Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

98 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

98 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
40
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
24
1-20 of 89 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
Just finished 1st road trip with this
7/21/2007

Customer review by Magnum

5.0 stars 7/21/2007 by Magnum
by Magnum

This little camera and video display worked great on my first official road trip with it installed on my class A -28 ft. MH. I was towing our 1970 VW Beetle. This gave me a great way of checking for any problems with the tow vehicle both day and night. Previously the only view of my tow vehicle was an obscure peek through the add on "fisheye" lens on my back window. I deviated from the installation instructions and wired the camera into my running light connections on the trailer/tow lights connection. This allowed me to use the camera anytime I switched on the running lights and worked out much better, since I don't backup with the tow vehicle attached. I was a bit concerned that the noise and flickering reported on other posts would make this unusable, but it occured very rarely on my 400+ mile trip to the coast and back. The camera also paid off on several times for backing up when the tow vehicle was detached. All together I'm 110 percent satified with this product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magnum
Ridgecrest, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
NICE PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE
7/25/2007

Customer review by NY007

4.0 stars 7/25/2007 by NY007
by NY007

ALL IN ALL A NICE PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE. PERFORMS WELL. ONE MIGHT EXPERIENCE SOME INTERFERENCE IN CITY OR DENSELY POPULATED AREAS.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NY007
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
jury still out
10/5/2007

Customer review by dirtrider

3.0 stars 10/5/2007 by dirtrider
by dirtrider

I PURCHASED THE ITEM BASED ON WHAT WAS ON THE PACKAGE.GOOD FOR CARS,TRUCKS,SUV,AND RV..I INSTALLED IT AS PRE INSTRUCTION EVEN DRILLING THE NECESSARY HOLES..THE IMAGE WAS FUZZY WITH A CONSTANT LINE RUNNING THROUGH IT..EMAILED THE MANUFACTURE, THEY SAID IT WAS NOT EFFECTIVE OVER 19' , MY MOTOR HOME IS 30'..NO WERE THAT I SAW IN THE LITERATURE DID IT SAY THAT IT IS NOT EFFECTIVE OVER 19'..THE MANUFACTURE SAID TO TAKE IT BACK AND GET MY MONEY BACK..I WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT IT IF THE PACKAGE SAID NO GOOD OVER 19'..NOW I HAVE EXTRA HOLES IN THE RV..

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dirtrider
BELLINGHAM,WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Updated VR3 exceeded my expectations.
10/13/2007

Customer review by Sunmello8106

4.0 stars 10/13/2007 by Sunmello8106
by Sunmello8106

I believe this is an updated version of the VR3 back up camera system. The earlier versions had no antenna attached to the camera and the monitor only had 2 buttons for adjustments. Earlier reviews for this product were not favorable. This newer VR3 has 4 buttons on the monitor and the antenna is wired into the harness. The tag on the harness indicates how far you can trim before clipping the antenna. If you clip the antenna, the range will be greatly reduced. I was Skeptical at first but when I installeld the VR3 on a Chrysler Pacifica and powered it up, the picture was surprisingly good and stable. When wiring the the camera to the back up lights, it takes a moment for the camera to settle in but once it does, it looks great. Range is about 12 to 18 feet so I would first test the system by plugging the monitor (via included lighter plug) to the dash and power the camera with a separate battery near where you want to mount it. If you get picture, go ahead an install it . Since this is a wireless unit operating at 2.4 ghz, you will want to test this with other car electronics in use: i.e. cell phone, GPS, radar detector, etc. The kit comes with all hardware, shims, velcro etc. needed for a number of different installation needs. The only drawback, is that the night vision is limited to the brightness of your back up lights. Regarding Walmart service, it arrived within the projected delivery time. I used "Site to store" and the store rep was professional and helpful in making sure I received the right product and that I was happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sunmello8106
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
back up camera
7/11/2007

Customer review by Zorro

5.0 stars 7/11/2007 by Zorro
by Zorro

I almost had several accidents backing up simply because it's just plain hard swivaling my neck back and forth and still not having a clear and constant rear view. I decided to try the device. It was priced very reasonably. And if I didn't like it I could return it. If it saved me from having a single accident it would certainly be worth the price. Well I installed it (easily) and was impressed with the image I am going to keep it. It's field of view is very good and I can backup much safer and easier than before. I recomend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zorro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value for the money
8/17/2007

Customer review by RVTraveler

5.0 stars 8/17/2007 by RVTraveler
by RVTraveler

I bought this after reviewing a lot of camera systems, and found this to be very inexpensive. Installation on our RV was a breeze, taking only about 30-45 minutes. You have to wait a few seconds for the image to appear when backing up, and there may be some flicker under some circumstances, but I never found it to be a problem, and was overall very pleased with it. We are now buying our second camera to install on our car.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RVTraveler
Carlinville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very Disapointed
7/22/2007

Customer review by IrishRover

1.0 stars 7/22/2007 by IrishRover
by IrishRover

I purchased this product on Sat. 7/6/07 and installed it the same day. It was easy to install, only good thing about it. Monotor image rolls, goes off and on and and completly blacks out. When sitting at a stop sign with truck in drive , not in reverse, I got a picture on the monotor of the front room of someone in there living room, Must of had a home wireless serurity system. Needless to say I will be uninstalling unit tomorrow. I sugjest you buy a hard wired unit, not wireless, as I am planing to do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IrishRover
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Helpful but needs improvement
12/21/2007

Customer review by OldCodger

3.0 stars 12/21/2007 by OldCodger
by OldCodger

Installation went smoothly. However, monitor flashes on/off when camera is not engaged. Camera needs to focus closer to the vehicle - image displayed looks much farther away than it is. Also, suspect camera may not be 100% waterproof. Last, 30 days warranty is pretty sad! Plan to keep the unit but am a bit concerned about how durable it is!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldCodger
Bonne Terre, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I wouldn't buy this again
1/2/2008

Customer review by prongles

1.0 stars 1/2/2008 by prongles
by prongles

We purchased this for a Christmas present for my parents. We spent over an hour trying to install this/get this to work. The installation was straightforward enough, but the product never worked. The best we ever got was a couple of seconds of "snow" on the screen. This is going back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prongles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor Resolution
12/14/2007

Customer review by PapaHugh

2.0 stars 12/14/2007 by PapaHugh
by PapaHugh

The product works as advertised but you may find it not so useful. The screen is small and resolution poor. You can see a big tree maybe, but not a small post. You probably could see a running tall child. For my installation, the wireles connection flickers alot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapaHugh
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Better than expected
11/1/2008

Customer review by MtMoose

4.0 stars 11/1/2008 by MtMoose
by MtMoose

I bought this to save my truck and marrage. The product is easy to install if you have some mechanical aptitude. I am looking at changing where the monitor is located in my truck. The glue for the monitor stand takes a little heat from the sun and then will not move. The connector for the camera will suffice but could be better. Works really well in daylight through dusk. Does not work well if the only source of light is your tail lights at night. Might be adding a better backup light. Liked it good enough to buy one for my father for christmas present. Will pickup security camera footage while driving might not be good if you have one where you hitch your trailer. End the quarreling with your wife when hitching the boat or camp trailer and save some money with this backup camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtMoose
Council Bluffs, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
easy install
9/6/2007

Customer review by tothedogs

3.0 stars 9/6/2007 by tothedogs
by tothedogs

THE PRODUCT WAS EASY TO INSTALL, BUT IF YOU FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS AND STICK IT TO YOUR DASH THE GLUE MELTS IN THE HEAT. NOW YOU HAVE A MESS TO CLEAN. THE CAMERA IS EASY TO OPERATE.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tothedogs
MASS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A very useful product.
7/11/2007

Customer review by Freddy

5.0 stars 7/11/2007 by Freddy
by Freddy

Installation was not difficult at all. Ordering the product online was simple and it got here fairly quickly. I would recommend that the glue used be more heat resistant.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Freddy
St. Croix, US Virgin Islands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
enjoyin
12/24/2007

Customer review by catter19

5.0 stars 12/24/2007 by catter19
by catter19

i like the product very much. the sreen shows clear and it helps my vision.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catter19
lagrange,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good Product
1/14/2008

Customer review by Peabody1

4.0 stars 1/14/2008 by Peabody1
by Peabody1

I installed the camera on an '05 Toyota Sienna. The wires for the actual camera are too thin for the scotch locs that are provided. The only way to get a good connection was to strip the wires back about 1/4", twist the strands together and fold back over the insulation. I hard wired the display into a switched ignition source and had no problems with the wire thickness. Once the angle of the camera was adjusted and the contrast/brightness were adjusted, the view is great. The display does pick up some intermitten interference while driving. My girlfriend has gotten used to it and now finds it humorous. All in all a great product for the money! I am planning to put one on my '87 Suburban next.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peabody1
Archdale, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the money
2/16/2009

Customer review by Malfaiteur

4.0 stars 2/16/2009 by Malfaiteur
by Malfaiteur

Pros; Cheap, super easy install. can adjust the camera to give you large view or twist down to watch your hitch ball. --- Cons; Supplied wire connector too big for camera wires, had to play with it a bit. The camera base covers the registration tag, will have to move it. --- What a great deal for the money. I hooked mine up to the lights not the reverse lights. I like to turn it off and on at will. The camera can get fuzzy (wireless) but it clears. I compared this to models that were up to 400 bucks. I thought I would buy this to see if I liked the idea of the camera and then upgrade. I will not need to upgrade tho since this thing works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malfaiteur
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mom's thrilled!
1/10/2008

Customer review by NaturalDoc

5.0 stars 1/10/2008 by NaturalDoc
by NaturalDoc

I purchased this item as a gift for my 75 year old mother who drives cancer patients to their treatments for a "hobby". As she drives a large van (and she's a short woman), it has become increasingly more difficult for her to know what's behind her when she drives. A few months ago, she backed in to a mailbox, which disturbed her greatly. She has just had it installed and she is thrilled with the way it works. She loves that it comes on when she puts the van in "reverse", and turns off when she puts it in "drive". I'm happy that she won't be running over any more mailboxes, and her little dogs are safe, too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NaturalDoc
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so good, EXCEPT...
12/12/2008

Customer review by StillwaterOk

4.0 stars 12/12/2008 by StillwaterOk
by StillwaterOk

Easy to install. Bolt on to the license tag bolts, run wire along inside of bumper, pull off a tail light assembly, tie wires into the backup lamp wires with quick connections, plug monitor into cig. lighter and when you put car in reverse, the monitor shows a view behind you. I used the quick mount A/C louver mount for my monitor & skipped any glue problems. Still room for air to exit vent. The only thing that is a downer is when the unit is plugged in, my remote keyless entry doesn't work. Must be some kind of signal interference. I'll try moving the monitor to see if that helps but I doubt it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StillwaterOk
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good but not perfect
12/18/2007

Customer review by ShopperY

4.0 stars 12/18/2007 by ShopperY
by ShopperY

I bought this product assuming that the image quality on the display would not be perfect, and I was correct in that assumption. The wireless camera/monitor connection makes this product much easier to install than a wired type of installation. The down side is the monitor image quality, which is subject to some sporadic but mild interference, especially when car is near other wireless transmitting devices (phones, WiFi, etc.). The interference is not bad enough to cause the image to be unviewable and always provides a decent rear view. Overall, for the price, this product met my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a bad product...
2/22/2008

Customer review by MD2WV

4.0 stars 2/22/2008 by MD2WV
by MD2WV

Bought a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500... a really big pickup truck if you've never seen one. Well, the little lady is 5'2" and backing this vehicle up is a huge challenge for her. Found this reasonably priced system and purchased it. Installed in about 30 minutes. Pretty satisfied with it, however, should warn that it shows a lot of noisy feedback (static in the video). Also, when parked anywhere near my house and not in "reverse", the display will pick up my DirecTV. Aside from those kinds of quirks, still not bad for the cost and it'll keep us from backing up over some neighborhood kid.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MD2WV
Kearneysville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews