Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

50 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

50 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
12
1-20 of 44 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Piece of junk!!!
7/14/2016

Customer review by 3kidsdad

1.0 stars 7/14/2016 by 3kidsdad
by 3kidsdad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Doesn't work hardly at all piece of cheap garbage!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3kidsdad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ultra III gets the job done.
5/22/2009

Customer review by jwilkers

4.0 stars 5/22/2009 by jwilkers
by jwilkers

I got this radio due to its low cost and my liking the Cobra 19 series. This radio has met my expectations. Sound quality on receive and transmit have been superb. Ranges on transmit and receive are within expected standards for CB radios, based on my configuration. For a CB radio you must take into consideration your vehicle type and antenna configuration. A high quality antenna will outperform a cheapie. The FCC limits power output and other specifications. This radio will perform the same as other radios costing many times more. You get the bonus of a modern-looking radio that easily fits in small spaces at a very good cost.

Was this review helpful? (66) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwilkers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Used for Volunteer Service
2/13/2016

Customer review by Jordan

4.0 stars 2/13/2016 by Jordan
by Jordan

My group of mobile neighborhood watch and roadside assistance volunteers use this CB radio exclusively. In-city range (for us, lower density housing and tree lined streets) is approximately a quarter mile to a half mile, pending weather conditions. These radios have been in service for our group from 2013 up to the present (early 2016). The radios are in service with 35" antennas. The good - As long as decently close to each other in our operational areas, radio transmissions are clear and crisp, and the 4 watt transmissions are a good jump up from the standard 2 watt walkie-talkie. A very simple radio to operate, all-time lighted display, and an adequate speaker for easy listening at city or highway speeds. The bad - In very cold weather, the speaker in these units can fail permanently. Perhaps they do otherwise, but after a vicious cold snap in our area, the speaker on my car's CB radio failed. Additionally, the radio will occasionally kick up or down a channel, which may cause you or someone listening to you to miss at least one radio transmission. Just keep an eye on the radio while you use it, and do a short squelch test when you turn the radio on. Overall, especially for the price, I am satisfied with these radios and would recommend them for really anyone. The longer antennas really do help a lot; we get much better reception with these than from the 17" units. Stay safe, and thank you for reading!

Was this review helpful? (19) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jordan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice basic CB radio
3/27/2008

Customer review by maxims45

4.0 stars 3/27/2008 by maxims45
by maxims45

Hi to everyone! This is a basic functionality CB radio. It has 40 channels, 4 mW power. I have installed this radio with 22' magnetic base antenna on my car - it works fine. With this antenna the range for transmit is 2-4 miles. Below are my comments: (+) controls are convenient (+) microphone is comfortable (+) indication is bright and clear (+) relatively small in size (-) does not store a channel between power off In general I'm quite satisfied with this radio and I would recommend this device as a starting point if you want to get into the world of CB radio on the road. (If you consider cell phone + traffic radio + GPS better - do not buy this radio :-) ). Thank you, Max

Was this review helpful? (37) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maxims45
St. Petersburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great inexpensive cb
6/28/2016

Customer review by Rdy2dive

5.0 stars 6/28/2016 by Rdy2dive
by Rdy2dive
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for towing and camping. Works great for short-range communication

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rdy2dive
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very poor recieve
4/27/2016

Customer review by superbird71

2.0 stars 4/27/2016 by superbird71
by superbird71

I had this radio in a Freightliner Cascadia hooked to a brand new 4ft Firestick NGP antenna setup and the receive was horrible- picked up only the very strongest of signals, less than a mile receive range. CB shop said get a Cobra 29--- so I did. I did like the simplicity of the 19 and its small size. I drive at night and found the back lighting to be too bright as well. I will try it in my car and see if its any better in there. Save your money for a better model.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
superbird71
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor Quality Transceiver
10/28/2013

Customer review by QRZQRZ

1.0 stars 10/28/2013 by QRZQRZ
by QRZQRZ

If you intend to use this radio to transmit, you may be in for a surprise. I was, three times. Of three Cobra 19 Ultra III CB Radio's purchased from Walmart, none properly transmitted modulated audio under normal conditions (voices transmitted are very, very weak when received by another radio). My operating conditions included a quality amateur radio antenna tuned to resonate at the operating frequency of 27.185 Mhz (Ch 19). On two of the radios, I followed the functional test from within the vehicle with a bench test which included a power meter and dummy load. The radios would produce 3-3.5 watt carrier with minimal meter deflection under normal operating conditions. Normal talking with the mic held close to the face resulted in very minimal deflection above the power produced by the carrier. Yelling loudly produced a slight deflection of the meter to near 4 watts. Although audio was being transmitted, under these conditions (yelling), the transmitted audio was distorted and garbled (during the functional test). The only recommendation I would give for this radio is that someone in the Quality Control department of either Cobra or Walmart give this product an evaluation as the three that I have worked with have been virtually useless with respect to their intended purpose.

Was this review helpful? (28) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QRZQRZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
bang for the buck
7/4/2009

Customer review by stin

5.0 stars 7/4/2009 by stin
by stin

this is a great starter radio and its a great radio for the price. i run this radio in my car and an old Royce 619 at my house and i can be heard crystal clear all around. although, if you do the right modifications and/or know the right people, it really makes for a good radio. one thing though, i strongly recommend that if you do buy this radio you should get an extension speaker and a power mic and a good antenna. this really brings out the goods in this radio

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stin
berkeley heights, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not that bad
12/3/2007

Customer review by mspboy

4.0 stars 12/3/2007 by mspboy
by mspboy

i really didnt have too big of problem with it,all my chanells work and for those of you who said u didnt get great coverage,try a longer antenna and buy an upgraded microphone. for 35 dollars its not bad. i take long trips all the time,and i always get travelers assistance and directions if i need them. and the cb unit itself its quite small which i prefer in my car

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mspboy
blandford,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not To Sure
1/10/2010

Customer review by Johny4x4

2.0 stars 1/10/2010 by Johny4x4
by Johny4x4
Walmart associate

I bought this Cb radio with high hopes, but after i got everything hooked up i soon figured out that problems quickly arose. I had bought all the neccassary items and could'nt wait to use it. But the biggest problem that i want to focus on is that it would recieve fairly well, but it would not transmit a lick. i bought a 5 ft. antenna with a bolt mount, ive been told several things that may be wats wrong but none seem to have done anything to help work. Ive moved the antenna around on my truck with no help, wats even worse is that it picks up every bit of interference from my truck, i cant run tha Cb at the same time as my truck w/o an annoying high pitch sound. Unless ya can afford all the neccassary parts needed to enjoy the full affect that this Cb is posta bring tha owner i dont reccomend this for those that are looking for a small budget.

Was this review helpful? (9) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johny4x4
Hamptonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Radio didn't work well
3/5/2016

Customer review by Aorr

1.0 stars 3/5/2016 by Aorr
by Aorr

The radio worked good until I drove my car, the radio continuously would change channels on its own. We were. Trying to stay on. Ch 17 ,but the radio would just change on its own.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aorr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great
5/26/2015

Customer review by Wogs

5.0 stars 5/26/2015 by Wogs
by Wogs

This is a nice little CB radio for the money. The internal speaker works good, but the external speaker accessory works better. And with the external PA speaker accessory, it makes owning this ten times more fun.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wogs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor reception.
10/26/2015

Customer review by Slappyslaprabbit

1.0 stars 10/26/2015 by Slappyslaprabbit
by Slappyslaprabbit

Poor reception. I will be returning this CB.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slappyslaprabbit
Would recommend to a friend? No
A good compact CB radio for my Jeep.
7/13/2013

Customer review by Jcharlie

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by Jcharlie
by Jcharlie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A great compact CB radio for small and limited space, like a Jeep. Received radio in about 3 days.

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jcharlie
Blairsville, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A very good deal for the money
11/3/2007

Customer review by zunidbh

4.0 stars 11/3/2007 by zunidbh
by zunidbh

Very good for the beginner. It has features found in higher price units without the complication factors.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zunidbh
Hondo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Return it
4/20/2009

Customer review by CommoCal

2.0 stars 4/20/2009 by CommoCal
by CommoCal

I have a nice cobra CB I installed a few years back and I decided to buy these two radios (ultra III) and got them home and range tested them and was very disappointed. I had the wife in the driveway and I drove down the road and lost signal after 800 meters. They could recieve my tx from my older cobra from up to two miles in a suburban layout but they could not tx past 800 meters. I bought two and tested both, they are minor league. I dont suggest buying these unless you plan on just LISTENING to conversations. You get what you pay for....

Was this review helpful? (7) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CommoCal
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wreat for price
9/23/2013

Customer review by alemanote

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by alemanote
by alemanote
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

wreat radio, with a K40 antenna works good

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alemanote
calexico, california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use and install
6/29/2015

Customer review by Truthful

1.0 stars 6/29/2015 by Truthful
by Truthful

It was easy for me to use and was just as easy to install with a drill to put in only 2 screws. The only thing I didn't like was that the hand set felt a little big and bulky, but I very quickly got use to the feel. I also wish that the box or even the instructions had said something about how big of an antenna I should use, so that I wouldn't have ended up stuck with such a low power antenna (300 watts).

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Truthful
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Value
7/5/2014

Customer review by outch

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by outch
by outch
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very good CB for the money. My wife and I needed a way to communicate while moving from Phoenix to the Texas Panhandle, I was driving the U-Haul truck and she was driving the car. These Radio's did the job

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
outch
Litchfield Park, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Pleased
4/21/2008

Customer review by 2old

5.0 stars 4/21/2008 by 2old
by 2old

Radio was easy to install and seemed to work very well. Very good radio selection when mounting space is limited. Good value for price. Would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2old
Brigham City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews