Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

38 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 34 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Better Than Average Product
6/12/2008

Customer review by Outdoorsman11

5.0 stars 6/12/2008 by Outdoorsman11
by Outdoorsman11

I purchased this stove because it seemed to be fairly compact to fit in my emergency supply bag. As I took it out of the box to set it up, I was impressed how compact it really was and how sturdy my pot sat on the retractable "arms." As with another coleman stove I had purchased in the past, I was not impressed with the valve settings from simmer to full-blast, however this little stove has a solid turning knob with no "play," meaning that it does what you want it to do. I timed it to see how long it would take to boil 2 cups of water (for my freeze-dried food packages) - and it was about 2 min. 50 sec. with a full-blown rapid boil at right over 3 minutes. Great backpacking or emergency stove.....and you can't beat canister stoves from start-up to finish (no priming, pumping, or warming up liquid gas).

Was this review helpful? (78) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outdoorsman11
Murrieta, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
cost effective and tough
2/14/2011

Customer review by riceonie

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by riceonie
by riceonie

I have been backpacking for a number of years and this has been my stove of choice. It has traveled in extreme conditions and never once fail to perform exceptionally, -10 and 110 degrees alike, all over the eastern US, and alot of the AT. It cost a little more than diy stoves and a lot less than msr or jet boil. However it performs just as well. There is a bit more weight to this stove, but don't let that discourage you. I have been able to stretch a tank of fuel over multiple weekend and week long excursions, boiling water for multiple people. That defiantly justifies weight to cost for me. I have only ever owned two tanks of fuel for this stove and am about to get on my third. This is my 5th year of ownership. Every time I get ready to upgrade, I remember how much this stove cost and how well it performs. Rolling boil at 6min in 10 degree weather. 2 min 50 sec in 70 degree. Thats pretty amazing for $25 stove, plus you can always get cheap, long lasting fuel from Walmart, which are very numerous. It also simmers pasta and rice very well, and does pancakes in the one egg wonder pan to perfection. I would recommend this to anyone that is starting backpacking or is seasoned. If you are an ultralight, this might not be your stove, but for the money, durably, performance, I have found no other stove, including diy alcohol stoves, that present the value, cooking control, and reliability of this stove

Was this review helpful? (59) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
riceonie
lexington ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Works on the AT
8/29/2009

Customer review by PackItInPackItOut

5.0 stars 8/29/2009 by PackItInPackItOut
by PackItInPackItOut

I chose this product over lighter models because of cost v/s weight. It was a quarter of the price for a little more than double the weight. Took the stove on an AT weekend trek. It is pretty efficient. The small butane/propane canister that I packed was enough to cook 2 meals a day for three people with some fuel left over. The stove is compact enough to fit in you back pocket and can boil water in no time. GREAT FOR SCOUTING TRIPS. Made to be durable and take a beating. I plan to purchase a couple more for my boys.

Was this review helpful? (58) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PackItInPackItOut
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great for scouting!
10/1/2008

Customer review by AZScouter

5.0 stars 10/1/2008 by AZScouter
by AZScouter

Bought this for a boy scout backpacking trip - I found it to be lightweight, durable and quite efficient at cooking. This stove was dropped by one of the boys, it fell about 15 or 20 feet on to rock, and lived to tell the tale. It cooked dinner, late night snack, breakfast and was none the worse for wear. I will be buying several more of these for my family, as well as reccomending them to the rest of the troop. A solid value all the way around.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZScouter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Light and stowable
2/24/2011

Customer review by mjc6063

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by mjc6063
by mjc6063

I used this small stove for the first time in very cold weather at about 7500 feet along with the Coleman Anodized Cookset (25 bucks for two pots/two pans in mesh bag). Lighting the unit was easy and it stayed burning in windy 10-15 mph winds with no trouble. I heated 3 pints of water to a boil in three 1 pint batches. It took about 5 or 6 minutes for each because the water and pot were very cold to start with. I used a 100g fuel can and burned a total of 30g (yes I weighed before and after). The burner folds up and fits well in the larger of the two cook sets. A 230g fuel can fits inside too. If you use the smaller pair of the pot pan set, two 100 gram fuel cans fit inside, but not the burner. Overall, I am very happy with the construction and effectiveness of the burner. Users can control the burn rate easily for keeping liquids hot and conserving fuel. A good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mjc6063
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Tough little pocket rocket
12/2/2009

Customer review by ewspy87

5.0 stars 12/2/2009 by ewspy87
by ewspy87

I bought this for my 12 year old son who is a Boy Scout. It is a little heavier than most others but is tough and functional. He has used it several times now and he is not exactly gentle (as any father of a 12 YO boy knows!) with his gear. It is easy to use and light, although he said it is not the best in the wind but if you can block the wind a bit it is great. It sips the fuel and he was able to stretch a single canister for 2 trips of three days each.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ewspy87
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
A lot of versatility for the money
8/18/2011

Customer review by Oregonwoodsman

4.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Oregonwoodsman
by Oregonwoodsman

For the cash, I had to pick one up. I have a pretty extensive stove collection. I read reviews as usual and decided to pick this one up. I gotta say, for the small price you get a lot of stove. It fits inside the Coleman Anodized Cook Set (also purchased and reviewed). Sure, it's a little heavy. Can you justify paying triple the cash for a lighter unit...that can't simmer? One thing I like right off was the fact that I could simmer or turn the heat down enough to cook eggs, bacon, and bannock. The first thing I tried was a boil test. I put 2 cups of water in my GSI Ketalist and put it on the stove. I had a rolling boil in 3 minutes flat. I have a Jetboil PCS that was designed for the sole purpose of boiling water and it gets 2 cups going in the same time...for $90(when I bought it). The Jetboil won't simmer. It's way too hot. Most of my other stoves are around the 4-6 minute mark for the same amount of water to a rolling boil. If you don't mind a little extra weight, you have one heck of a value in this stove. Combined with the Anodized Cook Set, it weighs half again what the Jetboil weighs, but the Jetboil won't simmer and comes with a mug. With the Coleman set up, I get 2 mugs, 2 pans, and a stove I can cook slow with. Can't beat it!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oregonwoodsman
Hillsboro, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
BEST MINI STOVE
8/6/2010

Customer review by Backpacker123123

5.0 stars 8/6/2010 by Backpacker123123
by Backpacker123123

This stove is just like the MSR or other expensive brands and works just as well!!! It is slightly heavier (like few ounces) but who cares about that unless you're extreme. Buy it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Backpacker123123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great stove at a fantastic price
3/2/2012

Customer review by SENCDad

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by SENCDad
by SENCDad

I am more than satisfied with my Coleman Peak1/Max Micro Butane Stove. I have other stoves for camping, including two of the Coleman 2 burner 425 series stoves that work great too, as well as an MSR XGK Expedition stove. The problem with the old Coleman 2 burner stoves is that they're way too big and heavy for backpacking, but the best thing for car camping. The MSR is incredible for being able to burn multiple fuel types, producing incredible heat, and being field serviceable, but it is not a stove to use around young campers or those who aren't familiar with pressurized liquid fuel stoves. The Peak1 Micro is small and produces fast high heat, like the MSR, but the Peak1 can be turned down to a simmer much easier, and takes almost no training to learn to use safely. It's also less than half the price of the other stoves, which is a big plus in this economy. The fuel canisters are easily found at my Walmart store, but I can also use the MSR and Jet Boil canisters found at REI, Dick's and other sporting goods stores too, so it's easy to keep a couple cans on hand. Unlike liquid fuels, like unleaded gas, this Butane fuel can be stored for very long periods without going bad. This last point is a big plus when you live in an area of the country that gets hit by natural disasters like hurricanes from time to time and you don't know when the power will be restored. This stove makes fantastic coffee with a camp/stovetop percolator, which is particularly nice when there's a storm blowing and the power is out. This stove is not replacing my other stoves, it's just a very nice addition to my collection that will be easy to use backpacking with my sons, and I won't be afraid to let them learn to cook on the trail with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SENCDad
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Winter Camping in the White Mountains New Hampshir
12/23/2013

Customer review by winterhiker

5.0 stars 12/23/2013 by winterhiker
by winterhiker

I took this stove with me on a winter hiking/camping trip for three days, against my colleagues advice. They all have the latest greatest big brand names for high altitude stoves. One of the other stoves didnt work so I took out my stove - and the first few things I noticed - so much quieter than the others and more importantly cooked the food a lot quicker. We ended up using my stove a lot more as the other stoves couldnt light up easily due to the cold. This made gas consumption efficient as I didnt have to run it so hot. In the end the 5 other companions ate there words and two went out to purchase one of these stoves. We always go out in winter and I have to say I was extremely impressed with the way the stove compacted down, it was light to carry. I also used it for summer camping with my daughter to great affect. This is an awesome piece of equipment and I feel I would survive the harshest of winters and it was tested - we were in a constant -20F - to -40F climate - the last thing I wanted to worry about was warm soup or drinks - The Coleman Peak took that concern away - Bravo! and I would highly recommend this stove - yes even to those of you that just buy the big brands!! SWITCH learn from someone who has seen this stove work in extreme conditions.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
winterhiker
Bartlett New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
If you like to cook this works
12/30/2011

Customer review by digger1701

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by digger1701
by digger1701

I am a Scoutmaster and backpacker, that being said I believe in only taking what you can carry. This stove/burner is exactly the ticket. I have been told that it is too heavy and I just reply if 3 to 5 oz is enough to break you you should not be backpacking. I have the Coleman cook kit as well and as a pair they are the best. I have cooked everything from water to steak with this stove and have never had any problems. Why spend $100 or more to impress people when you can pay $25 and cook more quicker. I would recommend this stove to any and all who are looking for a backpacking stove.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
digger1701
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great stove!
4/19/2010

Customer review by arnavigator

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by arnavigator
by arnavigator

I chose his stove over the MSR whisperlite due to the price. It is heavier than the MSR but is in my opinion much sturdier. It held up on a recent weekend backpacking trip on the OT with my two boys (7 and 9). It also cooked our meals relatively quickly. All in all this is a great stove.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arnavigator
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
timex of backpack stoves
7/20/2012

Customer review by WildernessMonk2

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by WildernessMonk2
by WildernessMonk2

I have 8 camping stoves of various configurations besides this one. I bought two of these, one to keep in my vehicle emergency kit, and one for my reglar camping gear. I've been all over the lower 48 with this stove, backpacking, canoeing, rafting and car camping. It has more bang for the buck than any of my other stoves, including the big dollar highspeed stoves. It has never failed me under any conditions. It's fast and easy to use, boils water/soup in about 4 minutes from cold. I just make sure to keep it protected when I'm not using it. I find I can get by with two cylinders for a five day trip, although I always take an extra "just in case". One of the most reliable pieces of gear I've ever had.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WildernessMonk2
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Peak 1 backpacking butane stove
6/12/2008

Customer review by Jerry523

4.0 stars 6/12/2008 by Jerry523
by Jerry523

This is an excellent backpacking stove for a starting backpacker. The price is excellent compared to other similar stoves. The only drawback is that it is a little heaver than the more expensive single burner butane/propane camp stoves. Since is it is made of steel, young scouters/backpackers cannot dammage it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jerry523
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Name aand Spec has changed
11/9/2009

Customer review by Scoutmaster39

4.0 stars 11/9/2009 by Scoutmaster39
by Scoutmaster39

I ordered th Peak 1 and got a MAX. I guess that is Coleman's new name for it. buit the specs are a little different too. little heavier and shorter burn time. Overall, great buy. We just bought 8 for our Boscout Troop as opposed to 3 - more expensive units. Fuel seems expensive at $5.00for 2hrs. My MSR Whisperlite is much cheaper to operate but will not simmer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scoutmaster39
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No canisters avail.
4/18/2014

Customer review by THEDON

1.0 stars 4/18/2014 by THEDON
by THEDON

Excellent stove but the canisters are not listed on Walmart's website or available in the stores anymore. The stoves are useless if Walmart discontinued carrying the fuel.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THEDON
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great little stove
10/15/2009

Customer review by LightOwl

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by LightOwl
by LightOwl

The Coleman Micro stove is just as I expected...compact and efficient. I needed a stove that would be small but would give out high BTUs to boil water quick. The canister fuel is a bit bulky but compared to other 'fuel' stoves worth their size. No muss no fuss...screw it on, light it up, go !!! The only thing that I think it needs is a case of some sort to store it in. I will make a leather pouch for it to fit in...but a vinyl zippered case would have been nice.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LightOwl
Stanley, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
7/22/2010

Customer review by johnnylikestocamp

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by johnnylikestocamp
by johnnylikestocamp

It works great, packs small, and it's tough. I wish it had a case.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnnylikestocamp
northern Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
impressive little stove
2/2/2012

Customer review by SilverBullet88

5.0 stars 2/2/2012 by SilverBullet88
by SilverBullet88

simple, light, compact and economical stove. Flame is easy to control and stove stable using the small canistors of butane/propane mix.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SilverBullet88
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/13/2011

Customer review by trailbug

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by trailbug
by trailbug

great little stove great cook time for fast meals on the trail

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trailbug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews