Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 884 reviews
5 stars
576
4 stars
207
3 stars
40
2 stars
32
1 stars
29
Sort by: 
1-20 of 774 reviews
1-20 of 774 reviews
Great baby Gate
5/8/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm really glad I bought this gate. It looks wonderful and was fairly easy to setup. You can leave it as a regular pressure mount or put 4 screws in the wall to make it permanent and more stable. It keeps my 11 month old baby out of the bathroom and bedrooms while still allowing my 4 year old to open the gate to get in. Exactly what I was looking for in a baby gate. Ease of use for myself and my son and protection for my baby!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
PERFECT! Very helpful
5/30/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this swing gate because we have a 9 month old and a 7 year old. We are back and forth through the doorway day and night. Spending the extra money on this gate was WELL WORTH IT. It is SO EASY to use and was simple to install. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Damaged
8/12/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Item was damaged, had to return
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beats climbing over a gate
12/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Delivery was fast (3 days) and setup was easy. It comes with a 6" extension for wider doors, which I did not need for a bedroom. Also comes with 4 retainer cups that can be screwed to the door frame or wall and bannister post for stairway use. Since I use it in a bedroom doorway, I did not use the retainer cups. However, I found that the top of the gate will work its way out of the door jamb with use. This seems to be because there is a pastic button on the bottom of the swing gate that creates pressure between the swing part and the bottom frame on the floor so it will snap tight when closing. Of course, when opening the gate you must exert enough force on the swing part to overcome the pressure button, which after some use will push the top out from the door jamb. The bottom of the frame always stays put, just the top will push out over time. To fix the issue I installed the screw down retainer cups onto the door jamb for both sides of the top. So far, so good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome gate
9/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pros: Easy to install, durable, latch is easy to use, very tall gate, and has a door Cons: Opens only one way and has a very narrow opening I bought this gate specifically for my fur babies because my last gate couldn't keep them in. The pressure mounts adjust separately so I had no trouble setting up the gate in the hallway with my baseboard that sticks out a bit. The handle is easy enough to use (I have been able to open and close gate with one hand). The gate Is very tall and has vertical bars so you don't have to worry about babies or toddlers being able to easily climb it or anyone going over the gate . I love that it has a door so I don't have to keep sliding anything around the only two drawbacks I can think of is that the gate makes your hallway very narrow (so my mother who is a bit on the chunky side) has to come in sideways but it's not a huge deal in my household just thought I would mention it and also it only opens one way so depending on which direction you want the gate to open you have to set it up facing a certain direction. I would definitely recommend this product
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than expected!
8/28/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gate delivers what it promises. Its construction is completely solid; the gate is tall enough to house any medium-sized dog with ease (our medium-sized dog has anxiety and can jump onto a counter-height kitchen table, but he hasn't tried jumping this, yet); is attractive and clean-looking; locks with a simple pull-mechanism; and the door allows you to leave gate up without getting in the way. The only drawbacks are that the bottom support bar running across the length essentially prevents you from raising the gate above floor level (in case you wanted it a few inches higher, for example), and the lock is simple enough for a toddler to figure out (although the pull-back lever to release the lock takes a firm grip, and you have to pull it back at the same time as you raise the release bar). Also, the way to fasten the gate onto the door is by screwing and unscrewing the 4 edge bolts. Once the gate's on, it's perfect, but getting the exact fit for your door is frustrating. Not hard, but frustrating :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very sturdy and dependable
2/19/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have to admit I am not the best at putting things together but this product was easy to install. It is very sturdy. My husband does not like putting holes in the wall for anything and this gate does a wonderful job without being screwed into the wall. My son is 19 months and had a meltdown yesterday when he could not get into the kitchen. He banged and pulled and was even hanging from the gate at one point and the gate stood its ground. Also the latch is very easy to operate. The latch itself is probably made to use with two hands but once you get the hang of it, you can open it with one hand very easily. Overall this gate is awesome and I am getting another now to go upstairs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (106)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Measuring Issues
10/13/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
In general I like Regalo gates. They tend to be good quality. MEASUREMENT WARNING, though: I bought this gate for a 36" opening. The description says that it fits up to 39"...but this is with the extension. Without the extension this gate is really only effective for openings probably closer to 33". To fit my 36" opening the tension rods had to be extended out too far to build proper tension. They often pop out of the gate or get unaligned making the gate pop open. I've had to completely readjust the gate several times. I plan to move this gate to a smaller opening and get a different gate to replace it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (194)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love It!
4/23/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have two adult dogs, two young dogs and nine (yes nine) kitties. The dogs need to stay out of certain rooms, but the cats need access. It got very difficult stepping over our other fences, or moving them to walk down the hall. We have another fence similar to this in a doorway that we removed (sawed out) one of the vertical rails from, so the cats can walk through but the dogs can't. Unfortunately, that one didn't fit the width of the hall. This one does - without the extension piece!! Additionally, the rails are slightly further apart, and all the kitties (even our big fat ones) can walk through it - no alterations needed. If the cost was lower I would definitely buy more of them, but it's still worth the price paid.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love it
10/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love this gate. The easy step through makes it worth spending the money
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Gate for Child or Pet
7/19/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased 3 of these gates in NJ, to contain my dogs before I moved to VA. This is my 4th one. The local store in VA didn't have them, so I used the site to store feature. Shipping was super fast and didn't cost me anything. I am totally satisfied with the product and service I received from WalMart. The Regalo gate sets up in a few minutes and has the walk-thru feature that makes removing the gate unnecessary. The bars are made of metal, which deters dogs from chewing them. These types of gates sell for much more in specialized baby stores. I highly recommend them for child or pet containment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great !
8/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This baby gate is great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for the Purpose
6/20/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gate was purchased to keep dogs (Great Danes) and the cat out of the bedroom but make it easy for the parents to get in and out. Since we are only using it for pets and not kids we don't lock the latch making it easy to open with one hand. The product was easy to install and adjust. Also a great price compared to similar products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A passable gate
11/7/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gate (with the extension) fits a 40 inch opening. The opening I'm using this in is just a hair bigger than that so if an adult puts weight on it, the top will slide slowly. My 18 lb son grabs it and pulls back and forth with no movement. I have it pressure mounted. The gate comes with the extension to make it 40 inches. The opening device is much to complicated for my 9 1/2 month old son to figure out, but easy enough for my 6 year old niece to use without issue. It would have been nice if it went both ways, but I knew it only opened in one direction and bought it anyways. It opens in a way that it would be a feat to smash any little fingers that aren't placed directly into the opening device, which is far more important to me than opening both ways. The door stays open until you close it. Overall, the gate works well and I am satisfied with the purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Gate
7/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We bought this gate to keep our pets out of one section of the house that got new carpeting and we love it. The walk through door is very easy to open and assembly and install is very easy as well. We used the rubber stopper install since there will not be any weight pushing on it, but there are screws if you need to mount in the wall for heavier animals or children that will be pushing on it. We did not want to spend a fortune and this was a very nice price for a walk through gate that does not have to be wall mounted. Would recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
love this gate
9/6/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just got my gate today 9-6-2017 it was so easy to put up and works great I'm so happy I decided to buy this gate it was not very expensive and works grate for my older kids to get through and the keep my baby out of the kitchen I would defentley recommend getting this gate if you are trying to keep little ones out of areas in your house I was sick of having to step over our old gate this is great cause now all we have to do is open it and close it I'm a very happy mama
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great as a dog gate
1/31/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Putting this pressure-gate together was not as simple as it might seem, but it can be done fairly easily IF you read the instructions carefully instead of wasting time by trying to install it without reading the manufacturer's tips and how-to. Once installed, this is an excellent gate. It's sturdy, attractive, and will not budge from the door jamb. We use it to keep our dogs out of certain rooms. It closes nicely with one hand, and it need not be locked for use with our pets. When open, the gateway is fairly narrow, but so far that hasn't been an issue. This gate is an excellent value compared to others I priced on the web. The gate is a standard doorway size out of the box, and an extension piece is included for use with wider doorways.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what I thought it would be....
2/3/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I researched and read reviews for different types of pressure gates that would be good on the stairs. We have an 18 month old and another on the way and I do not want them on or anywhere near the stairs in our house. We also have a dog what I would like upstairs with us at night and not running all over the house waking the baby up. So after researching I thought this was the best deal. The construction of the gate was very easy to understand but the instructions made it more confusing. Once assembled, it didn't really provide the stability I was looking for. My son came over and one yank it was off. I definitely will pay a little more money now for something more stable. If you are looking for something for less active children and pets this would be good but not for active children at all!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Baby gate
8/13/2007
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have a 10 mo. old who crawls everywhere. This gate was easy to install, is durable (metal). The only problem is is the opening - "door" for the adults - it is a bit narrow - only 16 in. - bit too narrow if you need to bring anything downstairs - like laundry etc.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing
9/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We live in an older home with lots of wood work, so to find gates that fit are tough. This one is perfect and the price is great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641768, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-