Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 753 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

753 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

753 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
488
4 stars
177
3 stars
35
2 stars
28
1 stars
25
1-20 of 643 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 643 total reviews
1-20 of 643 reviews
Measuring Issues
10/13/2009

Customer review by Barboo

3.0 stars 10/13/2009 by Barboo
by Barboo

In general I like Regalo gates. They tend to be good quality. MEASUREMENT WARNING, though: I bought this gate for a 36" opening. The description says that it fits up to 39"...but this is with the extension. Without the extension this gate is really only effective for openings probably closer to 33". To fit my 36" opening the tension rods had to be extended out too far to build proper tension. They often pop out of the gate or get unaligned making the gate pop open. I've had to completely readjust the gate several times. I plan to move this gate to a smaller opening and get a different gate to replace it.

Was this review helpful? (157) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barboo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very sturdy and dependable
2/19/2010

Customer review by tny222

5.0 stars 2/19/2010 by tny222
by tny222

I have to admit I am not the best at putting things together but this product was easy to install. It is very sturdy. My husband does not like putting holes in the wall for anything and this gate does a wonderful job without being screwed into the wall. My son is 19 months and had a meltdown yesterday when he could not get into the kitchen. He banged and pulled and was even hanging from the gate at one point and the gate stood its ground. Also the latch is very easy to operate. The latch itself is probably made to use with two hands but once you get the hang of it, you can open it with one hand very easily. Overall this gate is awesome and I am getting another now to go upstairs.

Was this review helpful? (80) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tny222
Hope Mills, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Gate for Child or Pet
7/19/2007

Customer review by ArdentPhoenix

5.0 stars 7/19/2007 by ArdentPhoenix
by ArdentPhoenix

I purchased 3 of these gates in NJ, to contain my dogs before I moved to VA. This is my 4th one. The local store in VA didn't have them, so I used the site to store feature. Shipping was super fast and didn't cost me anything. I am totally satisfied with the product and service I received from WalMart. The Regalo gate sets up in a few minutes and has the walk-thru feature that makes removing the gate unnecessary. The bars are made of metal, which deters dogs from chewing them. These types of gates sell for much more in specialized baby stores. I highly recommend them for child or pet containment.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArdentPhoenix
Appomattox, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It!
4/23/2009

Customer review by DOGnCATmom

5.0 stars 4/23/2009 by DOGnCATmom
by DOGnCATmom

We have two adult dogs, two young dogs and nine (yes nine) kitties. The dogs need to stay out of certain rooms, but the cats need access. It got very difficult stepping over our other fences, or moving them to walk down the hall. We have another fence similar to this in a doorway that we removed (sawed out) one of the vertical rails from, so the cats can walk through but the dogs can't. Unfortunately, that one didn't fit the width of the hall. This one does - without the extension piece!! Additionally, the rails are slightly further apart, and all the kitties (even our big fat ones) can walk through it - no alterations needed. If the cost was lower I would definitely buy more of them, but it's still worth the price paid.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DOGnCATmom
North Wales, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what was expected
3/30/2009

Customer review by RockysMom1

1.0 stars 3/30/2009 by RockysMom1
by RockysMom1

The measurements said 27 - 42" wide it did not say that you could not make it 36" which is what I needed. I returned it.

Was this review helpful? (40) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockysMom1
New Haven, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Baby gate
8/13/2007

Customer review by Estraven

5.0 stars 8/13/2007 by Estraven
by Estraven

We have a 10 mo. old who crawls everywhere. This gate was easy to install, is durable (metal). The only problem is is the opening - "door" for the adults - it is a bit narrow - only 16 in. - bit too narrow if you need to bring anything downstairs - like laundry etc.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Estraven
Parsippany, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
small measurement window where gate won't fit
2/27/2009

Customer review by OutToSave

1.0 stars 2/27/2009 by OutToSave
by OutToSave

Because of the base moulding on my wall, the gate would not fit. With the extension it was too wide, without the extension pieces the adjusters were too extended and would buckle out on pressure!!!!! So frustrating. PS the opening I am trying to fit is 34 1/2"...not a crazy size!

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OutToSave
Tooele, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great baby Gate
5/8/2009

Customer review by strlette04

5.0 stars 5/8/2009 by strlette04
by strlette04

I'm really glad I bought this gate. It looks wonderful and was fairly easy to setup. You can leave it as a regular pressure mount or put 4 screws in the wall to make it permanent and more stable. It keeps my 11 month old baby out of the bathroom and bedrooms while still allowing my 4 year old to open the gate to get in. Exactly what I was looking for in a baby gate. Ease of use for myself and my son and protection for my baby!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
strlette04
Conroe, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for the Purpose
6/20/2010

Customer review by MomInTheSouthEast

5.0 stars 6/20/2010 by MomInTheSouthEast
by MomInTheSouthEast

This gate was purchased to keep dogs (Great Danes) and the cat out of the bedroom but make it easy for the parents to get in and out. Since we are only using it for pets and not kids we don't lock the latch making it easy to open with one hand. The product was easy to install and adjust. Also a great price compared to similar products.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomInTheSouthEast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Gate
7/5/2014

Customer review by Luvs2ride

5.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Luvs2ride
by Luvs2ride

We bought this gate to keep our pets out of one section of the house that got new carpeting and we love it. The walk through door is very easy to open and assembly and install is very easy as well. We used the rubber stopper install since there will not be any weight pushing on it, but there are screws if you need to mount in the wall for heavier animals or children that will be pushing on it. We did not want to spend a fortune and this was a very nice price for a walk through gate that does not have to be wall mounted. Would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Luvs2ride
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Investment
8/12/2007

Customer review by DaDa25kids

5.0 stars 8/12/2007 by DaDa25kids
by DaDa25kids

I wish we would have bought this gate long before we did. When we first installed it we thought it was defective because the door latch did not reach far enough to close the gate. But once we read all the instructions, we found the notice that warned that the gate is NOT defective, because it will close once the gate is properly installed (the tension got rid of the gap). It's sturdy and easy to open and close-even with one hand. Definitely would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaDa25kids
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
PERFECT! Very helpful
5/30/2010

Customer review by MomatHomeof2

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by MomatHomeof2
by MomatHomeof2

We bought this swing gate because we have a 9 month old and a 7 year old. We are back and forth through the doorway day and night. Spending the extra money on this gate was WELL WORTH IT. It is SO EASY to use and was simple to install. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomatHomeof2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I thought it would be....
2/3/2014

Customer review by Kirstene

3.0 stars 2/3/2014 by Kirstene
by Kirstene

I researched and read reviews for different types of pressure gates that would be good on the stairs. We have an 18 month old and another on the way and I do not want them on or anywhere near the stairs in our house. We also have a dog what I would like upstairs with us at night and not running all over the house waking the baby up. So after researching I thought this was the best deal. The construction of the gate was very easy to understand but the instructions made it more confusing. Once assembled, it didn't really provide the stability I was looking for. My son came over and one yank it was off. I definitely will pay a little more money now for something more stable. If you are looking for something for less active children and pets this would be good but not for active children at all!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kirstene
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/14/2008

Customer review by Nebgirl12

3.0 stars 10/14/2008 by Nebgirl12
by Nebgirl12

This product is okay, as long as you are not putting it at the top of the stairs. The gate is too small to go through w/ a baby on your hip.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nebgirl12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great as a dog gate
1/31/2011

Customer review by Zuzu45

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Zuzu45
by Zuzu45

Putting this pressure-gate together was not as simple as it might seem, but it can be done fairly easily IF you read the instructions carefully instead of wasting time by trying to install it without reading the manufacturer's tips and how-to. Once installed, this is an excellent gate. It's sturdy, attractive, and will not budge from the door jamb. We use it to keep our dogs out of certain rooms. It closes nicely with one hand, and it need not be locked for use with our pets. When open, the gateway is fairly narrow, but so far that hasn't been an issue. This gate is an excellent value compared to others I priced on the web. The gate is a standard doorway size out of the box, and an extension piece is included for use with wider doorways.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zuzu45
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Gate
3/11/2008

Customer review by Phoenix816

5.0 stars 3/11/2008 by Phoenix816
by Phoenix816

I bought this gate because my dog would eat the wooden ones. So far, so good. There are no teeth marks on this durable metal gate. Good buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phoenix816
Stockbridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bar space too wide!
5/27/2014

Customer review by Lenks

3.0 stars 5/27/2014 by Lenks
by Lenks

It’s a good gate if you are not worried about getting a baby or a pet stuck between the vertical bars of the gate. Anything that got through the opening you trying to block off will keep trying again. Having such wide opening on this gate is a big problem for me, and presenting quite the challenge to come up with a solution to block it. I’m using this for a small dog that squishes herself right through this gate. It’s easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lenks
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful, Super easy-to-install Baby Gate
8/12/2011

Customer review by sav31

5.0 stars 8/12/2011 by sav31
by sav31

This was our third attempt at a top-of and bottom-of stairs baby gate. This gate rocks. So very easy to install, sturdy, not at all cumbersome, easy enough for my preschooler to open, but too difficult for my 13 month old to open- perfect. The gate door swings open nicely...this is a rave-worthy gate. Great, great buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sav31
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great for the price!
10/23/2011

Customer review by LoveMyGirl021510

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by LoveMyGirl021510
by LoveMyGirl021510

I recently moved to a townhouse with stairs and was looking for a gate that wasn't too expensive! I was going back and forth because this one was so cheap! We decided to try it! It came in about a week and was extremely easy to install! Definitely read the instructions and the tag on the gate! I think I might buy another one for the top of the stairs!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyGirl021510
Everett, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overall it's pretty good
11/23/2013

Customer review by VEGASbredADRENALINE

2.0 stars 11/23/2013 by VEGASbredADRENALINE
by VEGASbredADRENALINE

Overall the gate is decent for the price. It was the cheapest one I could find. I bought two: one for the bottom of the stairs and one for the top. They are very study! The one, somewhat significant problem I have with them is the gate door is VERY narrow. The locking mechanism makes it almost impossible to function one handed with a baby in the others. Either you must leave it unlocked or have the gate open before you start carrying the baby through. Pain when your trying to put a sleeping baby to bed! Also if you put it on a stair like I had to, the bottom of the gate has a high lip which makes it nearly impossible to step on that stair as it takes up so much room.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VEGASbredADRENALINE
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 643 total reviews
1-20 of 643 reviews