Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

26 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

26 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 24 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
nice cooler! about what I expected from Coleman
6/16/2016

Customer review by toolcollector

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by toolcollector
by toolcollector

MADE IN THE USA! This cooler is probably not any better than a plastic Coleman cooler, but you're paying extra for the nostalgia, a conversation piece, classic Americana. Full retail list price on these coolers is a little absurd. So shop around, but walmart.com prices are the best I've found. $80 for the red, slightly less for the green, both classic Coleman colors. I ordered the red one and received the red/black color combo, not the red/white. They should specify which color is available in the description, but I still love the cooler. Latch mechanism on this one is an improvement over my inherited steel belted from the 80's. Thinking about buying the green one next. FedEx delivered in perfect condition, no damage to cooler or outer box.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
toolcollector
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The color is wrong
7/6/2016

Customer review by Fishwinican

4.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Fishwinican
by Fishwinican
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The cooler is ok I suppose. The problem is Walmart shows a red and white cooler. The actual cooler is red with black accents . I wanted the retro look so I sent the cooler back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishwinican
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks good and does the job!
5/21/2016

Customer review by SIrAskhimCopernicus

4.0 stars 5/21/2016 by SIrAskhimCopernicus
by SIrAskhimCopernicus
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've wanted this cooler for a while now and finally decided to get it. I've only had it a week now but so far I am happy with it. I use it daily and it seems to keep things cool the entire day, the ice doesn't melt too fast which was a problem with my previous cooler, I am a little worried that the cheap plastic opening latch may break off but only time will tell. It's large enough to keep a lot in it so running of cold drinks shouldn't be an issue on a day out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SIrAskhimCopernicus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great cooler
9/5/2010

Customer review by trv131

5.0 stars 9/5/2010 by trv131
by trv131

I was very glad to see coleman bring back the steel belted cooler. I used it the first weekend i got it. I put ice and groceries in it on the first day, and three days later, still had ice and everything was still ice cold. Wal-Mart had the best price on this cooler that I could find.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trv131
St. Charles, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Owner
6/19/2016

Customer review by SSGJohn

1.0 stars 6/19/2016 by SSGJohn
by SSGJohn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived Damaged. I have to return it. plastic bottom is cracked & falling apart. not sure how it will hold up under normal conditions...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SSGJohn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
6/17/2016

Customer review by HappyCamper

5.0 stars 6/17/2016 by HappyCamper
by HappyCamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This purchase was to replace our old Coleman cooler. This one is even better! Great capacity and cooling ability.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
2/24/2011

Customer review by MsSilk

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by MsSilk
by MsSilk

My mother gave me her steel coleman cooler 28 years ago she had it as long as I can remember I've used it for the last 28 years and it works as good now as 28 years ago I'll still get many years use out of it. I'm buying another coleman steel cooler not because anything is wrong with it ice still there a week later. my family has got so large I need a second cooler to hold food for aweek and the Plastic coolers just aren't good for packing food you want to stay frozen for3 to 5 days I have a plastic colman cooler its a great cooler keeping drinks cold and ice last a day or two but I haven't found a cooler yet to beat my moms steel coleman cooler

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsSilk
Altoona, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
GOOD BUT NOT GREAT
6/15/2009

Customer review by CampChaos

3.0 stars 6/15/2009 by CampChaos
by CampChaos

Aesthetically, it's great. The side handles are not as pictured, but are adequate. Coleman must have changed the design from the original model. the closing latch, although metal, is flimsy as I could certainly bend it off with my bare hand. The remaining construction is sturdy and should last many trouble free years of service. I have attached a wall mount bottle opener to the front surface as the original Coleman steel cooler.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampChaos
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Go Red
8/17/2011

Customer review by ken888

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by ken888
by ken888

This cooler just made a trip to hampton beach NH. on Aug 12-14 we packed it with food and drinks and ice, It worked hard as kids wife and me was in and out of it all weekend everything was nice and cold!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ken888
VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good buy
7/30/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this cooler for my husband who is a welder and is always in the heat! He loves is because you have ice for several days! It is a very good buy!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great product
7/13/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/13/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We had this same cooler for 20 years and I dropped it from a second story loft and broke a hinge on the lid, so we had to replace it, and this one is even better than the one we had for the past 20 years! It is better constructed and even tougher! I highly recommed this cooler. It will last for a really really long time unless you drop it from a 2nd story or higher!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
7/7/2008

Customer review by Jags

4.0 stars 7/7/2008 by Jags
by Jags

Great durability, quality and appearance. Added this one to an existing one that is 25 years old and still working great. Cleans up better, easier to carry and holds up better than similar size all plastic coolers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jags
Southeastern PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
keeps it cold
9/4/2008

Customer review by umpire42

5.0 stars 9/4/2008 by umpire42
by umpire42

I had another cooler that lasted 20 years so I needed a new one. We went camping so on Fri. I packed the cooler and put a a bag and a half of ice in it. On Monday the ice was still there, the cooler kept everything cold.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
umpire42
swansea. il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
5/3/2010

Customer review by FAMILYCAMPOUTS

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by FAMILYCAMPOUTS
by FAMILYCAMPOUTS

KEPT ICE ALL WEEKEND, STILL HAS ICE IN IT ON MONDAY AFTERNOON. WILL CHECK ON IT TOMORROW. A LITTLE PRICY, BUT WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COLEMAN PRODUCT. HAVE HAD ONE SINCE 1967 AND STILL KEEPS ICE

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FAMILYCAMPOUTS
MESA, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
NICE COOLER BUT BEATUP
8/13/2008

Customer review by WEEWILLIE2

3.0 stars 8/13/2008 by WEEWILLIE2
by WEEWILLIE2

I REALLY THIS COOLER BUT IT HAD 3 DENTS IN IT,SENT IT BACK BOUGHT ANOTHER KIND. COOLER NICE HANDLING BAD. BM

Was this review helpful? (2) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WEEWILLIE2
WESTERN ARKANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/16/2011

Customer review by bsktjam

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by bsktjam
by bsktjam

Great item. Worht the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bsktjam
grant town wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Performed well keeping ice for 4 days (first use)
8/26/2013

Customer review by FPG0000

4.0 stars 8/26/2013 by FPG0000
by FPG0000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First use was not out camping. It kept ice well. The handle and catch mounted on the lift lid is plastic but the part you see in the photo is metal action piece. I really doubt handle and internal latch part will last the 30+ years our last greenbelted Coleman did. And, there's no bottle opener in the handle in this new remake model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FPG0000
Bethel Island, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/6/2008

Customer review by Bagmaster

5.0 stars 9/6/2008 by Bagmaster
by Bagmaster

Excellent product, well built and spare parts are available from Coleman for this model. Site to store shipping is way too slow, took 3 weeks to get it delivered to the local store. Also this model comes in two colors, red and green but Walmart only offers it in the red model, what's with that?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bagmaster
Upsate, South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
no all plastic coolers for me
9/1/2010

Customer review by happytent

1.0 stars 9/1/2010 by happytent
by happytent

my last coleman stainless steel cooler was stolen from my front yard. i loved it and the new red coleman cooler is also a joy to use. tried a regular plastic cooler in between, went back to this one. this cooler looks so sweet, theft is the only issue with it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happytent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ideal size cooler
5/21/2014

Customer review by campro

5.0 stars 5/21/2014 by campro
by campro
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A durable cooler that is attractive. Not too big that you can't carry it and not too small so you have to cram things into it, but just the right size! Comfortable rubber grip handles for carrying and easy open lid with a twist lock. By far my favorite cooler and I have many.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
campro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews