Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 197 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
87
4 stars
73
3 stars
21
2 stars
4
1 stars
12
1-20 of 185 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews
Amazing value
4/8/2010

Customer review by Spartachris

4.0 stars 4/8/2010 by Spartachris
by Spartachris

I was a little hesitant to consider this bike after reading a few reviews, but I went to the store to check it out and decided to buy it. You really can't go wrong for the price. Basically a bike is a frame and components, and most of the complaints I read here were related to the components. The frame is very light and seems to be very well designed and built. For just above $200, you really can't complain about the components. They are cheap, but that's why the bike is a value. Some people had complained about the shifters being separate from the brake levers, but the ones they describe retail for more than the price of this bike, so you won't see them on anything that sells in this range. Also, someone mentioned cables stretching? You need to adjust a bike occasionally so don't condemn the bike because you don't maintain it. When I got this I had to tweak a few things at home, although they are all part of my weekly maintenance routine anyway. I may be a bit more handy than some people but I don't think anything I did is beyond the abilities of the average person. The wheels needed mild truing and the tire pressure was way below 100psi, the rear derailer cable needed slight tightening, the front derailer limits needed to be adjusted and cable needed tightening, the brakes needed a mild adjustment, and the handlebar stem needed to be tightened. I found instructions on how to do all this online and check these items every week, very easy to tighten a cable, you just twist the barrel adjuster a few clicks. The bike runs great and I couldn't be happier with it. I have to say that once the brakes, shifting, and wheels are all dialed in this is a very nice riding bike that is really easy to put the miles on. Will I upgrade at some point to a high end bike? Sure, but until that point I'm really happy with this because it allowed me to get into the sport for fairly small money. I probably average around 20 miles a day on it and in the month I've owned it have probably clocked close to 500 miles on it. The only issue I have is the seat. This bike absolutely should come with a prostate friendly seat. I put one on after the first day. Schwinn should not be shipping these with any other seat design, period.

Was this review helpful? (63) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spartachris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/14/2007

Customer review by colorchange

4.0 stars 12/14/2007 by colorchange
by colorchange

This really is an incredible value for $200. The fame welds are beautiful. Rims are quite sturdy and fairly true. The weakest link is the shifters but they do work. I wanted it as a commuter and there isn't a rear lug for mounting a rack so I just drilled the frame and everything is fine. It's a really nice bike for $200.

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
colorchange
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bike!
11/26/2008

Customer review by NickelandDime

4.0 stars 11/26/2008 by NickelandDime
by NickelandDime

I just rode this bike in the Tour de Tucson 2008 and I loved every mile. I currently have about 45 miles on it. I had the bike delivered on the Monday before the ride and flew it out with me in the shipping box on Friday morning and rode the 35 mile Saturday. The only thing I would change on it would be the seat. I was very nervous riding this bike for the first time in a ride. I loaded up with extra tubes and prepared for the worst, but I didn't have a single problem! Sunday morning, I boxed the bicycle up, again back in the Schwinn box and flew it back home with me. I was really pleased with the shifting and my overall experience. I got used to the foot straps very quickly. My top speed (downhill) was 33 mph and I averaged about 15-19 mph on the flats. I did remove the kickstand for the ride. As far as negatives: The assembly instructions are really terrible. Schwinn really could do better for such a nice bicycle. Also, because of the poor instructions and pictures, I could never really tell if I had the front reflector on properly and it interfered with some cabling, so I just took it off in frustration. Otherwise I loved the quick release brake mechanism, the weight is nice, I felt it was very fast and I'm really very satisfied with my first road bicycle. I think this is a great way to try the sport. By the way, I did the tour with regular gym shorts, so I'm sure if I had padded shorts, the seat would have been a little less rough on my bottom. Again, thanks Wal-Mart for helping me try a sport that I thought I was priced out of!

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NickelandDime
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
seadog goes riding.
7/12/2007

Customer review by seadog

5.0 stars 7/12/2007 by seadog
by seadog

the reason i bought this bike from wal-mart was the value. i know this bike well, and iam highly satisfied with the product. you can spend more money, but i doubt you can buy more bike. thanks wal-mart. seadog.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seadog
tifton,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the money!
4/14/2010

Customer review by ProfessorDOW

5.0 stars 4/14/2010 by ProfessorDOW
by ProfessorDOW

I have been riding the Schwinn Varsity for a few weeks now, and it has been a great bike for the money. I was wrestling with whether or not to buy a low price, high end bike (Trek, Felt, etc.) or a higher price, low end bike (like this Schwinn). I am not impressed by "designer" labels, I just want to buy things that do the job and give me the most bang for the buck. I read the reviews on this website and decided to take a shot on the Schwinn. So far I have no regrets. The bike was delivered quickly, it was not hard to assemble, and it performed well from the first ride. I am 47 years old, 6 feet tall, 200 pounds. I ride about 10 miles a day, 5 days a week. I don't race, I just ride for the exercise and for personal enjoyment. The only down side so far has been the saddle, but I expected that with a bike that cost less than $250, so I replaced it with a better one. Even after a few other minor modifications, I will end up spending half as much as it would have cost for an entry level road bike from Trek, Raleigh or Felt. Thanks, WalMart, for stocking your stores (and website) with an increasing number of reliable, economical cycling products!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProfessorDOW
Haviland, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a great starter road bike
9/24/2008

Customer review by whalefeet

5.0 stars 9/24/2008 by whalefeet
by whalefeet

it's as simple as that. this is a $200 road bike, and a great one at that. you're not getting a professional bike here. i have taken this bike on 4 mile rides to and from work for 2 weeks now and it's great. i had to get a new seat right away though because the stock one is very uncomfortable, but that was no problem at all. people who have been road bikers for awhile will say this bike is junk, but that's because the parts don't match up with the ones on their $1000 bike. but i wanted to get introduced to road biking without emptying my savings account, and this is looking like a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whalefeet
yuba city, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sweet ride!
1/4/2010

Customer review by Izumi

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by Izumi
by Izumi

Great bike for the price! Easy to put together, gears shift smooth, very quiet ride. No problems with flat tires like some others have said in their reviews, & I take it out a few times a week. I absolutely LOVE this bike! I am a 5'7'' female, 130lbs...if that helps any other girls trying to pick out a road bike....it's a perfect fit for me. Thanks!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Izumi
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice Bike
4/30/2010

Customer review by Mike1956

5.0 stars 4/30/2010 by Mike1956
by Mike1956

I purchased the bike on line and had it shipped to the store in Sault Michigan. It took about a week for it to get to the store. Packaged very nice I took it home and finished assembling it. You might just want to throw the instructions away as they are useless. It took less than one hour to completely assemble the bike you will need a set of allen keys a screwdriver and a wrench to put the pedals on. It would seem most people complain about poor brakes. I had no such problem after adjusting the brakes I found they will stop on a dime. I have had no problems with the tires going flat either. This is a great looking bike and you can't go wrong for the price. All in all I am quite satisfied with this bike. It is sad however to see that this Schwinn bike is made in China now and not the U S A.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mike1956
canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/11/2009

Customer review by ssjkyle

4.0 stars 6/11/2009 by ssjkyle
by ssjkyle

I bought this bike to find out if I liked road cycling. I do like biking. I bought a mountain bike first, wrong move. You move like a slug. If you don't take your bike on a trail or off roading, it is a waste of time. Buy a road bike or hybrid I bought this bike assembled at a store. Check all the screws and bolts. The handle bars were loose on my bike and the seat was uncomfortable. I found out the seat was adjusted wrong. I am 5'7" (29.5 inseam) 163 lbs, so the bike is a little big for me (almost no clearance standing up)The ride is good but you will fell the ruts and rocks on the road. Its does not dampen the shocks like my old steel huffy or Nishki 12speed but it is light weighing in at 22lbs. The gearing could be better with a Sora brake shifter with 8 or 9 gears but it is only a two hundred and some change bike. For a no name brand bike your looking at spending more than 400+ or a brand name like Trek or Cannodale at 800+ With a helmet, waterbottle, light, bike computer and pump, the total price was under $300.00 with tax.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ssjkyle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Varsity Road Bike A+
9/26/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/26/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I guess I need to start from the "True" Start of my experience in order to explain how I feel about the SCHWINN VARSITY road Bike. I am 40 years old. 5 foot 11 1/2 inches and I currently weight 237 pounds. Last month on August,2nd I decided that being 270 pounds and badly out of shape was reason enough to get back into biking. I had smoked all of my life and up until this last April. I quit smoking on April fools day so I felt like I had 4 months to clear the lungs some and that it was now or never as far as getting back in shape. I went to Wal Mart and purchased a 26 inch Next mountain bike with duel shocks. I grabed a pump and a helmet and a back pack style Bell water bag. Off I went. I only ran the bike on the pavement but needless to say after the first month and 800+ miles the bikes components and barings starting failing. From the 2nd of august until yesterday "sept,25,2009" I went through not one but two different new "NEXT" mountain bikes from walmart. Both of them had horrible crank shafts and rear wheel barings. So basically over the course of 2 months and 1300+ miles I have went through two bikes and both had the same problems. Which brings me to the Varsity. First and FOREMOST it is light as a feather. I did not actually weigh it but lets put it this way. It ways about half of what my other NEXT bike weighed with the exact same accessories. I swaped out my pump,tool bag, water bottle, cpu exc from my old bike and put it on the varsity. Secondly I realise this bike has only 14 speeds but man!! my average MPH for the exact same10 mile ride I normally ran went up 5.6 mph. I normally rode a 10 mile ride in about 49 to 55 minutes. Yeah, I know thats slow on pavement!! I thought I just was plain slow. I used to average about 10.5 to 11.5 mph for the 10 mile ride. I got the Varsity home and swaped out my gear and road the same trip so much faster. Here is what I ran exactly. Distance-10.295 AVS-15.6 MXS-26.01 Time-0:39:37 Location and altitude are huge in the above figures so here is my location. Pendergrass Georgia. Also so you know I was running a 1.6 mile loop that I always run. It has two very steep up hills that are aproximately 400 yards a piece and the rest is pretty flat. I shaved approximately 20 minutes of my ten mile time. I also noticed the bike working my legs in different areas than I was used to with the next. I steped off the bike after that 40 minutes pouring with sweat and very VERY satisfied!!! Now I know what your thinking. Comparing a mountain bike to a road bike is crazy? Yeah... well That's all I had to compare and honestly I will never own another mountain bike again. At least not a walmart brand. I had to adjust both the front and rear brakes as they were way off in terms of placement and stopping power. "my bike was pre assembled in store" I also had to adjust the front handle bars and also make some slight changes to the gear adjustments. In my opinion these are things you would want to do even when you buy from a speciality bike shop so to me that was no pain at all. If I had to complain about anything it would be the fact that in order to shift gears you have to take your hands off of the lower bar where the brakes are and although I only shifted twice per loop it did get a bit old. But I quickly got used to it. The bike handles like a dream. I felt very little flex when turning at low or high speeds. The bike was a lot stiffer than I was used to due to the fact that it has a solid frame. Tires are very nice and the bike just screams RIDE ME HARD!! The bike has plenty of room for adjustability in the seat post and handlebars. The seat is pretty much hard as a rock but I managed the 10 miles just fine. I will probably use my gel seat or get a decent pair of riding pants that are padded. The brakes are good enough to lock up both tires when you adjust them right. I did when testing them. Back tire locked first then as I slowed the front tire did. So you can't say they are not strong! This is one happy 40 year old. This bike will make the next 30 pounds I lose a pure joy. If I run into any problems later on down the road I will update my findings here but for now I could not be happier and for the money it's a steal.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pendergrass, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Starter Bike, but missing extra touches
8/19/2009

Customer review by MTR0505

4.0 stars 8/19/2009 by MTR0505
by MTR0505

Bought this bike a month ago and just hit the 100 mile mark. The bike is a great starter bike. I wanted to make sure I enjoyed biking before spent a lot of money on something that could collect dust. If you already enjoy riding, splurge on something with a few more features. Here are a few of the shortcoming I found. -14 gears, if you are really moving you will run out of gears. - Shifters are not on the hand brakes, makes it diffiuclt to downshift when approaching a stop sign and continue moving. - You can not raise or lower handlebars - Only one bolt on point for accessories (waterbottle, pump) All in all its a good solid bike at the price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTR0505
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Another word for QUALITY is Schwinn Varsity
7/23/2007

Customer review by Rambo

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by Rambo
by Rambo

I have two 700C Schwinn Varsity Road Bikes now and plan to buy one more. This Bike is as good as it gets! The feel and ride of this bike is as good as my Treak race bike. The value and quality is as good as my Treak. This Schwinn is a Great Bike!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rambo
Fairfield,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great bike
7/6/2009

Customer review by ginama

5.0 stars 7/6/2009 by ginama
by ginama

This is a awsome bike had for about 2 weeks and put on 200 miles with no problems. to bad i can say the same about the gmc Denali that is a peace. but the schwin 700 is the way to go buy it you will be happy with it

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ginama
bovey MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Well and Meets Standards
4/13/2010

Customer review by Archangil

5.0 stars 4/13/2010 by Archangil
by Archangil

Not an experienced rider but so far I am very satisfied with my purchase. To avoid flat tires, as some have complained about, just keep in mind that the tire has to be inflated to 100 PSI. For newbies like me, Yes that is more than double the PSI required for tires on a Honda Civic, for example (Requires approx. 44 PSI). I've taken it out on several trails and on the road and no issues so far. An experienced friend mentioned that when you shift you could feel the snap a lot more than on his more expensive bike but I've only noticed the snap when on a downhill as it shifts very smooth when on an uphill. Not super light, but its not like I am carrying the thing on my back. I usually drive it up and down the Tujunga hills and have no issues riding uphill, great work out though. Besides air pressure just make sure you tighten the steering wheel tight enough so it doesn't tilt forward when you do a hard brake. Awesome bike overall, with the ability to take the front wheel off for easier portability. Not much to complain about except the weak assembly instructions. Then again, it is only a bike and it really only took some common sense to put it together. Seat goes there steering wheel there, you know, its basic, but it must be done right. Tighten every bolt and take it for some test runs before going crazy. Hope you will enjoy it as much as I have so far. And again, make sure to inflate to the required PSI, or you'll end up like those guys complaining about busted tires.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Archangil
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Greatt!!
6/23/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/23/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This bike is just great for the money. I like the sick design and its really lite sooo if your buying a road bike, this is the one!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Road Bike!
9/8/2010

Customer review by tkopper

5.0 stars 9/8/2010 by tkopper
by tkopper

This is a very great bike. The bike is fast, light, good looking and built with great equipment. The aluminum frame is very nice and strong. One draw back is there is no bottle holder on the seat tube, but there are wrap around mounts for that. The site says the bike weights 32 lbs. With two bottles/holders a cycle computer and a seat bag with multi tool kit, the bike weighed 26 lbs on my scale. I have put over 2,000 miles on it and it still rides like new, only replaced chain after 700 miles and tires after 400, tires were kind of cheap, wore fast. The bike is so great I didn't go for another frame like a carbon, I just bought upgrades like FSA carbon handle drop bar, clipless pedals and carbon seat post, wheels and crank is next upgrade. I really recommend this bike to anyone who wants a great bike for way under extreme cost. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tkopper
Hastings, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My Take on the Schwinn Varsity
6/6/2008

Customer review by bill24

3.0 stars 6/6/2008 by bill24
by bill24

I have had this bike for about 2 months now. I read alot of reviews about this bike. Bike is pretty good w/ some caveats. I purchased the bike at my local walmart on sale for only $125. If you get this bike there are some modifications that you will need to make. First, a new seat, abou $15-$20. Second, your tires tubes will probably burst after a ride or 2. My front tube went quick, so I purchased a new tube $4 and 2 packages of good rim tape from a bike shop $4ea and the tools to take the tire off the rim $1. So I replaced to the burst tub and put the new rim tape on the rear tire to prevent an future bursts (none so far w/ a lot of riding, the the new tape works). Third, the chain wheel is not that good. The teeth on mine wore done very fast, which caused the chain to come off almost every time I shifted to the larger front chain wheel. I purchased a new one on ebay for $10 and the new works great. No more chain falling off. So would I recommend. Yes, because of the price. An inexpensive road bike at a bike shop is $600. So far, even w/ the modifications, I still have spend under $175. Also, I am not very mechanical and knew nothing about bikes or repairing them. However, I have learned quite a bit, all the things I have done, seat, tire tubes, and chainwheel repairs have be surprising easy and quick to do. So, for $175, I have a good bike, and learned a lot. If had purchased a more expensive bike, I dont know if I would feel so comfortable making my own repairs and learning on the go.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bill24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Terrible Wheel Tubes
6/23/2009

Customer review by XCrunner24

3.0 stars 6/23/2009 by XCrunner24
by XCrunner24

I had just managed to assemble this bike (even with the poor directions) and I decided to take it out for a test ride. The bike rode well so I was led to believe that it would be alright to ride on the next day. The next day I took it out and had only ridden two miles when the back wheel began to vibrate a lot. I had to carry the bike back the whole way back due to a flat tire that occured on my first "real" ride.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XCrunner24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
JUNK
11/9/2009

Customer review by schwinnisjunk

1.0 stars 11/9/2009 by schwinnisjunk
by schwinnisjunk

I read reviews that say - not bad for a cheap bike. At $250- I expect better quality than this. Right out of the box the rear brake was bent. The tires lose air quick so you have to put air in the tires prior to every ride (Hence all the reviews about the cheap inner tubes). The 2nd day I took it out for a ride the front brake wire slipped off the calipers and the wire is starting to unravel. Also the handlebars are too low and not adjustable so plan on paying another $30 for a handlebar stem riser from a bike shop. Keep looking. I've put less than 30 miles on this bike and it's falling apart already. JUNK!

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schwinnisjunk
Mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fun to ride
3/30/2010

Customer review by major2theXtreme

3.0 stars 3/30/2010 by major2theXtreme
by major2theXtreme

I like this bike, but I guess I was hoping for a little more. When I got the bike it looked nice, what am I saying it still does Ha Ha, yeah like others said it does have weak shifters, but it does ride well, and i wouldn't take it back, unless I had a problem of course . I've had mine for a week now and I put 90 miles on it so far, I'm keeping up with traffic, now to get a helmet because something is telling me I'm going to get hit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
major2theXtreme
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews