Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

87 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

87 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 74 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
Much better than expected.
7/10/2008

Customer review by OttababyItaAboy

5.0 stars 7/10/2008 by OttababyItaAboy
by OttababyItaAboy

I wanted an affordable (cheap) new CD player that played burned CD's but also had other inputs and this thing has far exceeded what I was expecting. It comes with the adapter needed to connect your iPod or other MP3 player to the deck -- so that saved me having to find that one. Having MP3's on my USB flash drive or my SD card from my PDA work quickly in the deck. It's a bit annoying that the deck only remembers which file was playing but it starts it again from the beginning (annoying when listening to lectures or books). The biggest surprise was the incredible improvement in the sound quality of my cars stock speakers. My small Toyota Echo used to sound pretty crummy with the stock deck but now it sounds quite nice -- all because of this deck. Overall, I'm very impressed and I would recommend it to anyone. Incredible value and despite it being a brand I've never heard of, it seems to perform like one of the "big guys" for a fraction of the cost. Also -- the wires out of the back of the deck are all nicely labeled so it made installing it to the previous wires a much easier process. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OttababyItaAboy
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2 months after pro install - DEAD
2/10/2009

Customer review by cudaman2

1.0 stars 2/10/2009 by cudaman2
by cudaman2

2 months after a professional install by knowledgable electronics pros at a well-known shop, the deck completely went out. No power, only slight ignition noise that filters through to my tweeters. And if that wasn't the worst of it, it now drains my battery even with the vehicle off, if left for more than 3 days. EVEN with the inability to turn it off and on, I get the joy and pleasure of charging my car battery until I can rip this piece of excrement out. The power supplies apparently suck on these units as I've read other reviews of the same type. The unit did play well and have good sound, while it worked. So, fire the power supply engineers and give the feature engineers a raise. Also, they don't play SDHC cards, only the older SD cards up to 2Gb. Not that it matters at this point, since it's completely useless now anyway.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cudaman2
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product for the price.
11/6/2007

Customer review by junbug178

5.0 stars 11/6/2007 by junbug178
by junbug178

I have been using this stereo for a few days and it's excellent for the price. The Flash drive and the USB input for your Ipod and an AUX input for your MP3 player are great. Great sound and excellent features. Definitely pick this one up. I love the channel seeking feature by type of station looking forward to using when on the road.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
junbug178
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good... But!
9/15/2007

Customer review by Rob2032

2.0 stars 9/15/2007 by Rob2032
by Rob2032

Worked great for about 3 months then the Mp3 part broke. That means the USB input and the SD input both could not play any Mp3s. I talked with the service department of the manufacturer and apparently this is a common problem so until they work out this bug I can not recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rob2032
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
1/11/2008

Customer review by GoodGirlfriend

4.0 stars 1/11/2008 by GoodGirlfriend
by GoodGirlfriend

I bought this for my boyfriend for Christmas and he was extremely impressed that 1. I was able to buy a stereo that had all the features he wanted and 2. that the stereo I got him had all the features he wanted and it wasn't a major name brand. There are many great things about this product. Detachable faceplate, nice light display, plug in your iPod or your SD memory card to play MP3s and of course the cd player. It even has the output for the subwoofer, which he is trying to hook up himself. The only problem it had was that it didn't fit into the stereo harness he bought for his car. We had to wind up cutting the harness to get it to fit. But from what I hear that's not uncommon. And it really wasn't a stereo issue either. So far so good! Definitely recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoodGirlfriend
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Performance meet expected
12/25/2007

Customer review by Cwolf

4.0 stars 12/25/2007 by Cwolf
by Cwolf

Consider changing the old cassette player for awhile but still not making any decision. Within $100 could have some famous brand(Pioneer/JVC/SONY), but none of them provide support of SD memory card / MP3 in this range. I understand for a MP3 player with CDR support could play already 200 songs each CD. Search for favour collect from 200 is quite headache. With this player, I could use my old SD card (used to be for the camera) as different collection. A 256M SD could store 60~70 songs and rewritable. Also, the USB port could connect my MP3 or USB storage device to player MP3/song inside. The button on left hand side is not so rigid but it come with remote that control all the selection. Afterall, its good for the price and compatible to my car. What could one ask for?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cwolf
LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product so far
12/11/2008

Customer review by clrapp

5.0 stars 12/11/2008 by clrapp
by clrapp

I ordered the unit to enable me to listen to my iPhone's music via the AUX port. This works great and is easy to use and select the proper mode, etc. The cable is included and is not too obtrusive. I also love the ability to pop in a USB thumb drive with MP3s on it. The stereo automatically scans and finds them and plays them in the order they appear on the drive. The navigation buttons on the stereo allow me to go from one to another. The radio stations come through great and clear and display the name of the song on the read out. Very cool feature that my old stereo did not have. My son loves the detachable face. He thinks it is very James Bond I guess.... Overall, great product for the price. I spent $79.00 on this. Can't beat the price...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clrapp
Dallas, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
12/21/2008

Customer review by qthobba

1.0 stars 12/21/2008 by qthobba
by qthobba

I bought this product because it seemed that it had everything i was looking for. The radio never worked, i thought it was just something i did. I then realized everytime gthe cd player was turned off, it started the song back at the beginning, so if you make short stops, you hear the same song over and over. THen it started having problems reading cds. it would take 10 minutes to load a cd, wouldnt eject it or anything, you just had to ride with no radio. The best thing that worked on it was the audio jack, because all it did was transfered sound. The best day of having this cd player was the day someone decided they needed it more than me, and stole it out my car! For all the problems, its really only worth about $40.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
qthobba
Baton Rouge, La
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product....BUT
1/13/2008

Customer review by david4586

4.0 stars 1/13/2008 by david4586
by david4586

I've had this CD player in my car for about 6-7 months now. I installed it into a 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis I bought back in April for my first car. It had the standard radio so I went to Wal-Mart and purchased this product. It worked great for the first 3 months or so but all of a sudden it starts shutting off on it's own and resetting all the settings to default. It does this out of no where sometimes when I'm idling or just driving. It handles bumps with no problems and the face plate and everything seem to be tight and not lose. I'm not sure what's causing this but I plan on buying a new one possibly a HD radio/CD player. Hopefully no one else has come across this issue.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
david4586
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Reads USB Flash Drive For Music
7/12/2008

Customer review by GuardianStar

5.0 stars 7/12/2008 by GuardianStar
by GuardianStar

I shopped at many different web-sites hunting for my 'dream special' auto CD player without video options. The Virtual Reality Sound Labs auto CD Player - tuner is a very good bargain with USB and SanDisk file readers which can play uploaded music from your home pc or lap-top, also plays MP3, WMA music files, it's a very complete package! and for just $55 more one may add the 'professional installation card' where consumer can go on-line and make a future appointment to have the CD Player installed in their car professionally, locally at 1,500 locations nationally. I highly recommend Virtual Reality Sound Labs auto CD player, and Walmart's handling of this fine product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GuardianStar
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
1/17/2008

Customer review by Aerohead

1.0 stars 1/17/2008 by Aerohead
by Aerohead

I have had this head unit for about 6 months and it will no longer read SD cards or USB drives. It has always been very glitchy when trying to play CDs. When it did play music off of an SD card it was wonderful, however it didn't last long. The warranty is only 30 days and you can be sure that this unit will not continue to work properly for very much longer than that. You get very good sound from this unit, even when paired with cheap speakers like the $15 speaker system also sold at walmart. Overall, I like the unit very much while it is working but if it isn't going to last then I wouldn't reccomend buying one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aerohead
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good, but has its kinks.
11/25/2007

Customer review by Ragamuffyn

4.0 stars 11/25/2007 by Ragamuffyn
by Ragamuffyn

The stereo is really awesome. My friends put it in and it seemed pretty simple. The radio and CD functions work very well. I haven't used the SD card slot. The USB drive works well, though mine keeps randomly shutting off on me. That could be a problem with the USB stick that I have from what I hear. My friend has he exact same stereo and he never has that problem. The only big problem I've run into is that the clock doesn't work. I program it and put it on the Americas 12 hour clock, but it always reverts to the 24 hour clock and randomly adds or takes off an hour every now and again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ragamuffyn
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
best cd player ever ownd
12/19/2008

Customer review by deadclownin

5.0 stars 12/19/2008 by deadclownin
by deadclownin

i woke up this morning to the words mike your car was broken into last night get up they stole your cd player i immedietly yelled words i wont write here this is the best cd player i have even had it does everything you need and more great quality i always have my flash drive hoked into it cause i have so much music on there and yes they stole that along with it bottom line you wont find a better cd player for this price and most of the expensive cd players dont even have what this cd player has buy it buy it buy it and remember lock your doors or it will vanish

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deadclownin
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Decent Sounding Car Stereo
11/26/2008

Customer review by Rayhandyman

4.0 stars 11/26/2008 by Rayhandyman
by Rayhandyman

I bought this car stereo to replace a aftermarket radio that was in the car I bought about 6 months ago. This radio has solved the major problems I had with the old radio. I can now see the radio display during the day, the display is easy to read in bright sunlight. This radio picks up radio stations they way it should. The old radio could not get half the local radio stations. The sound quality is much better than the old radio, using the same speakers. Using the MP3 feature, on a USB stick is awesome too. I am so far impressed by this unit. The only negative is that the instructions were not really as complete as they could have been. I ended up hooking the stereo up and getting no sound coming out of the speakers. I did some research and found that when I wired the pre amp wire to the stereo, it then worked. No where was that mentioned in the installation instructions. The clock seems to mess up on the time. I am not sure what causes it, may be one of the features on the stereo causes the clock time to change and display a totally bogus time. I also called the 800 tech support number, after waiting 25 minutes to get through, the guy was not very helpful. I asked him about Trying to get the clock to display. He didn't have any advice on it. I ended up checking the wiring again and seeing that I not made good contact with the wires and once I redid the connection the dimmer switch controlled the brightness of the display.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rayhandyman
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
amazing unit
12/18/2008

Customer review by GHOSTSERGEANT

5.0 stars 12/18/2008 by GHOSTSERGEANT
by GHOSTSERGEANT

For the technology this little unit has is great...sooo many ways to listen to music with. Average mp3 disc holds 70-90 songs. Usb ,depending on the gig, 100-250 songs. What can i say ....its a lot of music you can listen too. Not to mention the sd cards. Lighting is nice and brite. I bought this unit for my old 1985 camero and installed it my self. I either get charged 140.00 for insallation or do it my self for 10.00 to 15.00? Do the math. Good luck in you disicion. The price was right and if it got stollen,,,,no biggie...lol

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GHOSTSERGEANT
PORT ANGELES, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Radio
9/10/2007

Customer review by Jataz

5.0 stars 9/10/2007 by Jataz
by Jataz

Bought one for the Jeep last year, love it so much bought one for the truck this year. It's great to be able to carry tunes and not worry about bumps and jarring. I can't believe that the national brands have not mimicked this radio. Sd is the way to go! Small and packs a punch. I don't use a flash drive, so while off-roading nothing can get snagged and broken. worried about the warranty? it's $79 replace it! The only con I have, is this years model is better than last years! I guess I have to buy a new one for jeep :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jataz
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dont waste your money on this!
11/29/2008

Customer review by dio1989

1.0 stars 11/29/2008 by dio1989
by dio1989

I wired up my wiring harness right and it came on and no sound was produced. I noticed the back of it was getting hot so I unpluged it to let it cool off. I checked my wireing over and over. I didn't wire it wrong. Then I pluged it back in and now it doesn't work at all. I checked all the fuses on the harness and the stereo fuse in my car and they are all good. This product didn't even last 20 minutes. Good thing I paid the extra $5 for the 1 year free replacement cause its gonna need it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dio1989
Springdale, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Too soon to tell...
10/4/2007

Customer review by mscott121279

4.0 stars 10/4/2007 by mscott121279
by mscott121279

I have to say, I didn't expect this deck to sound any better than my Honda's stock deck but got a surprise when I powered it on. Sounds better than any other stereo I have had. I love how the name of the station shows up when you tune one in. I just installed it tonight so I can't give any negatives... Oh yeah, be sure to get a wiring harness for your specific vehicle if you plan to install this! It makes it a lot easier to get the wires correct. Besides, the harnesses are cheap!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mscott121279
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
terrible
5/5/2008

Customer review by rt982

1.0 stars 5/5/2008 by rt982
by rt982

arrived on a tuesday, installed and tried it out, the music on the memory stick would only play a few songs, and it kept going back to the first song. The radio would just stop playing and then search all the stations and start over, This would continue as I drove around. Removed the radio the folowing day and returned to walmart. Just wanted a player for my mp3 music, no luck went back to factory radio and a cassette adapter. Would not buy this product again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rt982
mt. pleasant, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A Christmas present for my son
12/28/2008

Customer review by PcolaTeensMom

5.0 stars 12/28/2008 by PcolaTeensMom
by PcolaTeensMom

My son actually picked this item out for his Christmas list. He has an older truck and wanted to replace the entire system. This stereo is great! You can hook up a USB cord, insert a memory card, play cd's, hook up an mp3 player. It's also very cool to look at. The display is very modern and looks really nice in his truck. A note for those with older model vehicles, you may have some problems with wiring but with some trial and error, we got it installed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PcolaTeensMom
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews