Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 725 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

725 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

725 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
481
4 stars
177
3 stars
19
2 stars
17
1 stars
31
1-20 of 607 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 607 total reviews
1-20 of 607 reviews
Great value, strudy little worker!
6/20/2009

Customer review by Jennywoz

5.0 stars 6/20/2009 by Jennywoz
by Jennywoz

I've been hard at work, sewing dozens of cushion covers and denim slipcovers. Don't be fooled by how simple this machine looks - it's a real work horse! Glides over heavy denim just as easily as thin cottons! And I LOVE the self-threading feature! No more blinding myself trying to get the thread through the needle! Piping, zippers, invisible hems and buttonholes in a snap! Nice instructions and a basic set of attachments! Love this machine! Wish I'd bought it sooner!

Was this review helpful? (575) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jennywoz
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Awesome Sewing Machine!
5/24/2009

Customer review by AmyFrmID

5.0 stars 5/24/2009 by AmyFrmID
by AmyFrmID

I used my new sewing machine for the first time today to make a blessing dress for my granddaughter - it is AWESOME. I had tons of pins, and lots of thicknesses, and I didn't have one problem! It sounds like a Cadillac compared to my old Singer. I think it looks great too! I am VERY happy with this machine! The only thing that I'm maybe not too thrilled with is the automatic threader. The only reason I would think that you would need an automatic threader is for people who can't see that well - but the little teeny tiny hook thing that is supposed to grab your thread and pull it through the eye of the needle is even smaller than the needle hole! I couldn't see a thing! :-D But I got it to work eventually!

Was this review helpful? (490) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmyFrmID
Post Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I wish it didn't break
11/5/2008

Customer review by jptaylorfamily

5.0 stars 11/5/2008 by jptaylorfamily
by jptaylorfamily

I am a professional seamstress and I LOVE this machine. It recently broke due to my carelessness and I looked at upgrading, but I love this one so much it's hard to leave it. I've had it for 2 years, and while I do remember quite a learning curve, once I figured it out, it's been GREAT. It does all the things I want it to, one step buttonholer, needle threader and thread cutter. The bobbin case will take any bobbins, really, I've tried plenty. Whenever I have a problem, I can usually solve it using the troubleshooting guide in the manual or a chat with my mom, who is sewing savvy. I've used it in scrapbooking, to mend jeans, make baby stuff, and as my main machine for my business. I could upgrade machines, but this one is a great value and has worked really well for me. The only one better is my moms all metal Pfaff from 1974.

Was this review helpful? (750) (140)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jptaylorfamily
Pasco, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
46 and never sewed a thing, guy U know
8/11/2008

Customer review by NeverDidThisB4

4.0 stars 8/11/2008 by NeverDidThisB4
by NeverDidThisB4

Ok so I'm a middle age guy thinking I'll save a few bucks and make the necessary curtains for a used Travel Trailer I recently purchased (compared to "custom blinds which were in excess of $700.00). So I get the bright idea to buy the fabric and this here machine, knowing of course it comes with a book. Needless to say it's getting done and its all fairly simple and straight forward. Would I do it again? Yep! However the site to store option WalMart offers is slower then I am sewing.

Was this review helpful? (406) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NeverDidThisB4
Valdosta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Sewing Machine!
2/18/2011

Customer review by jr1024

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by jr1024
by jr1024

I received my machine a week ago. I had never used a sewing machine before but I had no problems working this one. Instructions were simple and clear. I spent the weekend making baby bedding for our baby girl that's due in April. I made the curtains, bumper, and crib skirt. I can't wait to come up with another sewing project!

Was this review helpful? (147) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jr1024
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Review for a beginning sewer
10/6/2010

Customer review by Sadie508

4.0 stars 10/6/2010 by Sadie508
by Sadie508

I haven't sewn in 20 years, and was only a beginner then. I decided to try sewing again as a hobby. The reviews on this machine were pretty good overall and the price was reasonable so I invested. As a beginner, I needed to rely heavily on the instructions for basic set up and they were a mess. They were not easy to understand. ~There is a one sheet "quick set up" that has pictures of how to set up the bobbin on one side and how to thread the machine on the other. From the pictures alone (as there is no explanation) I was unable to figure it out. The manual explained the steps, however it skipped one of the vital steps that was included in the picture. Winding the bobbin and threading the machine were a combination of reading, looking at pictures, and then plain trial and error. Now that I've done it a few times, however, it is very easy. ~ The maching offers many stitches, however little in the way of explaining what they are or how to use them. There are 25 stitches on the dial 1-13 on the outer part of the circle and 14-25 written in underneath them. How do you use stitches 14-25? I haven't figured it out yet. ~ For making 1 step buttonholes, the manual says to use the F setting for stitch length and stitch pattern 1, as well as changing to the buttonhole foot. I have done all of that, but still no buttonholes. I have read and re-read the manual, used trial and error, and even had the experienced sewers I work with trouble shoot for me, but no luck. The machine makes one pass and then the needle just moves up and down. Perhaps there is something more I need to be doing? ~ The manual is written in English and Spanish, but instead of doing a full manual in one language followed by the other, each step is written in English and then Spanish directly below. This format makes the directions difficult to follow. ~The troubleshooting section is not much help and there does not seem to be any other avenue for resources as to using this machine. I will have to find a retailer nearby and perhaps one of the employees will know how to use it. Overall, I am frustrated with the difficulties in figuring out this machine, but when I do get things figured out, the machine works well. the light is bright, it has a foot pedal, the needle is easy to thread (I did not use the threader)and I have not been having the bobbin and lower thread tension issues others have mentioned. I rated this a 4 as the machine itself seems to work great and has many features. If you are a true beginner that will need to rely on the instructions to work the machine and plan on doing more than just a basic straight stitch, I would maybe look around more. Otherwise, if you are comfortable finding your way around a machine, this truly seems like an excellent machine, especially for the money.

Was this review helpful? (140) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sadie508
Hudson, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Machine for Everyone
4/4/2012

Customer review by LaineyWash

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by LaineyWash
by LaineyWash

Did a lot of research before making the decision on purchasing this product. I read review after review and overall this machine had the best customer rating AND the lowest price. Most of the people that gave this machine a bad rating were off-put by tension problems. And after my first project, and my three year old son messing with dials, my tension was off. My first thought was: "Oh great! Here we go..." But after looking at the tension section of the manual and 5 minutes of adjusting accordingly the problem was solved. I've completed two good sized projects, both with different weights of fabric, and haven't had any other problems. I love this machine and am so glad I purchased it. BTW: The review that sold me on this product came from a woman who has been sewing for over 50 years and highly recommended it ;)

Was this review helpful? (97) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaineyWash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
durable & easy 4 the money
7/30/2007

Customer review by smickey

5.0 stars 7/30/2007 by smickey
by smickey

I've owned this machine for over 1 1/2 yrs now. It will sew through layers of heavy materials like jeans & upholestry material to thin & delicate materials. This is a great machine for a beginner because there are numbered guides for threading & an illistration for the proper placement of the bobbin. Would highly recommend this for any level of sewing skill!!!

Was this review helpful? (92) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smickey
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
necessary product
2/20/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/20/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am disabled and find going to stores almost impossible. Sewing is my way of giving gifts to family and friends. This sewing machine is wonderful. It allows me to sew all the wonderful stitches that make plain material beautiful. It is light weight so that moving around the house is easy. Not only is this sewing machine wonderful, but the service I get from Walmart on their products gives me peace of mind, knowing the products are wonderful. Thank You

Was this review helpful? (75) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Chatsworth, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love my sewing machine
3/4/2014

Customer review by commochic

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by commochic
by commochic

It's been a long time since I last sewed. Now that I'm retired, I have more time. The last time I bought a sewing machine was in 1994. This machine, I think, is pretty basic. For anyone who is getting back to sewing, it's a great machine. Easy to use, a self threading needle, 25 stitches, lightweight and more.

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
commochic
Mission, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE FANTASTIC XL2600i SEWING MACHINE
7/28/2010

Customer review by lucky38

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by lucky38
by lucky38

I PURCHASED THIS MACHINE TO GO ALONG WITH THE WIFES NEW SAUDER SEWING TABLE. SHE HAS HAD A 25 YEAR OLD KENMORE THAT IS JUST ABOUT DONE IN. THIS NEW BROTHER XL2600i SHE SAYS IS THE GREATEST. SHE HAS BEEN SEWING CONTINUOUSLY SINCE SHE RECEIVED IT. UP TO NOW SHE HASNT GOT INTO SOME OF THE MORE FANCY STITCHES. SHE REALLY ENJOYS THE EASE OF THREADING AND HOW WELL IT SEWS. SHE SAID TO MAKE SURE I STATED THAT SHE RECOMMENDS THIS MACHINE VERY MUCH, AS IT IS A GREAT SEWING MACHINE FOR THE BEGINNER OR THE LONG TIME SEAMSTRESS

Was this review helpful? (72) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lucky38
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Performs Beautifully!
3/12/2011

Customer review by DesertCoastal

5.0 stars 3/12/2011 by DesertCoastal
by DesertCoastal

I sew for a living, every day, 6 hours a day. This is my second Brother in 30 years. I have purchased other brands, but have always gone back to my old Brother. It finally fell apart...literally, so I knew it was time to buy another one. The new machine arrived at my door within 48 hours; I simply opened the box and started to sew! It's every bit the workhorse that my other Brother was. Lightweight and powerful. I will never have anything but a Brother. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesertCoastal
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great machine!
2/1/2011

Customer review by seamstress2

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by seamstress2
by seamstress2

I have been sewing for more than 50 years and have used a lot of different machines. About 15 years ago I bought a Brother sewing machine from WalMart. I paid less than $100.00 for it. It finally wore out recently. I have been very happy with my old Brother machine and wanted a new one. I paid less than $100.00 for this one. It is easy to thread and sews like an expensive one. It does everything I want it to do without bogging down or missing. I highly recommend Brother machines in general, and this 25 stitch machine in particular.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seamstress2
Northern Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/1/2012

Customer review by tombstone39194

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by tombstone39194
by tombstone39194

This is a GREAT machine. Bought a Singer electronic first and had to take it back cause it locked up for no reason. This machine is a real work horse. It has an extensive user guide to walk you through anything about the machine built in stitches. Is forgiving to mistakes. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tombstone39194
Yazoo City, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good sewing machine to start with!
2/16/2014

Customer review by Wnts2rv

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Wnts2rv
by Wnts2rv

Wanted a small non-digital machine to have around our RV, for small projects. Worked great right out of the box. Took a few minutes to figure things out, but after the initial learning period it worked great. Found a small roll-around suitcase at WalMart that fits great too. Real happy with it so far!

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wnts2rv
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
disappointed
10/16/2009

Customer review by charby1500

1.0 stars 10/16/2009 by charby1500
by charby1500

Wow I really looked forward to recieving this machine since reviews were pretty good. It's pretty enough but a mass of confusing dials and most important it can't sew thru much at all, they don't make machines like they used to! I returned it and bought the 5000prw and WOW! Now this makes sewing fun! For an extra $40 bucks don't think twice buy the 5000prw, it sews non stop thru anything and its EASY!

Was this review helpful? (48) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charby1500
vermont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Material kept getting jammed.
7/3/2012

Customer review by AbbyTeacher

1.0 stars 7/3/2012 by AbbyTeacher
by AbbyTeacher

I was pumped about getting this sewing machine after reading so many good reviews. I also read the bad ones and thought, "Eh, this won't happen to me." I tried to sew a simple stitch into a simple piece of material and it kept getting jammed! My material actually ripped trying to pull it out from under the presser foot and feed. I even had my mom, the veteran seamstress, take a look to make sure I did everything correctly. We couldn't find out what went wrong. I packed it up that day and returned it. I felt bad because I so badly wanted to like this machine. I'm sure some of the machines they make come out great but it so happens the one that I got wasn't so much. It's hard to say that every one of these models will do what mine did, especially judging from the many positive reviews. I guess it's up to you if you want to take a chance. You may get a great machine or end up with one like mine.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AbbyTeacher
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Tempermental!!!! Super frustrating
10/20/2011

Customer review by MomOfSillyBoys

1.0 stars 10/20/2011 by MomOfSillyBoys
by MomOfSillyBoys

I would not recommend buying this machine. I spent about an hour just trying to sew one pocket on an apron! It does okay with thin fabrics but is terrible if you have even a little thickness to the fabric. The tension is awful and doesn't hardly adjust. Just don't buy this machine unless you don't mind wasting time adjusting every little thing and for different fabric weights.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOfSillyBoys
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
fantastic buy!
4/5/2012

Customer review by verpatc

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by verpatc
by verpatc

This sewing machine is packed with features that you might expect on a much more expensive machine. My wife died a few months ago & it's now up to me to do my own clothing repairs & alterations. With this machine & an easy to understand manual it's not a problem. Excellent product!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
verpatc
Alma, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great sewing machine!
8/13/2011

Customer review by MoMoHouse

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by MoMoHouse
by MoMoHouse

I bought this sewing machine for my twin grandaughters for Christmas 2010. They had wanted a sewing machine after watching Project Runway and were trying to piece together fabric with hand stitching and came up with some very cute outfits of which they wore. So next step was to get them a sewing machine and they have been sewing ever since. Picking up the skill very quickly. Today I am going to buy them another machine just like this one so both girls can sew at the same time. They will be soooo surprised. Now all three of us can sew at the same time. Just a great sewing machine! Oh and by the way the girls are 11 so you can sew too. Very easy to learn.

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoMoHouse
Hicksville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 607 total reviews
1-20 of 607 reviews