Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 725 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

725 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

725 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
418
4 stars
154
3 stars
37
2 stars
44
1 stars
72
1-20 of 631 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 631 total reviews
1-20 of 631 reviews
awesome
2/23/2015

Customer review by janet

5.0 stars 2/23/2015 by janet
by janet

Product Name: bissell vacuum Model: 6579-6 Serial: 0833115202k Comment: MY BISSELL.......i bought this bissell in feb 09 and it has seen its fair share of torture.....coming up on 6 yrs...at that time was my 20 yr old and her fiance ..my first granddaughter..6 mos ..my oldest son 17 and my youngest son 13....all living in one home...this vacuum was used all day every day...was used for my p/t job..cleaning homes and apts....6 yrs later...2 more grandkids ..one with special needs that will tear a house apart from top to bottom many borrowings it is still going strong...wish my marriages lasted this long and ran this well...THANK YOU SO MUCH..for a product that has been awesome...I LOVE MY BISSELL....this vacuum is used all day every day... my 3 grandkids and youngest son are with me still and it is amazing that it works still....having to buy another vacuum on my income would be difficult , I support my 3 grandkids as well as my daughter due to my grandsons condition and it has been a huge comfort that i can depend on it so again i thank you for a product that has given me years of service and never failed me.....thank you First Name: janet

janet
fl
Gender:Female
Best vacuum ever & cleaning filters
7/1/2012

Customer review by mtndog

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by mtndog
by mtndog

All of the people I know have pets. Dispite them having their top of the line vacs, their homes smell disgusting. Their carpets are NOT clean! When I bought this one, it took about FIVE cleanings in order to get to the point where the canister no longer had any dirt in it when I vacuumed. I had thought my Hoover was doing an impressive job. (NOT!) If you want your carpets and furniture to be CLEAN, get a Bissell. I have a ChallengAir Double K high force dog dryer. When the filters are dirty, I take them out and to the dog-room and blow them clean with the force dryer. It works really well. Perhaps a shop-vac or something with a high force velocity would help for others. I only recommend this if you dont have time to wait for them to dry after washing. Its a good "lick and a promise" until you have time for wash/dry.

mtndog
WA
Gender:Female
Excellent Vacuum
7/22/2012

Customer review by Gem25

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Gem25
by Gem25

With two boys, a dog, an active family, and hardwood floors, our old vacuum got quite the workout. After 6 years of having a Bissell with a bag, we decided to give a canister vac a try, and I am so glad we did. This vacuum not only cleans hardwood floors extremely well, but it also cleaned our area rugs beyond our expectations. I am slightly embarrassed by how much dirt and dog hair our area rugs were holding - even though they looked clean and were vacuumed regularly. The rugs feel softer and brand new. A great feature of of this vacuum is the three levels that the handle/canister can be moved to. The lowest level available is fantastic for cleaning under beds, tables, and couches. The suction of the vacuum and of the hose is also something that I was very impressed with. With some vacuums, the floor suction is fantastic and then the hose/attachment suction is not as good. Thankfully, we didn't see a difference with this set up. The quality, price, and ease of use is exactly what we were looking for. It is nice to know that Bissell still has its eye on quality machines and realistic pricing. I am definitely not hesitating to suggest this vacuum to my family and friends.

Gem25
Ohio, USA
Gender:Female
Disappointed
9/9/2013

Customer review by Dirty cleanup in NC

1.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Dirty cleanup in NC
by Dirty cleanup in NC

I purchased this same vacuum years back, it lasted like a trooper! So, I of course re-purchased the exact same item again when I needed a new one. I was sorely disappointed. This vacuum has gone backwards in its development! The cord is SUPER short compared to the last one. Every time I vacuum, I have to spend 10 min cleaning up the floor around the vacuum when I empty the container into the trash. I cannot bend over the vacuum because there is now a super wind tunnel blown from the front of the vacuum. The design is terrible! I know you get what you pay for, and I wasn't expecting anything less than the same product I purchased before...they need to label this one "new and unusable". I love Bissell and will purchase another more upgraded model next time, but really folks, really?

Comment from Lisa - 9/13/2013

Thanks for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes.

Dirty cleanup in NC
Clayton, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Good at first, but fades over time
1/31/2012

Customer review by trustsea

1.0 stars 1/31/2012 by trustsea
by trustsea

It worked great at first. The suction was strong and the vacuuming was taking up lots of stuff - both seen and unseen to the naked eye on both carpets and hardwood floors. In summation the engineering of the machine is solid and the functionality is very good. Unfortunately the quality of the plastic mold is insufficient to withstand the normal forces of its day to day operation. Just this last week the plastic head where the screw under the suction head attaches itself to the blue molded base riped off the entire anchoring mold of the screw assembling during normal usage. This shows that the need to save a few cents in materials costs alot in the long run! Will return today and buy another brand of better quality to avoid a repeat of inferior production.

trustsea
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Gender:Male
Best EVER!
6/22/2014

Customer review by Tucsonarizona1

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by Tucsonarizona1
by Tucsonarizona1

I've owned this model for about five years now and have always wanted to let others know about how incredible it is! First off, the price grabbed me - I'm cheap, and didn't want to spend a lot of $$$ - fortunately, I couldn't be happier. Yes, you have to clean the filters after about 5 - 6 good uses, but this filters last forever and are easy to remove, clean, and replace. Also, it's easy to see when they need cleaning because of the see-through container. But the most amazing part is how well this thing cleans! It's ridiculous! The only thing I'd change is maybe to have a slightly longer hose attachment for cleaning up higher. This thing is tough, and handles light and heavy duty jobs equally well. One of the best investments I've ever made!

Tucsonarizona1
Tucson, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
BETTER THAN OTHER BIG NAME VACUUM
10/21/2014

Customer review by md55

5.0 stars 10/21/2014 by md55
by md55

I bought this machine 4 yes ago after a divorce. I originally used it in an apartment and it did a great job. A couple of years ago I moved to a sandy rural area and have 3 dogs. Due to the amount of sand and hair I found myself vacuuming frequently and picking up large quantities of sand and hair. I decided to try out an expensive other vacuum thinking it would do a better job. Not so! The Bissell out cleans the new vacuum picking up twice as much sand even after the new vacuum and is easier to use, empty, clean, and was 1/10 the price. I'm still using the same filter it came with; just throw it in soapy water every now and then. The Bissell disassembles easily for cleaning. I'd recommend it to anyone.

md55
Keystone Heights FL
Gender:Male
Poor New Design
1/3/2014

Customer review by bettylou

2.0 stars 1/3/2014 by bettylou
by bettylou

I have used this vacuum for years. The old design where the baskets screwed together was definitely easier/less messy to clean. Not only do I have to wipe down the front of the vac but around the floor when I remove the baskets. The hair does not always flow down into the basket but gets trapped in the top filter...now that's a mess to clean up! Also, leaving the front filter out of the new design causes such a blast of wind any thing not tied down ....gets blown all over the place. The older style had a handle on the hose which made it easier to remove and add the attachments...now I have to fight with it to get it off. Wishing you hadn't cut sooo many corners just to lower the price.

Comment from Lisa - 1/21/2014

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your difficulty; we can help you. Make sure to keep all filters in your machine. The filters are what protect the motor. With debris going up above the canister, this is an indication of restricted airflow. Please see our link for some steps to fix this. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=29309

bettylou
az
Gender:Female
Not A Good Bissell Bagless
2/13/2014

Customer review by BarbF1

2.0 stars 2/13/2014 by BarbF1
by BarbF1

I've been using a Bissell bagged vacuum for a few years and decided it was time to go bagless. I went out and bought the PowerForce Bagless Vacuum 6584, brought it home and started using it right away. It seemed to work just fine but it has an awful smell and it blows air out from the front (below the canister area) and my floors don't feel clean at all. Once a month like clock work I cleaned all the filters, cleaned the hose out then turned it upside down to clean the (rotating) brush. To my surprise the brush does NOT rotate! I unscrewed the bottom plate, checked the belt and realized that there is no reason that the brush should rotate. The way the brush sits in the slot makes it impossible for the brush to move - AT ALL!! It just sits there, it doesn't move. I ended up going out and buying a different vacuum, brought it home and vacuumed over where I had JUST VACUUMED WITH THE BISSELL BAGLESS. OMG! There was so much dirt and dust in the canister (of the new vacuum) I couldn't believe it. This leads me to believe that the Bissell has never worked properly in the first place. If you have this Bissell vacuum carefully check the brush to see if it rotates - unplug the vacuum first, flip it upside down and see if it rotates. I used the Bissell on all surfaces, hard floors, carpets, upholstery, everything.

BarbF1
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Female
Not Like it Used to Be
2/26/2012

Customer review by Mare

1.0 stars 2/26/2012 by Mare
by Mare

I have used Bissell vacuums for years......and when mine broke I instantly replaced it with the SAME KIND because I loved everything about it, and it was inexpensive. The new one is very cheaply made and I will probably never buy another Bissell. The attachment hose keeps popping out of the vacuum.......the old one was permanently attached and never came out. The attachment hose does not extend! If you need to vacuum anything over 5 feet high, you'll need to lift the vacuum with one hand, and use the other to reach the ceiling, drapes, walls etc. The old one extended to reach everything! Take it out of the box and see for yourself before you buy it.

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

Mare, we are sorry about the issues you are having. The attachment hose should not continually pop out of the base so please feel free to contact us by email or phone at the following link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/?icid=ccrr Also, the hose lengths vary from model to model so it could be slightly shorter or longer depending on the specific unit you owned.

Mare
Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Female
FOR THE 6583 MODEL, IT'S AWESOME!!!
3/8/2012

Customer review by Sammy

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Sammy
by Sammy

Ok, this is a great inexpensive vacuum cleaner, it has 3(YES, I said 3!!!) different types of WASHABLE filters, which in my book, may not be exactly the same as a HEPA filtration, but it definitely does the job, we have a 9yr old(in human yrs) black lab/pit-bull mix dog(and he is awesome, he loves everyone!), and it cleans ALL of his fur, that he has shed, plus, as long as you keep up with the emptying of the container, and do it softly, so you do not spread the dust back around, it ALL stays in the trash cans, plus, the ONLY issue, I have had with mine, is after about a year, or so, the rotating bar bushings, went bad, which isn't a hard or expensive fix, just take a few screws out of the bottom cover, and pop it off, and then just pull the rotating bar out, along with the belt, which the changing of the belt isn't hard, as you can easily see, as well, that is, if your bar keeps getting caught on strings from your old carpet and you do not turn it off, soon enough, obviously, but, other then that, it's actually pretty quiet, for its power, and suction, and if I had the cash, at that moment, I actually would have gone with the step above model, the 6584 model, only because it has the front light, and a few extra additions to it, that this one does not have, which is no big deal, you don't do your vacuuming in the dark, do ya!? LOL

Sammy
Massillon, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Bissell Powerforce Helix, Great Vacuum at a low price!
4/23/2013

Customer review by Malamoo

4.0 stars 4/23/2013 by Malamoo
by Malamoo

What a terrific vacuum for the price! I have unfortunately gone through many vacuums. I had the opportunity to try this vacuum and was so impressed, I bought two. This vacuum picks up pet hair extremely well, and I will say as well as, if not better than a Dyson. Yes, the electrical cord is short, as well as the hose. Comes with only two attachments, but they both seem to get the job done. Lightweight and easy for me to take up and down the stairs. For the price, I am extremely satisfied. I just got this vacuum and cannot comment on the lifespan of it. Would have given it a 5 star review if the cord and hose were longer.

Malamoo
New Jersey, USA
Gender:Female
What They Don't Say
2/29/2012

Customer review by cory

3.0 stars 2/29/2012 by cory
by cory

I purchased this Bissell PowerForce Vacuum from a Walmart Store. I was confident after reading very good Reviews. However, when it arrived, and when I finally put it all together I found it heavy and awkward to move around. Even worse, emptying & cleaning the plastic "Dirt Container" is extremely difficult & time consuming. It is not simply emptying the"Dirt Container", it is the other sections and filters above & below the "Dirt Container" that you HAVE to take apart to clean and dry. By no means is this Vacuum convenient. I so regret buying the Bissell PowerForce Vacuum Cleaner.

Comment from Joe - 4/3/2012

Thanks for the review Cory. Sorry about your experience with this bagless unit. It sounds like you would be better suited for our Powerforce bagged unit which allows you to fill the bag, pitch it, and replace with a new bag. This can be purchased at Walmart at http://www.walmart.com/ip/Bissell-PowerForce-Bagged-Upright-Vacuum-71Y7W/15686899 Bagless units require a little more maintenance, but save you on having to buy bags. I hope this helps.

cory
Clinton Township, Michigan
Gender:Female
Great vacuum
7/7/2012

Customer review by Nikki

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by Nikki
by Nikki

I had this vacuum for over 6 years now and it works great. It actually picks up dog hair and all things on the carpet. I find myself washing filters a lot but but I have shedding pets which obviously means dander as well. When all is clean, the vacuum is awesome. I am actually getting new carpet and considering buying a new one (same model), but putting this one in the basement to vacuum in the basement. I want to have a dedicated vacuum for the basement so as not to haul it up and down the stairs. The cord is starting to show wear but other than that, you can't beat the price.

Nikki
Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Love this vacuum!
1/5/2014

Customer review by LadyLeo

4.0 stars 1/5/2014 by LadyLeo
by LadyLeo

I've owned this vacuum for almost 9 years now and have never had a problem with it. It's one of the best vacuums I've had. I clean the filters by hand when needed and have never had to replace any of the parts. This vacuum works 100x better then the one my mom has and she paid a great deal more for hers! I've read some of the other reviews and maybe they only apply to the newer version as I've had mine for some time. All I can say is is be lost without this vacuum. I have two cats and you would never know it...it's amazing! Thanks Bissell, I'll be a customer for life.

LadyLeo
Central FL
Gender:Female
I like the product, but it keeps clogging
3/4/2013

Customer review by Nette

4.0 stars 3/4/2013 by Nette
by Nette

Simply put, it's a product that's worth the money, but I'm having issues now. I don't want to replace the product, but I see no other alternative. I've had my vac for a few years. As of late, every time I use it, it gets clogged. I have to clean out the hose with every use, and there is no suction collection into the bagless container. It all builds up in the bottom hose only, as if there's a blockage somewhere else on the unit that I can't see or access. I don't know what else to do, and I don't know if taking it to a certified dealer is a cost-effective option.

Nette
California, USA
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum...Great Price...
6/5/2013

Customer review by JBG123

5.0 stars 6/5/2013 by JBG123
by JBG123

I purchased this vacuum as a gift to my Grandmother, we were truly amazed at how much dirt the machine was able to pick up on its 1st use. Even though the carpet looked clean before we started, there was a noticeable difference afterwards. Without a doubt, it truly exceeded our expectations. After only 5 minutes of use on the carpet, we were able to accumulate enough dirt to fill the pull out cup 1/2 full. WOW... I would defiantly recommend this product to anyone needing a new vacuum, it was a great price and an excellent value for the money. JBG Tulsa, OK.

JBG123
Tulsa, OK, USA
Gender:Male
dissatisfied based on other reviews
11/27/2014

Customer review by Christy32

1.0 stars 11/27/2014 by Christy32
by Christy32

I haven't even had this a year and it's blowing dirt around instead of sucking it up. I bought it based on other reviews and liked the bagless feature and one touch cord roll up. However although it's bagless and is clearly not full it's not even sucking up dirt and debris. The face is covered in dust so its obviously blowing dirt out right where it comes in. The roller brushes have been thoroughly cleaned. There's also no light on the front to see in dark corners. It does not clean! Wish I could get my money back.

Comment from Lisa - 12/10/2014

Thanks for your review. We can help you get suction back with your BISSELL PowerForce vacuum. First of all filters must be clean for good air-flow. The foam filters can be hand washed with mild detergent. Make sure they are complete dry before reusing. For other easy tips, please see the link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=29313

Christy32
Longview, Tx
Gender:Female
I'm not to Impressed
4/16/2012

Customer review by kcrocker

3.0 stars 4/16/2012 by kcrocker
by kcrocker

The first thing I noticed was the cord isn't long enough, this is my 2rd Bissell vac, and for some reason the cord is shorter. And the other thing is my outer circular filter get lots of dog hair on it, then it makes the suction poor. I have to take it outside and bang the filter on something to get it off. I only have 1 short hair dog that dont leave much hair, on the floor, and I do vac everyday. But that filter gets alot on it in a short time, plus it smells so you need to wash it with soap and let it dry completely.

Comment from Joe - 6/8/2012

Thanks for the review Kcrocker. The models up from this unit have longer cords. Additionally, we recommend that you carry and extra set of filters if you clean them daily to allow for adequate drying time. That could be leading to the smell, plus you could damage your motor if you use damp filters. http://www.bissell.com/parts/?id=9143&sc=product&productid=2469&icid=ccrr

kcrocker
Elkhart,IN
Gender:Female
4+years & going strong
10/26/2012

Customer review by brownsugartoast

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by brownsugartoast
by brownsugartoast

I got this for a wedding present and knew virtually nothing about vacuums. 4 1/2 years later I am still loving this thing even though I had no clue about it when I got it! I have 2 kids so a good vacuum is important to me. The "dirt container" is big, but I am constantly changing it, so that is a huge relief to me to see how much nastiness the vacuum is picking up! It's not super light (you can't lift it with 1 finger like other brands), but it picks up the dirt. Major win. Would buy it again.

brownsugartoast
1-20 of 631 total reviews
1-20 of 631 reviews