Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 147 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

147 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

147 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
28
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 stars
33
1-20 of 134 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews
~ Great Machine ~
10/19/2007

Customer review by MommyOF4inMD

5.0 stars 10/19/2007 by MommyOF4inMD
by MommyOF4inMD

My sister bought me this machine for my birthday last month and I haven't stopped sewing since I took it out of the box. I have not had one problem with this machine, and I have been using it every day for the past 3 weeks. I have made 2 Halloween costumes, and I am starting on the third tomorrow. I would highly recommend this product. Even though I did no pay for my own, it is a great value for the price, and you can never go wrong with a Singer. Also, the instruction DVD is very informative and gives excellent detailed instructions on the correct way to install the thread and bobbin and also on how to use the stitch features as well as the button hole maker. I love this sewing machine!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyOF4inMD
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great machine for a beginner
10/18/2013

Customer review by wpbmommy1

4.0 stars 10/18/2013 by wpbmommy1
by wpbmommy1

I bought this machine a few years ago as a beginner who had never touched a sewing machine before. I still use this machine today and have never had any major problems that require service. When I had a problem with my bobbin thread making nests I cleaned out the area, adjusted my bobbin holder, and played around with the tension and it worked fine. I have had to take it apart and oil it when it began making grinding noises but after that it stopped. I use this machine to piece and to quilt using a generic walking foot and using a darning pressing foot (I think it is called that). I also use it to make purses and it is serving me well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wpbmommy1
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exellent sewing for anyone
3/19/2009

Customer review by quiltbeginner

5.0 stars 3/19/2009 by quiltbeginner
by quiltbeginner

I just bought this machaine- $99.00 best machaine ever had, my last singer lasted me for 25 years and resold to someone else for $25.00 she is still using it, I just wanted a new one, great price, great machaine, for any age, has a great DVD to help you with all the stiches, the button hole maker is awesome, the self threading needle is the best, I have been sewing for 20 some years and this is the best, is Singer, 25 year warranty, best of all no drop in bobbin, and the bobbin case is metal not plastic.. reccommend to any age and sewing experience.... I have just started to make quilts and works great for that....

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
quiltbeginner
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Over all good for the money
9/30/2010

Customer review by Susie

3.0 stars 9/30/2010 by Susie
by Susie

I have owned 3 Singer machines in the 40 years I have been sewing. My first one was a black heavy metal Singer that was given to me when I was about 12 yrs old. I still have it and it works great but only has forward and reverse. The next Singer I won in the "Fastest Needle in the West" sewing contest at the Oklahoma State Fair in 1981. It was a Model 2010. I used it until Oct 2008 when a gear broke inside. I took it for repair and since it was quite well used and loved, the repairman changed out the gear but it never seemed correct again. Since at this time I was now unemployed and needing a new machine but could not afford an expensive one, my choice was the Model 3116. I bought it January 2009 and it worked quite well until the reverse lever cracked and fell out after about 8 months of use. Overall though the machine has been a good value for the money. There are 2 other people in my immediate family that also purchased this model and they have had no problems with their machines.

Susie
Newalla, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tension problems
3/17/2014

Customer review by jewil

1.0 stars 3/17/2014 by jewil
by jewil

I read reviews on this page and bought this product. I had a singer very similar to this 15 years ago and LOVED it! It eventually froze up because it was old. When I finally got around to getting a new one I was excited. It worked for my first couple of hemming projects, it worked for my first 3/4 of a throw blanket (light weight material)... and then that is when the tension stopped working all together. No setting, no amount of re-threading, was going to fix the zero tension the machine produced. After only a few uses, it was useless. I got online to other sites and started to review the product. The reviews were much different there. I was assured it wasn't user error, this product has many issues for many users. For those of you who it works great for, keep it. I loved it way back when. But it does sound like there is a few lemons out there. Be careful, don't assume you have a lemon, check with some experts on how you are using it, and if it all checks out and the machine still isn't working for you, take it back.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jewil
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Little Machine
7/23/2007

Customer review by niecyt

5.0 stars 7/23/2007 by niecyt
by niecyt

This is a great little machine so far! I have never had a new one, the last one I had was a featherweight from the '50's and I loved that Singer ( it was stolen ). This sews so smoothly and effortlessly. I even have used the bobbins from my old singer that was my Mom's that I inherited. I just tried out the needle threader..how cool is that!! I have an alterations biz and use it, Mom's old heavy duty straight stitcher and a serger. Singer has done it again, as usual, good, economical, easy to use and will last a long time..I can tell, I've been sewing for 45 years...!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
niecyt
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SEW! BABY SEW!
7/24/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/24/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I got this from my grandmother a couple of years ago for Christmas. But when I got it, it looked a little different (older model), but it's still the same. I love this sewing machine, great for beginners and for sewing small things, like pillows, aprons, skirts, & bags. But it's still good for your "advanced" sewer in the family! Great product! Definetly Recommend!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ardmore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Nice features, but it doesnt' work!
8/3/2007

Customer review by SewingNewbie

1.0 stars 8/3/2007 by SewingNewbie
by SewingNewbie

Sure, this is a nice looking machine. Even for a total beginner as myself, it was easy enough to set up the thread and get ready to go. However, when getting down to business, this thing is locking up all the time. I've owned it for 2 weeks and all I've been able to sew is the side of a T-shirt seam. The thread locks up inside the bobbin case at every other attempt! And all this just after getting the machine out of the box... unacceptable.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewingNewbie
Mountain View, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Worth the money
5/10/2008

Customer review by sewingduds

4.0 stars 5/10/2008 by sewingduds
by sewingduds

This machine is well worth the money for an inexpensive machine. I sew everyday and this is a very nice little machine. Inexperienced users like with anything else will need a little time to get used to how everything works. Just follow all of the directions and make sure the bobbin is set properly in the bobbin case. Use the quick start guide that comes with it and note the position of the bobbin in relationship to the bobbin case and you'll be fine. As for the thread pulling up through the needle with all sewing projects its a great idea to hold the thread from the back until your first couple of stitches are down...that's a problem with ALL machines if you don't hold it :-) Love it for everyday use or backup and it has a fantastic warranty, too!!! On the downside the zig-zag doesn't have but three widths, the plate isn't marked with seam allowance widths so if you don't have them memorized that might be an issue. Overall it's a nice little machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sewingduds
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A rough way to learn to sew
2/3/2009

Customer review by poweranni

3.0 stars 2/3/2009 by poweranni
by poweranni

This machine sews. But it is very temperamental. Rather than repeat verbatim what the negative reviews say, I will summarize them. Those have been my experiences: a floppy, inaccessible and unreliable lever that controls the feed-dogs, a bobbin that randomly and frequently jams up, a clack-clack sound that comes off and on, (it sounds like there are rocks in the bobbin area) both upper and lower thread that breaks, and a reverse-sewing lever that is perennially dysfunctional. Also, the machine needs to be oiled a lot. There is, however, a big fat HOWEVER: The thing does sew. You just have to be patient. It also does not have a complicated panel, so it is good for a back-up machine in case your usual one has a malfunction. You turn a dial and stitch, not anything "new" to figure out. If you only have 100 bucks to spend, I am sure that there are more reliable machines out there. I do not know what to recommend. I know that I am getting ready to upgrade to something in the $500 range, but I plan on holding on to this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poweranni
Idyllwild, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Beginner's Sewing Machine
5/27/2008

Customer review by farrcourt

4.0 stars 5/27/2008 by farrcourt
by farrcourt

I bought this machine because I got tired of paying for things I could teach myself to do. I am a true beginner...the last time I sewed was home economics class in 6th grade. Overall I am pleased with the machine and have taught myself the basics. Durability is one problem I have. The reverse stitch knob FELL OFF on the second use. It just plugs right back on so it wasn't a problem, but I would expect more from Singer. Also the instruction manual is useless. The instructions are incomplete and vague, and the layout is confusing as well because each step is translated into four languages. Make sure you watch the dvd and keep it handy as you learn your way around this very simple machine. The dvd is very clear and geared toward beginners. I found it very helpful. I think this machine is ideal for beginners. One concern I have is growing out of it. Not for a while for me of course, but were I more skilled, I might feel a bit limited by this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
farrcourt
White Plains NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for Beginners
1/5/2012

Customer review by rosie37

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by rosie37
by rosie37

I received this machine as a gift two years ago and love it. I have used it to make numerous items including curtains, little girl dresses, toddler clothes, women's tops and at least a dozen pair of pajama pants and sleep shorts. I have read all the previous reviews and am wondering if they were for the same model as I have had no such problems with my model 3116. The manual is very clear and easy to understand how to operate and care for my machine. My favorite feature is the needle threader and the button hole foot. Who knew making button holes was so EASY?! The only problem I have encountered is the thread will bunch up on the bottom of my work at times and I have noticed this usually happens after I have changed my thread (not every time, but every once in a while). Simple solution is to re-thread :). All in all, I am very happy with this machine and would recommend it to any beginner to start out with.

rosie37
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for!
11/3/2010

Customer review by anmllvr

2.0 stars 11/3/2010 by anmllvr
by anmllvr

What a surprise to me when I started to sew with my new machine.:{ I want to have my old one back. I wasn't using it at the time so I gave it to a little old lady. So she could make things to sell. I since, have not been able to find her to get my favorite sewing machine in a cabinet. :( I too have quite a few complaints about this machine. The reverse knob is off, it feels like it is stripped. This was very cheaply made product. I was going to order a replacement part, but it sounds like more people have the same problem and it goes on back order. It wasn't very easy to get the thread tension set for any of the decorative functions. I am still trying to get use to the reverse knob way up front. Also the pressure foot release seems to get caught, then the foot is off. Never figured out the needle threader, but it would be helpful since our eyes have a hard time threading it now that I'm older than when I first started sewing. I do like the ease of threading the machine. It is also light weight thats a good thing. I will be looking for a different machine or go back to an older model.

anmllvr
Would recommend to a friend? No
It's worth the money and then some...
12/8/2007

Customer review by Ressa

4.0 stars 12/8/2007 by Ressa
by Ressa

This is my very first sewing machine and I love it. It works great, easy to learn and use. I couldn't give it five stars for "Overall" because the bobbin does give me problems occassionally, but all you have to do is adjust it. It doesn't hinder the sewing process and not really that big of a deal. Although the problem could be attributed to my skill level :sulk:. I also wish it had the double stitch option. I fear I may have to upgrade within a year. Anyway, I would buy again. Wait a minute, I AM buying it again for a relative who wants a great machine at a low price. I don't normally write reviews, but I just HAD to boost the rating to keep it from getting a bad rep. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ressa
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
IT STINKS!!!
1/27/2008

Customer review by Gunther9

1.0 stars 1/27/2008 by Gunther9
by Gunther9

As a first time sewer I decided to buy this machine.seeing it was on Sale at Target for $99.00 I didn't want anything with any bells or whitsles ( I'll wait til I become a pro sewer) Seeing that it says SIMPLE SEWING MACHINE I wouldn't have any problems because I know how to read a manual and instructions booklets. Well long story short the thread kept bunching up needle kept getting stuck and when I took out the bobbin the metal pieces where the bobbin was to go, came out along with the bobbin. I decided this will be going back to Target tomorrow. I'm not about to play mechanic with this machine. I will be getting an even cheaper one that will be easier for a beginner like me to work on. Its a shame it's such a beautiful machine I just really thought it would be sturdy as it is beautiful.. Oh well :\

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gunther9
Glendale NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
easy to use
7/30/2007

Customer review by sewinginhawaii

4.0 stars 7/30/2007 by sewinginhawaii
by sewinginhawaii
Walmart associate

very easy to use and i'm so happy that i got it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sewinginhawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Would NOT Recommend
9/6/2008

Customer review by InfantryWife22

1.0 stars 9/6/2008 by InfantryWife22
by InfantryWife22

I bought this product and returned it the next day. I make custom made Military Products for Military Wives and Military Families. I used this machine for 1 day. It sewed alright the first few stitches, but then all of a sudden the machine stopped sewing. The machine would make a loud, annoying click sound and stop sewing altogether. I had to raise the needle and start over, again same thing happened. Then the machine tore my material and I had to start over with new material. I got fed up with the machine, took it back and got my money back on it! I would NOT recomment this machine to anyone, it's a terrible machine and it's not worth the time and money. Please, save yourself the $99.97 + tax and buy a different machine!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InfantryWife22
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Little machine that could
10/5/2010

Customer review by Cris

4.0 stars 10/5/2010 by Cris
by Cris

We were on a budget and bought this machine about three years ago. It immediately developed a squeak which no amount of oil has managed to quell but that just adds to it's charm ;) I can honestly say I've gotten my money's worth - I'm a machine quilter and between my quilts and other side projects, that little sewing machine has been through far more than it was ever meant to. I actually came online to look into replacing the belts, which are pretty tired and got sidetracked here. I have long since outgrown this machine and am saving up for something much bigger, faster and stronger. In the meantime it just chugs along. I doubt that it will last 50+ years like the old Singers do but few thing will these days. It's a great little machine for a beginner or occassional sewer.

Cris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible Machine
12/19/2007

Customer review by SingerSimpleBuyer

2.0 stars 12/19/2007 by SingerSimpleBuyer
by SingerSimpleBuyer

Anyone who plans on buying this machine...STOP! Read this review. I bought this machine for my 14 year old daughter, who wanted to start a quilting/sewing class. It worked great at first, she loved it. After about a month, she noticed that the auto threader DID NOT WORK. She wasn't upset, because she could thread the needle herself. Well, now, about 6 months later, she hates it! When sewing, the thread comes out of the needle and goes up into the machine, frays, and gets caught. She has had EVERYONE at the class thread it, and no matter what she does, it still comes out. I would say that you get what you pay for, and this machine is just terrible. It is a total waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SingerSimpleBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
STAY AWAY!!!!
11/22/2008

Customer review by KJMuss

1.0 stars 11/22/2008 by KJMuss
by KJMuss

Alright so I got this machine as a gift from my mom and I was so excited it was unbelievable. However my excitement soon came to dissapointment as before I even used it it was broken. So I took it back and got another and it worked awesome I had done some small things around the house but nothing major so I decided to take a sewing class. The class was great and I learned so much it was AMAZING until a week after the class ended and I was making pillows and it broke AGAIN!!!! I loved this machine and now am so disappointing that it is broke again. It works good for a while but I wouldn't put much trust in it. I have to take it back to the store and get another. The only suggestion is that if you get this keep the receipt because I have had mine for only 6 months and it is broke again, why cant they make them like they used to!! I want my moms 1967 Bernida :D

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJMuss
Boise Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews