Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 290 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

290 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

290 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
209
4 stars
59
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 254 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 254 total reviews
1-20 of 254 reviews
Best cooler I've ever had!
8/7/2007

Customer review by mona1125

5.0 stars 8/7/2007 by mona1125
by mona1125

I was skeptical when I ordered this cooler. A cooler is just a cooler right! I was looking mainly looking for that size +/-. But the clams and price sold me. I use it daily to take drinks to the job site for my crew in the summer in Amarillo Tx (mid to high 90's and dry) and it works great. I keep mine shaded in the back of my Pathfinder and I don't have to top it off with ice either, just three 7 pound ice bags. After the cooler and drinks cool down the first few hours or so the rest of the week is easy street. By Friday the ice is almost all melted, but the water is still ice cold. I don't add any more ice unless I add alot more new drinks to the cooler at mid week.

Was this review helpful? (112) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mona1125
Amarillo Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
$ GREAT COOLER $
8/13/2009

Customer review by NevadaCruiser

5.0 stars 8/13/2009 by NevadaCruiser
by NevadaCruiser

Got this cooler for a week long camp-out and it worked great. You should pre-cool all items before you put them in the cooler. I put in 3 blocks of ice, my beer and food, then put cubed ice over the top of everything. Always keep your cooler in the shade as I did and it kept my stuff ice cold for 6 days. After I got home I took my food and beer out and put in the fridge ( no spoilage ) I then put the cooler on the back porch and 2 more days went by and still had ice ( 8 days total ) I highly recommend this ice chest for long camp-outs where you are very remote and cant get more ice. Thanks Coleman and Wal-mart for a great product.

Was this review helpful? (84) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NevadaCruiser
Hawthorne, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Top 500 contributor
Good insulation
1/21/2008

Customer review by jwdet

5.0 stars 1/21/2008 by jwdet
by jwdet

I bought this cooler to convert it into a mash tun for my home brewing hobby. This cooler has excellent insulation and keeps in the heat of the water very well. It's light weight which helps if you have to lift it with ten gallons of water in it. There's much debate over which cooler is the best for a mash tun, but I recommend this one! BTW, you will need a 1/2" allen wrench to get the factory drain plug out, and the hole is about 1" in diameter. I strongly suggest using the interior washer that comes with the cooler.

Was this review helpful? (78) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwdet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Xtreme Mash Tun
10/18/2010

Customer review by tlael

4.0 stars 10/18/2010 by tlael
by tlael

This cooler was purchased to make a mash tun for 10 gallon home brew batches. The size is perfect and it holds temperature flawlessly for 90+ minute mashes. The only down side is that the drain hole was a little larger than I would have liked it to be once the plug was removed. I used some o-rings to help center the nipple though. The plug simply screws right out, but the resulting hole is a bit large for a 1/2" pipe nipple. Also, the cooler wall is right at 3/4" thick, so you will have to use a 2" (or larger) nipple to attach the manifold to the ball valve. The 1.5" nipple that is offered with standard cooler conversion kits is too short.

Was this review helpful? (56) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tlael
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Mast Tun Cooler
7/15/2011

Customer review by Dan17

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by Dan17
by Dan17

I bought this cooler to convert into a mash tun because I am a home brewer. This was shipped to my door for less than $40, so the value can't be beat. I really liked the drain channel in this, which means you can drain more wort out of the mash. The conversion was pretty simple. I used 3 SS washers, two zinc washers, a 1/2" ball valve, a 1/2" male hose barb, a 1/2" female hose barb, a 2" x 1/2" brass nipple, a 20" toilet supply line, a 1/4" brass plug and a couple of SS hose clamps. I brewed with this last weekend and didn't lose one degree, so it insulates heat very well. I can see what everyone else is saying with the handles and hinges. I'm not using it and lifiting it full of stuff, so i'm not worried about the handles breaking while i'm carrying stuff in it. I will still probably replace the handles with rope though. The hinges we'll just have to wait and see. If they break, i'll replace them with metal ones. With all that said, I gave this a 5 star because it does exactly what I need it to do at a great price. If you are going to be making a mash tun and you are batch sparging, do yourself a favor and buy this one.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dan17
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Best Cooler I ever had
8/19/2010

Customer review by 0311

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by 0311
by 0311

I bought a coleman x-treme 70 quart cooler at Walmart recently. It was marked down to $30. We went on a little trip this week and I put 2 one gallon jugs of ice and 3 of those little square blue refreezable ice pack things you buy at walmarts in it along with our drinks and some meat and stuff for sandwiches. That was on Sunday morning. Sunday evening, I put a 10 pound bag of cubed ice in it and we used a lot of of that ice during the trip to put in our drink cups. Monday morning, I put about 5 pounds of ice from the hotel ice machine in it. We got back on Tuesday and it sat in my hot car all day Wednesday. Outside temperatures were in the high 90's and probably well over 125 in the car. I went out this morning (Thursday) thinking I would have to throw away any leftover food, but there was still ice in the cooler. The gallon jugs were about half melted and there was still a little of the cubed ice left. If you want a cooler that will hold ice, you need to get one of these.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
0311
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great cooler, good value
1/11/2011

Customer review by OjibweGuy

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by OjibweGuy
by OjibweGuy

I bought this cooler for my parents. They go camping often and love this cooler. Dad's already used it on several occasions. They had initial concern about the lack of a latch, but I bought this cooler because the plastic latch on their other cooler broke. However, the lid stays closed and it keeps stuff cold. I also chose this cooler because it had no wheels. The lack of wheels offers extra room inside, preventing my parents from having to lug another smaller cooler on their trips.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OjibweGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
We love it!
7/19/2007

Customer review by Dancemlg

4.0 stars 7/19/2007 by Dancemlg
by Dancemlg

We went camping this past weekend, and we used this cooler. I put ice and Icepacks in it on friday morning and everything was still nice and cold Sunday afternoon when we came home. The ice was a little melted but not all melted. We also had the cooler outside the whole time I bet if we put it in our tent it would of helped. But this is a great cooler we are very glad we bought it!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dancemlg
Cape Cod,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
nice cooler but watch out for racoons
8/25/2009

Customer review by bkiowa

4.0 stars 8/25/2009 by bkiowa
by bkiowa

This cooler does the job of keeping everything cold and holds a lot. But be aware that even though the lid is fine for normal use, it is not as difficult to open as some coolers I have had. Racoons can get into this cooler very easily so don't leave it out overnight. It fit nicely under the bench of a picnic table and that did the trick of keeping out the racoons. Otherwise, great cooler!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bkiowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Keeps it cold!
9/6/2007

Customer review by JosieT

5.0 stars 9/6/2007 by JosieT
by JosieT

We bought this for camping trips and it kept everything VERY cold the entire time we were out. We were able to put our gallon of milk right back in the fridge when we returned. This is an excellent cooler.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JosieT
McKinney, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
10/26/2007

Customer review by CJarrett

5.0 stars 10/26/2007 by CJarrett
by CJarrett

I really enjoy my colemen xtreme. It keeps everything cold for days and it has lots of room. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJarrett
Morgantown,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great value
11/19/2010

Customer review by SeeMee2

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by SeeMee2
by SeeMee2

I love the color...has cup holders which are extremely convienent. Good quality and easyto drain out the melted ice.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeeMee2
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
coleman cooler
4/11/2011

Customer review by bigbaddad704

5.0 stars 4/11/2011 by bigbaddad704
by bigbaddad704

This is a great product. It keeps ice for the entire weekend. I am an Assistant Scoutmaster and I have ordered 5 of these for my troop. They all held together in a recent storm during Camporee.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigbaddad704
gastonia, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Keeping it Cool
6/16/2014

Customer review by Sportsmen2505

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by Sportsmen2505
by Sportsmen2505

Purchased this to replace a 20-year old Coleman Marine Cooler. This did an amazing job! I always freeze a partially filled 1-gallon water bottle for an ice block. We went on a 6 night trip to the Easter Sierras and I loaded the ice block + 30 lbs of ice into the chest the night before we left. The regular ice froze together! I did not need to add any ice until Wednesday qwhich is great and even more amazing was the fact that when we were away from camp, I stored the cooler in our sites metal "Bear Box" with sunny weather conditions and temps in the mid - 60s to low 70s. Could not be happier with this cooler and it is made in the USA!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sportsmen2505
Burbank, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great cooler - Great price
9/19/2010

Customer review by Kvibe

4.0 stars 9/19/2010 by Kvibe
by Kvibe

Great cooler. Follow directions that come with it. Pre chill things going into it. I also used 3 to 4 blocks of ice I made in plastic containers. After 3 days of camping, the ice was still there, everything stayed cold. Only thing is you have to push the top shut to make a good seal everytime you open it, but besides that, it was great.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kvibe
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great, but GIANT
8/22/2013

Customer review by CatherineLLL

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by CatherineLLL
by CatherineLLL

I bought this cooler for weekend trips. It is very well made and I have great faith in it, but the one downside for me is that it does not fit in my car's trunk! Dimensions are posted and are accurate, however; I just wasn't expecting something made for travelling to be quite so bulky. Oh well, my own fault. I returned it (which was enormously inconvenient by itself considering it was EMPTY when I struggled to take it back) and bought two smaller Coleman Xtreme coolers to use instead. I would still recommend this to people; just confirm you know what you're getting ahead of time. Be sure you can lift it when it's filled with ice and drinks, and make sure it fits in your car!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatherineLLL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great cooler with tight seal.
6/7/2014

Customer review by ToastyMo

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by ToastyMo
by ToastyMo

The cooler seals tightly and keeps the items inside cold for days under normal conditions. I don't know if it would keep COLD for five days in 90 degree, but it most certainly will outlast any other cooler for the price. I paid around $40. It works best by using a combination of frozen "chillers" along with ice. If it's not exceptionally hot you can get by using the chillers only, which is great if you have food you don't want floating in melted ice water. Try to have items cold already BEFORE putting in the cooler, and keep the cooler in the shade to extend the cooling life. It's very sturdy and can be used as a seat as long as you don't treat it too roughly. Overall, this is a great cooler.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToastyMo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for your money!
6/18/2014

Customer review by Dwsa

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by Dwsa
by Dwsa

Highly recommend this cooler. We put 20 pounds of ice and drinks at 9 am. We were out in the Gulf of Mexico until 4:30pm. The cooler was brought back to the porch and 10 pounds of ice went back into the freezer. Temperature was 90 degrees. 2 days later it still had ice and water in bottom of cooler. Several coolers were researched on line, and this was rated as 3rd or 4th. I rate it as a "1". We use it for camping and boating. For the value, Coleman coolers are highly recommended. 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dwsa
Tarpon Springs, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for an ice chest
10/22/2011

Customer review by dirtfa

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by dirtfa
by dirtfa

I'm very happy with this Coleman chest. I had read reviews before purchasing it that it would not keep ice frozen for 5 days as claimed. I can vouch for the time. I used two gallon jugs of water frozen in my freezer and placed in the chest. After 5 days, the water was still frozen. I used the chest every day getting out colas and restocking it. If you purchase ice bags from public venders (or even WalMart), expect the ice temp to be just below freezing and will start melting before you're out the door. This is an excellant ice chest. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dirtfa
Forest Grove, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome Cooler !!!!
9/20/2010

Customer review by katniss

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by katniss
by katniss

I pre-cooled this cooler, took it on a 5 day camping trip and i still had ice in it 3 days later. The price was great holds alot of stuff. Very well insulated. I'm purchasing a second one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katniss
McKinney Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 254 total reviews
1-20 of 254 reviews