree
by HowieThree

I own a Compaq Presario laptop and have been very happy with it. Its original adapter started to fail, and I ordered one of these as a replacement. Many reviewers seem frustrated with the way the adapter connects to the laptop, and now I can see what they mean. The connection is not snug, the plug does not seat well, and the slightest wiggle cuts off the power. I have had the new adapter less than a week, have plugged and unplugged it perhaps six times, never packed the adapter in a bag. It's just poor or cheap engineering, completely unsatisfactory. I'm not going to bother switching it out for another that will have the same problem. I will get along with it until I can buy another laptop. The poor quality of this product and this experience are enough to make me consider spending technology money elsewhere.

HowieThree
Chicagoland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
just the same
10/23/2009

Customer review by lulu20

4.0 stars 10/23/2009 by lulu20
by lulu20

I bought this adapter because my orignal had a short in it and it wouldn't charge my computer. I have an Compaq Presario F500 and this adapter is exactly like my old one. I have had this computer for about two years and I'm hoping that I won't have to buy another adapter again in two years or shorter! Its worth the money because I use my computer every day. I just try to keep the cord that connects to the computer and the adapter straight and not bended. Its been about 3 weeks and so far so good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lulu20
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible Design
8/4/2010

Customer review by ComputerChic

1.0 stars 8/4/2010 by ComputerChic
by ComputerChic

The little "nub" which you actually insert into the laptop is poorly designed. It breaks easily. This was actually a replacement of the one that came with my laptop. The original had the same problem, but this one was actually a lot worse. It started to show wear like a month after use unlike the original which took a couple of months. It finally broke today so I'm using what little charge is left in my laptop to write this review because I am fed up! I don't believe that I charge my computer any differently from other people with any undue strain to the connection point. Compared to other chargers I've encounter these have an unusually narrow connection point. I'll probably end up buying enough replacement chargers that equal the entire price of my actual laptop!

ComputerChic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Frayed Outer Mesh Wire Conductor
3/31/2009

Customer review by Gani

2.0 stars 3/31/2009 by Gani
by Gani

We have used my Compaq V3000 for more than a year now. My son took over using using for school. On the 4th month of his use the AC Adapter where a smaller wire goes out of the adapter itself and plugs into the PC power port the mesh conductor wire frayed. Since, the local replacement cost is $73, I decided to do the repair myself since I know that the adapter itself is okay, It is now working except that now the mesh wire is more prone to fraying and my son is having second thoughts using it since it looks like Frankenstein's adapter. The use of the mesh wire as a conductor is a design error as the mesh wire is prone to fraying. For both positive and negative wires use a simple wires since it is less (or not) prone to fraying.

Gani
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
3rd adaptor since Sept 08 for CP F700
6/21/2010

Customer review by nana60

3.0 stars 6/21/2010 by nana60
by nana60

All I need is the little piece part that goes into my laptop. The long cord pugged into the powerbar is ok, the adaptor box is ok, the cord to the laptop is ok, the little piece at the end (small female end that goes into my laptop's male end doesn't keep the connection and it always goes over to the battery power as the direct current through the little end plug doesn't work some how). I've been through 2 so far and working on purchasing a 3rd adaptor kid. Why doesn't anyone sell that little piece of plug independent of having to buy the whole adaptor kit and having 8 little pieces of end plus left over). Surely I don't have to buy a HP Adaptor Kit every time! Notice the cost of the whole adaptor kit!!!! Ideas anyone?

nana60
Vancouver Island, BC Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Problems with two computers
5/5/2009

Customer review by Applecore

1.0 stars 5/5/2009 by Applecore
by Applecore

Both myself and my sister have the same model computer, and we both are quite gentle with our computers. We move it around just as normal as you usually do with laptops. however, my sister's cord frayed to the point that it was not working anymore. My father and I soldered the connection and taped it up and now it works, but now I'm having the same trouble, but it's further up and unable to be fixed the same way. Right now I have electrical tape wrapped around the frayed part hoping that it'll not get worse, but if I shift the laptop the wrong way, it disconnects. I'm thinking of buying a new one. If I do, I'll be using heat shrink tubing and a good bit of electrical tape to make sure it stays safe and intact.

Applecore
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
2 Years
6/30/2011

Customer review by Jord

1.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Jord
by Jord

I have had this charger for 2 years. I had difficulties charging it at about 1.5 years through owning it. It came with the computer, and i thought it would work fine. I started with shaking it around in the computer when I realized it was loose. I put the AC adapter in at a right angle and it worked for 4 months. The I reached the point where I needed to shove it in at a right angle and now my computer won't even recognize that it's being charged. It charges slower and when I play a game like Starcraft 2 the battery slowly depletes. I really am looking into buying a different adapter since this one is at a ridiculous cost.

Jord
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Easy Purchase
1/20/2012

Customer review by Grasshopper61

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Grasshopper61
by Grasshopper61

I was totally thrilled to know that this particular item was replaceable and at a reasonable price. I was told by the store where the laptop was purchased that this particular item was very expensive to replace. We opted to tape the old one together. This worked for over a year, then one day the old one was broke beyond repair. I decided we had to bite the bullet and try to buy a new one and hoped that it wasnt gonna cost more than my laptop did. To my surprise I was able to replace this piece and not go bankrupt at the same time. Thank you so much....We should have investigated the issue the first time...

Grasshopper61
Hanson, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Power adapter
9/14/2009

Customer review by LadyDi

3.0 stars 9/14/2009 by LadyDi
by LadyDi

I found that the power adapter broke connection where the cord enters the plug-in to the computer making it impossible to splice or repair. The rubber coating split & the wiring broke. Therefore I will have to purchase the whole power unit. The cord that plugs into the power source is fine. I have had laptops before & did not have a problem with the power cord attached to the 65 W adapter. I travel a lot with my computer & the adapter is packed with it. I will try to be more aware of the way I pack the cord. Other than this problem, I am very pleased with my HP Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC.

LadyDi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Bad design
8/10/2010

Customer review by Siversen

2.0 stars 8/10/2010 by Siversen
by Siversen

I don't understand how they can continue to make such a poor quality product. I was foolish enough to buy two HP notebooks in a row. The ac adapter lasts only a few months. I carry it in my brief case, but am very careful with the adapter. My current Pavilion Notebook is 6 months old and I am on my 3rd adapter as of yesterday. My first notebook also went through three adapters in the first year before the laptop became too unreliable to continue using. They may be fine if they are kept on a desk and you don't need to bring them with you, but then, why have a laptop.

Siversen
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
It is Your Only Choice
5/27/2009

Customer review by Blaney

1.0 stars 5/27/2009 by Blaney
by Blaney

Nothing fancy about a power supply - plug it in and it works; or not. I am now ordering my third power supply for my laptop. I purchased the last one in October 2008. Things get tired and fall apart - if they have moving parts - this is a sealed device. I think it unfortunate that i have to repeatedly purchase power supplies for my computer and fully expect to purchase another if the computer keeps running. You would think I was buying ink cartridges for a printer. BTW- warranty is only good for items purchased at the HP Store for 21days. Nuff said.

Blaney
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Solution to your problems!
6/26/2010

Customer review by David8

1.0 stars 6/26/2010 by David8
by David8

My product broke after 6 months and from what I've read from other reviews, it has the same problem as everyone else: it gets super hot and the end of the cord breaks. I bought it online for literally 1/10th of the price here and it came with a 3 year warranty. Works great and the best part is that if it breaks I don't have to pay 10x the price for a new one! This product has been very unreliable, should probably have a recall and I wouldn't recommend purchasing a new one here because my experience with their durability has not been a good one.

David8
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Garbage
4/13/2010

Customer review by Jhayes

1.0 stars 4/13/2010 by Jhayes
by Jhayes

A few years ago I spent over a grand on a custom notebook from HP. It was necessary because some of the features I needed simply weren't offered on their regular machines, and I also needed a machine that I could use for a few years. I'm a college student, so that's a LARGE chunk of change for me. Within two years, I've replaced the cord twice and have needed to replace the battery, but haven't had the funds to do so. This cord/input combination is absolutely garbage. I'm supremely disappointed with how these things were engineered, and

Jhayes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
4 Cords and counting
5/17/2010

Customer review by SRBD

1.0 stars 5/17/2010 by SRBD
by SRBD

I bought my laptop in 2008 and since then have gone through 4 of these cords. I really believe its the cords and not the laptop. I've never had any power problems with the actual laptop. For me these cords last a max of 6 months. I believe that the wires are fraying and now my power fades in and out even though its plugged in. I've had to twist the cord into strange positions, and pinch off certain areas to get it to work. Because I've had other problems with HP besides power issues, I will not be buying anymore HP products.

SRBD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Looks like HP listens
5/12/2011

Customer review by margi

4.0 stars 5/12/2011 by margi
by margi

I just purchased this adapter. I was a bit leery about quality based on the reviews that I read. But I needed an adapter for the same reasons others stated. A break in the cord. The new one received today looks much thicker than the one I am replacing. The plug (or I guess it is called the dongle) appears to be exactly the same that came with my original purchase. Every thing seems to fit nicely/snugly. I am pleased that the cord itself is much thicker. I ordered on Monday and received on Wednesday, impressive delivery.

margi
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
dissatisfied
4/1/2012

Customer review by SMTR

1.0 stars 4/1/2012 by SMTR
by SMTR

I bought an economy laptop from HP 2 years ago and it has worked out fairly well. It isn't a great computer but it gets the job done for what I need it to do. That being said I am now on my 3rd AC adapter in 2 years and am very dissapointed by this fact. I knew that I was buying the low end from their products but I have not heard of others having this many difficulties with accesories from other brands. If I do decide to get another economy computer in the future, this kind of stuff has turned me off from HP.

SMTR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Correct numbers
11/30/2011

Customer review by buster66

4.0 stars 11/30/2011 by buster66
by buster66

If you have to replace a A/C Adapter , do yourself a favor ,look on the back of the adapter for (1) the part number of your unit , (2) the part number of the manufacturers replacement part number. Be sure to give these to the rep you are dealing with because as I found out there are multiple types and variations of adapters out there. So if you don't want to buy two different parts at the same time. Do it this way not like I did , you will be happier and back on the road faster than my three (3) weeks time.

buster66
Ocala,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Broken within 2 years
1/2/2010

Customer review by krissyg89

1.0 stars 1/2/2010 by krissyg89
by krissyg89

My original adapter broke down within 2 years of normal, minimal travel usage. The part that connects to the laptop is what I had the problem with. The covering started to wear down, and eventually I was able to see the wires underneath. I tried to tape it up, but that didn't help at all. Even with the tape, it just got worse. Now, depending on which way it is placed and how long it's been positioned that way, the cord will stop charging and I will have to reposition the cord so that it will charge.

krissyg89
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews