Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 48 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Works very nice
8/4/2008

Customer review by Grampa23

5.0 stars 8/4/2008 by Grampa23
by Grampa23

It installed easy enough. It is very solid and works well. I really didn't like that it won't open all the way because it opens into a hallway. So I had to be creative in the way I mounted the hinges to the wall. It turned out better than I had hoped and gives a great piece of mind knowing that my grand daughter is safe.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grampa23
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
exactly what I was looking for.
5/24/2008

Customer review by svnreyn

4.0 stars 5/24/2008 by svnreyn
by svnreyn

I was amazed when I seen this product. It was exactly what I was looking for so I ordered it, it came promtly I suprisingly installed it that evening successfully because I'm use to somekind of obstical or delay but so far it is working out just fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
svnreyn
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!!
2/2/2008

Customer review by Meeree

5.0 stars 2/2/2008 by Meeree
by Meeree

I absolutely love this gate!! We are useing it in the door way between our kitchen and dinning room. This is a high traffic area and we needed something with easy one-hand operation. Tried one other and looked at several other gates and this was the one I decided on. I would definately recommend it and I'm thinking about getting another one for another spot in my house. REASONS: Installation was easy; neutral color; heavy duty metal and plastic; no foot holds for climbing; minimal possibility for pinching small fingers; has an automatic close function, but will stay open if needed (like after the kids are in bed or if you're making several trips). The cover for the battery compartment (for the night light) has a "stopper" so the gate will only swing one way (top of stairs placement). This can be put on either side so the gate will swing either direction. We modified this by cutting the stopper off so the gate will swing both ways all the time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meeree
Central VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Baby Gate
9/3/2008

Customer review by Mommyofmaddi

5.0 stars 9/3/2008 by Mommyofmaddi
by Mommyofmaddi

We love this baby gate. It was purchased to go at the top of our stairs so I could actually get some work done will my 1 year old could play upstairs with me and I wouldn't have to worry about her. It was pretty easy to install, I did it while my husband was at work. It's super sturdy and looks nice too. I love that it doesn't have that bottom bar to step over so there is no tripping over it. I haven't used the light option as I don't think it's necessary for us. The only complaint I have is that I wish you could have to option the open it both directions. They put a stop on it so it won't open over the stairs which I understand but we need the hinges on the other side as it's awkward trying to shimmy around it. It definitly keeps our daughter safe and we will be buying another one for the bottom of the stairs soon. I gave 4 stars for the "set up" because you really need to have power tools and not mind making holes in your banister/walls.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommyofmaddi
Santa Clarita, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far so good
7/2/2007

Customer review by MWalters

4.0 stars 7/2/2007 by MWalters
by MWalters

So far we love the product. We have read a couple reviews that talk about the hardware not holding up but we haven't had a problem yet. The light feature is a great idea but ours has never worked. We didn't buy it for that feature so it didn't matter to us.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MWalters
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/12/2007

Customer review by vanylicious

4.0 stars 8/12/2007 by vanylicious
by vanylicious

We were in need of a durable baby gate we could use at the top of the stairs. After doing some web browsing I came across this one and decided to give it a try. The gate itself is very durable and we like the built in night light feature however, installing the gate was a little difficult. Even with the stencil that is provided, the instructions themselves are a little confusing. The gate is suppose to be easy to open one-handed and we find ourselves having to use both hands to get it open. Shutting it is much the same thing, we find ourselves really pushing into it to get it shut properly. There is a little indicator which lets you know if the gate is shut which is nice. Overall, we do like the gate but we believe it's a little expensive for what you actually get.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vanylicious
Las Vegas, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth every penny!
4/12/2008

Customer review by Mikemo

5.0 stars 4/12/2008 by Mikemo
by Mikemo

I love this gate and have recommended it to everyone I know that would need one. I love the light and it's not to bright to be blaring into the bedrooms. It opens easily for an adult, but not easy enough for my 4 year old to open. My daughter sleep walks now so I have it at the top of the stairs and I don't have any worries about her opening it. The bars are close enough together that she can't even stick her feet in it to climb over. It closes just as nicely, no hands needed or fumbling with it to line up. Just a small push and it locks in 2 places, the top and the bottom, so in case one doesn't catch the other on does. Even that hasn't caused any problems. It did take a while to line it up during installation but you need to be patient. Once its up its great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mikemo
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great great gate!
2/22/2008

Customer review by dizy

5.0 stars 2/22/2008 by dizy
by dizy

I was researching hoping to find a gate good enough to keep my monkey of a son off the stairs when he's on the second floor. Through reviews reading, I bought this one. It's great. It looks great! People have written that the latch was difficult to lift but we don't have any troubles with it at all. It's super easy to open and close, for us parents of course, even one handed. The light is nifty. I love that you can have the gate as high off the ground as you'd like, making it taller. My husband had someone help him install the gate considering youare drilling the thing which made it much easier. Seriously, the gate looks great, but most importantly keeps me from worrying if my kid will ever fall down the stair because I know he's not getting past it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dizy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Wonderful gate
7/29/2008

Customer review by EatYourNori

5.0 stars 7/29/2008 by EatYourNori
by EatYourNori

I really like this gate. We have it at the top of the cellar stairs which is a high traffic area in our house. The gate is heavy and sturdy yet swings easily. We did not use the screws that came with it for attaching it to the doorway. We purchased extra long ones to make sure it was secured to the wood beam behind the doorway trim. We have a five year old and he can operate the push-down-the-button-while-you-pull-up-the-handle opening mechanism. He needs to use two hands but it doesn't seem to slow him down. I like the color-coded lock. I had read some reviews that the handle was loud, but if you hold the button in while you lower the handle and then gently release the button it only makes a soft click, like flicking a light switch.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EatYourNori
Western Mass
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice...but some drawbacks
12/6/2007

Customer review by IndianaMomofFour

4.0 stars 12/6/2007 by IndianaMomofFour
by IndianaMomofFour

We purchased this product for the top of our stairs. We have a 4 year old and 11 month old as well as teenagers. I love the concept of this gate, with the light. It was easy to install, it is attractive and the light is an excellent feature. My only problem with it, is that it is a little difficult to open. My 4 old is tall but when standing on the stairs trying to go up...he cannot put enough pressure on the handle to open. I have some difficulty with strength in my hands and also find it a little difficult to push down on the handle to open. I think this is a good gate but keep in mind if you have small children that will need to open this on their own or elderly people with arthritis in their hands.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndianaMomofFour
Central Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Gate
7/18/2008

Customer review by FishinFam

4.0 stars 7/18/2008 by FishinFam
by FishinFam

After looking at lots of reviews we finally decided to try this one. Mainly becuase the price was considerably less than other gates that were reviewed well but with less bells and whistles. Installing it was a bit of a headache but other than that it really is a great gate. The template didn't match up for the lighted bar end. So we made some adjustments and it works great. We had just purchased a home with stairs and have a very busy 2 year old. I would be really surprised if he was able to figuire this one out as well as have the strength to open it. It isn't at all hard for an adult to open but from the angle of a toddler it will be more challenging.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FishinFam
MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
serves the purpose
5/12/2008

Customer review by customer112007

4.0 stars 5/12/2008 by customer112007
by customer112007

I didn't install it, but my husband complained installation is little hard and the next day when I opened the gate scrwes cameout and so did the gate. Then I remembered that I read in its reviews that they needed longer screws than the ones given with the gate and told my husband. But he tried with putting plastic grips and used the same screws and installed it again. From then its perfect. We never bought and placed the batteries for the scanner, as we never really cared about the feature. I liked the locking features as it shows green/red when its perfectly locked / not locked. I am only giving it 4 stars because we are only using it from 2 months.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
customer112007
Sterling,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great buy
9/11/2008

Customer review by Teeneylynn

5.0 stars 9/11/2008 by Teeneylynn
by Teeneylynn

I looked everywhere for a hardware mounted gate and this is the one i chose. The price is very good, gate is extremely durable. I wish there was an on/off switch for the light so i could shut it off during the day. It is extremely easy to open for an adult, but it is a little noisy when you close it (i have it at the top of the stairs right outside my daughter's bedroom) but with a little finess, you can close it very quietly. It was a little tricky to get the alignment right during installation but it was well worth the trouble!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teeneylynn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/25/2008

Customer review by superdupershopper

5.0 stars 1/25/2008 by superdupershopper
by superdupershopper

I bought this product to keep my dog (bluetick coonhound) out of the basement. He's a very large dog and has been able to knock other gates down. This one is such a great buy! I thought I'd like the motion sensor but the darn thing seemed to stay on all the time so I just shut that feature off. I'm a 26 yr old female and found it easy to install but time consuming. I would DEFINITELY recommend this product to anyone wanting to keep animals out of an area!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
superdupershopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good to keep pets out!
2/22/2008

Customer review by Megsb99

4.0 stars 2/22/2008 by Megsb99
by Megsb99

After extensive online research I chose this gate. I needed a gate that my 5 year old daughter could use but keep the puppy out of her room. I used this for a regular doorway, not the stairwell and it works great. The only bad side is it only swings one way, my 5 year old has to use both hands to open it and it is kind of hard to open all around but I am hoping she will get used to it. It also, is a pain to put up but worth the time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Megsb99
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product -- very useful features
7/24/2007

Customer review by OnlineShopAholic

5.0 stars 7/24/2007 by OnlineShopAholic
by OnlineShopAholic

Great product compared to the other three baby gates my wife & I have purchased and used. Very easy to operate. The automatic night light feature was an unexpected big plus -- especially since we're using this gate at the top of our stairs. The only drawback I could see was that this gate was the most difficult to install out of the ones we've used so far; even so, it has been well worth the hassle of installation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineShopAholic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Better than I expected!
4/13/2008

Customer review by OBXcape

5.0 stars 4/13/2008 by OBXcape
by OBXcape

I purchased three of the gates for stairways and decks. They were fairly easy to install, easy to operate and they don't look obnoxious. The motion sensors are a bit sensitive and if I could ask for one improvement it would be to be able to adjust the motion detector to suit my needs. I installed one of the gates on an outside deck and the light stayed on all night long. Not a big deal. I turned the light off.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OBXcape
Nags Head, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
8/5/2008

Customer review by RockVegasMama

5.0 stars 8/5/2008 by RockVegasMama
by RockVegasMama

This gate is a great quality product. The templates provided made installation quick and straightforward. The handle is fairly easy to open, but not easy enough for a toddler to do it. We never put the batteries in the gate to use the light function because we just don't need it, but what a great option! We have used this gate for about a week and so far really enjoy it. I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockVegasMama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
High Quality Safety Gate
3/5/2008

Customer review by BiznessBanker

5.0 stars 3/5/2008 by BiznessBanker
by BiznessBanker

Great safety gate. I am very handy and was able to install this less than 15 minutes at the top of my stairs with a special fabricated mounting system to mount it to the spindels and to the wall. I did my homework and this is the strongest and best looking safety gate that I could find on the web. You will need longer screws (2 1/2" #10) to mount the latch/light bracket securely to the wall.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BiznessBanker
Cary, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Gate for Above the Stairs
9/9/2007

Customer review by MommaOnCloud9

5.0 stars 9/9/2007 by MommaOnCloud9
by MommaOnCloud9

My husband said it wasn't the easiest to install and he's rather knowledgable on those kinds of things. Other than that, we haven't had any problems with it. Sturdy. Easy to use. We don't have a problem opening or closing the door one-handed like one of the reviewers mentioned for them. Overall, we really like the gate and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaOnCloud9
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews