Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 37 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
excellant portable heat
12/7/2008

Customer review by timeouttemp

5.0 stars 12/7/2008 by timeouttemp
by timeouttemp

I have used this space heater indoors and out for emergency heat and for camping. No smell when using it, it's very quiet and heats quickly with no fuss and anyone can use it safely. It heated a 6 man tent in 20 F weather to a nice a toasty 55 + degrees and ran 36 hours straight on highest setting (using a 20 lb. bottle) without a problem. It's easily the best little space heater I've ever owned. Using the 1 lb. bottles gives you the best portable heat I've seen on the market and a 1 lb. bottle on highest setting lasts about 1 1/2 hrs. and up to 6 hr.s on low setting. 2 bottles of course doubles the use time. Great emergency heat for a medium sized room and will keep you cozy while you wait for the power to come back on. Only negative I can think of is it does not come with the AC adapter and my local store could not order it for me. But the 4 D cells needed to run the little fan lasted 12 hours. As much heat as this little baby throws it really doesn't need a fan.

Was this review helpful? (113) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timeouttemp
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great heater for the money
10/16/2007

Customer review by satisfiedowner

5.0 stars 10/16/2007 by satisfiedowner
by satisfiedowner

The Buddy Heater is an excellent heater for the money. It is very easy to light, efficent, and versatile. This heater makes a great back up heat source if the power goes out in the winter. It also burns very clean with no apparent ordor. I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (43) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
satisfiedowner
upstate N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very good heater but you need accessories
2/7/2011

Customer review by JohninGloucester

4.0 stars 2/7/2011 by JohninGloucester
by JohninGloucester

Worked great right out of the box and puts out a lot of heat. Out of the box means with 1 lb camping propane cylinders (and 4 D batteries for the fan, although you can operate it without the fan/batteries) - so stock up! For most applications YOU WILL NEED TO BUY ACCESSORIES separately so that you can fuel the heater from a 20 lb propane tank (your gas grill). For this you need a 12 foot hose that comes with required fittings and a fuel fliter that fits between the hose and the heater. I use it in the garage and for the first 30 min it smelled bad (but not like gas) - I think that was paint/ protective coatings "burning in". All in all a good heater, but not cheap when you figure in cost of accessories. Also, the safety design of the igniter is good (like my gas oven), but I worry about longevity - owner of my local gas grill store said he stopped carrrying these heaters because igniter is not a replaceable part- advised me to cover/protect the heater from dust when not in use.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohninGloucester
Gloucester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A good product for a good price
2/2/2011

Customer review by santeedav

5.0 stars 2/2/2011 by santeedav
by santeedav

This heater has kept my home comfortable. I use it as a alternate heat during the day to keep the home at a temperature I LIKE. The weather has been brutal for us in the southeast. A 20lb tank of propane will last about 70 hours on medium.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
santeedav
Lake Marion, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outdoor Heaven
10/31/2007

Customer review by Isawitfirst

5.0 stars 10/31/2007 by Isawitfirst
by Isawitfirst

I purchased this product for Hunting & Camping. I received the unit just one day before departing on a camping trip and didn’t have the opportunity to test it at home. While in the field the heater was placed in-service inside a 20 by 17 foot tent. It proved to be more than enough for that size area even at a low setting. As a consumer I would of liked, if the manufacturer would Have included the 20ft propane extension hose and the 6 volt AC adapter along with the total price of the Heater.

Was this review helpful? (34) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Isawitfirst
Ellenwood, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
nice heater
10/14/2009

Customer review by NWMOhunter1

5.0 stars 10/14/2009 by NWMOhunter1
by NWMOhunter1

I hunt out west where the temps at night get down in the low 20's. I have a 10 x 15 foot tent and about 7 foot tall and this heater kept the tent at around 65 degrees. doesn't use too much propane either. a must have is the extension hose to hook to a 20 lb propane bottle. one night it was in the low 40's and we actually got too hot, had to turn it down. a must have if you hunt or camp in cold weather.

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NWMOhunter1
Northwest, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
AWESOME HEATER....
8/6/2012

Customer review by Maria571

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Maria571
by Maria571

I bought this for our camping trips, as it gets cold at high altitudes at night time. My family always complains about the cold nights and mornings, so I did some research and read lengthy user reviews for the Mr. Heater and for the Coleman heaters. Since our tent is a 10 person tent and the small Coleman would have not done the job unless we were to sleep in front of the heater. So I decided on the Big Buddy because of reviews, the forced air option, the option to attach this to a 20 lb tank, but mainly for the security options of automatic shutoff if it should tip over/fall and the low CO sensor shutoff. We've tried this indoors and boy you can sure feel the heat coming out of this.. Easy to operate, and I feel that this was a sound investment as this can be used in case of any emergency and not just for camping. Only issue is this machine is a bit bulky somehow it looked smaller in videos and pictures. Very happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maria571
S. California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
the best i found
12/8/2009

Customer review by tnavel

5.0 stars 12/8/2009 by tnavel
by tnavel

the buddy heater is the best heater you will find out there.I live in a small travel trailer and have used tis heater for over 2 years and it has worked great even in sub freezing temps our trailer has remained cozy

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnavel
redding.ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A VERY GOOD PRODUCT
11/22/2008

Customer review by JIMBOO

5.0 stars 11/22/2008 by JIMBOO
by JIMBOO

I got this because I ruled out it's little brother. It puts out a good amount of heat for it's size. It has a lot of safty controlls which are very important when you use it indoors. You will smell propane when you start it but that goes away after it runs for a time. The fan on mine is a little loud but it verys on each unit. It will come in handy if I lose power in the winter.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JIMBOO
ALEXANDRIA, VA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Big Buddy
12/22/2009

Customer review by ReallyOldFart

5.0 stars 12/22/2009 by ReallyOldFart
by ReallyOldFart

Straight out of the box worked fantastic. Absolutely no problems. Works great with little bottles or my 20# tank. Keeps a medium size room with no other heat source as high as 80 degrees if I leave it on. One hour on and one hour off on low keeps the room at about 70 for eight to ten hours.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReallyOldFart
Home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WOW!!!!!
1/1/2011

Customer review by Lovetocamp35243

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Lovetocamp35243
by Lovetocamp35243

This was a Christmas gift from my hubby. Purchased it and took it directly to our vol. fire meeting. The heat was out there and it was in the teens that evening. So we took it in and heated a large room approx 25x30 to a very comfortabe temp. We had to turn it down it got so warm. Very worth paying full price for. Even if I did not. The little buddy works well in my Dad's tent. This is the spark that made us search out this product. We decided on the bigger model since our tent is larger and for emergency uses.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovetocamp35243
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Big Buddy Propane Heater
12/27/2010

Customer review by allen19406

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by allen19406
by allen19406

This is a great heater. We now have two of them. It burns the small canisters of propane, and it has a fan the blows the heat. During the winter storms we used this inside the house and we often use them in the garage. The heater is safe, really warms up a room, and cost effective. It looks good, easy to move, and doesn't smell. It is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
allen19406
Philly Suburbs, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/26/2010

Customer review by babycart

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by babycart
by babycart

This was bought to take the chill out of those cold nights in the tent when camping with kids- it has done that job really well. I will also use this product in the winter for a basement room that get quite cold although I do not know how good it will be for that.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babycart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT HEATER!!!!!!
1/9/2011

Customer review by HMS165

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by HMS165
by HMS165

This is a great heater...It works great...puts ot a lot of heat and is very safe.....and the price is great too...I looked at this same heater others places and you cant get a better price anywhere....Buy one and you will love it too!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HMS165
NORTH CAROLINA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome product
12/31/2010

Customer review by Robdogg13

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Robdogg13
by Robdogg13

Very good price beat anywhere online and heats up so much it bout burns us up. Very good quality every bit worth the money incase power goes out we have heat for our house now!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Robdogg13
Owensboro,ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/7/2008

Customer review by HooliganOffroad

4.0 stars 12/7/2008 by HooliganOffroad
by HooliganOffroad

works great, I didnt know it was so cold outside till the propane ran out. on low this heater was amzing at heating a large tent in low 40 degree temps.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HooliganOffroad
anaheim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Heater for nights when the power is out
8/9/2014

Customer review by debydabs

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by debydabs
by debydabs

I have used Mr. Buddy heater for years now. It is especially good for the winter when the power is out and you need a backup source of heat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debydabs
Pisgah Forest,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Totally recommended!
2/14/2011

Customer review by ksdoty

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by ksdoty
by ksdoty

We originally bought this to heat our tent trailer during the colder mornings and months while camping. We haven't tried it out for camping purposes yet (we will in May), but we have used it in our double car garage to keep our pets warm on the cold nights and it works out fabulous. Way more warmth that expected! I would totally recommend this to my fellow campers and for those needing a space heater for other purposes.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ksdoty
Mountain House, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Definitely worth the money
2/2/2009

Customer review by premow

5.0 stars 2/2/2009 by premow
by premow

My husband and I bought this in case our power goes out this winter. We had researched quite a few different kinds. We thought this one would fit our needs best. Once we received it, we were very happy with our purchase. It puts out a lot of heat and we are glad that you can use an adapter to attach a 20 lb tank. Definitely worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
premow
Peck MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
A wonderful product
2/1/2011

Customer review by ScoutSagePres

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by ScoutSagePres
by ScoutSagePres

I have been looking for a heat source in case our power were to go off that would not smell when in use. I think I have found exactly what I need.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScoutSagePres
Boiling Springs, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews