Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 910 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

910 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

910 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
621
4 stars
211
3 stars
23
2 stars
18
1 stars
37
1-20 of 792 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 792 total reviews
1-20 of 792 reviews
Brand New Quilter, with no experience
5/30/2010

Customer review by lmorton

3.0 stars 5/30/2010 by lmorton
by lmorton

This was a B-day/ Anniversary present from my my husband & son. They had no idea what I wanted & I told them about a quilting class I was interested in but that I needed a sewing machine. My husband responded GREAT, he told me to pick it out & he would pay for it, and the rest is history. Its been a very long time sense I've sewn anything. Taking on the project of creating a quilt made from our nurses scrub tops. Wasn't sure if this was great for beginners, but I'm sure my selection of choice will work for me. I liked nothing in the stores, so I went on-line and low and behold there it was. Place the order, got it site-to-store much sooner than expected, the whole experience of purchasing my sewing machine was AWESOME!!!!! Great job to the persons responsible for making me a more than satisfied customer. Haven't really did any sewing yet, because the quilting class hasn't begun yet. But I will send in another review if allowed, and let you know if I really love the product.

Was this review helpful? (88) (170)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lmorton
Philadelphia, Penna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Never
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Great Sewing Machine!
2/18/2011

Customer review by jr1024

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by jr1024
by jr1024

I received my machine a week ago. I had never used a sewing machine before but I had no problems working this one. Instructions were simple and clear. I spent the weekend making baby bedding for our baby girl that's due in April. I made the curtains, bumper, and crib skirt. I can't wait to come up with another sewing project!

Was this review helpful? (275) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jr1024
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Awesome Sewing Machine!
5/24/2009

Customer review by AmyFrmID

5.0 stars 5/24/2009 by AmyFrmID
by AmyFrmID

I used my new sewing machine for the first time today to make a blessing dress for my granddaughter - it is AWESOME. I had tons of pins, and lots of thicknesses, and I didn't have one problem! It sounds like a Cadillac compared to my old Singer. I think it looks great too! I am VERY happy with this machine! The only thing that I'm maybe not too thrilled with is the automatic threader. The only reason I would think that you would need an automatic threader is for people who can't see that well - but the little teeny tiny hook thing that is supposed to grab your thread and pull it through the eye of the needle is even smaller than the needle hole! I couldn't see a thing! :-D But I got it to work eventually!

Was this review helpful? (632) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AmyFrmID
Post Falls, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Love my sewing machine
3/4/2014

Customer review by commochic

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by commochic
by commochic
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's been a long time since I last sewed. Now that I'm retired, I have more time. The last time I bought a sewing machine was in 1994. This machine, I think, is pretty basic. For anyone who is getting back to sewing, it's a great machine. Easy to use, a self threading needle, 25 stitches, lightweight and more.

Was this review helpful? (130) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
commochic
Mission, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
10/12/2016

Customer review by Bf5933

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by Bf5933
by Bf5933

I am posting this review as part of my entry in Walmart's Fall Sewing Contest. I bought this sewing machine to sew purses for my bridesmaids 2 years ago and since then I have sewed all kinds of things including reupholstering a rocking chair for my nursery(pictured). I would highly recommend this sewing machine it has been great!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bf5933
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great sewing machine!
8/13/2011

Customer review by MoMoHouse

5.0 stars 8/13/2011 by MoMoHouse
by MoMoHouse

I bought this sewing machine for my twin grandaughters for Christmas 2010. They had wanted a sewing machine after watching Project Runway and were trying to piece together fabric with hand stitching and came up with some very cute outfits of which they wore. So next step was to get them a sewing machine and they have been sewing ever since. Picking up the skill very quickly. Today I am going to buy them another machine just like this one so both girls can sew at the same time. They will be soooo surprised. Now all three of us can sew at the same time. Just a great sewing machine! Oh and by the way the girls are 11 so you can sew too. Very easy to learn.

Was this review helpful? (87) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoMoHouse
Hicksville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Good sewing machine to start with!
2/16/2014

Customer review by Wnts2rv

5.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Wnts2rv
by Wnts2rv
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wanted a small non-digital machine to have around our RV, for small projects. Worked great right out of the box. Took a few minutes to figure things out, but after the initial learning period it worked great. Found a small roll-around suitcase at WalMart that fits great too. Real happy with it so far!

Was this review helpful? (50) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wnts2rv
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good little production machine
10/10/2016

Customer review by Baabsboutique

4.0 stars 10/10/2016 by Baabsboutique
by Baabsboutique

I was looking for a good little production machine that was not computerized. I wanted a portable machine that I could take everywhere, and this is it. I don't need anything fancy and this fit the bill perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Baabsboutique
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/1/2012

Customer review by tombstone39194

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by tombstone39194
by tombstone39194

This is a GREAT machine. Bought a Singer electronic first and had to take it back cause it locked up for no reason. This machine is a real work horse. It has an extensive user guide to walk you through anything about the machine built in stitches. Is forgiving to mistakes. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (91) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tombstone39194
Yazoo City, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
"First sewing experience"
12/27/2010

Customer review by luv2bsane

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by luv2bsane
by luv2bsane

i luv the sewing machine that i received as a gift from my very best Son! its easy to use & lightweight & it has auto thread abilities which is great i've always had trouble threading needles!

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luv2bsane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 3 months
sturdy hardworker!
12/28/2012

Customer review by SeekingSanityLOL

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by SeekingSanityLOL
by SeekingSanityLOL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Got this for a teenager but opened and used it to make several gifts before giving the machine away. I wanted to know how to use it so I could teach her. She's going to love it! Good value!

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeekingSanityLOL
Somewhere, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this machine!
11/24/2016

Customer review by Cocoa

5.0 stars 11/24/2016 by Cocoa
by Cocoa

This is my second Brother machine in about 5 years. I love this machine. It is easy to thread and use. I am a senior!f taught seamstress and just began sewing about 5 years ago. My first Brother was good but this one is great. I've made clothes, quilts,blankets, aprons, toys, household items , among other things on this machine. I would recommend it to a friend. It's great for a beginner, as well as an experienced sewer. I am uploading a picture of a Bible cover I made on this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cocoa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
New Best Friend!
11/6/2016

Customer review by Marie65

5.0 stars 11/6/2016 by Marie65
by Marie65

First sewing machine of my very own! I am in LOVE! My XL2600i is helping me to make and do "sew" many wonderful things. I am absolutely delighted with it!

Marie65
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
absolutely wonderful
5/12/2014

Customer review by DirtyRed68

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by DirtyRed68
by DirtyRed68
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a sewing machine because I started doing projects I couldn't complete by hand. I've never used one before and was a little nervous to learn so late in the game. Let me tell you, it's incredible! It has everything you need even if you don't know what it is yet. Perfectly packaged, nothing bent , chipped or broken. Like most of the other reviewers I had a time with the instructions,(threading the needle, upper and lower threads) those pictures were confusing, BUT DON'T LET THAT DETER YOU! You will figure it out, esp with help from some you tube videos. Lol This machine works great, I just had to learn about tension, my thread kept breaking, but now I can thread that sucker with my eyes closed. So far I've decorated my friends wishing well for her wedding,(old stand up mailbox) using white satin, and made bench cushion covers for my breakfast nook. Again, you tube helps with the patterns. I'm so proud of myself for taking the leap and I wouldn't trade my Brother for anything in the world.

Was this review helpful? (27) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DirtyRed68
Chicago IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machine for the price!
7/17/2013

Customer review by Tommie007

4.0 stars 7/17/2013 by Tommie007
by Tommie007
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very happy with this machine now after figuring out a problem that clearly could have been avoided. The manual definitely needs better directions and info on the tension settings and bobbin threading. I spent an entire day of researching on-line reviews on this machine including videos from how to thread the machine and trouble-shoot why my stiches were loose. I almost packed it back up to return to store until I read someone's comment on the bobbin- she described exactly what I went through and she finally realized the problem was the bobbin threading- there is another very thin metal groove on the inside that thread has to go behind before the obvious one, that she could hardly see. And she was right! I found it and the stiches were instantly PERFECT! The manual should be re-written and have this info clearly stated and another suggestion would be to separated languages into complete separate sections.

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tommie007
Burlington, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Material kept getting jammed.
7/3/2012

Customer review by AbbyTeacher

1.0 stars 7/3/2012 by AbbyTeacher
by AbbyTeacher

I was pumped about getting this sewing machine after reading so many good reviews. I also read the bad ones and thought, "Eh, this won't happen to me." I tried to sew a simple stitch into a simple piece of material and it kept getting jammed! My material actually ripped trying to pull it out from under the presser foot and feed. I even had my mom, the veteran seamstress, take a look to make sure I did everything correctly. We couldn't find out what went wrong. I packed it up that day and returned it. I felt bad because I so badly wanted to like this machine. I'm sure some of the machines they make come out great but it so happens the one that I got wasn't so much. It's hard to say that every one of these models will do what mine did, especially judging from the many positive reviews. I guess it's up to you if you want to take a chance. You may get a great machine or end up with one like mine.

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AbbyTeacher
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great For my teenage Daughter and I To Learn On
1/12/2014

Customer review by grosier

5.0 stars 1/12/2014 by grosier
by grosier

My Daughter has expressed a desire to learn to sew. I know some basics but was taught in school ages ago, so we needed a machine where we could practice --without frustration of constant breakdowns!!--and this machine was the one we chose. We were supposed to take classes, so I left the machine packed up for 4 months waiting. Finally, one weekend I just said let's just set it up and try our luck. Read the set up directions and set up the bobbin and showed her how to thread the machine. We cut up an old pillow case and practiced stitching. The Next day, Off to the Fabric store to get some fun materials to work with and Ta-Da. We have made one small Pillow and a Neck-Kerchief for The Dog (On The 2nd day!!!) My Daughter is Absolutely Loving This Experience because The Machine is not Frustrating to Operate and it has the ability to grow with us as we do more. Friends have taken notice on FaceBook at her Quick Progress and they are wanting to Learn Too. They no longer teach Sewing in school but you find times when that skill is nice to have. This Brother sewing Matching is Fabulous!! I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grosier
Augusta,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
I wish it didn't break
11/5/2008

Customer review by jptaylorfamily

5.0 stars 11/5/2008 by jptaylorfamily
by jptaylorfamily
Top 1000 contributor

I am a professional seamstress and I LOVE this machine. It recently broke due to my carelessness and I looked at upgrading, but I love this one so much it's hard to leave it. I've had it for 2 years, and while I do remember quite a learning curve, once I figured it out, it's been GREAT. It does all the things I want it to, one step buttonholer, needle threader and thread cutter. The bobbin case will take any bobbins, really, I've tried plenty. Whenever I have a problem, I can usually solve it using the troubleshooting guide in the manual or a chat with my mom, who is sewing savvy. I've used it in scrapbooking, to mend jeans, make baby stuff, and as my main machine for my business. I could upgrade machines, but this one is a great value and has worked really well for me. The only one better is my moms all metal Pfaff from 1974.

Was this review helpful? (837) (153)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jptaylorfamily
Pasco, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Top 1000 contributor
A Machine for Everyone
4/4/2012

Customer review by LaineyWash

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by LaineyWash
by LaineyWash

Did a lot of research before making the decision on purchasing this product. I read review after review and overall this machine had the best customer rating AND the lowest price. Most of the people that gave this machine a bad rating were off-put by tension problems. And after my first project, and my three year old son messing with dials, my tension was off. My first thought was: "Oh great! Here we go..." But after looking at the tension section of the manual and 5 minutes of adjusting accordingly the problem was solved. I've completed two good sized projects, both with different weights of fabric, and haven't had any other problems. I love this machine and am so glad I purchased it. BTW: The review that sold me on this product came from a woman who has been sewing for over 50 years and highly recommended it ;)

Was this review helpful? (149) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaineyWash
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
A great sewing machine for a beginner.
10/7/2011

Customer review by Enang

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Enang
by Enang

Back home, my mom has this old sewing machine she inherited from her mom which i myself used also. But that was a very old one and just a straight stitch machine. Now that im married and wants to sew my clothes....i thought of buying one. I thought of another sewing machine but when i saw the product review, it was not that good. That is why, i look for another brand and found this BROTHER 25- stitch free-arm sewing machine, XL-2600i. I checked on other reviews and found out that this machine is superb as what i have read. Not like other reviews of other machine, this one is ok. Then I ordered it online. And voila!!! what a great little machine. I was ecstatic at first because it was just the right size for me. Smooth sewing, easy instructions to follow and the best was the self threading needle. For now im still enjoying using it and no problems at all...I hope none at all. :-)) I would recommend it to friends..

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Enang
Lakewood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
1-20 of 792 total reviews
1-20 of 792 reviews