Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 197 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

197 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
87
4 stars
73
3 stars
21
2 stars
4
1 stars
12
1-20 of 185 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews
road bike
7/28/2010

Customer review by ilie1977

3.0 stars 7/28/2010 by ilie1977
by ilie1977

my first road bike, had some problems. first after out of the box the front wheel was rubbing on the frame spoke was loose, second after assembly riding the bike around the block the chain broke, third missing a nut holding the center brake caliper. called pacific cycle for all of my issue, and took care of me and having all my parts replaced. Had to adjust the front and rear derailleur.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilie1977
cerritos,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Bike
4/30/2010

Customer review by Mike1956

5.0 stars 4/30/2010 by Mike1956
by Mike1956

I purchased the bike on line and had it shipped to the store in Sault Michigan. It took about a week for it to get to the store. Packaged very nice I took it home and finished assembling it. You might just want to throw the instructions away as they are useless. It took less than one hour to completely assemble the bike you will need a set of allen keys a screwdriver and a wrench to put the pedals on. It would seem most people complain about poor brakes. I had no such problem after adjusting the brakes I found they will stop on a dime. I have had no problems with the tires going flat either. This is a great looking bike and you can't go wrong for the price. All in all I am quite satisfied with this bike. It is sad however to see that this Schwinn bike is made in China now and not the U S A.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike1956
canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike!
11/26/2008

Customer review by NickelandDime

4.0 stars 11/26/2008 by NickelandDime
by NickelandDime

I just rode this bike in the Tour de Tucson 2008 and I loved every mile. I currently have about 45 miles on it. I had the bike delivered on the Monday before the ride and flew it out with me in the shipping box on Friday morning and rode the 35 mile Saturday. The only thing I would change on it would be the seat. I was very nervous riding this bike for the first time in a ride. I loaded up with extra tubes and prepared for the worst, but I didn't have a single problem! Sunday morning, I boxed the bicycle up, again back in the Schwinn box and flew it back home with me. I was really pleased with the shifting and my overall experience. I got used to the foot straps very quickly. My top speed (downhill) was 33 mph and I averaged about 15-19 mph on the flats. I did remove the kickstand for the ride. As far as negatives: The assembly instructions are really terrible. Schwinn really could do better for such a nice bicycle. Also, because of the poor instructions and pictures, I could never really tell if I had the front reflector on properly and it interfered with some cabling, so I just took it off in frustration. Otherwise I loved the quick release brake mechanism, the weight is nice, I felt it was very fast and I'm really very satisfied with my first road bicycle. I think this is a great way to try the sport. By the way, I did the tour with regular gym shorts, so I'm sure if I had padded shorts, the seat would have been a little less rough on my bottom. Again, thanks Wal-Mart for helping me try a sport that I thought I was priced out of!

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NickelandDime
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
schwinn varsity
6/7/2008

Customer review by guitardude232

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by guitardude232
by guitardude232

AWESOME BIKE!!! it rides really nice, well to me but this is my first road bike. one thing to watch out for is if you are, for example, turning left and you have your left pedal as low down as it goes while you pedal, it could catch the ground, but i think most bikes you have to be careful anyways. very nice bike and it is highly addicting. get a new seat though because, like most other road bikes, the seat starts to hurt. OVERALL GET IT ITS AWESOME!!!!!! i bought it prebuilt from walmart in jacksonville at the river city marketplace, but im not sure if it would be at the walmart nearest you. sweet bike, worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guitardude232
jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well Worth $150
5/16/2011

Customer review by Zayce

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Zayce
by Zayce

This Bike is amazing. Today I reached 10,000 miles on it. I got it for Christmas of 2007. I have had my rear axle break, the rear cassette break, and the bottom bracket break but I have kept the bike going. The Frame is still perfectly intact. I just want to show you that a bike bought from Walmart can do amazing things. I am very disappointed to see that this bike is no longer available at walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zayce
Senoia, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceeded expectations
5/22/2009

Customer review by Beneye

5.0 stars 5/22/2009 by Beneye
by Beneye

Well, its my first road bike (not the first bike ever) but to tell you the truth i thought i'd get a piece of junk since it was the cheapest bike i could find. This guys have done an amazing job putting together such an amazing bike for $200. Its pretty fast and super light (31lbs only) and shipping fast too (ordered sunday delivered Wed noon) I just wonder how much bike you can buy for $5000.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beneye
Altadena, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
6/11/2009

Customer review by ssjkyle

4.0 stars 6/11/2009 by ssjkyle
by ssjkyle

I bought this bike to find out if I liked road cycling. I do like biking. I bought a mountain bike first, wrong move. You move like a slug. If you don't take your bike on a trail or off roading, it is a waste of time. Buy a road bike or hybrid I bought this bike assembled at a store. Check all the screws and bolts. The handle bars were loose on my bike and the seat was uncomfortable. I found out the seat was adjusted wrong. I am 5'7" (29.5 inseam) 163 lbs, so the bike is a little big for me (almost no clearance standing up)The ride is good but you will fell the ruts and rocks on the road. Its does not dampen the shocks like my old steel huffy or Nishki 12speed but it is light weighing in at 22lbs. The gearing could be better with a Sora brake shifter with 8 or 9 gears but it is only a two hundred and some change bike. For a no name brand bike your looking at spending more than 400+ or a brand name like Trek or Cannodale at 800+ With a helmet, waterbottle, light, bike computer and pump, the total price was under $300.00 with tax.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssjkyle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the money!
4/14/2010

Customer review by ProfessorDOW

5.0 stars 4/14/2010 by ProfessorDOW
by ProfessorDOW

I have been riding the Schwinn Varsity for a few weeks now, and it has been a great bike for the money. I was wrestling with whether or not to buy a low price, high end bike (Trek, Felt, etc.) or a higher price, low end bike (like this Schwinn). I am not impressed by "designer" labels, I just want to buy things that do the job and give me the most bang for the buck. I read the reviews on this website and decided to take a shot on the Schwinn. So far I have no regrets. The bike was delivered quickly, it was not hard to assemble, and it performed well from the first ride. I am 47 years old, 6 feet tall, 200 pounds. I ride about 10 miles a day, 5 days a week. I don't race, I just ride for the exercise and for personal enjoyment. The only down side so far has been the saddle, but I expected that with a bike that cost less than $250, so I replaced it with a better one. Even after a few other minor modifications, I will end up spending half as much as it would have cost for an entry level road bike from Trek, Raleigh or Felt. Thanks, WalMart, for stocking your stores (and website) with an increasing number of reliable, economical cycling products!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProfessorDOW
Haviland, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/14/2007

Customer review by colorchange

4.0 stars 12/14/2007 by colorchange
by colorchange

This really is an incredible value for $200. The fame welds are beautiful. Rims are quite sturdy and fairly true. The weakest link is the shifters but they do work. I wanted it as a commuter and there isn't a rear lug for mounting a rack so I just drilled the frame and everything is fine. It's a really nice bike for $200.

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
colorchange
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Slight Dissapointment
8/21/2010

Customer review by XcTrackStar

3.0 stars 8/21/2010 by XcTrackStar
by XcTrackStar

Although I'm only at an entry level, I still bike about 20-40 miles a day. Before I bought the Schwinn Varsity, I rode around on a 20+ year old Schwinn Hybrid, so I thought an upgrade would be nice, for not a high cost. With the Schwinn Varsity, you get what you paid for. It's not terrible, but it could be a lot better. In the first week, I had two blown tires, so I went to a Bike pro shop, and they had to replace a few things on the wheel, and they said that the wheel was made very cheaply. The seat is NOT crotch-friendly, and when I go to change gears, sometimes it won't even change, or the chain will flat-out fall off. I suppose I could take it to get tuned and everything at a bike shop, but money doesn't grow on trees, which is why I bought this thing instead of a $1,000 bike....which would have been very nice. But it's not all bad, still much better that the old schwinn hybrid. I'm dissapointed, but I'm keeping it anyway, well, for now. Overall, I guess it does its job.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XcTrackStar
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a great starter road bike
9/24/2008

Customer review by whalefeet

5.0 stars 9/24/2008 by whalefeet
by whalefeet

it's as simple as that. this is a $200 road bike, and a great one at that. you're not getting a professional bike here. i have taken this bike on 4 mile rides to and from work for 2 weeks now and it's great. i had to get a new seat right away though because the stock one is very uncomfortable, but that was no problem at all. people who have been road bikers for awhile will say this bike is junk, but that's because the parts don't match up with the ones on their $1000 bike. but i wanted to get introduced to road biking without emptying my savings account, and this is looking like a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whalefeet
yuba city, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing value
4/8/2010

Customer review by Spartachris

4.0 stars 4/8/2010 by Spartachris
by Spartachris

I was a little hesitant to consider this bike after reading a few reviews, but I went to the store to check it out and decided to buy it. You really can't go wrong for the price. Basically a bike is a frame and components, and most of the complaints I read here were related to the components. The frame is very light and seems to be very well designed and built. For just above $200, you really can't complain about the components. They are cheap, but that's why the bike is a value. Some people had complained about the shifters being separate from the brake levers, but the ones they describe retail for more than the price of this bike, so you won't see them on anything that sells in this range. Also, someone mentioned cables stretching? You need to adjust a bike occasionally so don't condemn the bike because you don't maintain it. When I got this I had to tweak a few things at home, although they are all part of my weekly maintenance routine anyway. I may be a bit more handy than some people but I don't think anything I did is beyond the abilities of the average person. The wheels needed mild truing and the tire pressure was way below 100psi, the rear derailer cable needed slight tightening, the front derailer limits needed to be adjusted and cable needed tightening, the brakes needed a mild adjustment, and the handlebar stem needed to be tightened. I found instructions on how to do all this online and check these items every week, very easy to tighten a cable, you just twist the barrel adjuster a few clicks. The bike runs great and I couldn't be happier with it. I have to say that once the brakes, shifting, and wheels are all dialed in this is a very nice riding bike that is really easy to put the miles on. Will I upgrade at some point to a high end bike? Sure, but until that point I'm really happy with this because it allowed me to get into the sport for fairly small money. I probably average around 20 miles a day on it and in the month I've owned it have probably clocked close to 500 miles on it. The only issue I have is the seat. This bike absolutely should come with a prostate friendly seat. I put one on after the first day. Schwinn should not be shipping these with any other seat design, period.

Was this review helpful? (64) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spartachris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sweet ride!
1/4/2010

Customer review by Izumi

5.0 stars 1/4/2010 by Izumi
by Izumi

Great bike for the price! Easy to put together, gears shift smooth, very quiet ride. No problems with flat tires like some others have said in their reviews, & I take it out a few times a week. I absolutely LOVE this bike! I am a 5'7'' female, 130lbs...if that helps any other girls trying to pick out a road bike....it's a perfect fit for me. Thanks!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Izumi
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
You get what you pay for!!
3/5/2008

Customer review by Bostonian

2.0 stars 3/5/2008 by Bostonian
by Bostonian

I bought this bike for my husband for his birthday. With gas prices on the rise, he wanted a bike to get back and fourth to work. So, I saw this one and thought, not a bad price for just a recreational bike. Unfortunately, you get what you pay for. The parts on it are cheap. The first day he took it out to ride, he got stranded 10 miles from home cause the chain snapped and the front derailer got wrecked. Well, I could've sent it back to have it fixed for free, but, I didn't want to pay to ship it back (this bike is not available in walmart stores) and I wasn't convinced that Walmart would fix it properly. So, we took it to a professional. Oh, and the handle bars are extremely low and there is no adjusting them. So, with a new chain, upgraded derailer and new neck extension for the handle bars, it cost another $120. So, I really paid $320 for this bike. But, my hubby is happy with it now and that's all that matters. So, just be prepared. It's a pretty nice bike, it's just not made with quality parts.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bostonian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great Starter Bike, but missing extra touches
8/19/2009

Customer review by MTR0505

4.0 stars 8/19/2009 by MTR0505
by MTR0505

Bought this bike a month ago and just hit the 100 mile mark. The bike is a great starter bike. I wanted to make sure I enjoyed biking before spent a lot of money on something that could collect dust. If you already enjoy riding, splurge on something with a few more features. Here are a few of the shortcoming I found. -14 gears, if you are really moving you will run out of gears. - Shifters are not on the hand brakes, makes it diffiuclt to downshift when approaching a stop sign and continue moving. - You can not raise or lower handlebars - Only one bolt on point for accessories (waterbottle, pump) All in all its a good solid bike at the price.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MTR0505
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
seadog goes riding.
7/12/2007

Customer review by seadog

5.0 stars 7/12/2007 by seadog
by seadog

the reason i bought this bike from wal-mart was the value. i know this bike well, and iam highly satisfied with the product. you can spend more money, but i doubt you can buy more bike. thanks wal-mart. seadog.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seadog
tifton,ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for the Price
10/10/2010

Customer review by eagergriller

5.0 stars 10/10/2010 by eagergriller
by eagergriller

Picking up the box: For the price, you can't beat it! Everything came securely wrapped in a lightweight box. When I picked up the box, I was completely surprised how light the box was, and I was able to carry the box without the help of a cart. Unpacking the box: Everything inside was well protected and labeled appropriately. Assembly: I am not the greatest bicycle mechanic, so to save myself the headache, I assembled the bike as best as I could and took it down to my local bike shop and spent $30 to have them dial in the derailleurs and brakes. I figured $30 is totally justified since I saved some much money in the first place by buying this great, lightweight bike. Recommended upgrades: The only modification the bike shop recommended was to change the bar wrap. It comes with a really cheap bar wrap, so I changed it out for a cork wrap witch makes for a very comfortable ride. Unlike others who had issues with the saddle, I found it fit me comfortably. Overall: Very satisfied. I'm 5' 10" and it fits me great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eagergriller
San Luis Obispo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What I Expected
7/20/2009

Customer review by VetPtol65

1.0 stars 7/20/2009 by VetPtol65
by VetPtol65

After the bike arrived, I had to assemble everything myself. No one should ever do this as bikes must be properly adjusted by a professional so that it will ride correctly. After the first mile I hit a small bump on the road and the back tire went flat. I realized that paying such a small amount was eventually going to take a deep bite in my wallet so I returned it promptly. I only purchased the bike because I was tired of waiting around for my insurance company to give me some money for my previous bike that had been involved in a minor accident while I was traveling. I was rear-ended by someone and my bike was on the back of my car and ruined. If you want to get a road bike, you should spend the extra money to get something decent. Otherwise, you will either be unhappy with its performance or make up the difference in upgrades later on. Cheap parts break and must be replaced by more expensive ones that can actually last. I really appreciate how Wal-mart's return policy allowed me to go back on a bad decision on my part.

Was this review helpful? (3) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VetPtol65
Ithaca, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Never got it on the road
6/21/2009

Customer review by buyersbeware1928

1.0 stars 6/21/2009 by buyersbeware1928
by buyersbeware1928

The bike was delivered very quickly. I ordered it on Saturday night and it was delivered Tuesday. But you can imagine how disappointed I was when I opened the box and saw that there were no pedals in the box and that the quick release lever that is on the picture on the Walmart website and on the bike box is not included with this model! This was not the deal killer though. I could have lived without the lever even thought it would make any cyclists life much easier. The big problem came with the front axil. The bolts that you tighten onto the front fork were jammed on too tightly. I was only able for force off one of the bolts. The other was impossible to take off. I called the Schwinn hotline and was told that they could replace it but that the parts were on back order and it would be weeks till they could get them to me. They also told me that any bike you buy from a big store chain can be pretty iffy when you buy it out of a box. So buyer beware!!! The only pro I can give you is that the bike looks great. Unfortunately I never got past that point in my experience.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buyersbeware1928
Would recommend to a friend? No
Super bike for the buck!
10/27/2010

Customer review by martyphoto

5.0 stars 10/27/2010 by martyphoto
by martyphoto

I bought the bike literally "off the rack" at my local store, in June 2010. Apparently, someone had ordered it and never picked it up. The bike was fully assembled, but nothing had been adjusted. I put a little more air in the tires and rode it home from the store! Once I got it home, 30 minutes of fine tuning was all I had to do to get it up to snuff. I have since done NOTHING to it but ride the wheels off it. This bike is a daily ride for me, and I AVERAGE 150 miles a week on it, often 200 or more. It would be a safe bet to guess the bike has 1000 miles on it now, and it has NEVER missed a beat. One flat tire, and that was completely my fault. No other tire issues at all, other than I'm just plain wearing them out! It IS my transportation, and consistently performs flawlessly. Its a joy to ride, easy to handle, and can be very fast on the right surface. I would definitely recommend this as a first road bike, or even as a second bike in a collection!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
martyphoto
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1-20 of 185 reviews