Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

44 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 38 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Ultra III gets the job done.
5/22/2009

Customer review by jwilkers

4.0 stars 5/22/2009 by jwilkers
by jwilkers

I got this radio due to its low cost and my liking the Cobra 19 series. This radio has met my expectations. Sound quality on receive and transmit have been superb. Ranges on transmit and receive are within expected standards for CB radios, based on my configuration. For a CB radio you must take into consideration your vehicle type and antenna configuration. A high quality antenna will outperform a cheapie. The FCC limits power output and other specifications. This radio will perform the same as other radios costing many times more. You get the bonus of a modern-looking radio that easily fits in small spaces at a very good cost.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jwilkers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice basic CB radio
3/27/2008

Customer review by maxims45

4.0 stars 3/27/2008 by maxims45
by maxims45

Hi to everyone! This is a basic functionality CB radio. It has 40 channels, 4 mW power. I have installed this radio with 22' magnetic base antenna on my car - it works fine. With this antenna the range for transmit is 2-4 miles. Below are my comments: (+) controls are convenient (+) microphone is comfortable (+) indication is bright and clear (+) relatively small in size (-) does not store a channel between power off In general I'm quite satisfied with this radio and I would recommend this device as a starting point if you want to get into the world of CB radio on the road. (If you consider cell phone + traffic radio + GPS better - do not buy this radio :-) ). Thank you, Max

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maxims45
St. Petersburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
not that bad
12/3/2007

Customer review by mspboy

4.0 stars 12/3/2007 by mspboy
by mspboy

i really didnt have too big of problem with it,all my chanells work and for those of you who said u didnt get great coverage,try a longer antenna and buy an upgraded microphone. for 35 dollars its not bad. i take long trips all the time,and i always get travelers assistance and directions if i need them. and the cb unit itself its quite small which i prefer in my car

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mspboy
blandford,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poor Quality Transceiver
10/28/2013

Customer review by QRZQRZ

1.0 stars 10/28/2013 by QRZQRZ
by QRZQRZ

If you intend to use this radio to transmit, you may be in for a surprise. I was, three times. Of three Cobra 19 Ultra III CB Radio's purchased from Walmart, none properly transmitted modulated audio under normal conditions (voices transmitted are very, very weak when received by another radio). My operating conditions included a quality amateur radio antenna tuned to resonate at the operating frequency of 27.185 Mhz (Ch 19). On two of the radios, I followed the functional test from within the vehicle with a bench test which included a power meter and dummy load. The radios would produce 3-3.5 watt carrier with minimal meter deflection under normal operating conditions. Normal talking with the mic held close to the face resulted in very minimal deflection above the power produced by the carrier. Yelling loudly produced a slight deflection of the meter to near 4 watts. Although audio was being transmitted, under these conditions (yelling), the transmitted audio was distorted and garbled (during the functional test). The only recommendation I would give for this radio is that someone in the Quality Control department of either Cobra or Walmart give this product an evaluation as the three that I have worked with have been virtually useless with respect to their intended purpose.

Was this review helpful? (16) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QRZQRZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
bang for the buck
7/4/2009

Customer review by stin

5.0 stars 7/4/2009 by stin
by stin

this is a great starter radio and its a great radio for the price. i run this radio in my car and an old Royce 619 at my house and i can be heard crystal clear all around. although, if you do the right modifications and/or know the right people, it really makes for a good radio. one thing though, i strongly recommend that if you do buy this radio you should get an extension speaker and a power mic and a good antenna. this really brings out the goods in this radio

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stin
berkeley heights, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wreat for price
9/23/2013

Customer review by alemanote

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by alemanote
by alemanote

wreat radio, with a K40 antenna works good

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alemanote
calexico, california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A good compact CB radio for my Jeep.
7/13/2013

Customer review by Jcharlie

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by Jcharlie
by Jcharlie

A great compact CB radio for small and limited space, like a Jeep. Received radio in about 3 days.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jcharlie
Blairsville, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value
7/5/2014

Customer review by outch

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by outch
by outch

This is a very good CB for the money. My wife and I needed a way to communicate while moving from Phoenix to the Texas Panhandle, I was driving the U-Haul truck and she was driving the car. These Radio's did the job

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outch
Litchfield Park, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Return it
4/20/2009

Customer review by CommoCal

2.0 stars 4/20/2009 by CommoCal
by CommoCal

I have a nice cobra CB I installed a few years back and I decided to buy these two radios (ultra III) and got them home and range tested them and was very disappointed. I had the wife in the driveway and I drove down the road and lost signal after 800 meters. They could recieve my tx from my older cobra from up to two miles in a suburban layout but they could not tx past 800 meters. I bought two and tested both, they are minor league. I dont suggest buying these unless you plan on just LISTENING to conversations. You get what you pay for....

Was this review helpful? (6) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CommoCal
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
i like this compact cb not big price appearnace ..
1/16/2014

Customer review by buzzardhead

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by buzzardhead
by buzzardhead

i wanted this cd radio I like all brands the price appearance is all I need its small enough to fit . I would suggest this to any1ne it depends on the person k. gary

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buzzardhead
conway,ark.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
5/26/2015

Customer review by Wogs

5.0 stars 5/26/2015 by Wogs
by Wogs

This is a nice little CB radio for the money. The internal speaker works good, but the external speaker accessory works better. And with the external PA speaker accessory, it makes owning this ten times more fun.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wogs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/20/2013

Customer review by Meme27537

4.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Meme27537
by Meme27537

Great

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meme27537
Henderson nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well ...
9/10/2014

Customer review by OOUA

3.0 stars 9/10/2014 by OOUA
by OOUA

It works !

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OOUA
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not To Sure
1/10/2010

Customer review by Johny4x4

2.0 stars 1/10/2010 by Johny4x4
by Johny4x4

I bought this Cb radio with high hopes, but after i got everything hooked up i soon figured out that problems quickly arose. I had bought all the neccassary items and could'nt wait to use it. But the biggest problem that i want to focus on is that it would recieve fairly well, but it would not transmit a lick. i bought a 5 ft. antenna with a bolt mount, ive been told several things that may be wats wrong but none seem to have done anything to help work. Ive moved the antenna around on my truck with no help, wats even worse is that it picks up every bit of interference from my truck, i cant run tha Cb at the same time as my truck w/o an annoying high pitch sound. Unless ya can afford all the neccassary parts needed to enjoy the full affect that this Cb is posta bring tha owner i dont reccomend this for those that are looking for a small budget.

Was this review helpful? (5) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Johny4x4
Hamptonville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
No Sound After Just 2 Days
6/22/2014

Customer review by Bloodlet

1.0 stars 6/22/2014 by Bloodlet
by Bloodlet

Worked great for 2 days. I felt this was a great value, but on day 3 I could not get any sound out of the internal speaker. I had my volume all the way up and adjusted my squelch to the max, a signal was displayed, but I could only barley hear the squelch, with my ear on the speaker. This day n age, you just never know what you are going to get. Corners are cut in manufacturing and assembly everywhere.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bloodlet
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Bargain
1/21/2010

Customer review by Samz0r

4.0 stars 1/21/2010 by Samz0r
by Samz0r

Does what it needs to, in a small inexpensive package. less features than other models, but that is to be expected. my only complaint is that its tuned to channel one every time you turn it on rather than saving your last used channel, but the instant 9/19 makes this a non issue for me.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samz0r
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good starter CB
2/8/2014

Customer review by Trucker15206

4.0 stars 2/8/2014 by Trucker15206
by Trucker15206

Good starter CB.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trucker15206
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cb swlwction
10/15/2007

Customer review by jk12

1.0 stars 10/15/2007 by jk12
by jk12

I RETURNERD THE PRODUCT,COULD NOT GET CONVERSATIONS ON CHANNELS

Was this review helpful? (5) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jk12
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
CB
12/17/2008

Customer review by Ruben123

5.0 stars 12/17/2008 by Ruben123
by Ruben123

I recomend this product because i use it every day i hear everything clearly

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ruben123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cheap price but well built
8/11/2009

Customer review by muddigger96

4.0 stars 8/11/2009 by muddigger96
by muddigger96

it is a good price for us coon hunters cause we need cbs in the woods when we hunt we use them all the time all of us have them i would not go this cheap if u are a trucker but it all depends how much u use it but if all u do is work in the woods or something get this one it puts off a good signal for wat i do so it is a good product

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
muddigger96
augusta ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews