Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 stars
3
1-20 of 23 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Beatdown
10/26/2007

Customer review by XtremeBiker6

5.0 stars 10/26/2007 by XtremeBiker6
by XtremeBiker6

I have to say, I first purchased a NEXT mountain bike. It was stolen, so I had to buy this bike in it's place (walmart had no more of the former). Since then, I have beaten this bike up in and out and have more than put it to the test. I regularly go biking around campus, and I take it down stairs, up and down cement blocks, and do frequent jumps. All in all, this bike has held together very well. The only thing that has broken is the spring mechanism below the seat; it still works, but the cap that holds the spring 'back' so to say has been stripped. Again, the spring still works and it rides fine. The front shocks have withstood MORE than their share of torment, and are still going strong. The only problem I have with this bike is the short wheel span; when I turn sharp, my feet get hit by the front wheel sometimes. I am also 6 foot 5, so it might just be me. I suggest this bike if you are looking for one that is reliable, but not extremely long lasting. It will NOT live for years and years if you beat on it like I do.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XtremeBiker6
Fargo, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good for the money
7/22/2007

Customer review by JustaGuy

4.0 stars 7/22/2007 by JustaGuy
by JustaGuy

I wouldn't recommend the $50 Roadmaster, I got this to replace it, and it is worth the extra money. Actually built so your knees don't bash the handle bars, Rear suspension is great on mountain biking trails. Keep in mind though, it's still a cheap bike. I'm STILL fussing with the settings for the gears, I can't get the shifters to use the full range of gears.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustaGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfecto!
7/9/2007

Customer review by pongoAmongo

5.0 stars 7/9/2007 by pongoAmongo
by pongoAmongo

Very good bike, easy assembly and quality parts. Compared to my last bike (Huffy) this one was a major upgrade. I feel comfortable taking this one out on trails, and its also a good cruiser. The only negative is the very small slim racing seat that comes with the bike, very uncomfortable. I wound up swapping my old seat out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pongoAmongo
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not amazing, but definitely not bad
7/6/2007

Customer review by velac

4.0 stars 7/6/2007 by velac
by velac

It's definitely a very good bike for the price. Everything is adjustable so I was able to customize it to myself. Unfortunately, it is shipped with a seat that was a cruel punishment for my rear (I relatively heavy so it was probably more painful for me than it would be for most) so I had to buy a different seat. It's also somewhat heavy, but I didn't expect it to be aluminum frame for this price. Overall, it's a very good and dependable bike for the price. It makes me very mobile in a big city, it is dependable and a pleasure to ride.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
velac
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value
8/16/2007

Customer review by tater

4.0 stars 8/16/2007 by tater
by tater

Actually purchased the Roadmaster...shift and brake issues on day one. Swapped out for the Mongoose. A little more $, but the Shimano gears make a world of difference! The seat is uncomfortable...otherwise, I recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tater
Littleton, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
mongoose bike
11/18/2007

Customer review by gremlin

4.0 stars 11/18/2007 by gremlin
by gremlin

This bike is awesome. Everything about it is good except the seat. It is narrow and hard. It looks really great and rides well. I would recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gremlin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/3/2007

Customer review by later

1.0 stars 7/3/2007 by later
by later

Gear broke in half after only 20 miles of light use on paved road

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
later
Would recommend to a friend? No
Issues with bike
7/8/2007

Customer review by FunOne

2.0 stars 7/8/2007 by FunOne
by FunOne

The bike was very reasonably priced and service techs at delivery location were helpful. However have had ongoing problems with bike. This has meant constant repairs which make me think that the price was too good and you get what you pay for. Not mad at Walmart, but vendor may need to improve.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FunOne
Hilton Head Island SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not the best
1/2/2008

Customer review by Cowboysfan10

2.0 stars 1/2/2008 by Cowboysfan10
by Cowboysfan10

The bike is not bad for a $100 dollars,i have had this bike for almost a year now so i have seen most of the draw backs, Some of the draw backs are is that the seat is to short i am 5,8 and the seat is very hard and dose not feel good after about 1 mile of riding.Another draw back is that the gears slip,the gears slipped right after i got the bike and i noticed i lost a whole gear.Its not that bad of a bike but i don't recomend looking forward to keeping the bike in good condition without a lot of labor and frustration.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cowboysfan10
Gulf breeze,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
12/17/2007

Customer review by NFloridaCyclist

1.0 stars 12/17/2007 by NFloridaCyclist
by NFloridaCyclist

I must say after reading other reviews I was hoping that this would be a better product. Even though it has the Mongoose badge on it, it was not! The seat is extremely uncomfortable to begin with; it is not assembled well and will require some minor adjustments before you can ride it (i.e. brakes), and the gears just wouldn't shift smoothly. It may look great, but this is not a low-maintenance, practical bike. I returned it to the store the next day.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NFloridaCyclist
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I hate it
12/7/2007

