Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

156 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

156 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
31
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
21
1-20 of 152 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews
Good for , not built to last
2/2/2015

Customer review by meowdisob

3.0 stars 2/2/2015 by meowdisob
by meowdisob

Got this about 8 months ago and it is a pretty good vacuum. It won't totally clean a really dusty/dirty carpet in one go over, but it works perfectly for most vacuuming needs. The only problem with it is that it's not built to last for long. In ±8 months of use, I've already had to replace the brush roll; the foam filter is already worn and beginning to disintegrate; the upholstery attachment has broken; and the locking mechanism is no longer airtight - large amounts of debris are escaping the waste compartment and getting into the filter; and pet fur etc gets wound around the green cylinder. This is with regular and thorough cleaning of the entire vacuum including the hose and non-removable upper compartment. If I didn't take it apart and clean everything, it definitely would not still be functional. I use the vacuum frequently, so I imagine it would have a longer lifespan for more casual vacuumers, but if you want something you won't need to replace for a long time - look elsewhere!

meowdisob
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
powerful
6/13/2016

Customer review by zirona

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by zirona
by zirona

bought it online about 5 months ago. I chose this model based solely on the reviews here and waited with my own review just to make sure it's accurate. the first time i used it i was relieved to hear it was quieter than my previous one but now i guess i got used to it and i consider it to be loud:) However, the performance is outstanding. i was actually shocked to see how dirty my carpet really was bec it didn't seem so. the vacuum still operates flawlessly, the only thing is that it kind of vibrates so if there are any objects like 5cm radius from where you are vacuuming, it attracts them so things like socks get sucked into , and unfortunalely this is how i broke my husband's fishing rod - it attracted/sucked the tip and broke it in two (it was lying in the corner where i was vacuuming nearby:) Upon delivery the vacuum came with a broken plastic piece that goes into the wheel so the wheel occasionally falls off but still i love this vacuum and i do recommend it

zirona
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked Great Until .....
5/17/2016

Customer review by Hate Returns

3.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Hate Returns
by Hate Returns

I purchased this unit 01/16/2016 and it worked great for the first almost 3 months. It picked up dog fur etc.on the carpets and did all right on the bare floors. Suction was very good. Only thing I found to be annoying was the unit would tip easily when I was vac the stairs. I could live with that as I would just anchor it against the hand railing so it would come flying down the stairs at me while I was using the attachment. All was good until about the 3 month mark ...... unit got really loud / suction was not what it used to be / unit sounded like it had something rattling around in it / handle would vibrate at times and I began getting static like "shocks" which I did not recall having previously ... therefore overall very disappointing. I have performed all the maintenance and care with no positive results. Glad I saved my old unit (different brand) for the basement as I can use it as a back up while this one is repaired.

Hate Returns
Kitchener, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
last time I buy this vacuum
4/15/2012

Customer review by CRK0910

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by CRK0910
by CRK0910

I bought this vacuum about a year ago, for some reason, after around 8 months of use, the brush stopped turning and burned through the belt. I took it all apart, cleaned it, replaced the belt and nothing, the brush wouldn't turn. I really liked this vacuum because with 3 dogs and 2 cats, it seemed to get everything up and I could use it on carpet and hard floors with no issues. So I trashed the first one and my husband got another one. Only this time, it has lasted maybe 4 months. While I was using the hose, the vacuum started to smoke. It was becasue the brush stopped turning AGAIN and was burning through and snapped the belt, AGAIN! We let it cool down, took it apart, cleaned it of hair, dust dirt, ect, replaced the belt and the brush still won't turn...at all! I've never had this many issues with a vacuum. And I take care of my vacuums. I use it everyday due to animals and allergies, I clean the filters every day. I would not recommend this vacuum to anyone. Spend a little extra and get something that will work longer then a few months.

Comment from Joe - 4/17/2012

Thanks for the review CRK0910. Sorry that you are having issues with the brush. Hair, strings, and debris need to be regularly removed from any vacuum's brushroll. This needs to be done regularly and prior to the brush seizing up from the hair and string getting into the brush endcaps. If this happens one would need to replace the brush (and belt if needed), but not the whole vacuum. The brush and belt for this unit can be found at http://www.bissell.com/parts/?id=9143&sc=product&productid=2425&icid=ccrr

CRK0910
El Paso, Texas
Gender:Female
Get what you pay for!!
4/18/2014

Customer review by Tamaralynn

5.0 stars 4/18/2014 by Tamaralynn
by Tamaralynn

I had an old Filter Queen that died a slow and horrible death. Hubby was hesitant about getting a new vacuum, and wanted to fix his clunker up ($200 plus). I finally convinced him to let me buy a cheap vacuum for now -at least until he finally get around to at least clean the messy floors (been without a working vacuum for over a week and I was getting very antsy). Bought this today at Walmart for $68. It was a breeze to put together! Was very pleasantly surprised at how much this picked up, not only the surface mess, but SO much dirt that was in the carpet. We have old nasty burber carpet that is difficult to clean properly. I love the suction power, and even drives itself forward as it cleans (hubby's favorite feature). Great attachments. My only complaint is there isn't a switch to change from power head to tool mode (powerhead continues to rotate). The hose doesn't stretch very far, but other than that - this is a great buy!

Tamaralynn
Calgary, AB, Canada
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Good vacuum, but one huge design flaw
3/21/2015

Customer review by Catlynn

3.0 stars 3/21/2015 by Catlynn
by Catlynn

I switched to bagless vacuums over a decade ago and would never go back. My top of the line Other Brand finally gave out, and I bought a Bissell ClearView. Great suction - absolutely AWFUL in every other way. So I bought a reconditioned PowerForce. The design features on this vacuum are head and shoulders above the ClearView - much longer cord, with a clip high on the handle to keep the cord out from under your feet; a back-saving step-on power button; dirt bins and multiple filters that are all easy to remove, clean and reassemble. But just like the ClearView, this vacuum's roller brush does not disengage on the bare floor setting (bare floors meaning hard-wood, vinyl, laminate, concrete etc). That means when you vacuum your bare floors all the debris comes ROCKETING backward off the spinning roller brush instead of getting sucked up into the bin. Cat litter is particularly painful. Don't vacuum bare floors with bare legs! I wish Bissell could get this design element right. My home is mostly bare floors. I miss my Other Brand every time I clean...

Comment from Melisha - 3/25/2015

Thanks for your review. It's nice to hear how well you like the design with the BISSELL Powerforce vacuum. When setting the dial to bare floors with your machine make sure the handle is reclined. The height adjustment won't work properly if the handle is locked in the upright position.

Catlynn
Northern Michigan
Gender:Female
Not Entirely Impressed
6/2/2013

Customer review by Forensicslover

3.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Forensicslover
by Forensicslover

I bought model 6585 brand new and for the most part, have not had any serious problems with it. There are a couple things though, that I will know to look for in a future vacuum. The cord on this model comes out the bottom at the back. I'm always stepping on it when vacuuming. I've had a bit of an issue with getting the turbo brush to work consistently. I have a long-haired cat and it would come in handy on the couch, if only it would work ALL the time. I also wish the hose stretched a bit easier and longer. I'm always tipping the vacuum over when using the attachments. I highly suggest you clean the filters and foam ring (not sure what it's called) often or else the vacuum will start to stink. When the filters and such are maintained, the vacuum has great suction and works decent for the price.

Comment from Lisa - 6/4/2013

Thank you for your comments. We will make sure to forward your feedback for possible future changes. The turbo brush tool is air driven by your machine; therefore, if there are dirty filters or restricted airflow the tool won't work properly.

Forensicslover
Holt, Delhi Charter Township, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Great vacuum for the price!
4/14/2016

Customer review by shaydick

4.0 stars 4/14/2016 by shaydick
by shaydick

I bought this vacuum close to 3 years ago to use on a few rugs that I had in my house and it was great! I moved to a house with carpeted bedrooms and had to use this vacuum more often. It all of a sudden stop sucking up anything! Did a little research and checked for any clogs or broken parts etc. Turns out the belt had broken in half! Went to Walmart and picked up a new one for $4.00 package came with 2 new belts. Easy to install and the vacuum is working like new again. I am going to be more careful and take care of it from now on! If you do some maintenance these vacuums will last a long time. Its funny I almost went out and bought a new vacuum for $150.00 and all it took was a $4.00 part!

shaydick
Keswick Beach, Georgina, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
I am in love with my vacuum!
7/7/2012

Customer review by Sweetheart143

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by Sweetheart143
by Sweetheart143

This vacuum is amazing. I have gone through a lot of vacuum's that always seem to have the same problems... Not enough suction, Doesn't pick up pet fur, expensive bag refills, breaks too soon. I have had my Powerforce for over a year and I can't say enough about it. Being able to clean the parts instead of buying new bags has been simple and easy. After a few times I just rinse them out, set them to dry, and place them back in for the next time. The pet hair tool works terrific on my furniture, carpet, and stuffed animals. All the tools work great and store and un-store easily. The belt on my vacuum just recently broke. The service on the Bissell website was fast and easy and I can't wait for the part to come in so I can enjoy my Powerforce once again!

Sweetheart143
MA
Gender:Female
PowerForce Turbo Vacuum Model # 6585
4/16/2013

Customer review by BoyElroy

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by BoyElroy
by BoyElroy

In 2009 when my old vacuum needed to be serviced and the repairs would have exceeded the cost of a new one, I decided to purchase the PowerForce Turbo by Bissell. My old vacuum was a bag type and worked quite well but I have a dog and it filled the bags up pretty quickly so I wanted a bagless as a replacement vacuum. I was not disappointed, the PowerForce Turbo Vacuum out performs my old bagged vacuum and there are no expensive bags to replace. I have no issues with this product and it is still running strong. I could not be more pleased. This vacuum is great for everyday floor cleaning, but now with the addition of a second dog I think that it is time to upgrade possibly to a Total Floor Pet Vacuum and keep the PowerForce as a backup.

BoyElroy
Andover, OH 44003, USA
Gender:Male
I honestly have no complaints!
3/11/2013

Customer review by kryste3na

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by kryste3na
by kryste3na

This vacuum is absolutely wonderful. I bought this vaccum to replace my last 15 amp bissel upright vacuum that looked, and was, very similar to this one. I wanted the exact same model but couldn't find it (likely too old now) because I loved the old one and it lasted me three years. It still works but I sucked up something too big and now it's very loud and doesn't work quite the same. I bought this one hoping it would be similar to it even though it was less expensive. I bought the first one (15amp; this one is 12) at Canadian Tire for about $130. This one was only $80 so I naturally assumed that it would be (as well as being 12 amp) slightly less effective. I was mistaken! It is an AMAZING vacuum; I'm more than happy with it. The quality greatly outweighs the price and that's coming from a woman who has OCD and needs to vacuum EVERY DAY because i'm a clean-freak. This leaves gorgeous vacuum tracks in the carpet, gets them super clean, has great suction, and all the parts have convenient and sturdy holding/storage places. Honestly, I can't believe how great this vacuum is for the price I paid. I like it way more than the original that I paid more for. Only time will tell in regards to how long it lasts, but as I said, the last one is still going after 3 years.

kryste3na
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Choice
1/1/2015

Customer review by Pamela And Cat's

1.0 stars 1/1/2015 by Pamela And Cat's
by Pamela And Cat's

It died on 10/26/2013. So that makes the Vacuum 1 yr & 9 months & 3 days old to be exact. I have 3 cats, so I Vacuum every day & pick up hair & litter. I clean out the Dirt container every other day & the filters got cleaned every other week. This Vacuum was not neglected, it wore out before it's time. I believe this Vacuum is not made to do heavy duty pet clean up, although the name says "PowerForce Turbo". On 10/26/2013 I purchased a 18M9-W Bissell Rewind Cleanview Pet, which I am hoping that this lasts longer. We are now at the 1 yr & 2 months & 6 Days mark now and I am doing the same maintenance that I did with the prior Vacuum, so here's hoping that this will be a good choice.

Comment from Lisa - 1/6/2015

Thank you for your posting. It's important to maintain the filters like you do. The filters will ware overtime and will need replacing within 4-6 months. To order, just click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/rewind-smartclean-vacuum/parts/

Pamela And Cat's
Dover, DE, USA
Gender:Female
This Bissell is the worst one to buy!
12/19/2012

Customer review by NME

1.0 stars 12/19/2012 by NME
by NME

I have always preferred Bissell brand over any other. When this new version of the bag less came out I ran right out and bought it to use in my new home. As time passed, I started noticing the dust in the house was extreme and getting worse. Turns out after replacing furnace filters and buying air cleaners, that my Bissell PowerForce Turbo Vacuum was not sealing properly and was picking up bigger stuff but blowing the fine dust out into the air. I am so frustrated with this vacuum! If I could rate it a ZERO I would! I since have went and replaced this model with an older style one and have noticed a significant difference in my dust problem. DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS VACUUM!!!!!!!

Comment from Lisa - 12/21/2012

We are sorry for your trouble. Please check out the link we have for easy tips to get your machine working again. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1454. We hope this helps!

NME
Marion, VA 24354, USA
Gender:Female
Couldn't ask for a better vacuum
11/23/2015

Customer review by Patty

5.0 stars 11/23/2015 by Patty
by Patty

I got this vacuum at a garage sale for free! It had been neglected for years. Was left outside in a garage. I cleaned it thoroughly, let it dry then oiled everything. I want to tell you I couldn't believe the dirt this machine got out of my carpets! I am a little, well a lot OCD. I vacuum everyday so when I used this vacuum on my "clean" rug and got so much dirt out I couldn't believe it. I have vacuumed my rugs 4 or 5 times with this now and am still getting a huge amount of old dirt out. You can't go wrong with machine. I can't imagine what a new one would do.

Patty
Florida, USA
Gender:Female
No suction
5/7/2016

Customer review by yorkminster

1.0 stars 5/7/2016 by yorkminster
by yorkminster

Bought it two months ago. The only way it picks up pet hair is using the wand which is time consuming and frustrating. Would not recommend this product

yorkminster
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
great machine, but...
1/7/2015

Customer review by William Deutermann

1.0 stars 1/7/2015 by William Deutermann
by William Deutermann

We have two of these machines, and we love them with the following caveats. They really pick up dirt, but when the canistrr Is full you have a really nasty job. To empty and clean this thing you need to take it outside and don a hazmat suit. Dust, dirt and lint have to be dug out with one's fingernails. The canister has to be washed with a garden hose, the filters washed, and everything put aside to dry for 24 hours before it can be used again. Then you need to shower and wash your clothes. What Bissel needs to do is provide disposable liners for the bagless canister.

Comment from Lisa - 1/13/2015

Thanks for your review. For heavy areas of debris it will help to empty the dirt cup more often. This way it will prevent hair from going all over. The foam filters do need to be maintained for good airflow. You can was them in warm tap water with mild soap. Just make sure they are completely dry before reusing. I hope this helps you out.

William Deutermann
Bethesda MD and Maddensville PA
Gender:Male
Buyer Beware!
1/27/2016

Customer review by mmantai

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by mmantai
by mmantai

I have bought not one.. Not two.. But THREE of these vacuums for a tiny 900 sqft apartment (all within only 8 months.. WHAT?!?!) and the belt has snapped on ALL of them in less than three months. Cleaned the brush head after every use as well as cleaned out the canister. The power is fantastic and it cleans our carpets very well but wow I can't get over the terrible quality of the parts. Will never buy this vacuum again. So disappointed.

mmantai
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Really cleans!
5/2/2016

Customer review by PG622

5.0 stars 5/2/2016 by PG622
by PG622
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Been using this vacuum for a few months now. It has really good suction and cleans really well

PG622
Hamilton, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This works well
2/2/2012

Customer review by Shell1971

3.0 stars 2/2/2012 by Shell1971
by Shell1971

The vaccum worked well for the first few months but if you have pets it does not perform well at all. The canister is small and the filter at the bottom of the canister requires rinsing out after every use otherwise you lose suction power. I would not recommend if you own pets but if you do not have pets then I think you would be very happy with this product. I love the Bissell brand and I am going to upgrade to a different Bissell vacuum, one that is meant for pets. If I didn't have pets then I would be very satisfied with this vacuum.

Comment from Joe - 4/27/2012

Often, filters need additional cleaning due to the vacuum actually getting up more of that fine dust, dirt, and hair in the carpet like you have described. A great idea is to have an additional set of filters so one can dry thoroughly while the other is in use. You can find the filter at the below link under the Parts & Supplies tab: http://www.bissell.com/powerforce-turbo-vacuum/?icid=ccrr

Comment from Joe - 4/27/2012

Snolady, check for a clog in the lower hose as well. This is between where the hose plugs into the base of the unit and where the brush is located.

Shell1971
Roseville, MI
Gender:Female
Love, Love this vacuum!
4/24/2015

Customer review by tcmc

5.0 stars 4/24/2015 by tcmc
by tcmc

I just bought this vacuum a couple of hours ago and I have to say - I'm blown away by it! So simple to assemble. Emptying the dirt cup it is a snap - literally couldn't be easier. Very light weight - vacuuming is a breeze with the self propelling forward motion. I just vacuumed the whole house a couple of days ago, so I wasn't going to bother using it right away - but I did and the amount of dust/dirt it picked up that my other vacuum didn't was unbelievable. All this - and for $69.00?! I'm thinking about going and buying another one just to have as a spare!

tcmc
Brantford, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews