Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 73 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

73 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

5 stars
49
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
11/13/2009

Customer review by JeRussell2498

5.0 stars by JeRussell2498

I Love this lens when I am outside with the family. The range this lens allows is perfect for photographing my family. We often go on outings and I am able to get such close shots.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JeRussell2498
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great value lens for mid to high light
3/22/2010

Customer review by nbreyno

4.0 stars by nbreyno

My wife bought me the D5000 bundle on walmart.com that included this lens. I haven't had it too long but I have experience with amateur photography. Pros: 1. Great zoom lens 2. Great range 3. Awesome value 4. Great sharpness in mid/high outdoor light Cons: 1. Misses the low light boat completely with a minimum F-Stop of 4 2. Unpredictable autofocus will cause the camera to not take a picture in low light The value of this lens is just amazing and makes it tempting to those just starting with a DSLR or even enthusiasts looking for a good zoom and range lens. I enjoy this lens but the drawbacks have caused me to look for a fast lens that is compatible with low light without a flash.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nbreyno
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Not quite the best
3/8/2010

Customer review by paulo247

5.0 stars by paulo247

The ease of use, light-weight aspects are awesome. I wanted a bit more reach for subjects within 15 - 30 feet and this lens doesn't cut it. I love the clarity for close up work however, so this lens will fulfill this purpose completely. The manual focus adjustment ring is too small for my large fingers. Nikon is my choice no matter the slight shortcomings.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
paulo247
Murphy, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nikon 55 200mm lens
12/16/2010

Customer review by CATCHYASOME

5.0 stars by CATCHYASOME

great price works well try it you will like it

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CATCHYASOME
ST PETE FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The included lens is great
10/12/2010

Customer review by Aedilwyn

5.0 stars by Aedilwyn

Easy to use, quick focus.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Aedilwyn
Victorville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent lens
5/28/2010

Customer review by pensandneedles48

4.0 stars by pensandneedles48

It work real good with my Nikon D3000. I shoot indoor roller hockey, with very little light and I get pretty good shots. That even the local news paper uses the pictures that I take with this lens.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pensandneedles48
Pahrump, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This is one of the best lens i have used.
7/30/2010

Customer review by Pat D

5.0 stars by Pat D

When I purchased this lens I wasn't sure if this is what I wanted but after using it now for a year I just love the pictures I get and ease of using it. My next lens will be a wide angle lens.

Pat D
Albuquerque,NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Lens for the Money
7/30/2010

Customer review by QueenShari

5.0 stars by QueenShari

I received this lens with a bundle pack for my D200. It works very well at tracks that do not require a super lens. Not great for closer shots as I find the focus is harder to adapt to. Shooting in the 135 range is fantastic.

QueenShari
Saukville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
vibration reduction works well
7/30/2010

Customer review by Nikon enthusuast

5.0 stars by Nikon enthusuast

Have only recently used this lens on my D60. So far, I am very pleased with its overall performance. It's light and easy to use, with images that have been excellent.

Nikon enthusuast
stroudsburg, pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Entry Level 200mm Zoom
7/31/2010

Customer review by DrFPS

5.0 stars by DrFPS

This is a great product. It has features only found with lens 2x the cost. Easy to set up and make an amateur look like a pro. Best $$$ you will ever spend.

DrFPS
Mid west
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great lens for sports
7/30/2010

Customer review by ChrisR

5.0 stars by ChrisR

I have a nikon D200 camera and purchased this lens to use for photographing my son playing lacrosse. Lightweight, easy to use I have gotten great action photos with this lens. I highly reccomend it to anyone wishing to photograph sports.

ChrisR
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is very user friendly
7/30/2010

Customer review by In Focus

5.0 stars by In Focus

Awesome lens...the standard lens that came with D3000 was the 18-55 another great lens,and for some application not a problem when making a choice. However the 55-200 has been so forgiving it has impressed my friends so much so they to purchased the lens. The lens gives so many more options opens up a whole new world of photography. Clear concise and nicely detailed images, I highly recommend this lens to anyone because of its clearity and versitility.

In Focus
Morinville, AB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome lens!
7/30/2010

Customer review by untouchable7257

5.0 stars by untouchable7257

I am an amateur photographer, so I don't know the lingo or have a lot of fancy equipment. I do have this lens, and I love it. For some reason, the clarity and color in the shots with this lens feel more vibrant and saturated. Even for portraiture, I find I prefer using this lens and standing much further away from the subject than using my standard 18-55mm lens. This lens gets amazingly close-up shots. It's great for nature shots, but for details in city architecture as well. This is the perfect zoom lens for the beginning and intermediate photographers!

untouchable7257
Gig Harbor, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic lens
7/31/2010

Customer review by Elderred

5.0 stars by Elderred

Superior lens clarity and focus. If this lens had arms and legs, I'd marry it.

Elderred
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellant lens, I use it frequently
7/30/2010

Customer review by Donb

5.0 stars by Donb

This lens came with my camera, I use it frequently as most of the photos that I take are of distant items.

Donb
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't be beat
7/31/2010

Customer review by SteveT

5.0 stars by SteveT

For the price and size the Nikkor AF-S DX 55 to 200 Zoom is one lens that's almost impossible to beat. It will provide crystal clear pictures when your hand isn't steady, it is super quiet, light weight and the color retention is excellent. Having been a photography nut for over fifty years I just can't find one down side to owning this lens.

SteveT
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING!
7/30/2010

Customer review by ckabrooks

5.0 stars by ckabrooks

We bought this lens mainly with our kids sports activities in mind. After years of not being able to get good close-ups we were ready to expand our new camera purchase. With this lens the detail and clarity are unbelievable!! We use it for nearly everything. I highly doubt I will ever use a different brand of lens.

ckabrooks
Rochester, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the lens
7/30/2010

Customer review by Meanebaby

5.0 stars by Meanebaby

Love the lens. Love the brand. Can get close-ups at my daughter's school functions.

Meanebaby
Danville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
7/30/2010

Customer review by Jim in NC

5.0 stars by Jim in NC

I got this lens in a kit with a D40 and use it all the time for nature photography. I get clear pictures and the VR is a plus. Have not had any malfuctions with this lens

Jim in NC
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very flexible to a wide variety of uses.
7/30/2010

Customer review by jj

5.0 stars by jj

Very adaptable to wide variety of uses. Works great with the D5000, very glad I bought it!

jj
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 68 total reviews