Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 53 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
9/6/2009

Customer review by BoogersMommy

4.0 stars 9/6/2009 by BoogersMommy
by BoogersMommy

This gate is convenient and super easy to open! Extra tall means EXTRA TALL, the photo is not of the extra tall gate. It comes up to my belly button and I am 5'7". Probably NOT SO GOOD FOR STAIRS with a banister on one side because it takes a lot of pressure to get it to work right and it is pushing my banister out making it a little crooked. The opening is slightly narrow, but not too bad. My baby is only 12mo old, and I have a feeling that he will be able to yank it open when he gets a little older because it doesn't lock very tight and I would not use it at the top of the stairs for this reason. You have to be careful measuring because it may MAY NOT FIT EVERY OPENING listed. I WOULD recommend it because it is easy for me to open and has the auto close thing for when my older child forgets to close it. Also he can not climb over it because it has no horizontal bars. And you can reverse the direction it opens in which is nice.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoogersMommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Worth It
11/2/2007

Customer review by DCProvider

1.0 stars 11/2/2007 by DCProvider
by DCProvider

I bought two of these gates because I liked that they were tall and you can walk through them. However, the pressure mounts just don't hold up. My husband is constantly having to re-tighten them. The rubber on the end of the pressure mounts wore off and has fallen off. We have to use puzzle pieces between the mounts and the walls to help hold the gate in place. Needless to say, the gates are pretty much useless now because my two year-old can bust through them by just pushing hard if he wants to. They just don't seem durable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCProvider
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WILL NOT FIT A 43 INCH OPENING
1/1/2010

Customer review by tulsamomof3

1.0 stars 1/1/2010 by tulsamomof3
by tulsamomof3

When installing this gate, I found that it WILL NOT WORK in a 43 inch opening. I followed the instructions for a 43 inch opening by using both the 5 and10 inch extension pieces. However, when these two extension pieces are attached to the gate, it makes the gate 44 inches wide which WILL NOT fit into a 43 inch opening! I attempted to use only the 10 inch extension, as per the instructions for an opening 42 1/2 inches wide. This too did not work as the tension bolts were not long enough to tighten the gate enough for the walk through door to close properly and the gate to be securely tightenend. It would fall right over. It seems like it might be a pretty good gate for the price but only if your opening is 1/2 inch more or less than 43 inches.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tulsamomof3
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Will Purchase Another, in Addition to The First
9/11/2010

Customer review by TwoSweets

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by TwoSweets
by TwoSweets

We bought this gate because we were not wanting to put holes in our walls, etc. I love that it's metal, a pressure mount gate, and you can change it to fit your opening. Since it is metal, it's very sturdy and ours still looks like it did when we bought it to use on our first child. We've used it at the bottom of the stairs, mounted to wood. We're going to be putting it back in the same place and buying another to go at the top of the stairs, or vise versa. It has NEVER come loose or had any problems what-so-ever for us. If you have an unruly child and your child breaks things, then I would definitely suggest getting one that screws into the wall, etc. But, for us, this gate has worked wonderfully!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TwoSweets
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Good gate, minor glitches
7/14/2007

Customer review by izzy

4.0 stars 7/14/2007 by izzy
by izzy

This gate is good and sturdy and nicely tall. The gate we got seems to have been bent a little so it takes quite a bit of compression to get the top part of the gate to latch sturdily, but once it does, it's good and secure. Didn't bother returning it since we can make it work. Opening with one hand is doable but not the easiest if I am attempting to use my less dominant hand. I have only had it up a few days, so we'll see if it continues to be a good gate. The walk through portion of the gate is small, but when we needed to move furniture upstairs, it was easy enough to take down the whole thing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
izzy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
they've changed it
2/22/2009

Customer review by momoftwoTX

4.0 stars 2/22/2009 by momoftwoTX
by momoftwoTX

I have two of these gates. I've had for one for about 6 months and I love it. The newer one that I have had for about two weeks is still nicer than many gates out there but not as nice as the older one. The newer one does not swing closed (and latch) like the older one, this is actually very bothersome when you have a young child in the house that doesn't always remember to close things.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momoftwoTX
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible!
12/18/2007

Customer review by 3girls4us

1.0 stars 12/18/2007 by 3girls4us
by 3girls4us

We purchased two gates only three months ago and they are both broken now! They do not install easily, nor do they always "swing shut." They can be pushed over fairly easily if not tightened on a weekly basis (if not daily). Spend your money elsewhere. This product is not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3girls4us
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gate has a weak hinge made of plastic that breaks.
6/3/2014

Customer review by EmaSue56

1.0 stars 6/3/2014 by EmaSue56
by EmaSue56

I bought this gate a couple years ago. I only used it when my small grandchildren were here. I was really disappointed when the hinge that holds the gate door onto the gate itself broke. It is made of plastic and doesn't hold up. My daughter liked my gate so she drove an hour away to buy one. It only lasted a month before the same plastic part broke on hers also. They taped it up but it falls apart and won't hold. So they will have to take it back. I can't take mine back as the return window is closed. I am going to try to get in touch with the company and see if they can send me the part so I can at least repair it and try again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EmaSue56
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better than expected
8/30/2007

Customer review by NewSoutherner

5.0 stars 8/30/2007 by NewSoutherner
by NewSoutherner

I brought the gate to keep my small dogs on my front porch. The gate is really secure; it works well; and it compliments the white railing on my new front porch.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewSoutherner
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buying for a second time
9/8/2007

Customer review by CaliforniaNative

5.0 stars 9/8/2007 by CaliforniaNative
by CaliforniaNative

We purchased this gate 6 months ago to mount on our bedroom door to keep the cat out, but allow air to circulate into the room. We just bought a second one to put on our guest room. We had no challenges installing the gate and are constantly going in and out of it. It's very stable and secure on our 32"w door frame. I find it very convenient to open with one hand when I'm loaded down with laundry or whatever I'm bringing into the room - much easier than those ones you have to step on to release. As for price - this was $10 less than the price we paid at another retailer for the last one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaliforniaNative
San Mateo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Not at all what I expected
6/26/2008

Customer review by Monkey615

2.0 stars 6/26/2008 by Monkey615
by Monkey615

The gate was not very easy to put up. The instructions were not at all helpful. The way the gate is made you have to tighten it really tight to make the door line up right and now where the extension is on mine its bows out a little. I'm not really sure how sturdy this thing will be. I guess it will hopefully last a little while. I think if you have a kid that’s pretty aggressive and will rattle and pull on it this gate will not work for you. The gate already had undone itself somehow and I have to tighten it again. The door is not as sturdy of a latch as I hoped it would be my dog already knows how to open it and she's just a little rat terrier.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monkey615
Nashville TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gate opening too narrow
2/9/2011

Customer review by thelvgrl

1.0 stars 2/9/2011 by thelvgrl
by thelvgrl

This gate's opening is only 18 1/2 inches wide. With it being so tall it is impossible to get yourself thru carrying packages never mind a baby.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thelvgrl
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great product
4/4/2008

Customer review by fox7

5.0 stars 4/4/2008 by fox7
by fox7

I've been using this gate for at least a month. It was easy to set up. Does not hard mount but comes with screw in cups to keep the pressure mount in place. Easy to use one hand latch. Nice and tall to keep my son where i need him and 2 100+ lb dogs behind it. I recommend!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fox7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great gate!
6/13/2008

Customer review by JeaninPA

5.0 stars 6/13/2008 by JeaninPA
by JeaninPA

I've found this gate to be far superior to the ones I've purchased in the past. It's easy to install, looks nice, and is much easier for my husband to open and close. It's also easy for my four year old to open and close, which is important since she goes up and down the steps 100 times a day. We use it now to keep the dogs downstairs and will eventually use it to keep my infant from climbing up the stairs. If you are trying to keep a toddler from escaping, it might not work because of it's easy opening / closing, depending on how clever the kid is! The only problem I've had is that since it is filling a 47" opening, it is extended almost as far as it will go, and if an adult pushes on it REALLY hard, it will become dislodged and require a fresh installation. I would buy it again....that is, until I see how well it keeps my daughter from climbing the stairs later!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeaninPA
Lake Silkworth, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very durable
4/6/2008

Customer review by 1busymomof2

5.0 stars 4/6/2008 by 1busymomof2
by 1busymomof2

I have 2 and I love them! They close on their own and are even durable enough to withstand my HUGE dog and destructive and daring little boys.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1busymomof2
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/13/2008

Customer review by Funnygranny1

5.0 stars 6/13/2008 by Funnygranny1
by Funnygranny1

This gate was a perfect size for our stairs the only problem that I did not see when I purchased it was you have to drill holes and screw in stability cups if you use it on stairs. I had to drill holes in my banister. But it is better that having my grandson fall down the stairs. It is very nice that you can open it with 1 hand and it closes by itself.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Funnygranny1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Worth the Money
2/3/2008

Customer review by Enaid

5.0 stars 2/3/2008 by Enaid
by Enaid

This gate does everything that I wanted. It keeps the dogs out of the baby's room. It closes behind you and latches so that if you have your hands full you don't have to go back and latch it. It swings open with ease and is tall enough that the dogs cannot jump over it as they have other gates in the past. I am very pleased with this product and would recommend it to pet owners as well as parents of small children.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Enaid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellant walk-thru gate
2/11/2008

Customer review by caligirlfromoaktown

5.0 stars 2/11/2008 by caligirlfromoaktown
by caligirlfromoaktown

Easy to assemble and set up. Excellent for containing my small dogs. One of them can climb fence-like gates. This gate has no "crossbars" to climb.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caligirlfromoaktown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A+ Product!
1/4/2008

Customer review by TitansMom

5.0 stars 1/4/2008 by TitansMom
by TitansMom

Love this gate! We have 3 dogs and a cat. We have been using the wooden/mesh doggie gates for years. But, one of our Cocker Spaniels is a jumper! He can scale those mesh gates in nothing flat! Also needed something the cat could get thru, as she uses the doggie door to go outside :-) We saw this product on Wal-Mart site and said wow, this might work for us! I love the vertical/metal bars! Bucky can't climb them! With a bit of modification of one extension, my husband was able to make a space large enough for the cat to get thru, yet not the dogs :-) Us humans LOVE the ease of opening the door and walking thru! No more stepping over wooden gates and no more Bucky jumping the gate at 3:00 AM! So far, very sturdy and has stayed exactly where we put it. The dogs don't push it or jump on it, so there has been no movement from original position. My husband installed it in @ 10 minutes, was very easy. Looks much nicer than that old wooden and plastic gate(s) we were using! We love it so much, we have recently ordered a 2nd one to install in den door opening. We are very, very happy with this gate. It has definitely solved the case of the jumping dog for us! We have two dogs in @ 35 pound range, one @ 16 lbs and a cat - so far it's contained them all - and we just love the walk thru door! TitansMom

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TitansMom
La Vergne, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to setup, reliable
11/2/2007

Customer review by ducky664

5.0 stars 11/2/2007 by ducky664
by ducky664

Very useful gate for the price. Sturdy, and reliable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ducky664
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews