Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 33 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Simplicity Defined
7/12/2007

Customer review by LadyAyn

5.0 stars 7/12/2007 by LadyAyn
by LadyAyn

I thought the days of a simple, economical product designed for one purpose were gone. Not so! This Smoothie Maker does not sell it self for anything else and WOW, does it ever make smoothies! Call them smoothies, icees, slurpees, frozen drinks or whatever. This economical piece of gadgetry handles them all. If you want a slushy frozen drink, this is the machine you need. I don't know how we made it through Texas summers without it!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyAyn
Kaufman, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Back to The Drawing board
12/4/2007

Customer review by NCBachelor

2.0 stars 12/4/2007 by NCBachelor
by NCBachelor

I previously owned a Smoothie Elite mixer which wore out after almost daily use for two years. I did not get any response from Smoothie when I wrote and called them about replacement parts, so I decided to take my business someplace else. After reading mostly positive reviews on the Back To Basics Smoothie Maker, I thought I would try it. It is a Big disappointment compared to the Smoothie Elite I previously had. Problems: 1) The top must be locked into place to run the unit. Unfortunately, the top is easily disengaged and the unit stops when adding anything through the hole in the top; 2) the unit has an auto start feature when putting a glass under the spout. Unfortunately, the opening is too small and too much pressure is required to get the valve opened. You manually have to hold a second lever to get the valve to open up to get the smoothie to flow out; 3) because the motor always operates when the mixture is flowing out the spout, as the level gets low, the blades splatter the bulk of the mixture high up against the walls of the container, defeating the purpose of "helping" the mix to flow out. Therefore, you have to remove the container from the mount and pour it out manually; 4) the actual effectiveness of the blades and mixing is much less than the Smoothie Elite. The annoyances of this unit compared to the ease of use and greater effectiveness of the Smoothie Elite are enough that I am putting the Back to Basics Smoothie Maker "out to pasture" and buying a Smoothie Elite again. I just wish they had better customer service....

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCBachelor
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Little Disappointed!
11/25/2007

Customer review by Dollmaker

3.0 stars 11/25/2007 by Dollmaker
by Dollmaker

I was excited to find a Smoothie Maker, but guess I just didn't realize that apparently nothing works well for just a single serving :-( I have purchased some freezer pop molds now and am hoping that when I make the size batch this machine wants to make, I will be able to use the rest for freezer pops. Not sure if the machine is worth what I paid for it or not having never made smoothies of the size their recipes call for. I'm guessing that this would be great for parties or at least more than one or two just wanting a smoothie for breakfast. Looks pretty good, but a bit hard to clean and does take up a bit of space on the counter.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dollmaker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Margarita Maker
1/13/2008

Customer review by Camper56

5.0 stars 1/13/2008 by Camper56
by Camper56

While this is ment for smoothies you can make some really awsome margaritas and you wont spend an arm and a leg to get it. You do need to make sure the top is completly on or it won't work, but other than that its very easy to use. I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Camper56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Back to Basics 3-Speed Auto-Serve Smoothie Maker
12/30/2007

Customer review by zonagal

5.0 stars 12/30/2007 by zonagal
by zonagal

Bought this for my teen daughter for Christmas because she smoothies. She has used it many times already on her own & loves it! Very easy & fun to use. I would buy another with out doubt.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zonagal
Cave Creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Back to Basics Smoothie maker
11/19/2007

Customer review by Shasway

5.0 stars 11/19/2007 by Shasway
by Shasway

This is the last blender type appliance you will ever have to purchase...it crushes ice to make slush, smoothies, shakes...you name it. No broken blades...it is the best. Love it! Price doesn't hurt either...giving them for Christmas gifts this year, as people observed how quickly & efficiently this worked. Can also be used for adult frozen drinks & I use it for frozen protein shakes...can't rave enough about this product. Don't hesitate to purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shasway
Revere, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very dissapointed!
11/25/2007

Customer review by cntrylvr

1.0 stars 11/25/2007 by cntrylvr
by cntrylvr

I purchased this product 3 months ago & finally used it for the first time on 11/23/07. I made 1 daiquri with it & it quit working! I know it was not anything I did wrong as I followed directions word by word. I even used teenie tiny ice pellets instead of cubes. The 1 daiquri I did manage to make with it was well blended & smooth consistency. It's a shame it won't work anymore.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cntrylvr
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
this product is awesome !!!
9/19/2007

Customer review by Sis54

5.0 stars 9/19/2007 by Sis54
by Sis54

It's everything I wanted.... It's smooth, cold, and thick,,, I love this machine.. Easy to clean, easy to use...And it looks great on the counter.. I Love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sis54
Akron , Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Back 2 Basics
10/11/2008

Customer review by MyMaggie

5.0 stars 10/11/2008 by MyMaggie
by MyMaggie

Like the Back to Basics 3-Speed Auto-Serve Smoothie Maker, very much.. I had one of the older ones with pull handle and liked it also, gave it to my daughter/grandkids... Makes great smoothies for my grandkids when they visit... Also make ice coffee drinks etc. with it... Great price and Wal-Mart is the only place I could find it with such a good $$ value ($30)...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyMaggie
So. Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Blends well
6/15/2009

Customer review by Ilovesmoothies

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Ilovesmoothies
by Ilovesmoothies

This smoothie maker blends the ice well and makes very good smoothies. The dispenser is very convenient and less messy than having to pour.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ilovesmoothies
Lincolnton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/10/2007

Customer review by luv2shop13

5.0 stars 10/10/2007 by luv2shop13
by luv2shop13

The smoothie maker is excellent! Have not had any problems with it so far and I absolutely love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luv2shop13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smoothie for ever
10/13/2007

Customer review by ToisMom

5.0 stars 10/13/2007 by ToisMom
by ToisMom

This is an exellent product It met all my expectations and more. Easy clean-up

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToisMom
Savannah Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
exactly what we wanted
7/4/2007

Customer review by chachimcc

5.0 stars 7/4/2007 by chachimcc
by chachimcc

it looks very nice in the kitchen and works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chachimcc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ice crusher
7/3/2009

Customer review by ljl7369

5.0 stars 7/3/2009 by ljl7369
by ljl7369

this is my second one I bought, the first one lasted abourt 4 years and it was used quite often, so I did not hesitate too buy a new one, It makes great shakes and its the best at really crushing ice

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ljl7369
ware , ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very Very Helpful
7/9/2008

Customer review by MsDEDE

5.0 stars 7/9/2008 by MsDEDE
by MsDEDE

We had over 50 guest on the 4 of July. This Blender made so many drinks I just new the motor was going to burn out but the next day we made somemore it worked just great. The stir stick and spout was so great you do not have alot of spillage when pouring drinks. I would like to have one bigger and with more speeds.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsDEDE
B'ham AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
well designed
5/15/2008

Customer review by foodie520

5.0 stars 5/15/2008 by foodie520
by foodie520

If you are looking for a smoothie maker, this is the way to go. It pulverizes ice. It is worth the extra $10 for this model. The auto dispenser is very convenient and does not drip like the cheaper model. Also the the pitcher and lid lock into place. They do not on the cheaper model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foodie520
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smoothie maker
5/26/2009

Customer review by Sherann

5.0 stars 5/26/2009 by Sherann
by Sherann

I returned a basic blender and ordered this one based on the reviews. I love it! It makes great smoothies and great frosty mixed drinks like Mudslides and Margaritas. It has a very nice feature that I didnt know about which was the drink dispenser. It turns the mixer on as you despense your drink which stirs the drink in the piture. I am very happy with this product. It also has fill lines for drink and ice line, which takes the guess work out of how much ice to use. If you follow it, you will have a perfect drink.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sherann
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
12/19/2009

Customer review by mocha424

5.0 stars 12/19/2009 by mocha424
by mocha424

I took this machine to work and we had a smoothie day. The machine worked very well and the only problem that I ran into came from human error. I did not have lid on properly and machine would not start up. After realizing the problem everything went well and I have to admit that I was very glad of that little safety feature. I would recommend this machine to anyone because it is easy to use and everything you need to know about how to make a delicious smoothie is on the side of container.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mocha424
Yuma, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Back to Basic Smoothie Maker
7/27/2009

Customer review by GoCubsGo

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by GoCubsGo
by GoCubsGo

When I burned out the motor on my daughter's smoothie maker, I searched the internet for a similiar one at a good price. I finally found one at the Walmart Site to Store site. It took a while to come, but my daughter wasn't in a hurry. She said I didn't need to replace it, but I felt it was my duty. Now that she has it, she loves it. Highly recommends it to others.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoCubsGo
Joliet, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
fun to use
8/11/2008

Customer review by bpc1

4.0 stars 8/11/2008 by bpc1
by bpc1

My husband and I are really into smoothies and this seemed to be the perfect appliance for us when we needed a new blender. You have to very carefully align everything, but then it works great!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bpc1
rural Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews