Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 870 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

870 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

870 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
566
4 stars
205
3 stars
40
2 stars
31
1 stars
28
1-20 of 760 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 760 total reviews
1-20 of 760 reviews
Great baby Gate
5/8/2009

Customer review by strlette04

5.0 stars 5/8/2009 by strlette04
by strlette04

I'm really glad I bought this gate. It looks wonderful and was fairly easy to setup. You can leave it as a regular pressure mount or put 4 screws in the wall to make it permanent and more stable. It keeps my 11 month old baby out of the bathroom and bedrooms while still allowing my 4 year old to open the gate to get in. Exactly what I was looking for in a baby gate. Ease of use for myself and my son and protection for my baby!

Was this review helpful? (46) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
strlette04
Conroe, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
PERFECT! Very helpful
5/30/2010

Customer review by MomatHomeof2

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by MomatHomeof2
by MomatHomeof2

We bought this swing gate because we have a 9 month old and a 7 year old. We are back and forth through the doorway day and night. Spending the extra money on this gate was WELL WORTH IT. It is SO EASY to use and was simple to install. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomatHomeof2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Damaged
8/12/2016

Customer review by Mimimegbell

1.0 stars 8/12/2016 by Mimimegbell
by Mimimegbell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Item was damaged, had to return

Was this review helpful? (3) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mimimegbell
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beats climbing over a gate
12/30/2012

Customer review by namelgof

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by namelgof
by namelgof
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Delivery was fast (3 days) and setup was easy. It comes with a 6" extension for wider doors, which I did not need for a bedroom. Also comes with 4 retainer cups that can be screwed to the door frame or wall and bannister post for stairway use. Since I use it in a bedroom doorway, I did not use the retainer cups. However, I found that the top of the gate will work its way out of the door jamb with use. This seems to be because there is a pastic button on the bottom of the swing gate that creates pressure between the swing part and the bottom frame on the floor so it will snap tight when closing. Of course, when opening the gate you must exert enough force on the swing part to overcome the pressure button, which after some use will push the top out from the door jamb. The bottom of the frame always stays put, just the top will push out over time. To fix the issue I installed the screw down retainer cups onto the door jamb for both sides of the top. So far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
namelgof
West Lafayette, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than expected!
8/28/2008

Customer review by MAK1981

5.0 stars 8/28/2008 by MAK1981
by MAK1981

This gate delivers what it promises. Its construction is completely solid; the gate is tall enough to house any medium-sized dog with ease (our medium-sized dog has anxiety and can jump onto a counter-height kitchen table, but he hasn't tried jumping this, yet); is attractive and clean-looking; locks with a simple pull-mechanism; and the door allows you to leave gate up without getting in the way. The only drawbacks are that the bottom support bar running across the length essentially prevents you from raising the gate above floor level (in case you wanted it a few inches higher, for example), and the lock is simple enough for a toddler to figure out (although the pull-back lever to release the lock takes a firm grip, and you have to pull it back at the same time as you raise the release bar). Also, the way to fasten the gate onto the door is by screwing and unscrewing the 4 edge bolts. Once the gate's on, it's perfect, but getting the exact fit for your door is frustrating. Not hard, but frustrating :)

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MAK1981
Sterling Heights, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Love It!
4/23/2009

Customer review by DOGnCATmom

5.0 stars 4/23/2009 by DOGnCATmom
by DOGnCATmom

We have two adult dogs, two young dogs and nine (yes nine) kitties. The dogs need to stay out of certain rooms, but the cats need access. It got very difficult stepping over our other fences, or moving them to walk down the hall. We have another fence similar to this in a doorway that we removed (sawed out) one of the vertical rails from, so the cats can walk through but the dogs can't. Unfortunately, that one didn't fit the width of the hall. This one does - without the extension piece!! Additionally, the rails are slightly further apart, and all the kitties (even our big fat ones) can walk through it - no alterations needed. If the cost was lower I would definitely buy more of them, but it's still worth the price paid.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DOGnCATmom
North Wales, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Measuring Issues
10/13/2009

Customer review by Barboo

3.0 stars 10/13/2009 by Barboo
by Barboo

In general I like Regalo gates. They tend to be good quality. MEASUREMENT WARNING, though: I bought this gate for a 36" opening. The description says that it fits up to 39"...but this is with the extension. Without the extension this gate is really only effective for openings probably closer to 33". To fit my 36" opening the tension rods had to be extended out too far to build proper tension. They often pop out of the gate or get unaligned making the gate pop open. I've had to completely readjust the gate several times. I plan to move this gate to a smaller opening and get a different gate to replace it.

Was this review helpful? (192) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barboo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Very sturdy and dependable
2/19/2010

Customer review by tny222

5.0 stars 2/19/2010 by tny222
by tny222

I have to admit I am not the best at putting things together but this product was easy to install. It is very sturdy. My husband does not like putting holes in the wall for anything and this gate does a wonderful job without being screwed into the wall. My son is 19 months and had a meltdown yesterday when he could not get into the kitchen. He banged and pulled and was even hanging from the gate at one point and the gate stood its ground. Also the latch is very easy to operate. The latch itself is probably made to use with two hands but once you get the hang of it, you can open it with one hand very easily. Overall this gate is awesome and I am getting another now to go upstairs.

Was this review helpful? (101) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tny222
Hope Mills, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Good gate
4/27/2017

Customer review by LiamP

4.0 stars 4/27/2017 by LiamP
by LiamP

This is a good gate if you don't want to use a hardware mounted gate. You just place it in the space you want and turn the four bolts until the rubber on each side is snugly against the wall. It took less than 10 minutes to install at the top of the stairs. It also comes with one extension so you can use it in a space of more than 3 feet. My only issue is with the size of the gate's opening; it is pretty small. A skinny person or child can get through walking forwards but it seems that anyone larger than average would have trouble getting through or would have to walk sideways to get through. Also noteworthy is that this isn't self-closing as some other models are. You will have to pull/push it shut behind you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LiamP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Gate for Child or Pet
7/19/2007

Customer review by ArdentPhoenix

5.0 stars 7/19/2007 by ArdentPhoenix
by ArdentPhoenix

I purchased 3 of these gates in NJ, to contain my dogs before I moved to VA. This is my 4th one. The local store in VA didn't have them, so I used the site to store feature. Shipping was super fast and didn't cost me anything. I am totally satisfied with the product and service I received from WalMart. The Regalo gate sets up in a few minutes and has the walk-thru feature that makes removing the gate unnecessary. The bars are made of metal, which deters dogs from chewing them. These types of gates sell for much more in specialized baby stores. I highly recommend them for child or pet containment.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArdentPhoenix
Appomattox, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Perfect for the Purpose
6/20/2010

Customer review by MomInTheSouthEast

5.0 stars 6/20/2010 by MomInTheSouthEast
by MomInTheSouthEast

This gate was purchased to keep dogs (Great Danes) and the cat out of the bedroom but make it easy for the parents to get in and out. Since we are only using it for pets and not kids we don't lock the latch making it easy to open with one hand. The product was easy to install and adjust. Also a great price compared to similar products.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomInTheSouthEast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Great Gate
7/5/2014

Customer review by Luvs2ride

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Luvs2ride
by Luvs2ride
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this gate to keep our pets out of one section of the house that got new carpeting and we love it. The walk through door is very easy to open and assembly and install is very easy as well. We used the rubber stopper install since there will not be any weight pushing on it, but there are screws if you need to mount in the wall for heavier animals or children that will be pushing on it. We did not want to spend a fortune and this was a very nice price for a walk through gate that does not have to be wall mounted. Would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luvs2ride
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A passable gate
11/7/2012

Customer review by poohbear7882

4.0 stars 11/7/2012 by poohbear7882
by poohbear7882

This gate (with the extension) fits a 40 inch opening. The opening I'm using this in is just a hair bigger than that so if an adult puts weight on it, the top will slide slowly. My 18 lb son grabs it and pulls back and forth with no movement. I have it pressure mounted. The gate comes with the extension to make it 40 inches. The opening device is much to complicated for my 9 1/2 month old son to figure out, but easy enough for my 6 year old niece to use without issue. It would have been nice if it went both ways, but I knew it only opened in one direction and bought it anyways. It opens in a way that it would be a feat to smash any little fingers that aren't placed directly into the opening device, which is far more important to me than opening both ways. The door stays open until you close it. Overall, the gate works well and I am satisfied with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poohbear7882
Boomer, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
good gate / just a couple of improvements maybe
4/14/2017

Customer review by LeaSchott

4.0 stars 4/14/2017 by LeaSchott
by LeaSchott

Fits openings 29-40 inches wide with included extension kit and stand 31 inches tall These are well made gates, the only issues with all brands it seems to be that they are either not wide enough or too wide. There is not enough different sizes. when you use the extension all the way the extension bolt starts to bow ...need to make the bolts stronger set up is super easy we mounted to wood pieces to make stronger

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeaSchott
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Baby gate
8/13/2007

Customer review by Estraven

5.0 stars 8/13/2007 by Estraven
by Estraven

We have a 10 mo. old who crawls everywhere. This gate was easy to install, is durable (metal). The only problem is is the opening - "door" for the adults - it is a bit narrow - only 16 in. - bit too narrow if you need to bring anything downstairs - like laundry etc.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Estraven
Parsippany, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Easy to assemble & serves purpose well
5/6/2012

Customer review by MomGmaWifeFriend

4.0 stars 5/6/2012 by MomGmaWifeFriend
by MomGmaWifeFriend

Easy to set up & adjust - did it myself in about 5 minutes. Only a couple of minor complaints - the latching mechanism is a little difficult to open one-handed, which can happen often if you're carrying a child or laundry, etc. However, it is definitely manageable & will be even harder for my grandchild to figure out as she gets older, which is a plus, so for me the pro & con of the latch cancel each other out, LOL. The only other minor complaint is that the opening itself is a little narrow for a plump grandma to go straight through comfortably - if I walk straight through, it IS wide enough, but my jeans scrape the bars on either side, so I usually turn slightly sideways to save wear & tear on my pants. Not a huge deal, but just letting people know. The gate is DEFINITELY very sturdy & will last well into the toddler years, & very reasonably priced. I'm pleased with the purchase & would recommend to others. I ordered this online on a Friday night & received on the next Wednesday, well within the stated delivery & exceeding my expectation.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomGmaWifeFriend
Texas
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Not what I thought it would be....
2/3/2014

Customer review by Kirstene

3.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Kirstene
by Kirstene
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched and read reviews for different types of pressure gates that would be good on the stairs. We have an 18 month old and another on the way and I do not want them on or anywhere near the stairs in our house. We also have a dog what I would like upstairs with us at night and not running all over the house waking the baby up. So after researching I thought this was the best deal. The construction of the gate was very easy to understand but the instructions made it more confusing. Once assembled, it didn't really provide the stability I was looking for. My son came over and one yank it was off. I definitely will pay a little more money now for something more stable. If you are looking for something for less active children and pets this would be good but not for active children at all!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kirstene
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great as a dog gate
1/31/2011

Customer review by Zuzu45

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Zuzu45
by Zuzu45

Putting this pressure-gate together was not as simple as it might seem, but it can be done fairly easily IF you read the instructions carefully instead of wasting time by trying to install it without reading the manufacturer's tips and how-to. Once installed, this is an excellent gate. It's sturdy, attractive, and will not budge from the door jamb. We use it to keep our dogs out of certain rooms. It closes nicely with one hand, and it need not be locked for use with our pets. When open, the gateway is fairly narrow, but so far that hasn't been an issue. This gate is an excellent value compared to others I priced on the web. The gate is a standard doorway size out of the box, and an extension piece is included for use with wider doorways.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zuzu45
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Not what was expected
3/30/2009

Customer review by RockysMom1

1.0 stars 3/30/2009 by RockysMom1
by RockysMom1

The measurements said 27 - 42" wide it did not say that you could not make it 36" which is what I needed. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (49) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockysMom1
New Haven, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
small measurement window where gate won't fit
2/27/2009

Customer review by OutToSave

1.0 stars 2/27/2009 by OutToSave
by OutToSave

Because of the base moulding on my wall, the gate would not fit. With the extension it was too wide, without the extension pieces the adjusters were too extended and would buckle out on pressure!!!!! So frustrating. PS the opening I am trying to fit is 34 1/2"...not a crazy size!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OutToSave
Tooele, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
1-20 of 760 total reviews
1-20 of 760 reviews