Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1649 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1649 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1649 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1268
4 stars
269
3 stars
34
2 stars
23
1 stars
55
1-20 of 1506 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1506 total reviews
1-20 of 1506 reviews
A great sewing machine!
8/2/2010

Customer review by luvsewigandquilting2

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by luvsewigandquilting2
by luvsewigandquilting2

I bought this sewing machine about two months ago and sew almost everyday on it. I have been making blankets for foster children as well as mats for the children in Haiti which means I have used a variety of fabrics as well as thickness and use of batting. I use the walking foot from my other Brother machine and it too works great on this machine. This is my second Brother sewing machine and I absolutely love it! It is easy to use and I have enjoyed it so much! I highly recommend this machine whether you have been sewing for years or just beginning. All of the features are very user friendly. This is by far one of the best machines that I have had as well as being reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (175) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvsewigandquilting2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Machine! Great Value
12/8/2009

Customer review by teachersqualls

5.0 stars 12/8/2009 by teachersqualls
by teachersqualls

This was my first sewing machine and I love it. It is easy to operate and very user-friendly. I have created blankets, pillows, pillow cases, reusable gift bags, etc. I have not been disappointed. I can stitch through heavy material with ease. This is a great machine at a great value. I have attached photos of two items I have created with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (125) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
teachersqualls
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The Featherweight of the 21st Century
4/6/2012

Customer review by MomCat02

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by MomCat02
by MomCat02

I was looking for a basic durable & dependable sewing machine - nothing fancy as all I want to do is piece quilt blocks and occasionally machine quilt them. I was reading online reviews about another well known brand of machines but the reviews weren’t very good. In one of those reviews, someone mentioned the Brother cs6000i and how the reviews for this machine were almost 100% positive. So I started reading every review I could find about this Brother machine and it was true – no one had anything bad to say about it. And then I saw all the extra accessories that came with this machine (several were specifically for quiltmaking) and that the low, low price was within my budget so I was sold! After researching several different online companies & comparing the shipping fees, I decided that Walmart.com was the least expensive for the quickest time to receive it. Within just a few days I received my brand new wonderful sewing machine!!! The set-up instructions were short & sweet and threading the machine & filling the bobbins could not be easier! Adjusting the tension is a breeze – although there was no reason to adjust it as it was perfect from the get-go. I really love the extra work table that snaps on easily and extends the work area. The only thing I would say that I do not like about this machine is that the guide markers are behind the needle so it is not very easy to line up your fabric for consistent seam allowances – however, the standard foot that comes with this machine has a clear piece on it that makes it easy to see the fabric as it goes under the foot and I can line the edge of the fabric up with this foot and have a perfect ¼” seam. This machine has met and exceeded every expectation that I had and when I started out my search for a simple sewing machine, I would never have thought I would own one this nice!! I’ve recommended it to many, many friends since owning it.

Was this review helpful? (189) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomCat02
Farmington, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for a beginner!
3/12/2009

Customer review by Ebeth413

5.0 stars 3/12/2009 by Ebeth413
by Ebeth413

I have wanted to learn to sew for so long and this machine made it possible. My mother is an amazing seamstress but worked full time when I was growing up and she never had the time to pass on her great skills. I constantly come up with ideas and have to take them to her to put them together. Finally one day she said "let me teach you how to read a pattern". After that I was determined to find a machine I could teach myself on but would have enough features that I wouldn't want to buy up in a few years. After reading tons of reviews in several places, I went with this machine. I read the entire manual first and actually did my first project today. I did an envelope back pillow cover with an applique and I couldn't be more pleased. I am actually shocked that I was able to do it with just the help of the manual. Definitely worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (83) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ebeth413
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Excellant value
7/30/2008

Customer review by TCSews

5.0 stars 7/30/2008 by TCSews
by TCSews

I can't believe the features this very light weight (10 lbs) machine has. I've been sewing for 45 years and needed a second machine for classes and sewing bees and have I found it. It's great! I did have to buy the 1/4" quilting foot seperatly from another source though. It did not come with it, but I knew that when purchasing it. It is just what I wanted. I really wanted a machine that had the blanket stitch for machine applique and it has 2 sizes of it. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (58) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TCSews
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
4 years and still going strong!
5/3/2010

Customer review by khf65

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by khf65
by khf65

I bought this machine more than 4 years ago when I was working on a chorus dress for my high school sophomore daughter and my old metal machine finally bit the dust. At midnight. I ran out to walmart and bought this one because it had all the features I wanted, and walmart was open all night. I was sewing within 20 minutes--the instruction booklet was very clear, and I'm still using it for reference today. I was able to finish my daughter's dress in time for her concert the next day. I'd been putting up with that old machine's tendency to lose tension and tangle for a long, long time. This brother was my first brand new machine and I was amazed that sewing could be so EASY! I haven't regretted the purchase even once. That same daughter is finishing her second year of college so it's been four years now. I've sewn everything from Jeans to Satin on this, and as long as I have the right needle for the job, it has never given me an ounce of trouble. Any problems I've had always turn out to be MY errors, not the machine's. I love being able to set it so the presser foot stays down when I take my foot off the pedal. I also have the option of setting it so it automatically raises every time I stop, but I prefer the needle to stay down. I love being able to push a button to raise the presser foot or to reverse stitch. And I love the 3 speed settings. One of my favorite features is the computerized selection of stitches. All the stitches are shown right on the front of the machine with its number. When I punch in the number, the LCD screen tells me which presser foot I need. The presser feet (foots?) are so EASY to switch out! It just takes seconds. The trick for me that works every time is to hook the foot onto the bar, then drop the lever fast so the foot flattens. It clicks into place instantly. My favorite foot is the walking foot that came with the machine. It makes all my sewing so much easier I have a tendency to use it even when I don't have to. With the buttonholer that I ordered separately, I can do buttonholes with a single step too. Bobbins were a little bit difficult to find at first, but I've found them at Joann's and at WalMart now. I have a huge supply so I don't run out. The plastic ones haven't given me any trouble at all. The bobbin winder is also convenient and easy to use, and I LOVE the drop in feature and the incredible ease of threading it. It still amazes me how fast I can change thread colors with this machine. It needs to be dusted out regularly under and around the bobbin holder, and a little brush is supplied with it for this purpose. Also, I regularly check that the presser foot screw and the needle screw are tight because they tend to loosen on their own. A screwdriver is provided. I've been sewing for 25 years, although I would not claim to be an expert. This meets all my needs and then some. I am completely happy with this machine and if it ever breaks down, I'll be glad to buy the same model to replace it. It's been worth every penny of the $189 I paid for it. The only other machine I want now is a serger!

Was this review helpful? (337) (77)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
khf65
Mesa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/20/2011

Customer review by heartfeltquilts

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by heartfeltquilts
by heartfeltquilts
Walmart associate

I have owned this machine for 5 yrs now and have been quilting on it since I've gotten it. I truly is a wonderful machine! Love everything about it. I will be upgrading to a new brother because I like this one so much. Great for beginners as well as experienced sewers.

Was this review helpful? (53) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heartfeltquilts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great Sewing Machine!
5/1/2011

Customer review by NYNCGrandma

5.0 stars 5/1/2011 by NYNCGrandma
by NYNCGrandma

After many years I finally broke down and replaced my hand me down 1930 Singer sewing machine for this Brother cs6000i computerized machine. I don't know why I waited so long. There is ease in operation, light to carry, many options in stitches, buttonholes, etc. The directions are easy to follow too. Great for a seasoned sewer or a beginner. I'm enjoying making many cute dresses for my granddaughter. I highly recommend this sewing machine.

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NYNCGrandma
Gvile, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Just what I wanted
11/4/2008

Customer review by Cheowcur

5.0 stars 11/4/2008 by Cheowcur
by Cheowcur

I was so happy when I recieved my sewing machine. I made my son's halloween costume on it and it performed wonderfully. It also came with a lot of accesories. A quilting foot, bigger work area attatchment, extra bobbins, stitch remover and various other helpful items. I just love it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheowcur
Moab, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Heck yeah
5/12/2014

Customer review by Buba36912151821

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by Buba36912151821
by Buba36912151821
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Mother's Day gift.

Was this review helpful? (5) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buba36912151821
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for beginner
2/5/2012

Customer review by allpics

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by allpics
by allpics

I was looking at a Brother's Project Runway 40 (think this was the name) and I really liked it, but I didn't want to pay 400 dollars. I am a beginner sewer and I didn't know if I would even like sewing. I heard Wal-mart carried Brothers so I checked them out. They had a few different models that I wrote down and researched them on the internet. While searching this model CS-6000i popped up. It got great reviews and seemed to have most of the options the more expensive model had. I have had it for 3 weeks and have really enjoyed it. I have done a little mending and I am now working on a quilt. It was easy to thread, love the push button start/stop button, come with extra bobbins & different feet and it was $160. IThe only problem I have had is I was mending a coat and I was going through tons of layers, plus the material was kind of rubbery, and it wouldn't sew through the seam....just to thick for this machine. Other than that I love it and I am excited to take a class to learn more.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allpics
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Set up and go...
2/2/2014

Customer review by GoodOldAunt

4.0 stars 2/2/2014 by GoodOldAunt
by GoodOldAunt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived very quickly with standard shipping. The machine is much lighter weight than my old Singer & very easy to move around. I especially appreciate the needle-threader feature (great for older eyes) & the stitch speed controls. I'm making table toppers with wide lace borders for a wedding & the slow speed enables me to easily sew around the scalloped border of the lace. Bobbin-winding is simple & easy. Initially I had difficulty correctly threading the bobbin thread into the tension slot & I also had to reduce the upper thread tension to prevent thread breakage. The machine manual has a trouble-shooting guide which helped me resolve these issues. Regarding the comment about missing presser feet by another reviewer, most of the accessories are located in a pouch in the removable front left portion of the machine base. I also initially thought these items were missing, until I removed this part to place the wider table base, another feature I enjoy. Overall I find this machine to be a good value.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoodOldAunt
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tough Little Machine!
8/21/2010

Customer review by AJCMom

5.0 stars 8/21/2010 by AJCMom
by AJCMom

I've had this machine for 4 months. I've sewn a couple dresses, mended a few things, made a baby quilt and bumper, and a diaper bag. It's performed AWESOMELY! I put a piece of carpet in the bottom of the diaper bag--it sewed through that no problem! It sewed 8 layers of cotton(5) and fleece(3) together (slowly) but with NO problems. I've never had a machine sew this well on thick stuff. Obvioulsy, you have to go slow--but common sense tells you that. I had problems with the tension one time, but it was because I didn't load the bobbin correctly. I love the 'one stich at a time' feature. It's very lightweight, easy to carry from one place to the other. The quilting table is handy, although it doesn't SNAP in as well as I'd like it too. No big deal though. I love that once the bobbin is loaded, it's loaded. You don't HAVE to draw up the thread--you can, but it draws it up itself once you start sewing. I LOVE that you can see the bobbin and tell how much thread is left. This machine is easy to use--ergonomics are great!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AJCMom
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great machine for anyone
11/26/2013

Customer review by gggmmaaa

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by gggmmaaa
by gggmmaaa

I've had this machine for over a month and love it. I'm quilting fabric panels for hangings and pillows and having such fun. At first it looks a little scary, but look close and you'll find that it gives you threading and thimble directions on the machine, also stitch guide and what sewing foot to use in the little screen and the feet are so easy to switch. I also love the auto threader even though on occasion it might take me a few times to get it threaded . The only problem, I wish I had gotten one with more stitch designs as several of these are for button holes and I'll never use them, but for the kind of sewing I do I really don't need more. My Granddaughter is new to sewing and I'm so impressed by this machine that I got her one for Christmas, except her's has many more stitches. I looked at this machine from other dealers, but chose Walmart for their return policy, they make it so easy, but I haven't had any problems and don't expect to.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gggmmaaa
San Diego, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Machine!
9/1/2007

Customer review by Ferrety

5.0 stars 9/1/2007 by Ferrety
by Ferrety

I purchased this machine about 2 years ago. Currently, it is used once or twice a month, but for the first year I was piecing quilts with it for almost 2 hours daily. It is SO easy to use. You always know which foot to use with each stitch and it is very easy to thread. It is also very quiet in regards to the price range of the machine. As another review notes, sometimes thread does bunch up under the foot plate, but it is easily cleared and you can power off the machine and then power back on. This has always fixed the issue. I have also noted that this is always related to the machine being mis-threaded or having too many layers of fabric/batting in one spot (i.e. the corners of a quilt when I am binding it and there are roughly 8 layers of fabric + batting.). I would recommend this machine to anyone who is not ready to invest several hundred to a couple of thousand dollars in a machine. I love it! I am actually purchasing one for my mother since her old Singer finally bit the dust!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ferrety
DFW, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing machine at any price.
2/5/2014

Customer review by Quilter704

5.0 stars 2/5/2014 by Quilter704
by Quilter704
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Don't think this machine is just for beginners. I've been sewing for 70 years and I remember how excited I was when Mom bought a machine that back stitched and I've bought two other machines over the years. I bought this one because I wanted the blanket stitch for quilting but using this machine I realized how much fun and easy sewing could be. The list of features it has is amazing, every feature I could ever want or need. I love the start and stop button, needle up and down, needle threader, and the drop in bobbin. All things that make sewing easier and makes me want to sew every day. I bought this one for our 27year old granddaughter. I am also guiding our eight year old granddaughter to cut and sew her first quilt. This machine is so easy to use for a beginners that it encourages success. The speed control is perfect for a beginner or difficult stitching for anyone. That feature alone gives confidence to all sewers regardless of experience. This is a wonderful machine at a great price.,

Was this review helpful? (20) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quilter704
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Sewing Machine for beginner to expert!
8/2/2013

Customer review by MamaB1

5.0 stars 8/2/2013 by MamaB1
by MamaB1

I am a seasoned sewer and I love this machine. Had to replace a mechanical White that I've had for over 22 years. I admit I was skeptical about a computerized machine. After reading all materials I gave it a test run using double thickness of vinyl and T30 thread. This little machine ran through all 60 stiches perfectly right out of the box and with no adjustment to tension what-so-ever. I am impressed! Just one little drawback...I wish the throat of the machine was as big as my White or even my really old mechanical Kenmore. But this machine will handle the bulk of the work I have planned for it. I love built-in needle threader, what a blessing. And the bright work light is just grand. Suggestion for Brother...all sewing machines should be made with a dual control footpedal; right side for speed control and the left side raised slightly higher for presser foot lift. I miss the hands free lift of commercial machines.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaB1
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great price for a good machine.........
5/8/2016

Customer review by Shel

4.0 stars 5/8/2016 by Shel
by Shel

Works very well!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOOD MACHINE
10/1/2007

Customer review by dixietrixie

5.0 stars 10/1/2007 by dixietrixie
by dixietrixie

I have a sewing business at my home that I have recently started. The machine that I had broke and I needed a replacement in a big hurry.... I bought this at Walmart. I plugged it in and away I went with minimal reading of instructions. negatives: two things.... the light that shines on the needle area is one of those halogen type and it just is not very bright. The bobbins are not typical size and you have to use a special kind that is made for the Brother machines. And of course....Walmart DOES NOT sell them. You get 3 in the box with the machine but since I use so many different colors, I like to have an assortment ready to go. I ordered a pack of 25 on Ebay for 7.99. It is a little frustrating that Walmart sells many Brother sewing machine models but does not sell any supplies or accessories for the Brother machines. Other than that...I LOVE my machine so far. It has only been 2 days though.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dixietrixie
Birmingham, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for Quilting
12/10/2008

Customer review by QueenKimberley

5.0 stars 12/10/2008 by QueenKimberley
by QueenKimberley

I am no expert, but I have been quilting on and off for about 7 years. The machine I had before was made by White and was about the same price. I struggled constantly with odd little problems, and felt like sewing was turture! I bought this machine after it was recommended by a friend who is also a quilter. Her aunt, who teaches sewing classes, told her it was a great machine for a beginner. My friend loves her machine and has had no problems with it. From the first moment I used it, I felt like I was in heaven compared to the experience I was used to having with my old machine! It's not too loud, it seems smooth, and it's easy to change the settings and feet. The book is easy to read (although I still haven't figured out how to backstitch--I better get studying the book!) I love how winding the bobbin works, and how easily it pops into place when I'm ready to sew. I've even started machine quilting with the free motion foot with very little stress. I definitely recommend this machine for quilters, especially for the price!

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QueenKimberley
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 1506 total reviews
1-20 of 1506 reviews