Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 447 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

447 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

447 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
270
4 stars
119
3 stars
30
2 stars
11
1 stars
17
1-20 of 388 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 388 total reviews
1-20 of 388 reviews
Tall gate & good price
7/28/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/28/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this gate because it is very tall. Most gates aren not tis tall. I wanted to put this gate in my hallway so I also bought an extension. This worked for a little bit but the bars are a little bit wide and my cat was able to squeeze through the gate. I wanted a tall gate that my cat wouldnt be able to jump but unfortunately I did not think about the width of the bars. She is a little cat and she was able to squeeze through after trying. She can not jump the gate though. Even though this is pressure mounted, the gate is not stable without using the screws that come with the gate to mount the hardware onto the wall. So I had to put holes into my wall. I did end up keeping the gate. i put the gate on my stairwell to prevent my other cat from coming upstairs. he is a very fat cat so he will not be able to squeeze through the bars. again, i had to mount the gate with the screws and hardaware and i had to put a hole into my wall and stair case because the gate will can otherwise be pushed if the hardware is not mounted. i did like this gate although i wish the bars were closer together.

Was this review helpful? (17) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
gilbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/26/2012

Customer review by Willibo

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Willibo
by Willibo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This seems to be a good product, solid, no sharp edges. Used 'as is' in a 32" doorframe, the four pressure pads were not secure as they should be - the four pressure pad adjusment bolts were extended too far to be stable I added 1-7/8" of wood to each side of the door frame and inset the pads ~3/8' deep with a 1-3/8" Forstner bit. This modification exposes much less of the four adjustment bolts and the unit is much more stable. Our Grandson loves it - it helps him to stand and may be an aid to him walking sooner. This product offers extensions to fix wider opening - a six inch one was in the box with ours. I would suggest making the gate/frame about 3" wider, or put a 3-3-1/2" extension in the box since I believe most doorways are 32". Enjoyed adapting this gate to our door (It gave me an excuse to purchase a set of Forstner bits).

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Willibo
St. Marys, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Creative Crossover
2/10/2013

Customer review by Mercury360

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Mercury360
by Mercury360
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Found this searching "pet gates" while seeking a solution to keep my cat from accidentally plummeting from my 5th floor apartment window. I live in an old historical building exempt from the current requirement to provide window screens. So this extra-tall gate with bars 2 1/2 inches apart proved to be the perfect solution. Super easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mercury360
Hollywood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful product
1/15/2010

Customer review by keytonkendance

4.0 stars 1/15/2010 by keytonkendance
by keytonkendance

This is a wonderful gate for dogs who jump high- it seems to keep them contained- We just love it. However if you are a bigger person you might want to get something eles- The gate door entrance is aprox 2 to 3 feet wide. & if you have lil bitty puppys they can get through the bars-just make sure your puppy is over 4 to 5pds- it will work perfect & you wont be disappointed-

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keytonkendance
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use
11/29/2007

Customer review by MathQueen

5.0 stars 11/29/2007 by MathQueen
by MathQueen

I wanted a gate to keep my dogs away from my new granddaughter but one that I didn't have to step over with a baby in my arms. I also wanted one that could be put up temporarily and removed easily. This gate met all of my needs.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MathQueen
Muscatine, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good quality but...
6/25/2013

Customer review by habsrob

3.0 stars 6/25/2013 by habsrob
by habsrob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Its pretty rugged ,but you can not secure the top of the gate like it should be Had to improvise with a eye hook, s hook and a electric ties (zip tie) It seem to work and it only cost under 5.00

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
habsrob
saint petersburg , fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly What I Needed
8/21/2007

Customer review by LoveMyPets

5.0 stars 8/21/2007 by LoveMyPets
by LoveMyPets

I bought these gates to place in doorways to keep my two cats from entering rooms that I wanted to keep "kitty-free". They are working great. The gate is high enough to deter them from trying to jump over and the bars are spaced close enough to prevent them from sliding between (which was a concern before my purchase). I am now able to keep all rooms of my home well-ventilated and open to sunlight since I no longer have to keep doors closed. Since I am only trying to keep cats out (not toddlers or large dogs), I did not use the screw-in door frame mounts. I only needed to use the pressure rods alone and it is very secure in the doorway. The easy-open gate is very convenient, and though the opening is fairly narrow, it is plenty wide enough to pass through easily. I think the gates are an excellent value of the money spent. I haven't found anything even close to comparable for the same price (or even higher priced). I highly recommend this product and hope this review is helpful to a prospective buyer.

Was this review helpful? (84) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveMyPets
Newport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Gate, not so great hardware
11/16/2015

Customer review by VickNil

4.0 stars 11/16/2015 by VickNil
by VickNil

I bought this gate because it was so tall and it would screw into the wall because our walls aren't the same width all the way up so other gates didn't work. The gate has been a life saver for me, I only wish I'd gotten it sooner since my daughter is 19 months old. The only thing wrong with it is that two of the screws that came with it broke almost instantly into the wall and we had to use our own. If we hadn't had any here I would've given it a lower rating, but since we had some on hand it didn't set us back too much. As far as the gate itself, its very tall, sturdy, and my daughter loves it even though we thought she'd hate it. If it is ever open she has to go close it herself and she doesn't bother trying to run into the kitchen to mess with everything like she used to she just closes and opens the gate like a game, so it's helped especially with putting up groceries and things like that. Overall, gate is worth 5 stars, hardware is 1, but we made it work easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VickNil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great solution
1/12/2016

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Chris
by Chris

Our youngest dog could jump a traditional baby gate without thinking twice. This gate has the height that it is no longer an issue. We have it placed above the trim which gives it a couple extra inches in height. It is wonderful to be able to open it with a simple opening of the latch to step through.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Opening not wide enough!
1/30/2016

Customer review by Dayton

4.0 stars 1/30/2016 by Dayton
by Dayton

Gate seems well made and installs easily but the opening is to small. My husband and I are small people and we just fit through opening. If we are carrying our dog we have to go through sideways and she is only a 10 pound dog.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dayton
Would recommend to a friend? No
Regalo Easy Step EXTRA TALL Gate
1/26/2016

Customer review by DogFosters

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by DogFosters
by DogFosters

Shipment arrived quickly. Gate is simple to install and works well. We foster young dogs and use the gate to close-off our den from our bedroom. Gate is tall enough to stop energetic dogs ( like Jack Russels) from jumping over to escape /explore the rest of our house. We are pleased it seems quality made, installs easily..and most of all it works.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogFosters
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad but could be better
8/1/2007

Customer review by Mowgli

4.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Mowgli
by Mowgli

I bought this gate to replace our Evenflo Simple Effort Gate (which was 30 inches tall). We now need the extra height. Pros: - About $20 cheaper than similar gates in this height. - Full 41 inches height, placed on the floor. You can add a couple more inches if you mount it above the floor. - Appears to be sturdy and decent quality. - Very easy to set up (phillips screwdriver required). - Taller than most baby gates, toddlers cannot climb over it. - Older children can walk through without having to ask an adult to let them through. No sore or pinched finger trying to open it. - Easy to remove the gate, - you do not need to unscrew the hardware if you want to remove the gate temporarily. Just as easy to put it back up. Cons: - While it is a pressure mount gate, you still have to drive 4 small screws into your wall or door frame, otherwise the gate is unsafe and a small toddler can push or kick it out of its position. - It is almost too easy to open - a 3 year old can open it, after watching a parent do it (I suggest, try not to let your toddler see you how to open it). - The room door cannot be closed while gate is in position because the doorknob is in the way. - While the extra height is great for the child, it is not so great when the parent wants to step over the gate with hands full. - It requires 2 hands to open, which can be difficult while carrying a sleeping baby. - The gate opening is 15 inches wide, it has not been a problem for us, but I imagine it might be an issue for heavier people. Overall a good buy and we decided to keep it. My perfect gate however would be the Evenflo Simple Effort Gate with remote control opener but in this height. If it becomes available, we are switching without a doubt.

Was this review helpful? (103) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mowgli
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice gate
1/24/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It fits well is high enough . Good product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kitty deterent!
2/2/2014

Customer review by CatOwningExpectantMom

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by CatOwningExpectantMom
by CatOwningExpectantMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are expecting a baby girl in March, and we want to keep our two cats out of the nursery. They easily hop shorter gates, so we nearly gave up and installed a screen door. This tall gate seems to be doing the trick so far- much to my relief. Our smallest cat is 8lbs, so if you have tinier felines they may be able to slink through the bars. Determined jumpers could definitely get over as well- the gate is tall enough to discourage our cats from trying. Another thing to note is that if you are using this gate for children or medium to large dogs you must use the wall mounts to keep this gate in place. The pressure mounts permit the gate to slide to much if force is applied (our german shepherd would have no problem plowing through it if she had a mind to). This gate definitely serves our current needs, and we couldn't be more pleased with it. Once baby is crawling and walking, we will definitely use it with the wall mounts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CatOwningExpectantMom
Paw Paw, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/26/2007

Customer review by Lovethemountains

5.0 stars 7/26/2007 by Lovethemountains
by Lovethemountains

The product is good and durable. The gate opening is smaller then I thought it would be. Otherwise, I love it. I have a 100 lb plus dog that can not get pass it.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovethemountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great gate!!
11/18/2015

Customer review by buttercup17

5.0 stars 11/18/2015 by buttercup17
by buttercup17

I LOVE this gate. I have two of these. One I had for 4 years now and then I just bought another one. I have had no issues with this gate it is worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buttercup17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Gate, Small Flaw...
7/13/2007

Customer review by NewGranny

4.0 stars 7/13/2007 by NewGranny
by NewGranny

I would have to say this is almost the perfect gate. It's nice looking, sturdy, and worry free. We purchased it for the top of the stairs as a permanent fixture. We have an open staircase a crawling grandchildren. There is however one little flaw. The opening of the gate is rather small and makes it nearly impossible to take anything up or down the stairs that you can't raise over your head. Most men would have difficulty getting through the opening without turning sideways. Additionally I find it odd that not one company lists the dimensions of the opening on any of these products.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewGranny
Chesterfield, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of Money!!
11/17/2011

Customer review by AnOTMom

1.0 stars 11/17/2011 by AnOTMom
by AnOTMom

I really don't know what the other people who gave this gate good reviews purchased, but the regalo extra tall gate we purchased was a COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY. We bought it as an upgrade to our "typical" baby gate that our toddler was able to climb over. The delivery was quick, so can't complain there. But everything else, what a mess. First of all, the gate works on some sort of weird pressure system, where if you tighten it to fit in the door frame, the gate itself won't open. If you keep it loose enough for the gate to open, it can VERY easily be pushed out of the door frame. And our door frame is by no means an odd width. Secondly, the quality is RIDICULOUSLY poor. I bent areas of the metal but simply pushing the sides to fit in the door frame. AND the white paint started peeling off within MINUTES of using it. What a poorly constructed product. It obviously isn't safe for use with a child. Invest your money elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnOTMom
Macedon NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Regalo Gate
3/10/2009

Customer review by animalfarm9

4.0 stars 3/10/2009 by animalfarm9
by animalfarm9

We purchased gate to keep 3 cats out of bedroom and 1 dog (cocker spaniel) inside of bedroom. (Cats aren't crazy about the dog). We've only had the gate for a little more than a week. It was easy to assemble, according to boyfriend, and appears to be fairly sturdy, although it has begun to squeak after only 10 days. We can't put screws into the door frame (we live in a co-op), so we put double-sided sticky tape on the door frame. This has made the gate less likely to dislodge from the frame. So far, none of the cats or dog have attempted to knock it over or jump over gate. The bars are close enough so that none of the cats; including the smallest cat can squeeze through. It is easy to open and since there are no small children in the home, locking the gate is not necessary, making it very easy to operate with one hand. My only suggestion would be for the gate to swing shut. It does reduce the amount of space to walk through, but so far this has not been a problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
animalfarm9
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful!!!!
8/30/2012

Customer review by Mswanson502

4.0 stars 8/30/2012 by Mswanson502
by Mswanson502

We got this gate to have a "safe area" for our paralyzed dog. We didn't want her near our large dogs while we weren't home. This gate was perfect! It's tall enough that our 80 lb dogs can't even think about getting over it. I am overweight and easily fit through the gate turning sideways. I've not had any problems. I'm 5'8". The only problem I ran into was that there is a slightly smaller than normal gap between the door framing and outside of the gate. The gap is too small for an extension but large enough that it makes the gate a tiny bit loose. I don't think it will be an issue. If we have to, we will get a small piece of wood, paint it the color of the moulding (white) and put that between the frame and screw to stabilize it. I don't think we'll need to though. Some people may run into issues with the size of their doorframe not fitting properly. Just know that you can buy smaller extensions than the one that comes with this product. They're about $10-$15.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mswanson502
Bossier City, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 388 total reviews
1-20 of 388 reviews