Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 489 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

489 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

489 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
298
4 stars
126
3 stars
33
2 stars
11
1 stars
21
1-20 of 430 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 430 total reviews
1-20 of 430 reviews
Tall gate & good price
7/28/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/28/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this gate because it is very tall. Most gates aren not tis tall. I wanted to put this gate in my hallway so I also bought an extension. This worked for a little bit but the bars are a little bit wide and my cat was able to squeeze through the gate. I wanted a tall gate that my cat wouldnt be able to jump but unfortunately I did not think about the width of the bars. She is a little cat and she was able to squeeze through after trying. She can not jump the gate though. Even though this is pressure mounted, the gate is not stable without using the screws that come with the gate to mount the hardware onto the wall. So I had to put holes into my wall. I did end up keeping the gate. i put the gate on my stairwell to prevent my other cat from coming upstairs. he is a very fat cat so he will not be able to squeeze through the bars. again, i had to mount the gate with the screws and hardaware and i had to put a hole into my wall and stair case because the gate will can otherwise be pushed if the hardware is not mounted. i did like this gate although i wish the bars were closer together.

Was this review helpful? (33) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
gilbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/26/2012

Customer review by Willibo

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Willibo
by Willibo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This seems to be a good product, solid, no sharp edges. Used 'as is' in a 32" doorframe, the four pressure pads were not secure as they should be - the four pressure pad adjusment bolts were extended too far to be stable I added 1-7/8" of wood to each side of the door frame and inset the pads ~3/8' deep with a 1-3/8" Forstner bit. This modification exposes much less of the four adjustment bolts and the unit is much more stable. Our Grandson loves it - it helps him to stand and may be an aid to him walking sooner. This product offers extensions to fix wider opening - a six inch one was in the box with ours. I would suggest making the gate/frame about 3" wider, or put a 3-3-1/2" extension in the box since I believe most doorways are 32". Enjoyed adapting this gate to our door (It gave me an excuse to purchase a set of Forstner bits).

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Willibo
St. Marys, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Creative Crossover
2/10/2013

Customer review by Mercury360

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Mercury360
by Mercury360
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Found this searching "pet gates" while seeking a solution to keep my cat from accidentally plummeting from my 5th floor apartment window. I live in an old historical building exempt from the current requirement to provide window screens. So this extra-tall gate with bars 2 1/2 inches apart proved to be the perfect solution. Super easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mercury360
Hollywood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good quality but...
6/25/2013

Customer review by habsrob

3.0 stars 6/25/2013 by habsrob
by habsrob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Its pretty rugged ,but you can not secure the top of the gate like it should be Had to improvise with a eye hook, s hook and a electric ties (zip tie) It seem to work and it only cost under 5.00

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
habsrob
saint petersburg , fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful product
1/15/2010

Customer review by keytonkendance

4.0 stars 1/15/2010 by keytonkendance
by keytonkendance

This is a wonderful gate for dogs who jump high- it seems to keep them contained- We just love it. However if you are a bigger person you might want to get something eles- The gate door entrance is aprox 2 to 3 feet wide. & if you have lil bitty puppys they can get through the bars-just make sure your puppy is over 4 to 5pds- it will work perfect & you wont be disappointed-

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keytonkendance
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to use
11/29/2007

Customer review by MathQueen

5.0 stars 11/29/2007 by MathQueen
by MathQueen

I wanted a gate to keep my dogs away from my new granddaughter but one that I didn't have to step over with a baby in my arms. I also wanted one that could be put up temporarily and removed easily. This gate met all of my needs.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MathQueen
Muscatine, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Exactly What I Needed
8/21/2007

Customer review by LoveMyPets

5.0 stars 8/21/2007 by LoveMyPets
by LoveMyPets

I bought these gates to place in doorways to keep my two cats from entering rooms that I wanted to keep "kitty-free". They are working great. The gate is high enough to deter them from trying to jump over and the bars are spaced close enough to prevent them from sliding between (which was a concern before my purchase). I am now able to keep all rooms of my home well-ventilated and open to sunlight since I no longer have to keep doors closed. Since I am only trying to keep cats out (not toddlers or large dogs), I did not use the screw-in door frame mounts. I only needed to use the pressure rods alone and it is very secure in the doorway. The easy-open gate is very convenient, and though the opening is fairly narrow, it is plenty wide enough to pass through easily. I think the gates are an excellent value of the money spent. I haven't found anything even close to comparable for the same price (or even higher priced). I highly recommend this product and hope this review is helpful to a prospective buyer.

Was this review helpful? (88) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveMyPets
Newport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Regalo 41 in tall gate
6/19/2016

Customer review by Kaela

4.0 stars 6/19/2016 by Kaela
by Kaela
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ok so waited almost 2 weeks to get.. I got it received it and tried setting it up. I have crown molding in my doorway. So without the 6" extention which comes with it it was to small and with it did fit but I had to go above the crown molding. I wish they were a little more specific about how it fit with and without the extention. So I ended up calling and they ate shipping a 4 in extention which hopefully will work with the molding. But it's working right now my 2 year old can't get upstairs anymore and the puppy can go under the gap to get to her food. Would I recommend it yes. But I suggest getting your measurements first, calling regalo and making sure it fits before you order. Because they aren't specific about the fitting. They just say fits 29-35". Not if you have a "33in" doorway which extention would be needed to fit. But it's a good product it works. And I would recommend it. But do your research first. And was decently priced. Note: there is a gap that will close itself up when you mount the gate. So don't think it's a manufacturer defect.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaela
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as good as I had hoped
6/9/2016

Customer review by Momo

3.0 stars 6/9/2016 by Momo
by Momo

I needed this gate because it is the tallest one I can find on the market. I have a cat and I'm moving in with a roommate with two dogs, one of which is a jumper. I read great reviews about this gate stopping large dogs, such as huskies and german shepherds so I wanted to give it a try. As someone previously mentioned, if you tighten the screws to fit in the door frame, the gate itself won't open. In order to open the gate, you have to loosen the screws, but then you run into the problem of it not being stable and it can be easily pushed down by a 40-lb dog. As reference, I'm using it for an area that is 30in wide, so it's well within the range of this gate. I'm going to try mounting it with screws into the door frame to see if that will fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Gate, not so great hardware
11/16/2015

Customer review by VickNil

4.0 stars 11/16/2015 by VickNil
by VickNil

I bought this gate because it was so tall and it would screw into the wall because our walls aren't the same width all the way up so other gates didn't work. The gate has been a life saver for me, I only wish I'd gotten it sooner since my daughter is 19 months old. The only thing wrong with it is that two of the screws that came with it broke almost instantly into the wall and we had to use our own. If we hadn't had any here I would've given it a lower rating, but since we had some on hand it didn't set us back too much. As far as the gate itself, its very tall, sturdy, and my daughter loves it even though we thought she'd hate it. If it is ever open she has to go close it herself and she doesn't bother trying to run into the kitchen to mess with everything like she used to she just closes and opens the gate like a game, so it's helped especially with putting up groceries and things like that. Overall, gate is worth 5 stars, hardware is 1, but we made it work easily.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VickNil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this gate
8/17/2016

Customer review by LAS7

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by LAS7
by LAS7

I really like this gate, it has the following qualities: It's durable It's super tall It's easy to install The locking feature is great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LAS7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad but could be better
8/1/2007

Customer review by Mowgli

4.0 stars 8/1/2007 by Mowgli
by Mowgli

I bought this gate to replace our Evenflo Simple Effort Gate (which was 30 inches tall). We now need the extra height. Pros: - About $20 cheaper than similar gates in this height. - Full 41 inches height, placed on the floor. You can add a couple more inches if you mount it above the floor. - Appears to be sturdy and decent quality. - Very easy to set up (phillips screwdriver required). - Taller than most baby gates, toddlers cannot climb over it. - Older children can walk through without having to ask an adult to let them through. No sore or pinched finger trying to open it. - Easy to remove the gate, - you do not need to unscrew the hardware if you want to remove the gate temporarily. Just as easy to put it back up. Cons: - While it is a pressure mount gate, you still have to drive 4 small screws into your wall or door frame, otherwise the gate is unsafe and a small toddler can push or kick it out of its position. - It is almost too easy to open - a 3 year old can open it, after watching a parent do it (I suggest, try not to let your toddler see you how to open it). - The room door cannot be closed while gate is in position because the doorknob is in the way. - While the extra height is great for the child, it is not so great when the parent wants to step over the gate with hands full. - It requires 2 hands to open, which can be difficult while carrying a sleeping baby. - The gate opening is 15 inches wide, it has not been a problem for us, but I imagine it might be an issue for heavier people. Overall a good buy and we decided to keep it. My perfect gate however would be the Evenflo Simple Effort Gate with remote control opener but in this height. If it becomes available, we are switching without a doubt.

Was this review helpful? (106) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mowgli
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate
8/9/2016

Customer review by Courtney

5.0 stars 8/9/2016 by Courtney
by Courtney
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to install and use. It's also very tall in height so it works perfect for what we intended it for. We needed a gate to keep our dogs out of the room and this one is tall enough that they cannot jump it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Courtney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kitty deterent!
2/2/2014

Customer review by CatOwningExpectantMom

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by CatOwningExpectantMom
by CatOwningExpectantMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are expecting a baby girl in March, and we want to keep our two cats out of the nursery. They easily hop shorter gates, so we nearly gave up and installed a screen door. This tall gate seems to be doing the trick so far- much to my relief. Our smallest cat is 8lbs, so if you have tinier felines they may be able to slink through the bars. Determined jumpers could definitely get over as well- the gate is tall enough to discourage our cats from trying. Another thing to note is that if you are using this gate for children or medium to large dogs you must use the wall mounts to keep this gate in place. The pressure mounts permit the gate to slide to much if force is applied (our german shepherd would have no problem plowing through it if she had a mind to). This gate definitely serves our current needs, and we couldn't be more pleased with it. Once baby is crawling and walking, we will definitely use it with the wall mounts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CatOwningExpectantMom
Paw Paw, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Gate
8/6/2016

Customer review by Billy

5.0 stars 8/6/2016 by Billy
by Billy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Well built toddler gate and the twins cannot open or climb over. I highly recommend this gate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tall baby gate!
8/3/2016

Customer review by Shannon

5.0 stars 8/3/2016 by Shannon
by Shannon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Extremely tall did have to use the screws and screw it into the door. Using just the pressure knobs did not work it could easily be pushed down. But I love how secure the latch is and how tall it is. My little one can't figure out how to open and cannot climb it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shannon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/26/2007

Customer review by Lovethemountains

5.0 stars 7/26/2007 by Lovethemountains
by Lovethemountains

The product is good and durable. The gate opening is smaller then I thought it would be. Otherwise, I love it. I have a 100 lb plus dog that can not get pass it.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovethemountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Not Necessarily for Cats
7/28/2016

Customer review by Trish

4.0 stars 7/28/2016 by Trish
by Trish
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have 2 cats. The smaller of the two slid right through the bars like butter. This gate is a baby gate but was advertised for pets as well. I had to tighten it more against the wall. Now it's fine. It's not much of a complaint. And you get an extender as well which is a plus. I do like the gate even after the small mishap.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty Good
7/31/2016

Customer review by Daone2135

3.0 stars 7/31/2016 by Daone2135
by Daone2135
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it works for what we need it for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daone2135
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Pet Gate!
7/28/2016

Customer review by Jane

5.0 stars 7/28/2016 by Jane
by Jane
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this gate because I have 3 cats and it was the tallest one offered. Works beautifully; they can't jump over it or get through it. It was exactly what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 430 total reviews
1-20 of 430 reviews