Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 209 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

209 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

209 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
119
4 stars
50
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 stars
19
1-20 of 181 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews
Great Cooler
5/6/2010

Customer review by JCMatthews

4.0 stars 5/6/2010 by JCMatthews
by JCMatthews

We purchased our Powerchill in 2000, and immediately drove to Alaske some three thousand miles. We did it in 4 days however. We were going there to work, and used the cooler first in the car and then in our room as fridge. It ran, straight out of the box, for three months rarely being turned off. The only complaint we had was it is a little noisy at night to sleep too, but it is not a fridge, and that is to be expected. We have used it many many times since and love it. Our most recent long trip with it was to Glacier National Park on a 12 day trip. It took it a minute to get itself regulated. Also it needed to vent better and we got that working better too. The other trick we learned was that if you fill a quart sized container with ice, and place it in the cooler as well, it makes a huge difference on it ability to keep things cold longer. This was also due to the fact that we shopped along the way and our food was not chilled before putting it in the cooler. However, I will always do the ice in the future. If you freeze a juice bottle with juice in it or water, it will aid greatly and then you can drink the juice or water when it thaws. So you aren't really waisting any space. I love the cooler so much that I am considering buying a second 40 quart so we will have two on our trips. I hate melted ice mess!

Was this review helpful? (88) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JCMatthews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fixed my Coleman thermo-electric cooler!
11/14/2009

Customer review by Warrenb

4.0 stars 11/14/2009 by Warrenb
by Warrenb

I too am a truck driver and baught my cooler about a year ago. Saved me a lot of money from eating out by being able to take my own food. Healthier, too. I give it an overall rating of 4 because it works great but you can't find parts for it. You see, about a month ago the fuse panel in my truck caught fire and killed the fan that operates the cooler, and blew the fuse in the plug. However, I did fix it. Instead of buying a new cooler just replace the fan, for some of you mechanically inclined folks. In most cases that's why the cooler stops working. I didn't feel like scouring the stores for the origional fan so I took one out of a power supply unit from an old computer I had. It's a bit smaller and less amps, but so far it works better than before. It's easy to do, too. Be sure to take the cover off once a month and clean the fan and heat sync too. Very important. Dust and dirt will kill these thing quick.

Was this review helpful? (71) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Warrenb
Tipp City, OH.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good if you have power
8/18/2007

Customer review by Wiseman

4.0 stars 8/18/2007 by Wiseman
by Wiseman

We just completed a road trip from WA to OK with this cooler. It worked great as long at it was plugged in and you started it cooling for the trip the night before. In cases were we had to leave it disconnected for more than three hours the temperature would start to rise and would be unacceptable for raw meats, but for the lunch and drink stuff we were using it for it worked great. As a helpful hit the compressor does not have to work as hard if you keep the cooler under a blanket or in the shade while driving. Lastly the included AC wall adapter is a must and makes this product usable since it can be plugged in at hotels. PS. We successfully ran the cooler for two to three hour periods on the battery alone without draining the battery to the point of not being able to start the car.

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wiseman
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
money saver
7/2/2009

Customer review by countrystroller

4.0 stars 7/2/2009 by countrystroller
by countrystroller

I drive an 18 wheeler, if you stop and eat at fast food or restuarants all the time you know how expensive it is, most of you think this product is a fridge, guess again. I use mine 24/7 for chilled items, always plugged into power receptacle, most new cars dont have power to cig lighter when key is off, yes just like almost anything else you get a lemon for one, i have had 3 in 5 yrs and only 1 died within a 1 1/2 year span, they do tend to wear out, but for the cost of one, much cheaper then eating out everyday, u eat 2 or 3 meals at fast food or restuarant, in one week it will cost u more then this cooler did. The extra $$$ u spend on eating out u could have stocked this cooler with food.

Was this review helpful? (59) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countrystroller
ontario, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
ugh!!
2/5/2010

Customer review by bigclarke

1.0 stars 2/5/2010 by bigclarke
by bigclarke

well im a trucker and having one of these is very important to me. JUST NOT THIS ONE. less than a year and im ready to get my 4th one. how long before walmart stops exchanging them for me?

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigclarke
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't Buy!!
12/6/2010

Customer review by LeviandChloe

1.0 stars 12/6/2010 by LeviandChloe
by LeviandChloe

If your a truck driver and use everyday, this is NOT the one for you. I've been through 2 in 2 months. Freezes up and kills the motor... Used the old coleman for years before it finally died and it was easy to replace parts... going to try another brand, wish me luck!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeviandChloe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worth every penny!
9/24/2010

Customer review by More4theDollar

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by More4theDollar
by More4theDollar

My husband recently became a Hazmat truck driver. Truckers are notorious for eating unhealthily at truck stops and fast food restaurants. But we have always eaten healthy, organic foods. My husband takes food that I seal from home on the road. We would freeze and/or refrigerate things and he would store them in coolers while on the road. But the ice would melt quickly and it was difficult to replenish it and the food would not last. We purchased this cooler/refrigerator and it works WONDERFULLY! I froze a couple of bottles of water thinking that they would thaw out in a few days and a week later they are still 90% frozen. Room temperature water gets nice and cold in the cooler as well. Foods that are frozen at home in the freezer stay frozen for an incredibly long period of time. I am amazed at how well the cooler works and even more amazed at the price!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
More4theDollar
Southern New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Coleman Power Chill
8/10/2009

Customer review by Eddowes

4.0 stars 8/10/2009 by Eddowes
by Eddowes

I have this in a Peterbilt tractor and it works great. We flip a kill switch when the tractor is sitting for a few days. It cools very well after a short time after the kill switch is taken off and power is restored. Wish it had more shelving in it. Will have to make more shelving. Great size to fit about anything into it. And the Walmart price seemed to be the lowest.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eddowes
Enola,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not For Long Term, Every Day Use
3/13/2008

Customer review by AngiPA

2.0 stars 3/13/2008 by AngiPA
by AngiPA

I would say if you were going to use this on a long trip then this would be the product for you, but if you intend to use this in your home as a mini fridge in a den or in a dorm room - steer away from this one. I am on my second one. I had to take the first one back and get a replacement, because the first one quit working within three months. The second one I've only had for about a month, and I've had to defrost it three times already! Defrosting means it builds up with ice around the motor, so you have to take everything out and let it sit for almost a whole day to let all the ice melt and then restart the whole process again of getting it to get cold again and reloading your things. I am very careful not to put ice in it, and I wipe off the moisture of anything I put in there - Don't know what else I can do except leave it empty! We have this in our den and we keep it running 24/7. This product is supposed to be able to be used in an office 24/7 or where ever. Watch for dust! This thing collects dust more than anything in my house. I suggest vacumming it a few times a week. The thing is like a magnet and just draws in the dust, which also causes damage to the motor. Long story short - Long car rides - great. Full time in a dorm room or your house - Don't waste the money! Get a mini fridge with a freezer, that way the moisture build up isn't such a pain!

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AngiPA
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good cooler bad product service
3/10/2010

Customer review by hwwgandolf

1.0 stars 3/10/2010 by hwwgandolf
by hwwgandolf

in 2 1/2 years went through 4 of these cooler's the little fan inside quits running because it has plastic barring's. the last one i tryed to get replaced on warrantie called customer serrvice and was hung up on 2 times before i could finish explaining what happened. took it to a colman stor and was told they would not and could not do anything about it even though it was only 6mo. old. will never buy another thing from colman again.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hwwgandolf
ks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great
8/2/2007

Customer review by Emscb

5.0 stars 8/2/2007 by Emscb
by Emscb

Just like a portable fridge. We use it for baby items on trips and going to the grocery store in summer. We love the two adapters, car and home. Works great!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emscb
Camp Lejuene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Well, in line with other reviews
9/25/2009

Customer review by nolamike

2.0 stars 9/25/2009 by nolamike
by nolamike

It worked great for about 3 weeks of constant use on our cross country trip. FYI, it uses 45 watts (I couldn't find that info anywhere). Kept at a cool 40-45', with an ambient temp usually in the upper 80's. But then it didn't, and would only cool into the 60's. Seems like 1/2 of the cooling elements went out (the fan still worked). Anyway, worked great before it broke, but the reliability is a real concern.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nolamike
Would recommend to a friend? No
not so chilled by the powerchill
7/22/2007

Customer review by SciTch

1.0 stars 7/22/2007 by SciTch
by SciTch

I have to be honest, this product works great...as long as the car is running or it is plugged in to an outlet. If you are traveling and have to stop, lets say overnight, you can kiss goodbye the items being cold inside. I had used it in March for a trip to Colorado from Arizona. It was really cold out in Colorado so I thought my items would stay cool in the powerchill overnight. I was wrong, when I checked them in the morning they werent cold, nor cool. The inside of the powerchill felt warmer than it was outside.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SciTch
Buckeye, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Best Cooler Ever!
1/24/2011

Customer review by dsmmac

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by dsmmac
by dsmmac

We had an older version of this cooler which lasted many, many years. It was a great cooler, but this one is the bomb! It really keeps things brrrr...cold! So glad we bought it...and would never want a different brand!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dsmmac
Cedar Rapids, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for Long Haul Truck Drivers
5/19/2010

Customer review by sunflwer

5.0 stars 5/19/2010 by sunflwer
by sunflwer

I purchased this Coleman Powerchill Cooler for my husband who is a long haul truck driver. With the option of having foods that have to be kept cold, he is able to eat healthy and is actually losing weight.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunflwer
Benjamin, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, but had some hiccups
4/4/2011

Customer review by vernonbishop1

4.0 stars 4/4/2011 by vernonbishop1
by vernonbishop1

I first bought this product about four or five years ago, (Well, I originally bought another one, but it had a bad electrical connection, and I had to take it back...) I have had good and bad times with this and I must say, I really like it, though the wiring could be a bit better than they made it. My first one had a melted fuse when I was trying to use it getting ready for a six day long trip. I was lucky I still had my truck because it could have burned to the ground. I had to take that one back to Walmart, and they were very kind to me and let me exchange for another one. The one I have now, (I've had this one for over four or five years :-) ) has worked really well, but I had it plugged in and we had a bad storm here, and the wiring melted from the contact due to a power surge. I eventually fixed it and it has worked really well since. I now use it for my portable coffee business. The milk and cream stay nice and cold. There's a LOT of room in there, (enough for three half gallon, one full gallon, one quart and a whipped cream whipper that I put in there, so that I can make the various drinks I make...) and that's STANDING UP!! ;-) I would recommend this to people who need a relatively affordably priced cooler they can use without ice. Vernon

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vernonbishop1
Great Falls, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great cooler
11/24/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/24/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Works much better than the previous coleman, would actually freeze my drinking water if it got below 65 in my semi.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
PowerChill40 INCREDIBLE~don't hesitate to purchase
9/20/2010

Customer review by CodyCampers

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by CodyCampers
by CodyCampers

We purchased this to use on a three week trip from Wyoming to Alaska. Was this a godsend! NO ICE to buy or melt. Weather was quite warm for early-mid September. Having read other reviews we were aware to not leave run overnight off the trucks plug-in. We had it set up in a small camper cap in the back of the pickup truck. It not only held all our meats, soda, condiments, etc, it even kept milk for over a week past it's expiration date! And that is something that I would never even do at home!! Camped @ Wrangell-St Elias and no problem without running for almost 36 hours. THIS COOLER MORE THAN PAID FOR ITSELF IN JUST ONE TRIP. Will use this over & over, and will NEVER buy ice again. Not even upset the price has now dropped by $14 from 4 weeks ago!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CodyCampers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Its not for everyday use.
4/4/2009

Customer review by Themandan

3.0 stars 4/4/2009 by Themandan
by Themandan

Im a truckdriver and I use this on the road. I have went thru two of these and plan to never buy another one again. They quit working after about 6months if you are lucky. My first one only lasted 2months before it bit the dust. If you are only using this as for casual use it might be fine for you, but if you use this product everday I would stay clear!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Themandan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great
8/21/2009

Customer review by JeffD313

5.0 stars 8/21/2009 by JeffD313
by JeffD313

We used this on a long road trip to Kentucky this summer to keep milk and drinks cold without having to keep replacing ice. It worked great the whole trip in the van and in our hotel room (using the wall adaptor). We put a couple freeze packs in it when we left and they were still almost completely frozen after 4 days in the cooler. It does take a lot of electricity though, so don't leave it plugged in with your car off for a long time (we found that out later when we left it plugged in for about 4 hours with the car off and it drained the battery)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeffD313
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1-20 of 181 reviews