Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 362 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

362 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

362 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
253
4 stars
65
3 stars
21
2 stars
7
1 stars
16
1-20 of 317 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 317 total reviews
1-20 of 317 reviews
We are repeat customers
1/23/2014

Customer review by LoveGod26

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by LoveGod26
by LoveGod26
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is probably my 4th or 5th Stircrazy over the last 20+ years, so we get 4 or more years out of each one. The last one was still stirring but didn't heat up sufficiently to consistently pop anymore. The large bowl (cover) was also cracked but who isn't after that much use? We make popcorn at least 2-4 times/week. All 3 of my adult kids each have a Stircrazy in their homes and are very happy with them also. My daughter-in-law taught me that I CAN put the cover in my dishwasher since I do not use a heated dry cycle. It was a few days before my replacement Stircrazy arrived so I retrieved and used a Cuisinart stirring popper that was left over from a daughter's college days. It worked OK but the popcorn was not as good as that from Stircrazy. It was a bit soggy from no ventilation holes in the lid and the popcorn wasn't as fluffy. We were glad to see the new Stircrazy arrive! Try it with coconut oil - it doesn't taste like coconut but has a wonderfully different taste. Please keep making this product - we'll be back in a few years!

Was this review helpful? (63) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveGod26
Rural PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great unit
5/7/2016

Customer review by flashlightface

5.0 stars 5/7/2016 by flashlightface
by flashlightface

I've had "stir crazy's" poppers for many years. I've loved them all. I bought this unit for our great, grand kids (two boys 9 & 6). I also supplied them with premium O.R. popcorn kernels, butter, oil, Tabasco sauce and popcorn salt. Then, we (Great Gran'ma and I) went over to their home and sat them down and had "Popcorn school" one afternoon with all members present. In Vietnam, 70-71, when conditions permitted, I would make popcorn for my guys (Air Force) and our Army buddies - I was a AF pilot (ALO and FAC) with the 2nd Brigade, 101st AD, Hue Phu Bai, R.S.VN. When I got reassigned to headquarters duty and I was leaving the 101st, all the Army folks, and my guys, gave me an award- They indoctrinated me into " Popcorn Hall of Fame"!! True Story!! ha,ha. I just shared my award winning method, and "popping technique" with my gang. They are having more fun with the "Stir Crazy" unit than a lot of other things they have nowadays. If your interested, here is my "secret" technique. Make sure the plastic lid cover is removed. Always use premium popcorn! About a minute after the stirring starts, lift the lid up quickly, and sprinkle some Tabasco sauce into the stirring process. For 5-6 qts of popcorn have about 3/4-1 stick of butter (salted), melted, and as soon as the popcorn slows down to a few "Pops", pull the plug, flip the unit over onto it's plastic cover.-We don't want burned tasting popcorn. Then salt and "drizzle" the hot, melted butter onto the popcorn and serve. My secret to great popcorn is the butter-- and proper salt usage--- We're not counting calories or watching dietary requirements now!! We're just making great Popcorn---- Cheers, and good luck

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flashlightface
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great popper so far
4/22/2014

Customer review by LeeMT

4.0 stars 4/22/2014 by LeeMT
by LeeMT
Top 500 contributor

I was reading the reviews and wanted to add my opinion to some of them. This popper pops much better than a microwave.There will always be some kernals that are un-popped, but that is almost always the fault of the popcorn itself, and not the machine. I am confused as to why the instructions say to not use "gourmet" popcorn. It says this will not pop as well as the regular, but it worked fine with me. As to the stirring rod scraping the floor of the machine - if it is set right, it should be slightly above the surface and not touching the surface. I like that the stirring rod switches directions every minute or so.. This popper is quite large and you need a large space to store it. My only real negative is that the dome is rather thin and seems it could easily crack. It barely fits in the sink when washing. Still, a good popper and a great value from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeeMT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Top 500 contributor
west bend stir crazy popcorn popper
5/17/2016

Customer review by Rock

5.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Rock
by Rock

this is the third one I have purchased over the years and this one is just a good as the first one! Hurray for quality that continues!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best buy for a corn popper
11/9/2013

Customer review by PO0Bah

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by PO0Bah
by PO0Bah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is number 4 for us now. The best we can get out of one is about 2 ½ years. This is about the same for any electric gadget that has a heating element that's used a lot. Coffee pots and so forth. We read reviews for this and other Corn Poppers and the Stir Crazy seems to hold up the best. We pop a lot of corn and this popper is easy to clean - just wipe the inside base off with a dry dish cloth and the top that serves as the bowl cleans up nicely in the dish water ( I don't think it would last long if you put the bowl top in a dishwasher). The popper pops most All the kernels if you put a little less than a cup of corn in it. The heating element WILL burn out faster if you leave the black cap on the top while popping however... ask me how I know. ooops But it's still the Best buy for your money.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PO0Bah
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Replacing
7/18/2016

Customer review by Treb

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Treb
by Treb

I have been using the same Crazy Popper since my daughter took it to college in 1978 and now I need to replace it as when I turned the knob holding the stirring blade I twisted the bolt off. I will soon be replacing it with a new Crazy Popper. I hope the new one will be made as good as this last one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Treb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Never Eat Microwave Popcorn Again
8/5/2008

Customer review by jianen

5.0 stars 8/5/2008 by jianen
by jianen

Our household is famous for its popcorn, and the Stir Crazy is the reason why. NOTHING makes popcorn like this popper. We've literally used three poppers to death. The plastic covers have never broken for us and they're fun to watch through. The motor lasts years for us and probably longer for you. You're in control of the amount of oil you use and popcorn you make. At our house, we like to flip it out of the top immediately so it doesn't get soggy from the steam. I have never bothered to use the butter holes on the top. I melt mine in the microwave. Butter and garlic salt and the Stir Crazy make unforgettable popcorn!

Was this review helpful? (89) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jianen
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good for the price
7/12/2016

Customer review by ShorterMommy

3.0 stars 7/12/2016 by ShorterMommy
by ShorterMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are looking for an appliance with a small footprint, this is NOT it. It is bigger than what I thought I would get. It works well enough, but I still had several unpopped kernels, even having followed the instructions to the letter. I used the butter melter, and I thought it was messy and did not melt quickly enough. I'll melt butter in the microwave instead. I gave 3 stars because it is a decent popper for the price and it is easy to clean.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShorterMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Popcorn Popper
7/16/2016

Customer review by James11212

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by James11212
by James11212
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works Great. i love this popcorn popper

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
James11212
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
7/13/2016

Customer review by Ivonne

4.0 stars 7/13/2016 by Ivonne
by Ivonne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

is a good machine just what I expected

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ivonne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper
7/9/2016

Customer review by Gneiss

3.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Gneiss
by Gneiss
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is an "OK" popper. The stirring arm sometimes gets stuck on a popcorn kernel and starts making an awful noise. The bowl does hold quite a bit of popcorn so you can pop more than you think.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gneiss
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Popcorn Lover
6/5/2016

Customer review by Nana

5.0 stars 6/5/2016 by Nana
by Nana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very pleased with this popcorn popper. It works well and the pictures of this item are accurately depicted.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great popcorn popper!
5/30/2016

Customer review by MarieS

5.0 stars 5/30/2016 by MarieS
by MarieS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a replacement popper. Had same for many years. Best price at Walmart. Wonderful machine. Makes tons of popcorn at once. Use lid as serving bowl. Money-saver compared to microwave bags of popcorn. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarieS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quit working the first day I had it.
5/31/2016

Customer review by Teeto

2.0 stars 5/31/2016 by Teeto
by Teeto
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This popcorn poper broke the first day of use. The nob in the center melted from a defective thermostat I'm guessing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teeto
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
StirCrazyPopcornPopper West Bend
1/5/2014

Customer review by MrsCorniepop

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by MrsCorniepop
by MrsCorniepop

We are in our late 70's and have had only 3 of these in the past 50 yrs one of which I purchased in a garage sale because the people never used it. Ever since I've had this popper that's the only snack we use in the house; it's good for you, whole grains, sodium free; we don't use it; I use Mrs. Dash, parmesan cheese or garlic festival flavoring; all are delicious and healthy for you. I use olive oil for the oil or peanut oil. Don't use the top for butter as I don't like butter so I do some in the microwave for my husband and split the bowl with him. It's a great popper and I've given many as gifts and all agree how easy it is for them especially at a kid's b'day party. Excellent for college students. They're not just eating pizza. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsCorniepop
Latham, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
West Bend Stir Crazy Popcorn Popper
5/21/2016

Customer review by RioDi

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by RioDi
by RioDi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is wonderful! Works just as it says it would work. I was tired of my old air popper because it pops corn everywhere and you couldn't make Kettle Korn with it. I am really happy with the West Bend and the price. Easy order. Easy pickup since we were going shopping at Walmart anyways. Used my phone app to give them the code. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RioDi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
See Below For Why FOUR Stars.
4/16/2016

Customer review by rtyrtyjm

4.0 stars 4/16/2016 by rtyrtyjm
by rtyrtyjm

This is a GREAT popper, and I LIKE it so much, I bought a SECOND to replace the one I sort of 'killed'. I was cleaning the thing, and decided to take the stirring arm off to get under it a little easier. While off, it dropped onto the floor and one side of the arm POPPED off (broke). The arm is made of a cheap pot-metal that is sort of fragile. I have no doubt that it will last MANY years for what it is intended for, and the device still worked well with just the one-half of the arm stirring the kernels. The ONLY reason I bought the second one? Well, it just sort of BUGS me to not have BOTH sides of the arm there... LMSBO! The PLUS side is I can make TWICE THE POPCORN at the same time. I LOVE my popcorn!!! Take care, M. J. Gaudet

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rtyrtyjm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Makes Perfect Popcorn
7/1/2016

Customer review by TexasNana

5.0 stars 7/1/2016 by TexasNana
by TexasNana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had my Stir Crazy for more than 18 years..it is the best. The two I recently purchased were gifts for my grandsons, both of whom have wonderful memories of popcorn "parties" with Nana.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasNana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for Dieting
8/25/2007

Customer review by PaPaLovesPopcorn

5.0 stars 8/25/2007 by PaPaLovesPopcorn
by PaPaLovesPopcorn

We use this product average of once a day. Popcorn is a meal and a snack in our house. The only problem is the stir rod stops after about 7 to 9 months of continious use. It has a year warranty but we would always be taking it back. I emailed the manufacturer to get advice with no response. It works, so our house will keep buying it. We have decided to buy two so we will have a spare. Any advice in keeping it working longer would be appreciated. We are on our 4th Stir Crazy. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (61) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaPaLovesPopcorn
Mathis, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I returned this to the store.
6/27/2016

Customer review by shopper3288

1.0 stars 6/27/2016 by shopper3288
by shopper3288
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this popper because of the positive reviews, however in our case the unit was very slow to start popping and when finished half of the kernels were unpopped. I then bought a new bag of kernels and got the same results.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopper3288
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 317 total reviews
1-20 of 317 reviews