Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 181 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

181 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

181 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
43
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 stars
36
1-20 of 155 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews
2/19/2008

Customer review by discountmom1

5.0 stars 2/19/2008 by discountmom1
by discountmom1

This product is great if you have kids that constantly get into the dvd's this is perfect. I have to say for the price I wondered if it would work ok. To my suprise it worked better than I thought. I've been recommending this to so many of my friends. I compared pricing with other stores and walmart had the best low price. This repair unit is great it took out scratches off a disc I purchased a while ago. I tried everything to take the scratches off it was really bad. This unit took it off in two cleanings and left it like new. I am very happy since i spend so much on dvd's for my kids. This is a must if you have kids!!!

Was this review helpful? (78) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
discountmom1
Los angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is perfect
12/9/2007

Customer review by Lovethisproduct2

5.0 stars 12/9/2007 by Lovethisproduct2
by Lovethisproduct2

I was not sure how this would work, but I am so impressed. We had a Cat in the Hat DVD that we could not watch due to the scrathes. It did take 2 cleanings, but now, it plays great. I would definitely recommend purchasing this product. Especially if you have small children.

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovethisproduct2
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A Great Product
3/31/2010

Customer review by kk1117

5.0 stars 3/31/2010 by kk1117
by kk1117

Aleratec DVD/CD Disk Repair Plus is everything it promised to be. Did a great job of repairing minor to medium scratches, helped even with serious scratches. Only complaint is - Where can we buy refill kit?

Was this review helpful? (35) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kk1117
York County, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does the job
7/16/2007

Customer review by bruiris

5.0 stars 7/16/2007 by bruiris
by bruiris

This is a good cd/dvd repair kit. does a better good job. good buy for the price

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bruiris
Exton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not What It's Cracked Up to Be
7/16/2010

Customer review by GameRage

1.0 stars 7/16/2010 by GameRage
by GameRage

I purchased the Aleratec DVD/CD Disk Repair Plus for my personal CD collection. I had closed my video game store and sold the professional-grade JFJ Disc Repair machine the store owned and was hoping that this would be a cheap substitute that would allow me to repair scratches on my personal CD collection. I was optimistic it would do the job, since the Aleratec operates on the same basic principle as the JFJ and other professional machines, which are similar to circular sanders, but after several unsuccessful attempts to repair CDs and video games, the Aleratec has shown itself to be absolutely worthless. The main problem is the unit does not spin fast enough to "sand" the discs with a very low number of revolutions per minute. Additionally, the cleaning fluid supplied is too thin to lubricate the CD or DVD sufficiently and dissipate any heat (not that there is much heat since the unit spins much too slow). I would only recommend this product to someone who just wants their CDs or DVDs to look marginally more appealing and doesn't care about fixing scratches.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GameRage
Fort Myers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Didn't do the Job
1/25/2009

Customer review by NeedCDRepaired

2.0 stars 1/25/2009 by NeedCDRepaired
by NeedCDRepaired

Product said that it would fix 90% of CD's...I tried one DVD and one CD..and after 40-50 cycles each they still skip..unit will probably fix minor cosmetic scuffs but doesn't take enough material off to fix a scratch..Should just be called a disk polisher not a disk scratch repairer...disappointing!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeedCDRepaired
Joplin,MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very good product
2/14/2010

Customer review by falconronok

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by falconronok
by falconronok

kids had hold of the disks i am working on. so you can imagine how bad there scratched up.90 percent of the disks i have, cleaned up very nicely

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
falconronok
wynona,ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
3/17/2012

Customer review by NPettinato14

1.0 stars 3/17/2012 by NPettinato14
by NPettinato14

I purchased this machine to resurface some of my scratched DVDs, video games and CDs. I resurfaced several disks, beginning with those which ceased to operate on any system/player/disk reader whatsoever. After cleaning/buffing/resurfacing/polishing, not one of the disks played. I followed the instructions 100% on each step. I then tried this on disks which merely skipped but otherwise played. It killed any activity the disk formerly had and turned it into a useless hunk of plastic. Not one, single disk survived this machine's butchery. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NPettinato14
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does what it says
7/13/2007

Customer review by MoonlightGambler

4.0 stars 7/13/2007 by MoonlightGambler
by MoonlightGambler

The directions for use are a little unclear. And the initial price is a little steep, but the Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus does what it is designed to do. I had a few CDs and DVDs, some with severe scratches and would not play. The Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus did the job and removed the scratches and the discs played flawlessly. It can also be used for everyday disc cleaning as well as the disc repair function.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoonlightGambler
Southern Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Do not waste your money.
12/20/2012

Customer review by StuffThatIsntWorthIt

1.0 stars 12/20/2012 by StuffThatIsntWorthIt
by StuffThatIsntWorthIt

This is a complete waste of money. This ruined the disc I wanted to clean. I have repeatedly "cleaned" and "repaired" the disc and it look like someone got a wire brush and tried to clean it that way. There are FAR to many oval shaped scratches to count.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StuffThatIsntWorthIt
El Reno, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Useless
7/17/2012

Customer review by ARTMart

1.0 stars 7/17/2012 by ARTMart
by ARTMart

Used this on 2 audio CD's which have what I consider to be minor physical damage but bad enough to cause some skipping. After repeating the "repair" process ; 8 times on one CD; I could see a slight improvement in the damage but no performance improvement. The dmage this thing will "repair" probably isn't bad enough to cause a problem to start with and cleaning a CD is not a problem without it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ARTMart
Van Buren, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Did the job it was advertised to do.
10/29/2011

Customer review by Amyswave

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by Amyswave
by Amyswave

I was excited to get this cd repair kit and as quickly as I did. I bought several used video games and dvds and they were scratched enough that they would not play. This repair kit really worked. It took one disc a couple times on repair mode but it did end up working. It cleans cd and dvds and video games rather quickly. It even repaired a few of my daughters gamecube games. I would highly recommend this to anyone needing to repair a few discs. Only thing is buy the extra solution it does use it quickly but still worth the money to not have to purchase cd and ect...

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amyswave
Benton, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Would NOT recommend
2/2/2010

Customer review by paints

2.0 stars 2/2/2010 by paints
by paints

My son had a DVD that was lightly scratched. We followed the directions of running it through the cleaning process first and then doing the repair process. There was no change is his DVD, so we then did the extreme process and it still didn't help. His DVD wasn't even that bad and it didn't help at all so that is why I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paints
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
very disappointed
6/18/2009

Customer review by dobuffm7

1.0 stars 6/18/2009 by dobuffm7
by dobuffm7

I tried this machine on 3 different DVDs with different problems. None of the 3 DVDs was fixed. I returned this product the next day.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dobuffm7
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
CD/DVD Disc repair and cleaner
10/23/2009

Customer review by Spiritual1

5.0 stars 10/23/2009 by Spiritual1
by Spiritual1

This product rocks - I always wondered how DVD Rental companies keep their CD's looking so shiny and new - now I know. Even though this is not industial grade - it really works!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spiritual1
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Aleratec DVD/CD Disc
3/1/2009

Customer review by Jo724

1.0 stars 3/1/2009 by Jo724
by Jo724

Says it works on Video games..after using this product the games are blank.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jo724
Pikeville, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
JUNK
1/13/2011

Customer review by lilmansmama

1.0 stars 1/13/2011 by lilmansmama
by lilmansmama

This item is total JUNK! It did NOT repair any disc's, and scratched the disc more than they were. Save your money and time, and leave this product on the shelf.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilmansmama
Highland, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
JUNK
11/27/2011

Customer review by fuzz65

1.0 stars 11/27/2011 by fuzz65
by fuzz65

This is total junk,it destroyed 3 good discs an didt repair a single 1 ,on my way back to store for my refund

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fuzz65
Dundalk MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a good product
4/5/2012

Customer review by kansasmom01

1.0 stars 4/5/2012 by kansasmom01
by kansasmom01

Just got in the mail yesterday. got everything ready followed directions...it is so so loud and was vibrating across the counter. It did not repair (buff) the bad scratches out. I was very dissappointed. I will be returning this product tomorrow. Just didn't work.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kansasmom01
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Saved my discs!
6/21/2010

Customer review by Wisely

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by Wisely
by Wisely

I had bought a lot of CDs at a yard sale -- some were pristine, but some were scratched. This product is great -- it cleans very nicely (removing some minor fine scratches at the same time) and the repair discs do a pretty good job (9 out of 10 unplayable discs can be played, though not all without any skips). A couple of negative points: First: the cleaning, repair, and buffing discs need to be fitted onto individual plastic bases before they can be put into the machine and used. There aren't enough plastic bases included so that each of these 6 discs starts out with its own base. It isn't difficult to put the discs on the bases before using them, but it's a pain -- they could have included enough bases so that switching them out wasn't necessary. (I also bought the refill kit, so now I will have enough bases for each pad to stay with its own base.) When they are in the machine, the cleaning or repair discs are recessed, so big or clumsy fingers might have a little trouble seating or removing them. Second, the cleaning solution gets used up relatively quickly. When I'm completely out, I'll probably substitute Windex, which is what I used to use to clean discs. Third, Aleratec could have labeled the buttons more clearly, using a contrasting color so 'clean' and 'repair' could be easily read. Fourth, the unit is noisy when it runs, which isn't generally a problem unless you're using it when others nearby are trying to sleep. All in all, I am glad I spent the money for the higher-rated disc cleaner/repairer. I'll be using this for a long time to protect my CD and DVD investment!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wisely
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 155 total reviews
1-20 of 155 reviews