Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
64
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 76 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
not accurate
8/29/2013

Customer review by ADVFilmer

1.0 stars 8/29/2013 by ADVFilmer
by ADVFilmer

I have tried as many possible remedies for the inaccuracy of the F1 as I can think of but it is consistently inaccurate. I will likely return it as it returns STDEV of 60 and above consistently and will read 9mm rounds from the same box going 1300ft/sec one day and 960 ft/sec the next. I have measured out 10ft from the bench and consistently placed the Chrony there each time, on sunny and cloudy days, hi and low diffusers and it is still all over the place. Just can't trust it. :-(

Was this review helpful? (1) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ADVFilmer
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
F1 Chrony - A great value
10/5/2010

Customer review by TupperwareShooter

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by TupperwareShooter
by TupperwareShooter

This is a must have for any serious handloader/reloader. It works as advertised. I tested factory ammunition of "known" muzzle velocities and the Chrony matched those expectations very closely, so I believe it is accurate. There is sufficient but limited functionality without the remote control switch or the printer. These two items help you tap into the advanced features that give statistics for each string of shots. The remote switch can be manufactured for under 10 bucks or you can buy one online for about $15. All I needed from my Chrony was the shot velocities which I recorded by hand and then keyed into a spreadsheet to give statistics, power factor, muzzle energy, etc. The WalMart price beat everyone else by a significant margin and the Site-to-Store shipping option (at no additional cost) worked perfectly (except my package arrived several days SOONER than promised). I would recommend both the Chrony and Walmart Online.

Was this review helpful? (48) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TupperwareShooter
Southport, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good product
4/2/2009

Customer review by WJinLV

5.0 stars 4/2/2009 by WJinLV
by WJinLV

Easy setup, reliable. Had two 9mm rounds hit the diffuser support rods and the unit still works well. The diffuser isn't necessary outdoors as far as I can tell, however putting pieces of masking tape at the recommended 4-6" above the sensors does give an aiming point. It worked well with .22, .380. 9mm and 7mm remmington magnum. A piece of 1/4" steel plate isn't a bad idea to protect the front of the unit from errant shots as there should be at least 10' from the shooter to the unit for pistols and 20' for overbore rifles.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WJinLV
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works great
12/26/2009

Customer review by VAonlineshpr

5.0 stars 12/26/2009 by VAonlineshpr
by VAonlineshpr

Very easy to set up and use. Appears to give accurate results (consistent with system at a pro shop). diffusers may be a little flimsy, but it does not really matter. Does exactly what I wanted it to do.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VAonlineshpr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product good price
1/10/2010

Customer review by LPtrol

4.0 stars 1/10/2010 by LPtrol
by LPtrol

Great product for a good price, only trouble is finding a Wal-Mart that still handles guns and shooting supplies.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LPtrol
mid Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent product
6/22/2009

Customer review by Krowbart

4.0 stars 6/22/2009 by Krowbart
by Krowbart

The F1 Chrono works as advertised - we have tested everything from Nerf darts to paintball guns to pellet rifles to real rifles, and the F1 has rarely failed to give a reading. I took away a star because of the sun filter - the plastic parts that connect the wire guides for use in direct sunlight. They are difficult to connect, and routinely fly apart with any movement of the F1. Once we put those away, the F1 worked very well - even in direct sunlight. To try to confirm accuracy, paintball guns were measured at the local field, and matched our readings, and ballistics charts confirmed our findings for .17Mach2 and .270Win - excellent product and price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krowbart
Houghton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Does the job!
1/22/2011

Customer review by nienna

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by nienna
by nienna

The Chrony F1 is the centerpiece of an expandable system, and it answers my decades old desire to obtain real data on ballistic speeds rather than trusting entirely on published data as an estimate, when I could find it. The F1 can be used both with arrows and bullets, and it is rated to measure speeds from 32-7,000 fps. The chronograph optically detects the passing missile. It seems consistent as long as there is good diffused light above the missile (using the included translucent strips or an overcast sky). If lighting is weak or uneven, the device may err, as is expected in unsuitable conditions. Tilting the F1 somewhat toward the sun, if using it outside, can solve uneven lighting if any problem arises. This product has worked well for me, with no frustration and few failures to measure. Accuracy is apparent in that table data usually agrees fairly well with measured values. The price for the F1 was reasonable, the package is nicely compact, and use is as easy as opening, setting on a tripod between shooting station and target, attaching diffusers, turning it on, shooting, and recording measurements. With only the addition of a 9v battery and a tripod, it is ready to go in outdoor daylight.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nienna
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
F1 Chrony - checking your reloads
9/10/2012

Customer review by magnumguns

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by magnumguns
by magnumguns

The Chrony F1 is a very good chronograph for shooting at a good price. Yes there are better ones out there but I am pleased with this unit. When I setup the unit I was at least 10 feet from the barrel so that you will not get errors because of the muzzle blast. It gave me readings on 98% of my shots, meaning I only had 2 error codes (over 100 shots through the Chrony). I shot 22LR, 375 Win, 308 Win and 338 Win mag through the unit. When getting this unit, I would recommend getting a tripod and a remote (additional cost of $20 to $25). If you can get the F1 and remote together would be the best, if unable to get the comb then you can buy or make a remote. I did not have a remote button with me to check all the functions but it worked very well. I reload cartridges and needed to see how close they were. On my 338 Win Mag I only had a difference of 75 feet per second difference on a total of 10 shot on one string. For the remote I got this information from other people on the web: You will need to buy or make a push button device to access the computer in the unit. You can get the remote control button through the chrony website. The remote allow you to "access" all the cool features like Hi, Lo, Average Dev, Standard Dev, extreme spread, etc. To build a remote you will need a 3 pole stereo 1/8 headphone jack plug. Even though only 2 connections are used a 2 pole jack WILL NOT work!!! Trust me on this as I had to go back and exchange parts. On a 1/8 inch stereo headphone jack there are three poles - the tip, the middle, and the "base". Even though it is a two pole connection, the Chrony uses the middle and base connections on the plug. All you need to do is solder a length of speaker wire to the above mentioned poles of the plug and put a momentary contact switch at the other end! Please note that the "tip" connection on the jack's plug is NOT used. I'm hoping that sharing this information will help you. Have fun shooting..

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
magnumguns
Grand Forks, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
F1 Chrony
5/18/2016

Customer review by grimlama

5.0 stars 5/18/2016 by grimlama
by grimlama

This is a good buy if you need one. Very helpful in testing ammo to make sure it is as stated by the factory. Must have in order to properly sight in some pellet guns and is a great aid sighting in powder burners also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grimlama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Essential & Accurate
6/15/2014

Customer review by CarlWY

5.0 stars 6/15/2014 by CarlWY
by CarlWY

Works like a CHARM! It is a very precise instrument. Read and follow directions to the letter regarding tripod, tape-marking, muzzle distance and trajectory-height above the sensors. The shooting "window" is very small and requires careful aiming. I used a "maintenance-box" like a Lead-Sled for total bench-rest lockdown stability, sighted down the barrel, NOT the scope, and had no problems. Using info and reviews provided here and elsewhere, I built a remote switch from Radio Shack parts and it works just GREAT! The Chrony will do-all-the-math FOR you! Essential for re-loaders, your weapon's performance, or just checking factory consistency. I was able to Chrony .22lr, centerfire, even air-rifle pellets with no problem. Pay attention to where you are aiming... Check-check-check BEFORE each shot... Diffusers, YES on sunny day, and diffusers no with clouds, either-way worked fine. Walmart's delivery and service were right on the mark. Thanks Chrony! .... Thanks Walmart! If you're serious about your ammunition, getcha one of these!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarlWY
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Chrony review
10/9/2008

Customer review by Sumcat

4.0 stars 10/9/2008 by Sumcat
by Sumcat

Some initial difficulty getting the rods into the outer holes. After that it worked flawlessly. Readouts are instant and easy to see. I used it for air rifles with velocities from low 400 to upper 900 range and it senses small .177 cal pellets with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sumcat
Salem VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
F-1 chrony
1/1/2011

Customer review by Cooney123

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Cooney123
by Cooney123

This is a great product if you have an air gun, it will let you know the performance and the condition of the power plant of the air gun, the only complaint I have with it is you have to buy or make a remote to be able to access all the functions (lo-hi-av-es-sd ) buy it you wont regret it. this is the best price I could find it anywhere and only 00.97 shipping, Fed-x delivered it to my house in about 3 days, now you can't beet that....

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cooney123
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
F1 Chronograph
4/23/2011

Customer review by Midcountry2

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Midcountry2
by Midcountry2

Received it in two days (much faster then expected) shipped to store and took it out to the range on the following weekend. It worked as it supposed to every time and the LCD can be read easily even with those old eyes of mine from 10' away. You got to have one of these if you reload your ammos.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Midcountry2
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Deal for the Price
11/8/2011

Customer review by UTSkiDad

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by UTSkiDad
by UTSkiDad

Pros: - Price - Folds to small size box - Simple and effective operation. Cons: - The metal frame and plastic diffusers break down into smaller pieces for storage in the folded unit. Horrible design. When you get the unit and diffusers assembled, they like to spontaneously explode into seven different sub-parts. Solution: Go to home depot and get some aluminum road for $2.50. Cut into 18" solid pieces. Hot glue the diffuser together. It then works great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UTSkiDad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Chronograph
7/29/2012

Customer review by GTS55

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by GTS55
by GTS55

The F1 works great, easy to set up and use. Great price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GTS55
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good accuracy
6/5/2008

Customer review by Jackjaw

5.0 stars 6/5/2008 by Jackjaw
by Jackjaw

This is a great buy for the price. I was using an old fashioned ballistic pendulum, which, when checked against my friend’s expensive chronograph, showed a 10% error. I checked my new cheaper priced Chrony that I bough from Wal-Mart against my pendulum and it proved the same 10% error. This proves it’s accuracy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jackjaw
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great for what your paying
2/7/2016

Customer review by MtnYankee

5.0 stars 2/7/2016 by MtnYankee
by MtnYankee

for air rifle pellets it was a little finicky. but any centerfire rifle or handgun its been great. Yes there is a learning curve as to when to use the light diffusers or not but you will find that with any chronogragh. I was pleasantly surprised with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MtnYankee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Value
12/16/2011

Customer review by GaryMC1

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by GaryMC1
by GaryMC1

I have a friend who designed an inexpensive interface for the computer, and a small software package for the Chrony scopes. So, I can sit with my Netbook and my Chrony and clock everything from spitballs to a Ruger .204 at over 4,200FPS. I've found that I have to move the Chrony in to about 10' out in front of the muzzle to get the best readings, and you really need to have it lined up correctly. However, if you do all of that, it really works very well. For me, this is a great product. Getting the sunshades on properly is the key, and if you do that, they aren't flimsy at all, but the plastic is curved. It's small and compact when not in use, and will fit in my range bag, or my computer bag. I highly recommend this product for a very basic chronograph. Get the optional remote switch and turn it into something more. Gary

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GaryMC1
West of Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Shooters F-1 Chrony
1/30/2016

Customer review by JackReadingPA

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by JackReadingPA
by JackReadingPA

Great chronograph for a reloader who wants to check the velocity of his loads. No bells and whistles that you don't need. Well made steel package.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JackReadingPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Accurate, but a llittle fussy for alignment
2/13/2012

Customer review by DeadeyeVic

4.0 stars 2/13/2012 by DeadeyeVic
by DeadeyeVic

This measures the velocity of projectiles very accurately. It is an aid to anyone who wants to track what the real data of much energy and performance of airguns, hand loads, or any other projectile that passes through the antennae. The problem I have encountered is that it is very fussy about how you align each shot. It has to pass directly over both of the sensors, each of which is just about an inch or so wide. I have had many shots not record because a slight misalignment . When it senses the path of the bb or bullet, it is very helpful. I think buying the remote control for this and being able to get averages, high and low speeds, and mean would That is worth the $17.95 Walmart was quick delivering to my local store, and easy to order from. The price here was much better than anywhere else, too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeadeyeVic
Corona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews