Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 209 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

209 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

209 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
119
4 stars
55
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
17
1-20 of 176 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews
Great Little Machine
10/1/2007

Customer review by Momofthedoxieduo

5.0 stars 10/1/2007 by Momofthedoxieduo
by Momofthedoxieduo

When I began to sew nearly two years ago, I did not want to pay alot for something that may end up in trash pickup. I went with this machine for the price. I love it, I now make dog harnesses for rescue, and I have no need for another higher priced machine. It even sews through the nylon webbing with no problems. Since this purchase a friend even bought this same machine after using mine. I use this machine 5-10 hours a week with no problem. I've had issues with the bobbin twice due to user error (thread must come from the right side).

Was this review helpful? (227) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momofthedoxieduo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great for the amaturs
4/1/2009

Customer review by thatguy1

5.0 stars 4/1/2009 by thatguy1
by thatguy1

great little machine. ive had mine now for over 4 years and use it all the time. i work in a shop of 30 people. i take care of 75% of the uniform we wear, and never had a minutes problem out of it. not to mention the home projects i use it for all so.

Was this review helpful? (117) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thatguy1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Sewing machine
9/1/2007

Customer review by Cutiepie25

4.0 stars 9/1/2007 by Cutiepie25
by Cutiepie25

I love it. Its a great price, and I havent had any problems at all as described in the previous review. I have had it for over a year now and use it every once in a while and never had any problems except for one time and it was user error. I had problems with how tight it was stiching but once I read the instuctions then I figured it out. I would recommend anyone just wanting a basic sewing machine for a decent price to get this one.

Was this review helpful? (95) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cutiepie25
OKC, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love this machine!
12/13/2009

Customer review by tappingtoes25

5.0 stars 12/13/2009 by tappingtoes25
by tappingtoes25

I absolutly love this machine! I sew at least 8 hours a day, between my serger and this machine. I use it as aa professional machine, so it gets lots of use! I dont need many stich functions, really only 3 of them, so for me it was perfect. lightweight, so it can swap spaces with my serger easily. I love that this little machine works well on lycra, my primary fabric, as well as anything else I have thrown at it, including fur. leather, and vinyl. The only thing I dont like about this machine is that it does not have a drop in bobbin system, which I prefer. I also find it works best with the old fashioned metal bobbins, instead of the suggested plastic. It eliminated all the tension problems I had with the plastic. I love this little machine sop much I plain on buying another!

Was this review helpful? (100) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tappingtoes25
Gurnee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little machine
11/21/2010

Customer review by tamratoo

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by tamratoo
by tamratoo

I purchased this machine in March of 2008. Almost 3 years later it is still my work horse machine. I do alterations so the machine gets a daily workout. It is very easy to use. The only thing I have noticed is that it can be touchy if not kept clean. If there is the slightest bit of lint in the bobbin case or race, or the feed dogs, it will skip stitches or lose tension. Simply brush out the feed dog and the bobbin area and you are good to go.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tamratoo
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine
12/6/2007

Customer review by LovesCrafts

5.0 stars 12/6/2007 by LovesCrafts
by LovesCrafts

I'm just a beginner sewer, so for me, the more simple the machine, the better. I'm so pleased with my purchase of this one. It is simple and easy to use, and I have already started making winter jackets for my dogs! The only downfall I can see so far is that it is difficult to start sewing slowly. You have to press the peddle down a little bit more, and then it kind of starts really fast, but then you can slow down. Sometimes to help it start slower, I turn the Balance Wheel (big wheel on side) counter-clockwise a little. That helps to give a little more control for your first few stitches. That said, it doesn't bother me, and the machine sews really well. Since the outer shell is plastic (making it lightweight), and it also has a handle, it is really easy to carry, too. For an occassional sewer like myself, this is definitely an excellent purchase.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesCrafts
Toronto, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Yay, im not a dummy after all!
7/27/2011

Customer review by bambi77

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by bambi77
by bambi77

Love it. I grew up in Australia and got a D- on my home ec test because i couldnt wrap my brain around threading the machine! I borrowed another persons machine a few years back to try and give it another go, it was a terrible disaster, too much to figure out! Then i said- well if i buy my own- then ill be forced to work it out because i spent the money. I did lots of research and everyone said great things about this 'beginner' machine. I sat myself down, read and reread the instructions and in one hour I had threaded the machine all by myself! Not just that, but thanks to the diagram on the actual machine, i now thread it without instructions and it only takes me a few minutes! I conquered my fear and in a few weeks have made three purses and two dresses! Dont give up and get this great, affordable, easy to understand machine, its great! ps, my sister just bought one on my recommendation

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bambi77
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for beginers
3/11/2011

Customer review by Candiland84

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by Candiland84
by Candiland84

This is the first sewing machine that i have purchased and for beginers it's a great choice. It was very easy to figure out. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Candiland84
Napoleonville, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Would absolutely not recommend this machine
6/4/2008

Customer review by Kaby

1.0 stars 6/4/2008 by Kaby
by Kaby

I purchased this machine on Site-To-Store based on the fairly high number of "5" ratings received for it. However, I have yet to successfully sew a single hem. I purchased the machine to make simple hems for curtains (three young children). The material is not heavy duty like demin, it is cotton. Each time I try to use the machine, thread balls up and jams the machine under the material. I have spent so much time pulling thread balls out from the machine, and wasted so much thread, that I can't imagine keeping this machine. I have followed all troubleshooting tips in the book, including cleaning the bobbin (and casing), rethreading the machine, and even called the Customer Service number. I have ensured that the needle size and thread weight are correct for the type of material I am using. All to no avail. I will be reboxing the machine and exchanging it for some other machine. It's been a terrible disappointment, and the curtains are draped over all the kitchen chairs, still unhemmed.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
simple to use
5/25/2010

Customer review by GranMammy

5.0 stars 5/25/2010 by GranMammy
by GranMammy

I love this machine. It is simple to use and does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GranMammy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
My first sewing machine.
6/26/2012

Customer review by Brandsewingnew

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Brandsewingnew
by Brandsewingnew

I've never sewed a day in my life before getting this machine. I crochet purses and decided I wanted to step them up a notch and add liners. If someone else can learn to sew then SO can I. So I watched about ten thousand videos on how to sew on Youtube then I shopped around for the right machine. I was just going to be lazy about it and get a childs machine. Something small that I could just sew ends over with and leave it at that. I saw this one on sale and read almost all the reviews and decided to try it. It is amazing. I read through the manual completely and was careful to thread it correctly. I transferred the thread I had purchased to a bobbin successfully and sewed a pin cushion on the first day to keep all those pattern holding straight pins in. I used some embroidery fabric I had laying around (some that I didn't like the printed pattern on) It made a lovely sewing themed first project. I'm ADDICTED now. I have to admit I was frightened out of my WITS that I was wasting money on something that I would be terrible at but it isn't hard at ALL. I think it is all knowledge and practice which is easily accomplished. I'm excited. I have a BIN full of fabric that my mother sent to me but I'm reluctant to mess it up so I went to the Goodwill and purchased a few old sheets on the sale days and practiced with those in the patterns I bought. Nothing to it. I love this machine SO MUCH. It told me everything I needed to know and has a TON of options. Plus I got it on sale for $60! I registered the machine with the card it came with. The only BAD thing I would say is that the cord holding the foot could be longer. :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brandsewingnew
Auburn,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not the best...
7/29/2009

Customer review by Lov2Crochet

1.0 stars 7/29/2009 by Lov2Crochet
by Lov2Crochet

I have had a lot of experience with all different types of sewing machines and I have to say that this particular machine will drive you to drink. The tension is the main issue. Just like others have said, the tension is messed up and it is impossible to fix. It is either to loose or gets all bunched up and forms a rats next under the fabric. I haven't ever had so much trouble with a machine's tension before as I have with this one. On the other hand, it is simple to use and understand. Simple to thread and to set different stitch patterns. I wouldn't recommend this machine solely based on the ongoing, nevet ending tension issue.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lov2Crochet
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Das
2/16/2012

Customer review by kdsjgfhkdsjfgkldsajgklfda

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by kdsjgfhkdsjfgkldsajgklfda
by kdsjgfhkdsjfgkldsajgklfda

I have never sewed before and decided it was something I wanted to do to make blankets and bags ETC.. figuring out how to thread the machine was the biggest problem as I had no idea how and the directions were a litle complicated and I have little patience! But was able to get it figured out and that took me personally ABOUT 1/2 hr but again I have no patience. Then I had scraps that I started practicing with and sewed my first baby quilt the next day! I am not sure why people,say the foot pedal is hard to controll as I have no problems but again have never sewed on any other machine and I just don't know what a exspensive machine is like!! There are plenty of features that I wont need for some time as I dont plan to make anything too fancy just blankets, small bags ,curtaines ETC.. So I think this is great machine does what I need it to do its been about a month now and I have never had any problems with the bobin or any problems really that werent my fault from lack of experiance. It's fun and I am glad I bought this one, Oh and it sounds likem any sewing machine I have ever heard so cant really say if it's really loud as some have stated but to me sounds like regular sewing machine and the Price cant be beat!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kdsjgfhkdsjfgkldsajgklfda
Seattle WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Meets all expectations
9/25/2009

Customer review by Barbrose

4.0 stars 9/25/2009 by Barbrose
by Barbrose

The Brother LX3125 I purchased from WalMart is the best sewing machine I ever had, I have used it for the past three days and am happy that I can easily wind bobbins and thread the machine without any hastle, I am just a craft sewer but this machine is the finest for the money and it is a pleasure to sew with it. Very easy to use..looks like a woman invented this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barbrose
East China Michigan. USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Value
9/24/2007

Customer review by MadStitcher

5.0 stars 9/24/2007 by MadStitcher
by MadStitcher

This machine is a great value for its price. Has worked great so far.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadStitcher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy I read reviews before buying!
7/27/2011

Customer review by jnbvallee

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by jnbvallee
by jnbvallee

I checked out many machines before buying this one. I am a beginner and this is my first brand new machine. I have only sewed minimal on an old one that was given to me. I am THRILLED with this machine. The instuctions are very easy to read as I read from others. Even threading the machine which intimidated me before I even recieved the machine. Well it was truely easy. I am happy with all the sewing patterns it offers and the accessories. Plenty for a beginner. I am about to start learning buttons and button holes but not nervous about it as I said, Instructions that came with it are great. I bought a Singer case for it ( I was told it was for many machine types) and it fits great with a little room to spare to store my foot pedal!! I LOVE this machine!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jnbvallee
Spring Grove, PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
just thought you would like to know
12/23/2007

Customer review by twilight872002

3.0 stars 12/23/2007 by twilight872002
by twilight872002

this product is good for its value but the fabric gets hung in the bottom and so do the thred

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twilight872002
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for
10/3/2009

Customer review by CraftyAri

2.0 stars 10/3/2009 by CraftyAri
by CraftyAri

I bought this machine because I was in college and needed something basic and cheap. It turned out to be more hassle and cause more problems than its worth. The bobbin gets stuck and jams constantly, no matter how thin the fabric I'm sewing. It usually gets stuck on the first stitches I sew, ripping and shredding the fabric. I would recommend saving some more money and buying a sewing machine that actually does its job.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CraftyAri
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Pay attention to the Parts ;)
9/10/2012

Customer review by LAM8517

4.0 stars 9/10/2012 by LAM8517
by LAM8517

I purchase this Sewing machine for simple projects. & I'm still learning about the settings. One thing I do recommend is to pay attention to when you take out the parts to put the bobbin in. It took me a while to get it back together. There is also a youtube video that will show you how to put it back together.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LAM8517
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
spend 20 more dollars and get something better
10/15/2009

Customer review by twiggy9997

2.0 stars 10/15/2009 by twiggy9997
by twiggy9997

i got this sewing machine as a gift for xmas last year and i was so excited!! i started using it right away and it worked really good. only after a week of sewing it started tangling underneath and breaking the top thread. i asked my mother in law because she sews a lot and she said that i should use machine oil. so i did. and nothing, piece of junk just tangles on everything. its not worth it to buy this. i recommend spending a little more and getting a better machine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twiggy9997
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1-20 of 176 reviews