Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
7
1-20 of 60 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
JUST GREAT !!
8/16/2009

Customer review by ShamRock1938

5.0 stars 8/16/2009 by ShamRock1938
by ShamRock1938

I almost want to keep this thing buy secrete ! I figured it would be something I could hope to get a summer . . . maybe two, out of ive had it for only 2 month's but its easy to tell after you build it and put it up that its heavy duty enuff to last over 5 years easy, it looks like a NIGHTMARE from out the box and #1 use your own tools to put together & tighten #2 MAKE SURE you have someone who has at least half a brain to help you, just for times sake, yo can do it alone its just goin to take for ever #3 don't give up putting the tarp top on, its SOO tight getting it on & hooded in but its like that because it actually holds the entire thing together. #4 get your self 2 lights to hang from the top inside frame and your set!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShamRock1938
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A useful temporary rain or sun shelter
7/4/2009

Customer review by ewb123

4.0 stars 7/4/2009 by ewb123
by ewb123

Serves the purpose of a temporary rain or sun shelter. I'd recommend adding tie-downs at the corners. Can be erected by 1 person of reasonable strength and typical stature (say, at least 5'-4") - requires 2 overhead lifts of about 50lbs, held with one arm while fitting in the middle leg. Assembly instructions are good, but don't lose them. It would be a lot harder without them. Allow 1-1/2 to 2 hours under ideal conditions the first time. The canopy itself is a tight fit and takes some struggling to get it on right, esp. working alone as I was. I do not expect it would last a year, but I do expect it will serve its purpose for a few months. Heavy overall which is not really a bad thing for handling light winds which it will without tie-downs, Over say 10 or 15 mph and it might blow over. I tied it down for extended use. Not exactly superb quality, but adequate.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ewb123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Durable in Florida Sun
7/19/2009

Customer review by FromExperience

2.0 stars 7/19/2009 by FromExperience
by FromExperience

I like the construction of the frame and the canopy appeared heavy duty when new but 13 months later the canopy has become brittle and ripped in several places even though description says UV Resistant. Not a good deal if you must change the canopy every year. It might be a Florida sun thing but other canopies I've owned have lasted at least twice as long.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FromExperience
Miami FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
extra large shade
8/17/2008

Customer review by vvmommy

5.0 stars 8/17/2008 by vvmommy
by vvmommy

We bought this for our sons 2nd bday, not as a car cover. great value for the size. At 1st it seemed daunting to assemble, there were A LOT of pieces. But it ended up being pretty easy for my husband & I to put together. Probably about 2 hours in all, with our 2 yr old underfoot. Worked GREAT for the party. We plan on keeping it in the backyard for extra shade when our son plays outside.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vvmommy
victorville, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Moto Shade Rocks!
12/4/2007

Customer review by climber

5.0 stars 12/4/2007 by climber
by climber

I purchased this product to protect my drift boat out here in the rainy Pacific Northwest. I was worried about how light the product was as with winter rains we get heavy winds too. Well, we just went thrusgh an incredible wind and rain storm that dumped over 3" in less than 24 hours with wind gusts up to 60 mph. The Moto Shade was anchored down with bungee cords at all four corners and I used 1" tubulkar webbing to anchor down the sides. The Moto Shade performed flawlessly, remained intact and is still doing it's job.a Unfortunately many of trees here did not fair as well. It was also very easy to set up with socket wrenches. I did the whole thing in about two hours. The only downside to this product is that with heavy wind and rain, the motoshade does not protect from the elements on the ends and rain can blow in. I am sure they make another attachment for this baut overall you definiteyl get your money's worth for this product.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
climber
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Flimsy Design
5/16/2009

Customer review by CommercialBuyer

3.0 stars 5/16/2009 by CommercialBuyer
by CommercialBuyer

The framework is flimsy because the pipes are not continuous lengths. They have been cut in half to save shipping/warehouse costs and must be bolted together. The bolted connection swivels a lot and doesn't provide any rigid structure. Putting the tarp on helps tighten things up but not nearly as solid as full-length, continuous pipes would do. It is my fault for not reading the product description closer. I bought this product to replace one with full-length tubing and knew better than to buy this style. I made the structure more rigid by drilling a second set of holes to connect each 2-section pipe. That helped a lot but may be too much hassle for some buyers. Thanks for listening.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CommercialBuyer
Chatt TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very resourceful product
8/7/2007

Customer review by ssgrockslady

5.0 stars 8/7/2007 by ssgrockslady
by ssgrockslady

This canopy was used as a temporary pool shelter, and as a porch for the summer. It withstood heavy rains and winds very well. We are buying another for my son to use over his wheelchair ramp and walkway.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssgrockslady
Shadyside Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice shade!
6/7/2009

Customer review by capitalcityhousing

5.0 stars 6/7/2009 by capitalcityhousing
by capitalcityhousing

nice to have if your parking don't have shade. cover a great region around my 2008 MDX. you can also use it for b-day event as a gazebo. easy to install in 90 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
capitalcityhousing
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Moto shade doesn't cover
4/17/2008

Customer review by djabeck

1.0 stars 4/17/2008 by djabeck
by djabeck

I purchased this shade for my husband for Christmas. He did not get it up right away, had to clear a spot for it, so we only used it for a couple weeks. First of all, the anchors that came with it are not that good, slight breezes were relocating the shade by a couple inches. The warranty is shorter for Arizona. O.k., I understand we get more sun than most places; however, we don't live in Phoenix area. The bigest problem is that the first windy day we had, threw the shade against a storage unit we had next to it and destroyed the shade. Two of the six legs broke, a third is severely bent. The company is good though, they don't cover damage by wind. Maybe they should consider making the product a little stronger or at least warn people before they purchase the item.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
djabeck
Prescott Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Used as Boat Cover for winter
12/29/2007

Customer review by mattyf915

3.0 stars 12/29/2007 by mattyf915
by mattyf915

Easy set-up with own tools. Needs at least 4, probably 6 bungee cords that stretch 52". Held up good to wind. Kept dry in severe rain, however water collected on edges and weight of water bent poles. Other than that, kept boat dry.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mattyf915
Lake George, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cheap & Cheerful product
4/7/2010

Customer review by Babawatoto

4.0 stars 4/7/2010 by Babawatoto
by Babawatoto

This is our second such canopy. The first one lasted two summers on our deck and did have its share of smaller issues. This one seems to have some slight modifications made to it and it withstood a couple of stormy nights so far. The problems withthe last vesion was that rain water would pool on the sides and the weight would bend the poles rendering it structurally unsound. The newer version seems to have some reinforced striching along the sides that apparently has fixed that problem. All in all the canopy is an affordable shade option that can be used seasonally and offers good protection from the elements. Its easy to set up in an hour or two and can be done by one person but two would be recommended. All the pieces were easily marked and fit well together. Overall a sturdy and effective item that looks presentable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Babawatoto
Upper Marlboro, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Super Product
10/13/2008

Customer review by SummerBunny

5.0 stars 10/13/2008 by SummerBunny
by SummerBunny

Fantastic product! It was easy to put together- although you do need to use a proper socket tool because the tools provided are too flimsy to finish the job. It is very sturdy when put together- but you will need to buy stakes to hold the feet down in high winds. Overall it exceeded my expectations in quality and uses at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SummerBunny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good for price.
5/22/2010

Customer review by bags440

5.0 stars 5/22/2010 by bags440
by bags440

I put this together by myself and was quite easy,for the rollback price of $149.00 plus $.97 shipping this was buy far the best deal for me.The only thing I would do is buy some higher qulity nuts and bolts with washers or at least some flat washers because the kit does'nt come with any.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bags440
Glover VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/10/2007

Customer review by dadyjason

5.0 stars 11/10/2007 by dadyjason
by dadyjason

very easy setup and hold up very well. excellent value for the price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dadyjason
leesburg fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
almost great
7/27/2009

Customer review by FaunaRescue

4.0 stars 7/27/2009 by FaunaRescue
by FaunaRescue

Basically what it is - a metal frame with a tarp top. Easy to put together. Received in rough condition. The box wasn't bad - but the contents were really shook up. I think ours may have been a return. Most legs not covered in plastic sleeve, chipped paint, dented poles, one was even crushed at the bottom - but as it fit into the "footing" we still erected it. Tarp doesn't fit "tight" even with lanyards. Holds some rainwater - then splashes you when it releases it. Additionally our tarp had a huge rust mark on the bottom and a 1" slit in the top. If we didn't need it for the fund raiser - I would of dragged it back to the nearest walmart screaming.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FaunaRescue
Nashua, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
tarp top that does'nt last
8/23/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/23/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The canopy frame is very good, But the tie downs and top only lasted 3 months. very poor quality.The Arizona sun is tough on things but come on !!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job.
7/29/2009

Customer review by GrandmaRhonda

5.0 stars 7/29/2009 by GrandmaRhonda
by GrandmaRhonda

I needed a temporary carport for a new house. This does the job well, though I don't know how well it will stand up to storms. I've tied down the canopy (like you would a tent) where there's ground, but haven't anchored it to the concrete yet. It's easy to assemble (though mine was missing some of the bolts needed to anchor it to the "feet"; I bought replacements separately), but it does take at least 2-4 people to stand it upright. Having something this heavy delivered to my home was a real bonus! And it doesn't look nearly as bad as some "real" carports do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandmaRhonda
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Things You Will Need
9/30/2007

Customer review by DesertWind

4.0 stars 9/30/2007 by DesertWind
by DesertWind

This kit comes with 2 small wrenches but it is much easier to use a ratcheting socket and your own wrench. Check the 4 bungee corner knots to make sure they won't pull through, we had to re-tie one. They don't provide bungees for the 2 center poles, you'll need to buy 2 that will stretch 5-6 feet. Stakes are needed (2 for each of the 6 poles) to secure to the ground, they are not provided. Easy to constuct with good directions. Allow 4 hours or so. We'll see how well it holds up to the wind. We plan to guy wire it on all 6 poles to add stability.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DesertWind
Southeastern Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Worth it, but
6/30/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/30/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The price was right. Durability not a huge concern for us as we can store it and use it only once or twice a year. Assembly intructions not as clear as IKEA's but got it done--no missing parts. Most pieces had key stickers. Some tubes already showing rust when right out of the box. Advice about anchorage not included--uplift/overturning potentially serious. Improvised and kept an eye on the weather. One connector piece, an 'F' 3-way joint, was defective, making for one leg that stood with a bit of a wierd angle. A small defect in the fabric.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Milford, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Nice construction
5/25/2009

Customer review by ReelOne

5.0 stars 5/25/2009 by ReelOne
by ReelOne

This canopy is as-advertised. It is fairly easy to assemble, as long as you don't try to follow the printed directions, which are confusing. It seems durable and well-made. Two problems: a couple of the bolt/nut sets were stripped and would not tighten, so I used some spares I had on hand. Also, the packaging is terrible. The box broke open during transit. Luckily, all the pieces were there when I counted them. Otherwise, I would have had to return it to Walmart. It is up now up for several weeks and seems to be pretty resilient.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReelOne
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews