Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 436 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

436 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

436 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
263
4 stars
116
3 stars
30
2 stars
11
1 stars
16
1-20 of 377 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews
Not bad but could be better
8/1/2007

Customer review by Mowgli

4.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Mowgli
by Mowgli

I bought this gate to replace our Evenflo Simple Effort Gate (which was 30 inches tall). We now need the extra height. Pros: - About $20 cheaper than similar gates in this height. - Full 41 inches height, placed on the floor. You can add a couple more inches if you mount it above the floor. - Appears to be sturdy and decent quality. - Very easy to set up (phillips screwdriver required). - Taller than most baby gates, toddlers cannot climb over it. - Older children can walk through without having to ask an adult to let them through. No sore or pinched finger trying to open it. - Easy to remove the gate, - you do not need to unscrew the hardware if you want to remove the gate temporarily. Just as easy to put it back up. Cons: - While it is a pressure mount gate, you still have to drive 4 small screws into your wall or door frame, otherwise the gate is unsafe and a small toddler can push or kick it out of its position. - It is almost too easy to open - a 3 year old can open it, after watching a parent do it (I suggest, try not to let your toddler see you how to open it). - The room door cannot be closed while gate is in position because the doorknob is in the way. - While the extra height is great for the child, it is not so great when the parent wants to step over the gate with hands full. - It requires 2 hands to open, which can be difficult while carrying a sleeping baby. - The gate opening is 15 inches wide, it has not been a problem for us, but I imagine it might be an issue for heavier people. Overall a good buy and we decided to keep it. My perfect gate however would be the Evenflo Simple Effort Gate with remote control opener but in this height. If it becomes available, we are switching without a doubt.

Was this review helpful? (96) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mowgli
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly What I Needed
8/21/2007

Customer review by LoveMyPets

5.0 stars 8/21/2007 by LoveMyPets
by LoveMyPets

I bought these gates to place in doorways to keep my two cats from entering rooms that I wanted to keep "kitty-free". They are working great. The gate is high enough to deter them from trying to jump over and the bars are spaced close enough to prevent them from sliding between (which was a concern before my purchase). I am now able to keep all rooms of my home well-ventilated and open to sunlight since I no longer have to keep doors closed. Since I am only trying to keep cats out (not toddlers or large dogs), I did not use the screw-in door frame mounts. I only needed to use the pressure rods alone and it is very secure in the doorway. The easy-open gate is very convenient, and though the opening is fairly narrow, it is plenty wide enough to pass through easily. I think the gates are an excellent value of the money spent. I haven't found anything even close to comparable for the same price (or even higher priced). I highly recommend this product and hope this review is helpful to a prospective buyer.

Was this review helpful? (74) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyPets
Newport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/26/2007

Customer review by Lovethemountains

5.0 stars 7/26/2007 by Lovethemountains
by Lovethemountains

The product is good and durable. The gate opening is smaller then I thought it would be. Otherwise, I love it. I have a 100 lb plus dog that can not get pass it.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovethemountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
A very tall gate
12/11/2007

Customer review by Motherofthreechildren

4.0 stars 12/11/2007 by Motherofthreechildren
by Motherofthreechildren

The height of this gate is why I bought it because my 2 year old son can climb over every gate in the house. I wanted him to be safe and this gate did the job. It would be nice if the locking mechanism was a little harder to open so he doesn't figure it out but other then that I found it works well and was fairly easy to install. I was very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Motherofthreechildren
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Tall gate & good price
7/28/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/28/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this gate because it is very tall. Most gates aren not tis tall. I wanted to put this gate in my hallway so I also bought an extension. This worked for a little bit but the bars are a little bit wide and my cat was able to squeeze through the gate. I wanted a tall gate that my cat wouldnt be able to jump but unfortunately I did not think about the width of the bars. She is a little cat and she was able to squeeze through after trying. She can not jump the gate though. Even though this is pressure mounted, the gate is not stable without using the screws that come with the gate to mount the hardware onto the wall. So I had to put holes into my wall. I did end up keeping the gate. i put the gate on my stairwell to prevent my other cat from coming upstairs. he is a very fat cat so he will not be able to squeeze through the bars. again, i had to mount the gate with the screws and hardaware and i had to put a hole into my wall and stair case because the gate will can otherwise be pushed if the hardware is not mounted. i did like this gate although i wish the bars were closer together.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
gilbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Gate, Small Flaw...
7/13/2007

Customer review by NewGranny

4.0 stars 7/13/2007 by NewGranny
by NewGranny

I would have to say this is almost the perfect gate. It's nice looking, sturdy, and worry free. We purchased it for the top of the stairs as a permanent fixture. We have an open staircase a crawling grandchildren. There is however one little flaw. The opening of the gate is rather small and makes it nearly impossible to take anything up or down the stairs that you can't raise over your head. Most men would have difficulty getting through the opening without turning sideways. Additionally I find it odd that not one company lists the dimensions of the opening on any of these products.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewGranny
Chesterfield, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wonderful product
1/15/2010

Customer review by keytonkendance

4.0 stars 1/15/2010 by keytonkendance
by keytonkendance

This is a wonderful gate for dogs who jump high- it seems to keep them contained- We just love it. However if you are a bigger person you might want to get something eles- The gate door entrance is aprox 2 to 3 feet wide. & if you have lil bitty puppys they can get through the bars-just make sure your puppy is over 4 to 5pds- it will work perfect & you wont be disappointed-

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keytonkendance
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/25/2007

Customer review by waggoner03

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by waggoner03
by waggoner03

I love these gates! They are easy enough for my older son to get through, yet my baby can't climb it or knock it down. I needed my husband to drill it into the wall, but it's not budging! It's so easy to use! And the slots aren't wide enough for him to get stuck in. The opening isn't really wide, but it's easy enough to take down becouse the gate pressure mounts into the things that screw into the wall.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waggoner03
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use
11/29/2007

Customer review by MathQueen

5.0 stars 11/29/2007 by MathQueen
by MathQueen

I wanted a gate to keep my dogs away from my new granddaughter but one that I didn't have to step over with a baby in my arms. I also wanted one that could be put up temporarily and removed easily. This gate met all of my needs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MathQueen
Muscatine, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Kitty deterent!
2/2/2014

Customer review by CatOwningExpectantMom

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by CatOwningExpectantMom
by CatOwningExpectantMom

We are expecting a baby girl in March, and we want to keep our two cats out of the nursery. They easily hop shorter gates, so we nearly gave up and installed a screen door. This tall gate seems to be doing the trick so far- much to my relief. Our smallest cat is 8lbs, so if you have tinier felines they may be able to slink through the bars. Determined jumpers could definitely get over as well- the gate is tall enough to discourage our cats from trying. Another thing to note is that if you are using this gate for children or medium to large dogs you must use the wall mounts to keep this gate in place. The pressure mounts permit the gate to slide to much if force is applied (our german shepherd would have no problem plowing through it if she had a mind to). This gate definitely serves our current needs, and we couldn't be more pleased with it. Once baby is crawling and walking, we will definitely use it with the wall mounts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatOwningExpectantMom
Paw Paw, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Creative Crossover
2/10/2013

Customer review by Mercury360

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Mercury360
by Mercury360

Found this searching "pet gates" while seeking a solution to keep my cat from accidentally plummeting from my 5th floor apartment window. I live in an old historical building exempt from the current requirement to provide window screens. So this extra-tall gate with bars 2 1/2 inches apart proved to be the perfect solution. Super easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mercury360
Hollywood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this gate, but...
6/14/2012

Customer review by Yaela

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Yaela
by Yaela

I bought two of these gates. They were a breeze to install and only took about 15 minutes each. I love the height; even my best jumper/climber can't make it over. But be warned: the gate opening itself is pretty narrow. I am very pregnant and I can get through just fine, but I know some larger relatives that won't be able to. Even though they are designed to remain fixed to the wall, it won't take but two minutes to remove and replace them. The gates themselves are very sturdy. Neither of my dogs nor my toddler can knock them down or even bend them. Overall, I think these were a very good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yaela
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Garbage
3/25/2009

Customer review by LittleScarlet

1.0 stars 3/25/2009 by LittleScarlet
by LittleScarlet

Let’s see the only good thing about this gate was that it was cheap. I did a site to store on this thing and it took only 3 weeks to get here. Yes I said 3 weeks it’s not Christmas or anything so there’s no reason it should have taken this long to get the junkie thing. I was going to set this up on the top of the stairs to have a barrier to keep the dog away from the cats if they needed to run away. There’s a 3 inch gap that this stupid gate doesn't adjust too because the extension is like 6 inches. Furthermore the latch on top didn't even line up with the top bar so it swung both ways. It’s poorly put together and the welds look terrible. It’s going back to the store ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleScarlet
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Product, But Not For Cats
2/15/2010

Customer review by WorkinWifeandMom

4.0 stars 2/15/2010 by WorkinWifeandMom
by WorkinWifeandMom

I purchased two of these high gates so I could keep my cats out of certain areas. They jumped right over them. Also, my skinny 2 year old 2 lb. Manchester Terrier could fit through the bars! My older kids were easily able to open and close them, which was good because they are 3 and 7 and need to be able to get to the bathroom. The "door way" is a bit small, but would have been fine had they been tall enough to keep the cats out. I've just decided to let the cats roam where they want and be sure to close the baby's door when she's in her crib.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WorkinWifeandMom
Loganville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good quality but...
6/25/2013

Customer review by habsrob

3.0 stars 6/25/2013 by habsrob
by habsrob

Its pretty rugged ,but you can not secure the top of the gate like it should be Had to improvise with a eye hook, s hook and a electric ties (zip tie) It seem to work and it only cost under 5.00

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
habsrob
saint petersburg , fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pets
2/2/2013

Customer review by Nuklhed72

3.0 stars 2/2/2013 by Nuklhed72
by Nuklhed72

I actually bought this for my cats to keep them from going to certain parts of my house. Well, my one cat was so small she could get through the bars and my bigger cat could get through the space between the wall/ door frame and the gate. So I bought a trifold poster board to slide through the gate to keep them from getting through. So it still serves its purpose. Bc it's so tall, neither tried to jump it, so far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nuklhed72
Henderson, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by Willibo

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Willibo
by Willibo

This seems to be a good product, solid, no sharp edges. Used 'as is' in a 32" doorframe, the four pressure pads were not secure as they should be - the four pressure pad adjusment bolts were extended too far to be stable I added 1-7/8" of wood to each side of the door frame and inset the pads ~3/8' deep with a 1-3/8" Forstner bit. This modification exposes much less of the four adjustment bolts and the unit is much more stable. Our Grandson loves it - it helps him to stand and may be an aid to him walking sooner. This product offers extensions to fix wider opening - a six inch one was in the box with ours. I would suggest making the gate/frame about 3" wider, or put a 3-3-1/2" extension in the box since I believe most doorways are 32". Enjoyed adapting this gate to our door (It gave me an excuse to purchase a set of Forstner bits).

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Willibo
St. Marys, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is the tallest one I have found
8/27/2009

Customer review by busiestmommyinamerica

5.0 stars 8/27/2009 by busiestmommyinamerica
by busiestmommyinamerica

I have 3 kids and 2 have special needs so I need to be able to keep them in certain areas of the house to keep them safe. The other gates I have seen were way too small or flimsy. I needed something very sturdy and tall to keep my 7 year old at least somewhat contained. The problem is that he figured out how to open it with literally seconds. He looked at it from one angle then another and then opened it right up. I will be purchasing an alarm to put on it so I can tell if he opens it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
busiestmommyinamerica
Anniston, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good product
3/24/2010

Customer review by elmo130

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by elmo130
by elmo130

easy to setup extra tall the walk-thru could be a little larger but all around a very good buy

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elmo130
beckley, wv.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The best thing I have bought in a long time!
2/22/2014

Customer review by FurpMom

5.0 stars 2/22/2014 by FurpMom
by FurpMom

I bought these extra high gates to keep my 2 boxers in the kitchen when I'm gone. They were installed within 10 minutes and my fur babies are unable to jump over them!! I'm a happy fur mommy now! No more messes!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FurpMom
Baytown,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 377 total reviews
1-20 of 377 reviews