Customer review by ipodlover3333

1.0 stars 12/7/2007 by ipodlover3333
by ipodlover3333

This bike is cruddy. I cant shift anymore, the seat is so uncomfortable, the seat is also to short and im only 5' 4''. I hate it. My handle bars twisted from riding and so when i tried to tighten them back on they keep on comming loose so i cant even ride it anymore. All i do is cruise around the neighbor hood and it still broke. Ive had it for a year and i wanted to get rid of it the day i got it. My parents wouldnt let me. I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ipodlover3333
Meridian, Id
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Satisfied, worth the money
8/4/2009

Customer review by Trek1000

4.0 stars 8/4/2009 by Trek1000
by Trek1000

Remember that it's a $100 - $120 wal mart bike, not a Trek or Specialized, etc. It's not a bad bike at all, and for such a low price, you can't beat it. Remember, it's not the top of the line, just like not every car is top of the line. But it does what it is meant to do, and that is to go off road on moderate trails and dirt roads - it's not meant for jumps, or BMX, or even speed for that matter. Just as an offroad vehicle is not made for speed, neither is the Mongoose XR-75. If those who are interested in this bike primarily want speed, consider a road bike, urban bike, or hybrid. I bought this bike as an occasional alternative to my road bike (Trek 1000). Having owned a road bike for several years, I know a few things about bikes. I was skeptical at first, but then realized the most I could lose is the cheap cost of the bike! So I tried it out. I've been very satisfied with it, and it's held up with no problems, except for a couple of flats caused by thorns. Slime tubes seem to do the trick. Wal Mart, and other dept stors do in fact have some poor quality bikes, so use your judgement. I was sold on the fact that it feels decently durable, and also the Shimano and Sram components, as well as what I assume to be aluminum pedals (not plastic). The brakes are cheap, and a couple gears slip. Easy fixes with an adjustment. This bike will likely not last as long as a Trek, or Specialized, but for $100 it's worth it. But hey, it's made in China as is Trek and probably Specialized too. For my purposes of riding on moderate trails and dirt roads, I'm very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trek1000
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a cheep product!!!!!!!
11/2/2007

Customer review by dontworryaboutit

2.0 stars 11/2/2007 by dontworryaboutit
by dontworryaboutit

i got this bike about 9 mounths ago and when i first got it every thing was good on it but the seat!the seat dont have any coshen at all!the first thing that happened was the 3 gear sprockets teeth woor out so i cant shift the bikes gears!then around the same time the brake pads became bald (and i neaver really use the bike that often)and the tires are bold!!!!!!!!!!! i will neaver buy this bike again!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dontworryaboutit
highland,ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice bike
12/21/2007

Customer review by LilSunshine01

4.0 stars 12/21/2007 by LilSunshine01
by LilSunshine01

I really liked that the bike had the burnt orange color (I'm a longhorn :)), and ordered it online. The bike itself is nice so far, but it came in red which was disappointing, and my boyfriend says that the seat is pretty uncomfortable. But both are trivial factors, for you can buy a new seat. He hasn't ridden it a far distance yet but he is very happy with it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LilSunshine01
Round Rock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good produce, minor gliches
9/24/2007

Customer review by USMC

4.0 stars 9/24/2007 by USMC
by USMC

I decided and purchased the bike after some on line reviews. The seat was a bit narrower than what I had expected, but a purchase of a Bell seat from the local Walmart solved that. On my first ride, the rear tire had an unexpected blowout due to defect in product. Other than that, good bike for price paid!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
USMC
Gloucester, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not a Decent Size
10/23/2007

Customer review by Katzegeliebter

3.0 stars 10/23/2007 by Katzegeliebter
by Katzegeliebter

Because of the way the frame is cut the bike seat can not be adjusted a great deal. I found out after buying it that the seat does not come up high enough, and even if I did move it up as much as possible, leaving enough to be gripped, it slid down as soon as you put any weight on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katzegeliebter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Worth the Ride
10/14/2007

Customer review by Avidbikeracer

2.0 stars 10/14/2007 by Avidbikeracer
by Avidbikeracer

The Mongoose XR75 is a fair bike to ride but you will encounter rear shifter slippage and autoshift without the switching of gears. i have had experiance with quality bikes and this is not a bike worth buying invest in a huffy or other bicycle.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Avidbikeracer
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
broke after a month
8/15/2007

Customer review by skyman

2.0 stars 8/15/2007 by skyman
by skyman

well its a preetty good bike but i had 2 replace the brakes after about 2 weeks and the rear tire. Now the speed changer on the rear broke so its not a very dependable bike. so im going back to a stunt bike

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skyman
richwood wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Bike
10/4/2007

Customer review by ohboyohboyohboy

5.0 stars 10/4/2007 by ohboyohboyohboy
by ohboyohboyohboy

This is a great bike for the cost. Like others have said though, if you get it, make sure to change the seat out. It's makes it even more worth while. Other than that I love this bike.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohboyohboyohboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
12/22/2007

Customer review by NurseChristy

4.0 stars 12/22/2007 by NurseChristy
by NurseChristy

My son is 5'10" and it has held up great so far!! It rides well on any terrain. The only downside is the seat is very hard, so I bought him a gel seat pad that works great! GOOD BUY!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NurseChristy
Mt. Pleasant, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews