Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

46 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

46 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 34 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Great Lantern for a Family (or anyone)
1/9/2009

Customer review by rvcamperman

5.0 stars 1/9/2009 by rvcamperman
by rvcamperman

Bought two of these. Broke one (knocked it off an 8 floot ladder and broke the bulb). Bought a new bulb and another lantern just because I like it so much. Lots of light, rugged, safe, easy to use, long run time, two brightnesses and two different chargers included and stowable in the base. Son of a Boy Scout Executive - never thought I'd leave a traditional gas or butane Coleman lantern for an electric, but I have two small kids and don't need the hassle of fuels or the burn potential, or a glass shield (this one is clear lexan plastic), just light and fun. Sealed lead acid battery can be (and likes to be) topped off anytime you want without memory issues. Heck and its even clean and GREEN. What more could you possibly want? Walmart has best price on net and I got free shipping. WARNING - NOT THE SAME AS THE 6 D CELL UNIT WHICH I DO NOT RECOMMEND (why bother with disposable batteries??) Enjoy! I recommend this product without reservation.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rvcamperman
Lake Conroe, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
No more searching for a flashlight in the dark.
7/18/2009

Customer review by kaylee12

5.0 stars 7/18/2009 by kaylee12
by kaylee12

A good lantern for when the power goes off. I bought this lantern mainly because it turns itself on when the power goes out. No more trying to find a flashlight in the dark. Well made and a good price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kaylee12
Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
so easy to use
10/13/2008

Customer review by kiltmaker1

4.0 stars 10/13/2008 by kiltmaker1
by kiltmaker1

I hadn/t camped in years. I really liked having no flame. I knock over things. The night light was nice in the tent.Just a enough light to get around. On high it was very easy to read .

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiltmaker1
Virginia USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not So Bright...
9/7/2008

Customer review by campinfan

4.0 stars 9/7/2008 by campinfan
by campinfan

I actually purchased this lantern for safety reasons, desiring a plastic globe. With a four year old camping, we didn't want any accidents to happen. First problem is obvious; this lantern is NOT as bright as a propane lantern (which we ended up getting while on the trip). The biggest bummer was that the recharge time is around 18 hours if it needs a full recharge (to light on "high" for 9 hours). I love Coleman, needless to say, and will continue to purchase their products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
campinfan
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Coleman Quality!
8/8/2009

Customer review by carmellasdad

5.0 stars 8/8/2009 by carmellasdad
by carmellasdad

This lantern is amazing. I have had it for about 3 (three) months and use it for about 35 minutes every 2-3 days and have not needed to charge it yet. In my opinion its a keeper. It works great and has a good warranty, all from the best name in the business. You cannot go wrong. In my experiences with Coleman over the years they have always made it right.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carmellasdad
Austintown Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great lantern!
1/3/2008

Customer review by calicocat

5.0 stars 1/3/2008 by calicocat
by calicocat

This is a very nice lantern. I bought it as a Christmas gift for my mother, age 78, to have as a backup light in the house because her power goes out occasionally in storms...she loved it! It's not heavy at all yet feels well made and sturdy, the operating directions are easy to understand, the controls and adjustments are easy to read and operate, it takes up very little space so it can be kept in a handy location, and the light is more than adequate to illuminate a room or to read by. She hasn't had to use it yet, but if she does need it, it's standing by. It's reassuring to both of us to know she has a backup source of light for an emergency.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
calicocat
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
One if by land...
1/13/2009

Customer review by MaineMother

5.0 stars 1/13/2009 by MaineMother
by MaineMother

We bought one of these lanterns several summers ago to use when tent camping. Works flawlessly. Holds a charge well. We've actually used it more during power outages at home than camping! In fact, we hunted high and low for this lantern to give to my mother-in-law as a gift. During power outages, she was using smelly, dangerous kerosene lamps. We ordered the first time from Walmart online. Received the lantern exactly when promised. We'll all sleep better knowing she has something reliable and safe!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaineMother
Gorham, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not as bright as I expected
8/5/2009

Customer review by PianoPedagogue

4.0 stars 8/5/2009 by PianoPedagogue
by PianoPedagogue

I like some features about this lamp. First, the cords store in the bottom. Second, it charges easily, and has a great battery. Third, it is light weight. The only thing is, when we took it in the tent, it wasn't nearly as bright as I expected it to be, even on high. Also, the handle was too thick to put on the hook at the top of the tent (that I can fix with another hook). I don't like the smell of fuel, so I like the idea of a rechargeable light. The nightlight feature is also very nice.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PianoPedagogue
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good product
2/20/2009

Customer review by Mechanicwantabee

4.0 stars 2/20/2009 by Mechanicwantabee
by Mechanicwantabee

I initially bought two Ozark Trail lanterns and after I got home and unpackaged them I found they were very cheaply made. On a hunch, I looked up some reviews and found the Ozark trail recharcheable latern rechargeable battery are kind of dangerous and unreliable. I bought the Coleman rechargeable and it works fine and by far it a better quality lantern. The cons though, there is not much difference between the med and low settings but overall a good sturdy lantern.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mechanicwantabee
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Simple and reliable
3/9/2009

Customer review by complexcarb

5.0 stars 3/9/2009 by complexcarb
by complexcarb

I purchased this for my in-laws who were experiencing repeated power outages. They keep this rechargeable lantern plugged in all the time so that when the power goes out it automatically turns on so at least they have some light in the house. Their power has gone out a few times since I gave this to them, and the lantern has done what it was supposed to do each time. One of the outages was for several hours and the lantern light was bright throughout.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
complexcarb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great
4/10/2008

Customer review by HappyInCali

5.0 stars 4/10/2008 by HappyInCali
by HappyInCali

Happy with purchase. Great for camping and even for emergencies around the house in case of power outage. Very convenient because you can charge using the plug at home night before leaving for camp and if need be, can recharge w the car adaptor. Much better than having to buy one with batteries and having to keep buying batteries. A little expensive but worth the extra bucks vs the lamp that runs on batteries. Worth it if you can afford it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyInCali
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Avery good lantern
8/1/2009

Customer review by Tradernorm

5.0 stars 8/1/2009 by Tradernorm
by Tradernorm

This lantern put out almost as much light as a liquid fueled lantern. There doesn't seem to be much difference between the low and high settings, so condidering the savings on battery power, I use the low setting and have light for much longer. My only complaint is that it takes so long to recharge (16 to 19 hours). But, it states that on the instructions so I can't complain much. All in all it is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tradernorm
Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Coleman Lantern will be collector's item some day
1/6/2009

Customer review by Sookie48

5.0 stars 1/6/2009 by Sookie48
by Sookie48

I bought this for my husband for Christmas as we live in Florida and our power goes out all the time in the summer. We haven't had a need to use it yet, but it seems well constructed and I was told that there are no more Coleman stores, outlet or otherwise (I have yet to verify that claim), but if it's true, this lantern will be a collector's item one day! Not a sole reason to buy it, just an interesting fact.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sookie48
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lantern
1/7/2009

Customer review by mammawhart

5.0 stars 1/7/2009 by mammawhart
by mammawhart

We go fishing alot and never have enough light to bait our hooks. I thought this would be great for our fishing trips. My man was very happy to get it. We have not got to use it yet but next spring I'm sure it will come in very handy for our late night fishing trips.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mammawhart
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
More than meets expectations
11/24/2008

Customer review by RegularFolks

5.0 stars 11/24/2008 by RegularFolks
by RegularFolks

So far, the light has been lasting > 6 hours on high every night. We use it to light our henhouse, which does not have power. Much nicer than the no-name knockoff versions (we bought one and it lasted < 2 hours).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RegularFolks
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Light on the subject
12/26/2008

Customer review by suzyqsez

5.0 stars 12/26/2008 by suzyqsez
by suzyqsez

I am very pleased with this lantern. I love the fact it recharges. I just keep it plugged in while not in use, and when I'm ready I light up my balcony. The lights are on and somebody is home.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
suzyqsez
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/27/2008

Customer review by stillacanuck

5.0 stars 5/27/2008 by stillacanuck
by stillacanuck

A storm knock out our power and I had just got our lantern. It looked like we still had power! I cant wait to use it when we go to Yellowstone this summer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stillacanuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
necessary item
12/5/2008

Customer review by LeJay

4.0 stars 12/5/2008 by LeJay
by LeJay

Not quite as much light as I expected but its ok and convient because you don't have to have any fuel. Haven't had to charge the battery yet

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeJay
Charleston WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
the best
8/29/2009

Customer review by SkyFlakes

5.0 stars 8/29/2009 by SkyFlakes
by SkyFlakes

We bought the lantern the same day we went camping and charge it for no more than 4 hrs. and use it for 3 days without recharging!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkyFlakes
Yonkers, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
average product
2/11/2009

Customer review by cmf49

3.0 stars 2/11/2009 by cmf49
by cmf49

not as bright as i thought it would be but im keeping just for the fact that it can be charged in the car in case of power failure.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmf49
romulus,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews