Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

98 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

98 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 stars
17
1-20 of 94 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Great product
4/15/2012

Customer review by grammykins43

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by grammykins43
by grammykins43

I originally purchased this vacuum about 6 months ago because I had to send my Dyson in to be repaired and they said it could take from 7 to 10 days. I have 2 dogs and knew I couldn't go that long without vacuuming, so I went to Walmart to find an inexpensive machine to use until my Dyson was returned. I had planned to give this to my daughter after I got my Dyson back, but I like it so much I decided to keep it. I probably use it more than my Dyson. One of the things I prefer is that it can go under my bedroom furniture. The only drawback is that the waste container is so small I have to empty it a couple of times each time I use it. I do like the fact that I can take it apart when I am finished and wash all of the parts. It is ready for the next time I use it. I highly recommend this for anyone. I am ordering a replacement filter so that I can switch back and forth while the one is drying. When it comes time to replace my Dyson, I plan to purchase another Bissell but will go with a larger model.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grammykins43
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
awesome suction power
4/21/2012

Customer review by mtairybbw

4.0 stars 4/21/2012 by mtairybbw
by mtairybbw

We love our new vacuum for the great price you can't beat it. We have 2 cats and 4 chihuahuas this vacuum does an awesome job keeping our home pet hair and dander free. Me myself I am a canister type vacuum fan I hate dealing with the hoses I forget that you can't strech them far without the vacuum holding the vacuum so it don't fall over (my bad),only other things i'm not use too is having to clean the holding tank it does hold a lot and with all the carpet we have in our home 5 rooms with carpet we have to clean the holding tank abut 3 or 4 times, we clean it outside to keep the dust particles from reentering the home. But overall we love this vacuum our carpets have never looked so nice and fluffy, even with the old canister did make the carpet rise and shine like this one does.I just have to get use to the differences. For the price man this was awesome as long as it lasts we've only had it a couple months now.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtairybbw
mtairy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/10/2012

Customer review by Pup22

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Pup22
by Pup22
Top 1000 contributor

I love this vaccum cleaner did not know what I was missing until I vaccumed the first time with this. I have a dog and the dog hair disappeared from my carpet, but I found it in the vaccum cleaner. No other carpet cleaner has ever been able to do what this one has done for me and my carpets.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pup22
Toccoa Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Top 1000 contributor
Great buy for a great price
4/13/2012

Customer review by lynettegrandrapids

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by lynettegrandrapids
by lynettegrandrapids

My last vacuum was a Dirt Devil. It was a canister system much like this one. I paid three times as much for it and had it for 4 years, so when I saw this vacuum and how similar it was to my old vacuum I wanted it right away, however I was worried that it would be one of those 'you get what you pay for' type things and that with such a low price that it might show up and have cheap parts or break right away. I was willing to take the risk and I'm very glad I did. It is just as 'sturdy' as my old Dirt Devil and cleans very well. The cord is twice as long as I am used to which is awesome. I love that the hose is attached on the end that runs into the canister, it can come off if you need to clear a clog or something but it's so quick to just switch from floor cleaning to using the hose because it's already plugged in and ready to go. I love that the filters can be washed and it's not that difficult to do, only takes about 5 minutes to take them apart and give them a good thorough cleaning. The upholstery attachment gets my furniture clean in a quick swipe. Only time will tell if this vacuum will 'live' as long as my old Dirt Devil did, but for how much money I saved this time around and how well it works, I'd be thrilled just to get a year out of it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lynettegrandrapids
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very good, if not amazing.
3/6/2012

Customer review by Pilot1962

4.0 stars 3/6/2012 by Pilot1962
by Pilot1962

We've had this vacuum for about a year, and so far, I'm very happy with it. It's not perfect, but I'm very satisfied with the overall performance. Here's how the pro's and con's break down: PROS 1) POWER - at 12 amps, when the filters are clean and the main chamber isn't packed full, this vacuum has plenty of cleaning power for all our needs (2 adults, 1 9yr old, 2 cats, 2 hamsters, live near the beach). I haven't come across anything it can't handle. 2) ATTACHMENTS - the crevice cleaner, extension tubes and upholstery brush all work well, though it's key to not push down too hard with the upholstery brush, as suction is what keeps the brush spinning, and if you push down too hard, it stops. 3) CHORD - plenty long enough, doesn't seem to kink up easily. 4) ACCESSING FILTERS - It's easy to get to all the filters by way of the various openings provided. CONS 1) CLEANING FILTERS - There's nothing wrong with these filters, but cleaning them was a new experience for me. This is our first bag-less vacuum, and while I like the power and not having to buy bags, having to access and clean several filters is a bit annoying, especially if you don't have a 2nd vacuum with which to clean the filters. :) The filters are washable, and I do suggest washing them, when you have plenty of time to let them dry, because air cleaning the filters just fills the air around you with more dust than you can handle. I literally had an asthma attack when I made the mistake of air cleaning the filters on our porch on a calm day, with no wind to blow the dust away. I was surrounded by a huge cloud of dust. WASH them in water in a sink ... I've done that too, it works, and there's no mess. Just leave time for drying. If you don't want to mess with filter cleaning, get a bag model. 2) BRUSH "GRAB" - On some of our rugs, moving the vacuum in one direction is not easy. It seems that when the brush is working against the grain of the carpet, it grabs and makes moving difficult. Turning around and going the opposite direction makes the problem disappear. Also, adjusting the cleaning height a notch or two HIGHER than you think you need also seems to help. Overall, this vacuum keeps our bare, carpeted and rugged floors clean, and we're happy with it. I suspect that some of the folks complaining about cleaning power haven't discovered all the filters you need to clean. I had this problem too, until I read the guide and realized there were places to clean I hadn't found yet.

Was this review helpful? (62) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pilot1962
Dash Point, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
GOOD BUT WON'T LAST
4/1/2012

Customer review by ChickPicks

3.0 stars 4/1/2012 by ChickPicks
by ChickPicks

I had this vacuum a little over a year. It was GREAT when I first bought it. Has actually done really well for the past year. We just tried to replace the broken belt for the first time. Put the new belt on and it BROKE RIGHT AWAY. Turns out the actual rotor that turns was jammed AND now not straight so even when we used WD-40 to unstick it, it wouldn't work correctly. This is where the "cheapness" of the parts comes in. The price for a new rotor is $22 ...the entire vacuum cost us $60! So we decided to upgrade to a better quality, BETTER WARRANTY vacuum. You get what you pay for...if you don't mind buying a new vacuum every year or couple years then go ahead for the price.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChickPicks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Couldn't ask for a better vacuum
11/23/2015

Customer review by Patty

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by Patty
by Patty

I got this vacuum at a garage sale for free! It had been neglected for years. Was left outside in a garage. I cleaned it thoroughly, let it dry then oiled everything. I want to tell you I couldn't believe the dirt this machine got out of my carpets! I am a little, well a lot OCD. I vacuum everyday so when I used this vacuum on my "clean" rug and got so much dirt out I couldn't believe it. I have vacuumed my rugs 4 or 5 times with this now and am still getting a huge amount of old dirt out. You can't go wrong with machine. I can't imagine what a new one would do.

Patty
Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Good vacuum, but one huge design flaw
3/21/2015

Customer review by Catlynn

3.0 stars 3/21/2015 by Catlynn
by Catlynn

I switched to bagless vacuums over a decade ago and would never go back. My top of the line Other Brand finally gave out, and I bought a Bissell ClearView. Great suction - absolutely AWFUL in every other way. So I bought a reconditioned PowerForce. The design features on this vacuum are head and shoulders above the ClearView - much longer cord, with a clip high on the handle to keep the cord out from under your feet; a back-saving step-on power button; dirt bins and multiple filters that are all easy to remove, clean and reassemble. But just like the ClearView, this vacuum's roller brush does not disengage on the bare floor setting (bare floors meaning hard-wood, vinyl, laminate, concrete etc). That means when you vacuum your bare floors all the debris comes ROCKETING backward off the spinning roller brush instead of getting sucked up into the bin. Cat litter is particularly painful. Don't vacuum bare floors with bare legs! I wish Bissell could get this design element right. My home is mostly bare floors. I miss my Other Brand every time I clean...

Comment from Melisha - 3/25/2015

Thanks for your review. It's nice to hear how well you like the design with the BISSELL Powerforce vacuum. When setting the dial to bare floors with your machine make sure the handle is reclined. The height adjustment won't work properly if the handle is locked in the upright position.

Catlynn
Northern Michigan
Gender:Female
last time I buy this vacuum
4/15/2012

Customer review by CRK0910

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by CRK0910
by CRK0910

I bought this vacuum about a year ago, for some reason, after around 8 months of use, the brush stopped turning and burned through the belt. I took it all apart, cleaned it, replaced the belt and nothing, the brush wouldn't turn. I really liked this vacuum because with 3 dogs and 2 cats, it seemed to get everything up and I could use it on carpet and hard floors with no issues. So I trashed the first one and my husband got another one. Only this time, it has lasted maybe 4 months. While I was using the hose, the vacuum started to smoke. It was becasue the brush stopped turning AGAIN and was burning through and snapped the belt, AGAIN! We let it cool down, took it apart, cleaned it of hair, dust dirt, ect, replaced the belt and the brush still won't turn...at all! I've never had this many issues with a vacuum. And I take care of my vacuums. I use it everyday due to animals and allergies, I clean the filters every day. I would not recommend this vacuum to anyone. Spend a little extra and get something that will work longer then a few months.

Comment from Joe - 4/17/2012

Thanks for the review CRK0910. Sorry that you are having issues with the brush. Hair, strings, and debris need to be regularly removed from any vacuum's brushroll. This needs to be done regularly and prior to the brush seizing up from the hair and string getting into the brush endcaps. If this happens one would need to replace the brush (and belt if needed), but not the whole vacuum. The brush and belt for this unit can be found at http://www.bissell.com/parts/?id=9143&sc=product&productid=2425&icid=ccrr

CRK0910
El Paso, Texas
Gender:Female
Love this Vacuum!
4/16/2012

Customer review by tjatthebeach

5.0 stars 4/16/2012 by tjatthebeach
by tjatthebeach

I am ordering this vacuum again because mine finally stopped working so well. I bought it 7 years ago! It's been through alot of abuse not to mention the pet hair from our dogs & cat AND we live at the beach so we get alot of sand in the carpet. I can't believe the price. We paid double this cost 7 years ago! That you Bissell!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tjatthebeach
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Waste Of Money
4/25/2012

Customer review by LCFB

1.0 stars 4/25/2012 by LCFB
by LCFB
Top 500 contributor

The height adjustment on the first one I purchased on line, less than a year ago, did not work right out of the box...Had to pack it up and take it back to a local Walmart store and made the mistake of purchaing a replacement..Now, less than a year later, the height adjustment on the replacement does not work, one of the wheels has come loose and is close to falling off, and rather than going through the bother of contacting Bissel, since the replacement is still covered under the "LIMITED ONE YEAR WARRANTY..I'm going to put it out in the trash.. because, in my opinion, it is garbage...the worst vacuum I have ever owned, and I will never again buy a Bissel product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LCFB
Austin, X
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Top 500 contributor
excellent vacuum
10/11/2013

Customer review by DeannaSpry

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by DeannaSpry
by DeannaSpry

This is my second Powerforce Bagless vacuum. The first one lasted me 8 years! I wash my filters (even though they say they are not washable) after about 5 uses and I replace them once they start falling apart. I never had performance problem with it! It works great! Picks up all dust and pet hair and it lasts forever. I bought the same kid again, I loved it, it is great for the price plus I had few new replacement filters and didnt want to waste them. People who complain about this vacuum (many say it worked well first few times and then not so much anymore) most likely dont wash or replace their filters, no wonder the performance went down!! My first one worked like a champ for 8 years before the belt went off track and destroyed the inner parts to the point I just had to buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeannaSpry
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love this vac!
4/28/2012

Customer review by softy7

5.0 stars 4/28/2012 by softy7
by softy7

This is my 2nd Bissell Power Force. The first lasted 6 years. I bought the original to use until I deceided what "good, expensive" vac I wanted to purchase. If you keep the filters clean, there is no better vacuum than this. I figure I can buy 7 of them for the same price as a Dyson. I love this cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
softy7
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
4/29/2012

Customer review by kpsteele

4.0 stars 4/29/2012 by kpsteele
by kpsteele

Great vacuum for the price. Easy to clean, quiet, powerful motor. Long cord.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kpsteele
Lake Worth, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Take care and it will do fine.
4/27/2012

Customer review by CrawfordC14

4.0 stars 4/27/2012 by CrawfordC14
by CrawfordC14

I just got this and I vacuumed the whole house. 1850 sqft and I had to empty it about 7 times. Note that I have not vacuumed in a few weeks, so it was pretty dirty. The floor felt great after I vacuumed. Now the filters: There are 4 filters on this thing. 2 are attached to the canister. These to are a bit hard to get to. But you have to wait for them to dry if you clean them with water so all I did was dust them off. The others are not hard to get to at all. The canister: It is small! Only about 7 or 8 inches deep and 7 or 8 inches diameter. This is small for a bag-less. Suction: Does great! One odd thing: It makes the floor hot when you vacuum. All in all though it did a great job! I really like it so far and if anything changes I will write. If you take care of it and treat it right, it will work great for a long time. And I have had many vacuums.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrawfordC14
Georgetown, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dirt Thrower
4/18/2012

Customer review by hygienediva

1.0 stars 4/18/2012 by hygienediva
by hygienediva

Not only is this vacuum loud but it is terrible on floors. You can actually feel the dirt being thrown back at your feet. I tried it three times and each time there was still a ton of dirt on the floor and I felt it hitting my legs. Then if you used the arm, the vacuum tips over . POOR VACUUM, not even worth the low price!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hygienediva
Voluntown, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not Entirely Impressed
6/2/2013

Customer review by Forensicslover

3.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Forensicslover
by Forensicslover

I bought model 6585 brand new and for the most part, have not had any serious problems with it. There are a couple things though, that I will know to look for in a future vacuum. The cord on this model comes out the bottom at the back. I'm always stepping on it when vacuuming. I've had a bit of an issue with getting the turbo brush to work consistently. I have a long-haired cat and it would come in handy on the couch, if only it would work ALL the time. I also wish the hose stretched a bit easier and longer. I'm always tipping the vacuum over when using the attachments. I highly suggest you clean the filters and foam ring (not sure what it's called) often or else the vacuum will start to stink. When the filters and such are maintained, the vacuum has great suction and works decent for the price.

Comment from Lisa - 6/4/2013

Thank you for your comments. We will make sure to forward your feedback for possible future changes. The turbo brush tool is air driven by your machine; therefore, if there are dirty filters or restricted airflow the tool won't work properly.

Forensicslover
Holt, Delhi Charter Township, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Not Good At All
5/10/2012

Customer review by sde1985

1.0 stars 5/10/2012 by sde1985
by sde1985

This is my first bagless vacuum. The first 2-3 times I used it, it was great. Then after that it began not picking up even the small crumbs ect on the carpet. I have a couple cats and it wouldn't pick up any fur at all, just spread it around. It really ruined me on bagless. I wish I had my old bagged vacuum back! I am going to look for another one because this one does absolutely nothing. It's been too long to take it back to the store unfortunately. I would not recomment this vacuum to anyone. I wasted my money for sure.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sde1985
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
GREAT FLOOR CLEANER
1/17/2014

Customer review by FayRay1

5.0 stars 1/17/2014 by FayRay1
by FayRay1

Go ahead and buy this vacuum. The bad reviews were from people that didn't clean the filters or tried to change the carpet control switch when the machine wasn't upright. This vacuum works great. I wasn't expecting the performance from a vacuum so inexpensive. I bought my daughter one a couple of years ago and she loves hers too. I have two of them myself. Buy an extra filter; it takes days for one to dry when you wash/spray them out with water.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FayRay1
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I am in love with my vacuum!
7/7/2012

Customer review by Sweetheart143

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by Sweetheart143
by Sweetheart143

This vacuum is amazing. I have gone through a lot of vacuum's that always seem to have the same problems... Not enough suction, Doesn't pick up pet fur, expensive bag refills, breaks too soon. I have had my Powerforce for over a year and I can't say enough about it. Being able to clean the parts instead of buying new bags has been simple and easy. After a few times I just rinse them out, set them to dry, and place them back in for the next time. The pet hair tool works terrific on my furniture, carpet, and stuffed animals. All the tools work great and store and un-store easily. The belt on my vacuum just recently broke. The service on the Bissell website was fast and easy and I can't wait for the part to come in so I can enjoy my Powerforce once again!

Sweetheart143
MA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews