Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 752 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

752 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

752 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

52%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
440
4 stars
248
3 stars
44
2 stars
9
1 stars
11
1-20 of 697 total reviews
52%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 697 total reviews
1-20 of 697 reviews
SO cute!!!!!
1/17/2008

Customer review by cpnmomof2

5.0 stars 1/17/2008 by cpnmomof2
by cpnmomof2

We gave this to my son for his 5th birthday. He loves it! It was easy to put together. I love the fact that it comes with tons of the foam wood pieces. Most of the other tool benches I looked at required you to buy the project pieces separately or only came with one or two projects. This one has the pieces to make 12 projects. The projects you can build are a space ship, backhoe, airplane, cube, shelves, tool box, race car, super bike, bird house, boat, castle tower, and a space rover. Most of the projects require help from Mom and Dad to put together. That's the only draw back but what a fun way to interact with your children. This tool bench is a very sturdy plastic. We almost bought the Black and Decker tool bench. After seeing both in person, I'm glad we went with this one. It seems to be higher quality. My sons favorite part is the drill with interchangable bits. I'm really happy with this product!

Was this review helpful? (26) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cpnmomof2
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Son loves it
2/8/2010

Customer review by namasteshiva

4.0 stars 2/8/2010 by namasteshiva
by namasteshiva

This was a Christmas present for my 2 year old son. He loves it! The drill will not hurt him or the toy. The down side is the drill hardly moves the screws. Still this is a great value and my son love this toy and plays with it daily. I would recommend this toy to others.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
namasteshiva
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Out There!
5/16/2010

Customer review by SeriousAboutQuality

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by SeriousAboutQuality
by SeriousAboutQuality

This is the BEST workbench product out there for young children. I looked for several weeks at online reviews. Like all Step 2 products, very sturdy, assembled easy, and my son loves it! It comes with foam wood pieces and they have already been through the ringer with my almost 3 year old! They are very durable! The size of the screws is compatible to the Home Depot tools and screws for kids. This workbench doesn't take up much space and even has a little storage drawer. I am now able to contain our tool toys and banging! It also has screw holes on the top of the bench and sides, something the other toolbenches out there don't have! Don't waste your time or money on anything else... I'm picky and don't like getting stuck with poor products. Buy it, you'll be glad you did!

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeriousAboutQuality
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Children's Toy!
4/23/2008

Customer review by MommyOfAHandful

5.0 stars 4/23/2008 by MommyOfAHandful
by MommyOfAHandful

After looking around for a tool bench for my 2 year old son, this one is BY FAR the best I've found. I had purchased the Bob the Builder one from Target and the screws just dropped into the bench. There was a drill, but you couldn't drill anything into the bench. This tool bench is the only one that I have found that he can actually drill things into it. It comes with tons of projects to do as well. I had it shipped site to store and when we got it home, one of the pieces was broken. I called Step2 and they were so helpful. I had a replacement piece delivered to my door in less than a week. Great product!!!!

Was this review helpful? (154) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyOfAHandful
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Church Pre-K Classroom Toy
1/20/2016

Customer review by lovekids

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by lovekids
by lovekids

We purchased the workshop/tool Bench for our church's Pre-K age classroom. Assembly was completed in less than 20 minutes. Finished product is sturdy and will bring hours of enjoyment to the children. Like previous reviews, I wish the drill made more sound but overall the product is made even better than I anticipated. Can't wait for the little guys and gals to start playing with it this week!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovekids
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Little Shop!
8/20/2007

Customer review by MHHDaycare

5.0 stars 8/20/2007 by MHHDaycare
by MHHDaycare

I own and In-Home Daycare and this is perfect for my boys! Assembly was a snap - took less than 10 minutes, parts are realistic and virtual. I see years of play and "hard work" ahead with this product.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MHHDaycare
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
a few flaws
1/17/2016

Customer review by Ronnie

4.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Ronnie
by Ronnie

It is a good product just a few things it is not as big as it looks in the picture And there is not enough storage space if you buy more tools

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronnie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
step 2 tool bench
11/7/2008

Customer review by momof2and1

5.0 stars 11/7/2008 by momof2and1
by momof2and1

We purchased this for our son's 3rd b-day he loves it. Doesn't take up to much room. Its really cool.

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof2and1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it! Needs more "wood" pieces
12/25/2009

Customer review by L Nicholson

4.0 stars 12/25/2009 by L Nicholson
by L Nicholson

Definitely need extra pieces that can be purchased separately. It would be really nice to have much larger pieces, to build a play house with roof and windows and door. The tools don't get as much use as I'd like, since most of the pieces just pop together. My three year old loves my drill for putting screws in things, which is why I bought the set for him for Christmas, but he seemed a bit intimidated by the wood pieces. My five and seven year old played for a long time and were very creative. Even my ten year old daughter loved it and was able to make things faster than I could even find the pieces. Our biggest problem was that we ran out of pieces immediately with everyone wanting to play and no one wanting to destroy what they'd made. The construction is really good. Some of the pieces didn't want to stay interlocked, so I wonder if that will become a greater problem with increased use. I am very glad to have finally found a workshop where children can really build.

L Nicholson
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great way to spend time with Daddy.
12/29/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/29/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I found the drawer to be difficult to pull in and out. My grandson could not do it at all. But otherwise, sturdy and well built.

An anonymous customer
Peoria, Il.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Toy
1/4/2016

Customer review by MSUSmiles

5.0 stars 1/4/2016 by MSUSmiles
by MSUSmiles

Got this as a Christmas gift and the boys absolutely love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSUSmiles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed for now
12/28/2015

Customer review by AmyB

3.0 stars 12/28/2015 by AmyB
by AmyB

The drill was not operational from the start so we are going to have to return it and see if we have any problems with the next set. It was disappointing since it was a Xmas gift for our grandson and that was the main reason we bought the set; the drill.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyB
Would recommend to a friend? No
My son did not really like it or play with it.
4/10/2009

Customer review by bablondie25

2.0 stars 4/10/2009 by bablondie25
by bablondie25

I feel it is a little expensive. You get some foam pieces to "build" and a few tools. Lots of parts easy to get lost. Not a whole lot of fun. It really has only a few holes to put "screws" in, the foam pieces involve no actual tools or screws or nails, so not fun. It would've been funner if they incorporated the nails/screws to actually build them, instead they are puzzle pieces (and dollar store cheap). The set is lightweight, very small and cheap. It has no holes to "drill" the screws in, I guess you make your own. The vice is okay, and the only real thing on the bench. Honestly, you could get away with buying a tool box full of tools, this bench is a useless toy. What a waste of $, I spent like over 80$ to have it shipped, tax and all that for xmas for my son (3) to not play with it. It went to Goodwill. I wish I had gotten a play kitchen or something instead.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bablondie25
Everett, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Grandson likes it!
12/27/2015

Customer review by Bluejays

4.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Bluejays
by Bluejays

Great for future builders

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bluejays
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great looking toy workbench, BUT...
12/14/2015

Customer review by oldlanana

4.0 stars 12/14/2015 by oldlanana
by oldlanana

It is a great looking toy workbench with some tools included, BUT I would have liked better instructions with it as it was not that easy to assemble. I am also wondering how well it will hold up to play from an active almost 4 year old boy. I guess we will see after Santa brings it to him, BUT paw paw is saying he never wants to put stuff like that together again. He was pooped out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldlanana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best I found
12/18/2015

Customer review by GRDI

5.0 stars 12/18/2015 by GRDI
by GRDI

Very cute, i bought the black and decker a few years back for one grandson and just purchased this one after doing alot of research. Black and decker was good too....This one more durable and has stuff you can actually make

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GRDI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Total Disappointment
9/30/2009

Customer review by 1991Shopper

1.0 stars 9/30/2009 by 1991Shopper
by 1991Shopper

Let me start by saying, we have 4 other Step 2 Products that we absolutely LOVE. This Step 2 workbench is a disappointment. The only cool activity is the foam wood pieces and Step 2 sells these seperately, which we may purchase with our new workbench by a different company. The work bench itself has no activities other than screwing in screws by hand (battery operated drill is not powerful enough to work in other than air). I have seen other workbenches that have 4-5 actitivities and more motorized parts. We returned the product to WalMart realizing our sons (ages 2.5 and 4) would be bored in minutes.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1991Shopper
Duncan, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
My grandson loves this workshop
9/8/2007

Customer review by GrandpaBob

5.0 stars 9/8/2007 by GrandpaBob
by GrandpaBob

My son called to say my grandson loves this workshop. He takes his friends up to his room just to show them his new "tools" like daddy.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandpaBob
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Workshop
2/8/2010

Customer review by lilmiddy

5.0 stars 2/8/2010 by lilmiddy
by lilmiddy

This is the only workshop i've found where you can actually build stuff. You can actually build atleast 12 things. My 5 year old got this for Christmas and he loves it. It comes with plenty of pretend wood and the blueprints are easy for kids to follow.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilmiddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
the real project was what I expected
12/14/2015

Customer review by Thunderlobdell

4.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Thunderlobdell
by Thunderlobdell

The plastic pieces look like real wood and the projects are easy to put together many hours of fun! my grandson loves it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thunderlobdell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 697 total reviews
1-20 of 697 reviews