Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 316 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

316 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

316 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
187
4 stars
66
3 stars
31
2 stars
17
1 stars
15
1-20 of 259 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 259 total reviews
1-20 of 259 reviews
Great quality from Sony
7/8/2009

Customer review by SJVB

5.0 stars 7/8/2009 by SJVB
by SJVB

Before I broke down and spent $50 on this little boombox, I spent $30 on a Memorex. Then I went online and saw bad reviews, mainly about the fact that the CD player died in less than a year. So I decided I needed to spend a little more because none of the $30 boomboxes were getting good reviews. All I really wanted in my boombox was a decent sound and a CD player. I don't have a lot of casettes or a need for an extra radio, so those were kind of bonuses. I looked up the reviews and not one person mentioned that CDs skipped or the CD player stopped working so this seems to be much more durable. I do with they had ability to hook up extra things, like an iPod. But it plays CD's, even burned CDs, just fine, and the sound is fabulous and can be very loud for that little boombox! I'm happy and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (118) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SJVB
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Superb
9/22/2007

Customer review by Grannystore

5.0 stars 9/22/2007 by Grannystore
by Grannystore

I really love my Sony. It is exactly what I was looking for and the price was great. I am really pleased with everything and I always recommend Wal-Mart to anyone that will listen.

Was this review helpful? (68) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grannystore
Candler, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not like my old boombox
10/8/2008

Customer review by LKPike

3.0 stars 10/8/2008 by LKPike
by LKPike

In a product category with very few choices (CD/cassette), I selected this Sony because the older model we had gave us 15 years of great service. We borrow a LOT of audio books (on cassette) from the library, which is 99% of what we use this machine for. This newer model is slow to rewind and does not allow for traditional drop and play on the cassette, meaning each side has to be fast forward to the beginning of the side to play. The CD player works great. Sound quality is ok and controls are easy enough for the kids to use. I feel the item is slightly overpriced given the differences in function between this and my older Sony boombox.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LKPike
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sony Boom Box...Yeah!
11/18/2008

Customer review by crazy4psu

5.0 stars 11/18/2008 by crazy4psu
by crazy4psu

The product is all I expected it to be. It is a wonderful boom box. I loved it so much I bought 2 of them. I am able to get all the stations. 90% of the time it is clear. There is some times when it doesn't come in clear. It is really clear at night. I like the idea you have am / Fm buttons and can set the channels. The speakers are great. I love the fact I can play a CD and or casette tape. My mom recorded some tapes before she passed away and it is wonderful to be able to play and hear them clearly. I highly reccommend it to anyone any age. I simply love it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazy4psu
Auburn, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great
11/8/2007

Customer review by MsX5

5.0 stars 11/8/2007 by MsX5
by MsX5

It has every feature you need. Digital tuner, cd player, and even a tape deck for those old audio tapes. I use it every day at work. It has crystal clear reception. It would make a great Christmas gift.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsX5
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
No Line-in
5/6/2009

Customer review by jthomasut

3.0 stars 5/6/2009 by jthomasut
by jthomasut

I bought this product based on my understanding of the product description. Under the details it said that it had connections for headphones and an audio line-in. Unfortunately, it didn't. I figure for $50 i should be able to hook my mp3 player up to it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jthomasut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
a great buy thanks!!!!!
1/31/2010

Customer review by dlove1

5.0 stars 1/31/2010 by dlove1
by dlove1

i remember i bought the first ver of this radio back in 98 and it lasted a long time before i spilled coffe on it. so after looking at the walmart site i saw this sony and did not hold back in getting it. it has alright sound if your4 looking for more watts you'll have to buy a bigger boombox other wise it plays great and i'll tell anyone this is just cool for the bedroom

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlove1
Columbus, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very very good raido
2/6/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/6/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just bought this todayand the sound is awsome & the other radio I had it was not a sony the sound was not that good.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lincoln IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
small but big sound
4/1/2010

Customer review by ComicHeroLover

5.0 stars 4/1/2010 by ComicHeroLover
by ComicHeroLover

i was very pleased with the sound that came from such a small box. i love it. price was very good also.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComicHeroLover
mobile, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great sound
6/22/2009

Customer review by nicholas58

5.0 stars 6/22/2009 by nicholas58
by nicholas58

Just bought this to listen to tunes on the road. The sound is wonderful. Much better than I ever expected.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicholas58
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just Right
11/8/2007

Customer review by Lane

5.0 stars 11/8/2007 by Lane
by Lane

This is actually the 2nd one I bought. My husband took the first one to college with him. I didn't relize how much I would miss this little cd player. It's perfect to carry from room to room when your cleaning. It's a great value for the price. It does everything it says it will.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lane
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Radio terrible
1/5/2010

Customer review by IshopwhenImust

1.0 stars 1/5/2010 by IshopwhenImust
by IshopwhenImust

I could not find many clear radio stations, for me this purchase was a waste of money, I am very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IshopwhenImust
Spotsylvania, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/5/2010

Customer review by bobby1492

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by bobby1492
by bobby1492

Nice digital AM/FM reception. The best AM radio for distant signals I've ever owned, including my last radio, the renoun CC Radio (now broken.) This SONY even sounds better. Not a BOOM-BOX . . . If you are looking for LOUD, this is not the right unit. If you are looking for CLEAN and functional, there couldn't possibly be anything close at this price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobby1492
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Boombox
12/9/2009

Customer review by tootsiesweet

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by tootsiesweet
by tootsiesweet

Excellent purchase on my part so far. I had ordered another boom box from Walmart online and the cd player would not work.lost that money.Now I'm giving this one a try.The cd player and radio works great like I said so far.Time will tell

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tootsiesweet
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
what i wanted
2/7/2009

Customer review by untrust

5.0 stars 2/7/2009 by untrust
by untrust

So far it is operating as I expect it to.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
untrust
Willcox, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent Boombox
3/25/2010

Customer review by MrSite

4.0 stars 3/25/2010 by MrSite
by MrSite

Overall the Sony Boombox with digital tuner is a great product. It has a good size (not to big), it's not heavy and it looks nice from a design standpoint. My only problem with the boombox is that living here in Houston I have extreme trouble tuning into one FM radio station, 92.1FM. Other portable radios have issues tuning into that station as well. The problem may be on the radio station's end, I think it may be a smaller station in need of more power for it's broadcast antenna. It would be nice if Sony offered a more powerful aftermarket antenna for this boombox. Nonetheless, it was a good purchase (on the internet) for $38.00 versus the stores $49 ninety-something price tag. I got mine sent Site-To-Store. It took 11 days instead of the 7-10 days that they promise! *Although it's the internet, you will still have to pay 8.25% sales tax.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrSite
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
By This While You Can
3/28/2010

Customer review by GREGinOrlando

5.0 stars 3/28/2010 by GREGinOrlando
by GREGinOrlando

I bought the first version of this Sony back in 1998. I still have it and use it almost every day. I ordered two of these about a month ago and today ordered another one. Why you ask? Well, first it's a great product at a great price. The low cost of shipping dosen't hurt either. The main reason is that I have a huge bunch of cassette recordings from long gone radio stations from the 60's on, and will need something to play them on in the future. Just like 8 tracks, the cassette player will soon be impossible to buy new in a few more years, if not sooner. You might want to stock up on blank cassette tapes also, they will soon be a thing of the past also. I think when these are gone they will be gone FOREVER.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GREGinOrlando
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor sound quality
6/1/2009

Customer review by MowingMusicMan

2.0 stars 6/1/2009 by MowingMusicMan
by MowingMusicMan

My Durabrand CD player started messing up this weekend, so I went into Wal-Mart and bought this SONY, based on good experiences with SONY products in the past. The features were nice, but the sound quality is not what I expected. I'll be returning this product and shopping for something else. With headphones, it sounds good, but with just the speakers, there is no depth to music.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MowingMusicMan
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Misleading Specification
1/14/2010

Customer review by BehindBars4Life

2.0 stars 1/14/2010 by BehindBars4Life
by BehindBars4Life

I almost bought this product because the specifications list an auxiliary / line-in jack on the unit for plugging in ipod or other MP3 players. However, the Sony website does not list that in the specs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BehindBars4Life
Would recommend to a friend? No
do not waste your $
8/13/2009

Customer review by CharlisAngel

1.0 stars 8/13/2009 by CharlisAngel
by CharlisAngel

I actually took this back and traded it for a better boom box that was even a lower price! this has no bass to it and should just be a $10 radio!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CharlisAngel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 259 total reviews
1-20 of 259 reviews