Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

52 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

52 reviews | 2 out of 5

23%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 stars
31
1-20 of 49 total reviews
23%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
Would NOT recommend
3/28/2008

Customer review by JavaCritic

1.0 stars 3/28/2008 by JavaCritic
by JavaCritic

I bought one last week, had to return because it leaked from the coffeemaker itself and the condensation was extreme and it had a hairline crack in the carafe. I contacted the manufacturer and informed them and they said for me to exchange it where I bought it which was at Wal-Mart. I exchanged it for another one. I get it home and the next morning I went to pour the coffee and it leaked all over everything! It had a leak from the carafe glass to the lip of the plastic under the pour spout. Called them again and they are sending me a replacement carafe. The next morning, my sons call me the thing is leaking all over and this time, the water in the filter backed up because the filter was not pushed back all the way to sit correctly on the carafe. We cleaned it up and began again. Well, I thought that it was on our end but the filter holder would not stay in. We had to tape it to hold it to finish brewing. Needless to say, I've had all the fun I can stand with this coffee maker. Its going back to Black and Decker! I'll never buy another Black and Decker again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JavaCritic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
What Happened!!!
8/8/2007

Customer review by Dana

1.0 stars 8/8/2007 by Dana
by Dana

I have been a loyal fan of the space saver coffee maker and have had two others that worked for several years, and so when the second one quit after many years of use I purchased another one. I only had it one day and I set the automatic timer to start at 6 AM. I woke up with coffee and water all over my counter and floor. The filter basket was pushed out and nothing was going into the decantor so I tryed several different methods to try to get it to work. Nothing helped!!!! Please fix this because I truly did love your product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dana
North Port, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very dissappointed
1/4/2008

Customer review by flgal1130

1.0 stars 1/4/2008 by flgal1130
by flgal1130

Had one of these for years in the past and loved it. When my old one stopped working went out and bought this one. On my first one it worked fine the first day and then from then on it would not brew all of the cups out and had to keep hitting the on and off switch just to get the pot brewed. Took it back and got another one. Well this one is even worse. It not only has the same problem, but on New Year's Eve I was brewing a pot of coffee thinking it was all done just to come out and find it had leaked out all over my counter top. Needless to say IT IS GOING BACK and I will not be trying another one of them. Don't know how they could have made such a great product in the past and now make such a piece of junk. The sad part is I did my homework and read the reviews and should have listened to the other people. So I am telling you not to buy it because it is a piece of junk!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flgal1130
Cape Coral, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Handy Coffeemaker
8/5/2007

Customer review by CoffeeGirl

4.0 stars 8/5/2007 by CoffeeGirl
by CoffeeGirl

This is my second Black and Decker Spacesaver Coffee maker that I have purchased (one I left at a house I sold when moving). I really do like the under the counter mount feature. I just like less clutter on my counters. It makes great coffee too!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoffeeGirl
Colby, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not good enough for the $$
11/5/2007

Customer review by kgardner76

1.0 stars 11/5/2007 by kgardner76
by kgardner76

You would think that a coffee maker that costs what this one does would be really good! While it is a nice idea for space in your kitchen, it really heats up the cabinet it is attached to and steams up the cabinet door when it's brewing. It also doesn't make the coffee very hot. The best thing about this coffee maker is the carafe. It is probably the only carafe I've used that doesn't pour coffee everywhere but your cup! BUT!!!! Don't ever let anything happen to break your carafe because you will pay dearly to replace it! Our carafe got bumped in the sink and broken and we looked everywhere to find a replacement for this model! NOBODY HAS IT EXCEPT BLACK & DECKER AND TO ORDER FROM THEM WILL COST $29.99 PLUS SHIPPING!!! Totally not worth it! Spend your money on something else!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kgardner76
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
wouldn't reccomend
3/10/2008

Customer review by brokenbody

1.0 stars 3/10/2008 by brokenbody
by brokenbody

I love the black and decker spacesaver coffee makers and just purchased this one about 5 months ago. It died right after brewing 4 cups of coffee. (at least I got my morning coffee) I have an older one my sister gave me, but no bracket to put it under the cabinet. I would even love to purchase a new one of this style ?ODC 325, and keep this one as a spare, but can't find this model available. I definately wouldn't reccomend this model, especially after reading the other reviews. I don't blame Wal-Mart, it's the product maker I blame. It would be a good value for the price if it lasted a few years at least. It ends up being much more costly because of less then 6 months old before dying.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brokenbody
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Better the 2nd Time Around
9/19/2007

Customer review by MissouriShowMe

1.0 stars 9/19/2007 by MissouriShowMe
by MissouriShowMe

This was my 2d B&D Spacesaver coffeemaker. After a couple of yrs, the 1st one just wouldn't display/ function one morning! Pros that prompted me to replace w/same: the carafe had excellent balance, easy to program, and the removable water reservoir was easily cleaned (to prevent mold, etc.) Unfortunately, the 3rd time I used it, the filter basket would no longer lock into place. During brewing the basket would creep forward out of position and coffee oozed everywhere! I used to be a big fan of B&D products. Sadly, it seems that something fundamental has changed. This product suffers from a severe loss of workmanship and dependability. This was my last B&D purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissouriShowMe
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lousy product
1/17/2008

Customer review by Jamie123456

1.0 stars 1/17/2008 by Jamie123456
by Jamie123456

Model ODC440 cofee maker Leaks water from water tank and if you don't put the glass carafe in the same exact spot everytime it overflows the coffee basket and spills onto the counter. They should have included severals Zorbeez asorbent towels to collect the mess this thing makes when making coffee. Also, if you break the glass carafe you have a heck a time finding a replacement. Wal-Mart doesn't sell the replacement. You have to order it from a company located in Miramar, Florida at a cost of $27.00 more than half the price that I intially paid for the entire product. So if you like filling up garage landfills, buy this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamie123456
Pendleton, OR.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Had the same problem
12/10/2007

Customer review by ptcrik

1.0 stars 12/10/2007 by ptcrik
by ptcrik

We had a B&D Spacemaker that worked perfectly for nearly 20 years, but we broke the carafe and couldn't find a replacement (that model had long since been phased out). So I went to Wal-Mart and bought a new Spacemaker, and it did the same thing cited by another reviewer: after three months of working fine, the electronics simply quit. I was able to contact the company today (after lengthy holds), and they told me I have to wait 72 hours and then call back to find out whether they'll give me a refund. I was thinking we'd gotten a bad model, and maybe I'd buy another one. But I don't think so now. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ptcrik
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Not too good
12/13/2007

Customer review by Verycritical

1.0 stars 12/13/2007 by Verycritical
by Verycritical

I have owned 2 previous Spacesavers. Both died in less than 3 years. Bought this one with a "last chance" state of mind. When I open the box I found that the case was broken but the broken piece was being held in place with the same kind of tape used in packaging at the factory. Could be just a coincidence. Also found that I would have to drill 4 more holes in my cabinet because the mounting system has changed from previous models I returned the broken product and decided to just keep using the counter model (10 yrs old, not B&D) that cost only 1/3 the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Verycritical
Burlington, VT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A Waste of money
8/1/2008

Customer review by pattybohra

2.0 stars 8/1/2008 by pattybohra
by pattybohra

I love Black and Decker, but I must say I was totally disappointed in this product. The first one I bought leaked all over the place, then I returned it and tried again.. this one too leaks all over my counter from the filter basket and the water storage container. You have to be very careful how you put the pot other wise you'll have coffee everywhere lol..... forget about pouring a cup, just lick it off the counter lol... I still have faith in Black and Decker but they goofed on this product.. and need to go back to the drawing board.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pattybohra
Honey Brook, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/4/2008

Customer review by scubastik

1.0 stars 3/4/2008 by scubastik
by scubastik

I loved this coffeemaker, it made great, very hot and tasty coffee. Loved the idea of getting off the counter top and best of all..the water reservoir was great....BUT JUST LIKE ANOTHER REVIEW...IT ONLY LASTED 4 MONTHS AND THE ELECTRONICS WENT DEAD! My husband who is an electronics tech took it apart and said it has really old technology in it, like from the 70's. He said he didn't think any manufacturer even used that type of electronics anymore so I guess we know why everyone has to replace them every 4 to 6 months.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scubastik
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Model Design/features
2/20/2008

Customer review by kittiecat

2.0 stars 2/20/2008 by kittiecat
by kittiecat

Product was redesigned since last B & D was purchased. Installation did not match bolt drilling made into cabinet for previous under cabinet coffee makers (B & D units-all used same drilling), thus four new holes were drilled. Installation required that the bolts be inserted upward into cabinet floor. Prior carafes do not fit in unit (however, the new carafe does pour the coffee better-less drips). For the price, and to get the unit off the counter, I will keep and probably purchase again when necessary.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kittiecat
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't Buy IT !!!!!!!
4/6/2008

Customer review by Scott61

1.0 stars 4/6/2008 by Scott61
by Scott61

I've owned mine since late o7.......At first it was great, But I never did care for the water resevoir. Then after about a month the or so the clock started gaining time (about 3 minutes a day), not as bad now but still gains, Now when brewing it doesn't use all the water, I have to turn it off then on again 2 or 3 times to get a full pot. they should go back to the old model .......had 2 of them and they worked great !!!!!!! Thats why I didn't hesitate to get this one (BIG MISTAKE !! )

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scott61
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Horrible Product
9/8/2008

Customer review by casa4kids

1.0 stars 9/8/2008 by casa4kids
by casa4kids

Bought this for my hubby and first time he made coffee in it my counter top was soaked with water. I accused him of doing something wrong so the next time, I made it and it was a worse disaster. Started coffee and went to the shower and when I returned, coffee and grounds were all over my cabinet and had ran off the cabinet all into my floor. What a mess. It leaks horribly around the filter basket. Would not recommend unless you just happen to have the time and enjoy cleaning up messes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
casa4kids
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
very disappointed
4/16/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/16/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm very disappointed with this product. I bought this around Christmas with my christmas gift card and by March it wouldn't work. My husband was very upset, after drilling holes thru the cabinet to instal the under the cabinet mount. I bought the Black and Decker brand because my husband uses their power tools and thought it would be a good product. Remember to send in those warranty cards to the manufacturer folks. I didn't and now I'm stuck with a pot that dosen't work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Chattanooga, Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SO Dissapointed!!!!
7/31/2008

Customer review by rockymountainlover

1.0 stars 7/31/2008 by rockymountainlover
by rockymountainlover

The old model died after many years. We bought the new model and it died after 1 month. I returned it to manufacture with the end of the cord and $7.50 for shipping. My husband ran clean water through the 2nd one, set it up for the next morning, I pushed on and got nothing. Well I'm now waiting for the 3rd one and not looking forward to receiving it as this coffee maker is such a lemon. Wish it would make lemon aide. Please someone out there make a good spacemaker.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockymountainlover
SLC, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great If Used Correctly
7/22/2008

Customer review by ellenB

5.0 stars 7/22/2008 by ellenB
by ellenB

I love this spacemaker. This is my second. Many people complain about the basket overflowing. Problem is that the carafe is not put totally into the slot on heating element. The thingy that allows you to pull out the pot for one cup while brewing must be open or otherwise the basket overflows. If you take the time to make sure that the carafe is inserted all the way, you won't have the problem that so many complain about this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ellenB
Pgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
12/3/2007

Customer review by lb021393

1.0 stars 12/3/2007 by lb021393
by lb021393

We purchased this coffee maker, set it up, installed it and waited the next morning for coffee. It made it, but early because the clock ran fast. We returned it not once, but twice more. ALL THREE did the same thing, ran fast. I called the company and they claimed they didn't have any recalls on it. No one else noticed that happening? We were just plain disappointed. We won't be buying another one, that's for sure.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lb021393
chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
coffee on time!
9/17/2007

Customer review by handk

4.0 stars 9/17/2007 by handk
by handk

I need an under the counter coffee pot to leave me unused counter space. Had the same brand for years until it finally quit. I think I really liked the old one better but I really appreciate being able to order the Black and Decker through Walmart as I could not find one at any of the other stores. Thank you. This pot seems to be a little cheaper made than the previous one but is the current model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
handk
Energy, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews