Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 217 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

217 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

217 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
125
4 stars
55
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
19
1-20 of 184 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
Would absolutely not recommend this machine
6/4/2008

Customer review by Kaby

1.0 stars 6/4/2008 by Kaby
by Kaby

I purchased this machine on Site-To-Store based on the fairly high number of "5" ratings received for it. However, I have yet to successfully sew a single hem. I purchased the machine to make simple hems for curtains (three young children). The material is not heavy duty like demin, it is cotton. Each time I try to use the machine, thread balls up and jams the machine under the material. I have spent so much time pulling thread balls out from the machine, and wasted so much thread, that I can't imagine keeping this machine. I have followed all troubleshooting tips in the book, including cleaning the bobbin (and casing), rethreading the machine, and even called the Customer Service number. I have ensured that the needle size and thread weight are correct for the type of material I am using. All to no avail. I will be reboxing the machine and exchanging it for some other machine. It's been a terrible disappointment, and the curtains are draped over all the kitchen chairs, still unhemmed.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
You Can't Go Wrong
10/31/2015

Customer review by yellowcat413

5.0 stars 10/31/2015 by yellowcat413
by yellowcat413

I've had this machine since 2005 and it is simply amazing. I wanted to make quilts, but I was daunted by the sticker price of quilting machines. I saw this one at my local Wal-Mart and figured if I decided I didn't like sewing, I wouldn't be out very much money. Now hundreds of quilts later I have to say this was the best money I ever spent. This machine was ready to sew straight out of the box, which was excellent for a beginner. After I became more familiar with the sewing machine, I decided I needed a "better" one so I purchased a Brother computerized machine for twice the price I paid for this one. While it was a good machine, it wasn't what I needed, so I gave it to my daughter and continued with my basic machine. Now I am upcycling clothing and this machine still performs wonderfully. It works on all thicknesses of material and still sews lovely stitches. Routine oiling and cleaning is a must, but other than that, I've had zero problems with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yellowcat413
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Yay, im not a dummy after all!
7/27/2011

Customer review by bambi77

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by bambi77
by bambi77

Love it. I grew up in Australia and got a D- on my home ec test because i couldnt wrap my brain around threading the machine! I borrowed another persons machine a few years back to try and give it another go, it was a terrible disaster, too much to figure out! Then i said- well if i buy my own- then ill be forced to work it out because i spent the money. I did lots of research and everyone said great things about this 'beginner' machine. I sat myself down, read and reread the instructions and in one hour I had threaded the machine all by myself! Not just that, but thanks to the diagram on the actual machine, i now thread it without instructions and it only takes me a few minutes! I conquered my fear and in a few weeks have made three purses and two dresses! Dont give up and get this great, affordable, easy to understand machine, its great! ps, my sister just bought one on my recommendation

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bambi77
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Machine
12/6/2007

Customer review by LovesCrafts

5.0 stars 12/6/2007 by LovesCrafts
by LovesCrafts

I'm just a beginner sewer, so for me, the more simple the machine, the better. I'm so pleased with my purchase of this one. It is simple and easy to use, and I have already started making winter jackets for my dogs! The only downfall I can see so far is that it is difficult to start sewing slowly. You have to press the peddle down a little bit more, and then it kind of starts really fast, but then you can slow down. Sometimes to help it start slower, I turn the Balance Wheel (big wheel on side) counter-clockwise a little. That helps to give a little more control for your first few stitches. That said, it doesn't bother me, and the machine sews really well. Since the outer shell is plastic (making it lightweight), and it also has a handle, it is really easy to carry, too. For an occassional sewer like myself, this is definitely an excellent purchase.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovesCrafts
Toronto, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this machine!
12/13/2009

Customer review by tappingtoes25

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by tappingtoes25
by tappingtoes25

I absolutly love this machine! I sew at least 8 hours a day, between my serger and this machine. I use it as aa professional machine, so it gets lots of use! I dont need many stich functions, really only 3 of them, so for me it was perfect. lightweight, so it can swap spaces with my serger easily. I love that this little machine works well on lycra, my primary fabric, as well as anything else I have thrown at it, including fur. leather, and vinyl. The only thing I dont like about this machine is that it does not have a drop in bobbin system, which I prefer. I also find it works best with the old fashioned metal bobbins, instead of the suggested plastic. It eliminated all the tension problems I had with the plastic. I love this little machine sop much I plain on buying another!

Was this review helpful? (104) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tappingtoes25
Gurnee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little machine
11/21/2010

Customer review by tamratoo

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by tamratoo
by tamratoo

I purchased this machine in March of 2008. Almost 3 years later it is still my work horse machine. I do alterations so the machine gets a daily workout. It is very easy to use. The only thing I have noticed is that it can be touchy if not kept clean. If there is the slightest bit of lint in the bobbin case or race, or the feed dogs, it will skip stitches or lose tension. Simply brush out the feed dog and the bobbin area and you are good to go.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tamratoo
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Little Machine
10/1/2007

Customer review by Momofthedoxieduo

5.0 stars 10/1/2007 by Momofthedoxieduo
by Momofthedoxieduo

When I began to sew nearly two years ago, I did not want to pay alot for something that may end up in trash pickup. I went with this machine for the price. I love it, I now make dog harnesses for rescue, and I have no need for another higher priced machine. It even sews through the nylon webbing with no problems. Since this purchase a friend even bought this same machine after using mine. I use this machine 5-10 hours a week with no problem. I've had issues with the bobbin twice due to user error (thread must come from the right side).

Was this review helpful? (233) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momofthedoxieduo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great for the amaturs
4/1/2009

Customer review by thatguy1

5.0 stars 4/1/2009 by thatguy1
by thatguy1

great little machine. ive had mine now for over 4 years and use it all the time. i work in a shop of 30 people. i take care of 75% of the uniform we wear, and never had a minutes problem out of it. not to mention the home projects i use it for all so.

Was this review helpful? (123) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thatguy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Sewing machine
9/1/2007

Customer review by Cutiepie25

4.0 stars 9/1/2007 by Cutiepie25
by Cutiepie25

I love it. Its a great price, and I havent had any problems at all as described in the previous review. I have had it for over a year now and use it every once in a while and never had any problems except for one time and it was user error. I had problems with how tight it was stiching but once I read the instuctions then I figured it out. I would recommend anyone just wanting a basic sewing machine for a decent price to get this one.

Was this review helpful? (98) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cutiepie25
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
DONT BUY IT
1/15/2008

Customer review by sooky

1.0 stars 1/15/2008 by sooky
by sooky

This machine is garbage. The tension does not really adjust, it is somehow based on motor speed, so when doing delicate work it will bind and tangle, or at best leave very loose stictches. It pulls lighter fabrics like cotton down into the bobbin. Also the feed dogs do not allign, they are 15 degrees off so good luck staying within your seam allowance with the speed you must use inorder to keep tension... I would definately not recomend this machine to anyone, especially a beginner as it may frusterate them and turn them away from sewing, needlessly... It would work OK for patching tarps, or sewing aluminum cans together~ I also had the displeasure of using one (Brother) loaded with features. It handled lighter weight fabrics and the tension adjusted better, (not good, just better) It still fed at 10+ degrees off and after an hour of sewing the motor began to bog down, and smelled of burnt electrical. We were just sewing felt stockings... If you need a lowcost machine, go get a used singer or white, you'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sooky
Shelton, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Das
2/16/2012

Customer review by kdsjgfhkdsjfgkldsajgklfda

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by kdsjgfhkdsjfgkldsajgklfda
by kdsjgfhkdsjfgkldsajgklfda

I have never sewed before and decided it was something I wanted to do to make blankets and bags ETC.. figuring out how to thread the machine was the biggest problem as I had no idea how and the directions were a litle complicated and I have little patience! But was able to get it figured out and that took me personally ABOUT 1/2 hr but again I have no patience. Then I had scraps that I started practicing with and sewed my first baby quilt the next day! I am not sure why people,say the foot pedal is hard to controll as I have no problems but again have never sewed on any other machine and I just don't know what a exspensive machine is like!! There are plenty of features that I wont need for some time as I dont plan to make anything too fancy just blankets, small bags ,curtaines ETC.. So I think this is great machine does what I need it to do its been about a month now and I have never had any problems with the bobin or any problems really that werent my fault from lack of experiance. It's fun and I am glad I bought this one, Oh and it sounds likem any sewing machine I have ever heard so cant really say if it's really loud as some have stated but to me sounds like regular sewing machine and the Price cant be beat!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kdsjgfhkdsjfgkldsajgklfda
Seattle WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
sewing machine sucks!!!!
12/24/2015

Customer review by Sandi

1.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Sandi
by Sandi

We bought this machine because it was supposed to be easy to use...NOT! The manual sucks and so does the machine. Our daughter has been taking sewing lessons for 1 1/2 years and she is unable to use this machine, and her father and I have tried to figure out how to use it from the manual and have been unable to make it work correctly. Perhaps it is a good machine for someone who already is very familiar with using sewing machines, but not for a beginner and certainly not for someone without prior experience using a variety of different sewing machines. I am very disappointed with this machine!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Happy I read reviews before buying!
7/27/2011

Customer review by jnbvallee

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by jnbvallee
by jnbvallee

I checked out many machines before buying this one. I am a beginner and this is my first brand new machine. I have only sewed minimal on an old one that was given to me. I am THRILLED with this machine. The instuctions are very easy to read as I read from others. Even threading the machine which intimidated me before I even recieved the machine. Well it was truely easy. I am happy with all the sewing patterns it offers and the accessories. Plenty for a beginner. I am about to start learning buttons and button holes but not nervous about it as I said, Instructions that came with it are great. I bought a Singer case for it ( I was told it was for many machine types) and it fits great with a little room to spare to store my foot pedal!! I LOVE this machine!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jnbvallee
Spring Grove, PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for beginers
3/11/2011

Customer review by Candiland84

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by Candiland84
by Candiland84

This is the first sewing machine that i have purchased and for beginers it's a great choice. It was very easy to figure out. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Candiland84
Napoleonville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not the best...
7/29/2009

Customer review by Lov2Crochet

1.0 stars 7/29/2009 by Lov2Crochet
by Lov2Crochet

I have had a lot of experience with all different types of sewing machines and I have to say that this particular machine will drive you to drink. The tension is the main issue. Just like others have said, the tension is messed up and it is impossible to fix. It is either to loose or gets all bunched up and forms a rats next under the fabric. I haven't ever had so much trouble with a machine's tension before as I have with this one. On the other hand, it is simple to use and understand. Simple to thread and to set different stitch patterns. I wouldn't recommend this machine solely based on the ongoing, nevet ending tension issue.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lov2Crochet
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
My first sewing machine.
6/26/2012

Customer review by Brandsewingnew

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Brandsewingnew
by Brandsewingnew

I've never sewed a day in my life before getting this machine. I crochet purses and decided I wanted to step them up a notch and add liners. If someone else can learn to sew then SO can I. So I watched about ten thousand videos on how to sew on Youtube then I shopped around for the right machine. I was just going to be lazy about it and get a childs machine. Something small that I could just sew ends over with and leave it at that. I saw this one on sale and read almost all the reviews and decided to try it. It is amazing. I read through the manual completely and was careful to thread it correctly. I transferred the thread I had purchased to a bobbin successfully and sewed a pin cushion on the first day to keep all those pattern holding straight pins in. I used some embroidery fabric I had laying around (some that I didn't like the printed pattern on) It made a lovely sewing themed first project. I'm ADDICTED now. I have to admit I was frightened out of my WITS that I was wasting money on something that I would be terrible at but it isn't hard at ALL. I think it is all knowledge and practice which is easily accomplished. I'm excited. I have a BIN full of fabric that my mother sent to me but I'm reluctant to mess it up so I went to the Goodwill and purchased a few old sheets on the sale days and practiced with those in the patterns I bought. Nothing to it. I love this machine SO MUCH. It told me everything I needed to know and has a TON of options. Plus I got it on sale for $60! I registered the machine with the card it came with. The only BAD thing I would say is that the cord holding the foot could be longer. :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brandsewingnew
Auburn,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wow..great machine.
3/13/2013

Customer review by KBelle

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by KBelle
by KBelle

I decided to learn how to sew about 6 months ago. I didn't want to spend a fortune on a machine..in case it didn't work out. So, after reading a TON of reviews on this site and a few others, I choose this machine. And boy, am I glad I did! It's SUPER easy to use. The manual explains everything and even helps you trouble shoot any little problems you might run into (although, I've only had one..the bobbin kept popping out...turns out, I put it in wrong) It's easy to thread, easy to load the bobbin, easy to change bobbins, and easy to switch stitches. Stitch number 5 is great for finishing edges, the biggest on 6 is great for hand ruffling items and the automatic button holer is AMAZING. It's super simple to use. I have made dresses and skirts and hairbows...and it's had NO problem with satins, cottons, linens or multiple layers! I sewed through 5 layers of satin the other day and it had NO problem with it at all! I love this little machine and use it almost everyday. You can't beat the price. My friends have bought machine twice as expensive and their's can't do anything more than what mine can. So why spend more?

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KBelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really Good Portable
11/6/2015

Customer review by Abby

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by Abby
by Abby

I haven't made many things as I just recently purchased this machine but I like the way the bobbin is inserted and easy way the needles can be changed. I have a digital machine besides this one and I use this much more because it's easier to thread and can make the stitches I use often with less adjusting.

Abby
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value
9/24/2007

Customer review by MadStitcher

5.0 stars 9/24/2007 by MadStitcher
by MadStitcher

This machine is a great value for its price. Has worked great so far.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadStitcher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meets all expectations
9/25/2009

Customer review by Barbrose

4.0 stars 9/25/2009 by Barbrose
by Barbrose

The Brother LX3125 I purchased from WalMart is the best sewing machine I ever had, I have used it for the past three days and am happy that I can easily wind bobbins and thread the machine without any hastle, I am just a craft sewer but this machine is the finest for the money and it is a pleasure to sew with it. Very easy to use..looks like a woman invented this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barbrose
East China Michigan. USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews