Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

38 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

38 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

39%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
10
1-20 of 33 total reviews
39%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Black & Decker Spacemaker coffee maker
5/5/2008

Customer review by lrgdog

5.0 stars 5/5/2008 by lrgdog
by lrgdog

We own a travel Trailer and drink coffee in the morning,which means space is at a premium, This coffeemaker is installed under one of the cabinets and does not take any counter space, plus it has a thermal carafe which allows the coffee to stay hot and not continue to cook with that lovely burned taste. You can take the carafe outside and enjoy hot coffee with your breakfast until it runs out

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lrgdog
Las vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great coffeemaker
12/31/2007

Customer review by jrc1971

5.0 stars 12/31/2007 by jrc1971
by jrc1971

This is the second one I have bought(I killed the first one trying to clean it out with CLR, and doing this is NOT recommended). They have greatly improved it over the last couple years. Originally, pouring coffee from the carafe was a pain because you had to completely remove the lid...they have fixed this problem: now, you just turn it to "pour" and it neatly pours out with no spillage. They've also improved the face-clock: it's now easier to see the time and has an LED background light that comes on while you program it or set the timer. The coffee still tastes great, and it stays hot for HOURS...not to mention, if by chance the coffee cools down too much, it's not burned up by a coffeemaker burner; you can pop a cup in the microwave for 30 seconds and it still tastes fresh, not bitter and burned. My only criticism: the new ones are a little smaller...my first one was a 12 cup coffeemaker, and they have now scaled it back to 8 cups, and the coffemaker still costs about the same...still quite a bit of coffee, though. HIGHLY recommended if you're a frequent coffee drinker who cares about quality and taste but don't want to spend a hundred bucks on a coffee pot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrc1971
Mesquite, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for small space
2/13/2008

Customer review by Wilbet

3.0 stars 2/13/2008 by Wilbet
by Wilbet

The main reason I bought this product was for the space saveing design. I wish I could find a 12 cup maker with the thermal carafe in the same design but all I could find was one with a burner and glass pot. I can not comment on durability because I have only had the product a few weeks. So far it has not leaked as other reviews suggest and works fine. The only inconvience I encountered was that I had to sign for the package. I don't know why Wal-mart sent it with that demand. But UPS would only deliver during the week while I was at work so it was a pain to get it. I did not expect so much trouble when having something delivered.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wilbet
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not good for much
3/3/2008

Customer review by JMWINWA

1.0 stars 3/3/2008 by JMWINWA
by JMWINWA

This sounded like a good idea-but not worth the hassle. When you tried to brew the coffee, you have to hold the basket and pot in place. If the pot was not exactly lined up it would not drain into it--just overflow the basket. If you set it up the night before, it just slowly dripped water all over the counter until morning. The only time it brewed decent coffee was if you held onto the pot the entire time it is brewing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JMWINWA
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Like the Carafe
11/16/2007

Customer review by marxtone

4.0 stars 11/16/2007 by marxtone
by marxtone

Used this product every day of the week, sometimes twice a day, for over three years. Works flawlessly, no problems like others report. Love the idea of a insulated carafe so coffee isn't burned on a heat plate. If it cools in the carafe, a 30-sec. nuke does the trick. Reservoir cracked thru misuse, but a little glue fixed it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marxtone
Lakewood, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
could love it but....
1/6/2008

Customer review by 1disneyfan

3.0 stars 1/6/2008 by 1disneyfan
by 1disneyfan

The sneak a cup feature does not work at all- the lever for the sneak a cup forces the pot out of the slot when it starts to brew and the water goes everywhere but inside the pot! We woke up to a big mess after setting the timer and going to bed and waking up to what we thought would be morning coffee! The water and coffee grounds were all over the counter and running down on to the floor- we tried and tried to make it work finally had to remove the feature that allowed you to sneak a cup~ now that we removed that it works fine- I was so excited as I gave this to my husband for Christmas and then it turned out to be not as nice as I had thought! Oh well...........the coffee is good and the thermal pot is the reason I bought it~ love that; keeps the coffee nice and hot!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1disneyfan
Clermont, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
B&D 8 cup undercounter coffeepot
3/19/2008

Customer review by Cruiser6003

3.0 stars 3/19/2008 by Cruiser6003
by Cruiser6003

This product arrived approx 10 days after order through "Walmart ship to store" Process was painless but there is no way to track progress. Coffeepot was exactly the right size for my application and I love the stainless thermos pot as I live on a boat. I do not like how water spills easily from the resevoir from the vent hole. Another very annoying feature is that unless the pot is exactly aligned under the basket the coffee will not flow to the pot and will instead overflow the basket. When removing the pot for sneak a cup, be sure the basket does not come out of position (or if it does then reposition it) as even a small misalignment will cause the overflow mentioned above. Joel

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cruiser6003
FL - on a boat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great coffee maker
2/24/2008

Customer review by Carollyn

5.0 stars 2/24/2008 by Carollyn
by Carollyn

Some of the reviews I read before I bought this coffee pot were negative but I bought it anyway. It works perfectly and I have had no trouble with it at all. I like the fact that you can take it to the table with you and not have to jump up and down everytime you need your cup filled. The only problem is that I would have liked to have a 12 cup thermal coffee maker instead of an 8 cup. The 8 cup is great for the two of us but when we get company I will need more coffee. Maybe because it is under the cabinet, it can't be any larger.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carollyn
Middletown, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very unhappy
9/19/2007

Customer review by katiem

1.0 stars 9/19/2007 by katiem
by katiem

It is a nice looking product, but since there is no hot plate under the pot, you must drink the coffee right a way. The coffee does not start off that hot to begin with; so drink the coffee within the first half hour. I returned mine and Walmart was nice enough to take it back, since I was unhappy with my purchase. I bought another brand that same day that I returned the Black and Decker and am very happy with that purchase. Black and Decker is usually a good brand; they should look into this problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katiem
Ronkonkoma, N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Stay Away From It
3/18/2008

Customer review by LossLess

1.0 stars 3/18/2008 by LossLess
by LossLess

As per the other reviewers the electronics went out on the purchase in about 60 days. The older model I had by B&D lasted until some parts wore out and couldn't be replaced. I read the reviews on this new model but didn't heed the warnings, everything I read about the product came true: Leaked while brewing; Couldn't empty the pot completely; Electronics gave out in short order. It was so depressing I forgot to return it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LossLess
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great
3/30/2008

Customer review by Catacomb

5.0 stars 3/30/2008 by Catacomb
by Catacomb

This product is exactly as advertised. Coffee can be made from 2 cups to 8 cups and kept hot in the thermal carafe up to 7 hours. It's great to make coffee once in the morning and clean up the coffeemaker until the next day. No worry about burning coffee or setting fire as there is no "hot plate" ... the carafe (like a thermos) keeps it hot almost all day. It can be mounted under cabinet or free-standing. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Catacomb
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not recommend
2/20/2008

Customer review by bacmom

2.0 stars 2/20/2008 by bacmom
by bacmom

I only used this product twice. All the sudden by the 3rd time, the tray with the coffee filter pops out just enough to stop the coffee from going into the pot. Coffee and water spilled all over the place. I have to put tape on it to hold it in. I also read on another review before I purchased it that this happened so I knew exactly what it was. Guess I should have listened to the person who wrote the review.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bacmom
Columbus, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
black & Decker 8 cup Space Saver Thermal Coffee M
2/19/2008

Customer review by HandyDandy

1.0 stars 2/19/2008 by HandyDandy
by HandyDandy

This product did not work as per directions. Coffee over ran pot to make a mess. Lid to pot directions unable to read on pot lid. This is not a good house kitchen appliance, especially for the elderly. I returned this product to rerieve credit on my account for the purchase price. I suggest the thermal pot be replaced with a regular glass see through pot. or make direction s readable on the thermal pot.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HandyDandy
Harrisburg, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Needs some improvement
11/1/2007

Customer review by grego01

3.0 stars 11/1/2007 by grego01
by grego01

After the first week the handle's spot weld seperated from the bottom of the pot. I could still use it so I didn't complain. but now it stops brewing before all the water has been heated. I have to keep pushing the brew button untill all water is brewed. When it worked, it worked great. I hope my experence is just a fluke and believe Black & Decker makes good products but I am ready to get a new one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grego01
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
Coffeemaker dies too quickly!
2/4/2008

Customer review by lovemycoffee

2.0 stars 2/4/2008 by lovemycoffee
by lovemycoffee

I love this coffeemaker, so much that I have had to purchase 2 within a 6month period! I do drink coffee off and on all day, but, I would have expected it to last longer. I will not buy another one of these. Evidentally the steam from it gets the electrical system inside wet, next thing you know it goes out. The clock, trying to turn it on, the light, nothing works!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovemycoffee
waldorf, md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not like the old one
9/15/2007

Customer review by RobInFlorida

1.0 stars 9/15/2007 by RobInFlorida
by RobInFlorida

After replacing the previous model with excellent results for nine years, after less than 3 months, this model stops mid brew and has to be reset. The resevoir is not convenient to pull out and replace nor does the coffee filter pull out and replace easily. Do not put near windows as the steam escapes at the end of the brew. Bulky and hard to keep clean.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobInFlorida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Save the space for something else...
1/19/2008

Customer review by ESSA

1.0 stars 1/19/2008 by ESSA
by ESSA

This Spacemaker will hopefully make space soon for another product (not from Black & Decker!) It needed different drilling holes from its predecessor. The carafe ALWAYS leaks, even if the spout is perfectly lined up with 'pour'. The coffee is never hot enough, even when freshly brewed. The clock is fast, so forget about timing your morning cup.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ESSA
Montclair, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Black & Decker 8-Cup Spacemaker Thermal Carafe Cof
12/30/2007

Customer review by jinxsy

2.0 stars 12/30/2007 by jinxsy
by jinxsy

I would not recommend this product. The filter basket does not stay in place and slides out making a huge mess. The thermal pot does not do a good job keeping the coffee hot. The pot overflows when the basket slides out, I had to clean it up more than 4 times while brewing coffee unattended. We finally taped the basket in place.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jinxsy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
1/8/2008

Customer review by bluemoon4

5.0 stars 1/8/2008 by bluemoon4
by bluemoon4

I have purchased 3 of these so far. This one does not have the cup dispense option out of the handle but the plastic seems more durable than the other two I purchased a few years ago. No issues with anything on any of them other than the 1st one purchased the plastic cracked. Coffee is great and I really like the auto shut off.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluemoon4
Nicholasville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1/11/2008

Customer review by Kreedance

4.0 stars 1/11/2008 by Kreedance
by Kreedance

We bought this thru giftcards as a gift to ourselves, and are very glad we did.My wife had had one before in her past, and wanted to get another. I'm glad she talk me into it. My only disappointment is the light on the clock will go out after a few seconds. But I can always turn the ceiling light on for just a sec if I need to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kreedance
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews