Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 657 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

657 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

657 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
255
4 stars
216
3 stars
80
2 stars
45
1 stars
61
1-20 of 556 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 556 total reviews
1-20 of 556 reviews
Good value
3/30/2008

Customer review by NewMom777

4.0 stars 3/30/2008 by NewMom777
by NewMom777

This is the only gate we could find to fit our 8 foot wide opening that did not cost a fortune and/or require the purchase of numerous extension parts. The opening and closing mechanism is not the easiest to use because you have to line up the bottom hook first, but will be difficult for the baby to figure out. It is also not as tall as some, but we have it up one step, so that should be fine and it is easier to step over when I am too lazy to use the latch. We are considering purchasing another because our other (different style) gate did not fit well for our 5 foot opening where we have to attach to the stair railing.

Was this review helpful? (90) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewMom777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
good value
4/13/2009

Customer review by TWINTASTICBOYS

5.0 stars 4/13/2009 by TWINTASTICBOYS
by TWINTASTICBOYS

i almost didnt get this because of others complaints that it was flimsy. well u just have to use anchors or drill it into the studs. i have 2 boys that like to shake it & it has been holding up rather well. great value & it saved me over $60. with twins that helps alot. dont hesitate to get this if it doesnt work for u , u can always bring it back to the store

Was this review helpful? (50) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TWINTASTICBOYS
GREEN BAY, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Life Saver...
3/25/2008

Customer review by IseultBeauty

5.0 stars 3/25/2008 by IseultBeauty
by IseultBeauty

I have an 18 month old toddler, who is very busy. There aren't a lot of long gates that allow for constant traffic. Plus this is durable. The only down fall was that it was not as easy to install as they claimed. We had to drill. It not that drilling is hard, it's just not what I expected from this product. And you do have to get used to opening and closing the gate once you install it. The instructions are simple and there are only a few steps. That was a plus. It is not hard to open and close, but there is a trick to it. I can do it with one hand while holding my newborn. We didn't think it would be so easy! I JUST SAY THAT YOU TRY THIS GATE FOR A WEEK AND I AM SURE THAT YOU WILL LIKE IT. And it swings from either end and in either direction.

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IseultBeauty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
not too shabby
8/30/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/30/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought this gate because my son can climb over those plastic ones. This one works great for him exept that we had to get some wall anchors because he shook the gate and the screws came out of the wall. Since then everything has been fine.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Serves it's purpose
2/15/2009

Customer review by OnlineShoppingMomof3

5.0 stars 2/15/2009 by OnlineShoppingMomof3
by OnlineShoppingMomof3

Keeps the little ones out of the kitchen - just like I wanted. Easy set-up, takes just a few minutes. I noticed that some of the other reviewers had mentioned that the latch that opens the gate is difficult to open. I personally just step over the gate, since it is short enough to do so easily, because I agree the latch is a little annoying. But I really do enjoy having this gate. It was reasonably priced, and fits nicely in the 8 ft. space I needed it for. The kids are no longer opening the oven, climbing on the kitchen table and all other nonsense they were into in the kitchen before. I have outsmarted them, for now anyway!! Pictures of the gate set-up in my home are attached to this review.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnlineShoppingMomof3
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sturdy product, good value.
10/19/2013

Customer review by VAsavvyshopper

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by VAsavvyshopper
by VAsavvyshopper

This is my second gate, the first one lasted 5 years in a pretty harsh outdoor environment. It is not easy to find these extra wide wooden gates, especially for a reasonable price. I use them specifically to block off the deck stairs so my two rambunctious dogs cannot get off the deck and get into trouble. I do not attach the gate to the deck posts, I simply bungee cord it in place and step over it as needed (it is 3 ft tall). The previous gate withstood rain, snow, sun & humidity for 5 years without any problem. It just recently rotted in one place and broke at the bottom and needed to be replaced. For the price, you can't beat it. And the wood weathered the same color as my deck so it looked great.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VAsavvyshopper
Vienna, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super product in every aspect
7/11/2008

Customer review by stacmac

5.0 stars 7/11/2008 by stacmac
by stacmac

So you know what you're getting: This "gate" is the same as the inexpensive wood, slatted gates that you can get in the store for about $25, just a LOT longer! The wood is unfinished but you could spray a light coat of stain or paint on if you wanted (too thick would hinder the expansion.) So far, it's durable way beyond my expectations. I'm in and out of the living room all day. We had our 11 yr, 9 yr and 3 yr old nieces and nephew here for a week going in and out of the living area non-stop - they're not gentle - and it's held up great. The latch lock is strong and there's no way my little one will figure out how to open it for years to come. The 3-yr old could see how WE were doing it, but she couldn't do it herself. My daughter is 10-months old and stands and holds the "baby jail" slats and shakes it endlessly sometimes and no problems yet. She may be small but she's not gentle with it at all! I have attached a picture so you can see what I'm describing. The ONLY thing I found to be a problem is the wall screws. They're for screwing into studs, not drywall, and drywall anchors won't help you. One end we mounted and screwed directly into a shallow stud in the wall perfectly. The other end, my husband screwed a piece of vertical wood trim onto the wall with long screws, deep enough to hit a stud, and then mounted the gate hardware to the trim piece with the hardware provided. It's actually better this way because we're not banging the wall when we open and close the gate, just the piece of trim. When we finally remove the gate, a bit of nail hole filler will cover the holes, as opposed to probably having to repaint that portion of the wall. We'll be buying the same gate to install at my Mom's house. Definitely durable. Definitely worth the very small cost. This span is hard enough to find as it is, and others are a minimum of four times the cost of this one. It's a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stacmac
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for wide openings!
11/16/2012

Customer review by mrsgilbert103

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by mrsgilbert103
by mrsgilbert103

I was pleased that it covered the huge gap connecting our living room to the kitchen. However, I didn't realize that it swings at the joint attached to the wall- not midway. It is very stable though, my 8 month old climbs onto the gate and it holds his weight and him rocking back and forth on it! So overall, for the price and the length, I would recommend this, and I am glad that we purchased it!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrsgilbert103
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
dimensions are misleading
3/1/2011

Customer review by amperezrosales

3.0 stars 3/1/2011 by amperezrosales
by amperezrosales

It's an attractive gate, but the published dimensions are misleading. It states 57-103 inches. We assumed that that was a minimum opening that it would work with so we ordered it for use in our dining room doorway which is 60 inches. 57 inches however is the minimum dimension when OPEN so when you slide it open, we only had 3 inches of space in which to pass. It slides open rather than swinging so this didn't work at all.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amperezrosales
kansas city, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
6/17/2012

Customer review by Izzy2007

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Izzy2007
by Izzy2007

I got this gate after many failed attempts at finding a large enough gate to fit the space between my kitchen and my livingroom. It ended up being TOO big. but since it bends and frolds I was able to manuver it around corners and sides until it fit the space I needed it to fit. I am so happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Izzy2007
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Priceless
7/24/2012

Customer review by gothymommy

4.0 stars 7/24/2012 by gothymommy
by gothymommy

I bought this gate to go across my 74" opening from my living room into my kitchen, and I don't regret a penny of this purchase. I have a 3 1/2 year old, a 10 month old, and I babysit a 2 year old, all three of these girls have stood on this gate and shaken it like it's the most amazing thing in the world. The gate is a little bent and the hardware is a little bent but it still holds up and prevents the girls from getting where they shouldn't be. My husband installed it in about 20 minutes and it only required 4 small hole into 2 walls. We also went out and bought 2 more eyelet hooks and put those on another wall so now the gate latches across 2 different entrances rather then one, very versatile. The gate is also moderately nice looking for be such a long gate. As far as other reviews I read about walking through it, there is more then enough room for me to walk though with 1 child on my hip and the other walking by side. When the gate isn't being used I just unlatch it and lean it up against the wall in my hallway. I would definately recommend this gate to anyone that needs a very wide gate.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gothymommy
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what I needed
3/31/2009

Customer review by fa22

5.0 stars 3/31/2009 by fa22
by fa22

I needed a gate for an oversized door opening to keep my small dogs out of the sun room as well as a two year old away from the door she's learned to open by herself. This gate was just what I needed as it accomplished both needs.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fa22
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for the price
10/25/2009

Customer review by VCMama

5.0 stars 10/25/2009 by VCMama
by VCMama

Had to go buy longer eye bolts but otherwise this gate is great my 9month old son loves to hold on and bounce it or shake it and it holds strong. Could have been a little more sturdy but at half the price of any other gate this size i cannot argue.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VCMama
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice gate for the price
9/19/2009

Customer review by 8doxies

5.0 stars 9/19/2009 by 8doxies
by 8doxies

This is a great gate it is large or you can have two gates. I'm using it to keep adult Dachshunds from getting into the Puppy room and it is working great I like to be able to open instead of stepping over. I did have to wait 3wks for the gate to arrive other wise it's a great buy, you have to purchase on line.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
8doxies
Saginaw Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/22/2011

Customer review by pachypal

2.0 stars 5/22/2011 by pachypal
by pachypal

Not what I expected but it is sufficient for a different use, so I am keeping it. Thought there was a swinging gate centered but it swings from the end; guess I didn't look at the picture closely enough.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pachypal
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/5/2013

Customer review by MaceyJo10

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by MaceyJo10
by MaceyJo10

This was purchased for my nephew's kitchen with a very wide opening to the family room. I did alot of online research looking for a baby gate with adequate width and reasonable price. I quickly discovered there is very limited choices for wide gates. This one has worked great. It was easy to put up and can just be stepped over. The gate can be opened, they just choose to step over it. The height is adequate to restrain a two year old and probably older. This is a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaceyJo10
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very pleased
6/21/2010

Customer review by Ang618

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by Ang618
by Ang618

I was hesitant to buy this gate because some of the reviews were negative. However, Walmart.com purchases are easily returned when you don't like them, so we gave it a shot. The other gate we were interested in was much more expensive and had to be anchored to the floor. My husband installed the gate and said it was easy. We bought it for the bottom of our stairs, which are really wide, to keep our 9 month old from climbing up. The gate is very easy to use. Our 6 year old can unlatch it, but a baby cannot. The gate is decent looking and is holding up well despite the fact that our baby tugs on it daily. I'm very happy with this gate and you can't beat the price. If it doesn't hold up over time, I will update my review. We've had it for 2 weeks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ang618
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
great product for the money.
1/9/2009

Customer review by Julycherry33

4.0 stars 1/9/2009 by Julycherry33
by Julycherry33

I needed a gate for a 8 foot gap in between my kitchen and living room for my dogs and eventually for my baby (due in May). All the other gates for a wide opening are over $100. I wanted something reasonable but not cheaply made. Putting this gate together was so easy, just a few screws and putting the eye hooks in the wall was easy as well. I like how you can open the gate from both sides and it swings from side to side as well. I am a little worried about when my son gets old enough to hold onto it and shake it that maybe the hooks that you screw into the wall will come loose or come out. Some other people had said that theirs had come out. If that does happen (and that is not for at least a year or so) then I will just get longer hooks or have my husband figure something out to make it work! Overall, for the money, it is a great deal and site to store is AMAZING! No shipping costs is excellent! Now my dogs stay out of the kitchen when there is food around! Thanks Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Julycherry33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
poor quality
10/27/2013

Customer review by macabi

2.0 stars 10/27/2013 by macabi
by macabi

Had the gate up for 2 days and noticed a crack all the way thru one of the sticks. My husband and I had been the only ones in the house so it wasn't caused by roughness or someone pushing on gate. Not made with good quality materials.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
macabi
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
description does not accurately describe dimension
12/29/2010

Customer review by smwalmartshopper

2.0 stars 12/29/2010 by smwalmartshopper
by smwalmartshopper

The description says that the gate is 8.5 feet long and is about 2.25 ft high. The gate is not 8.5 long. My opening measured exactly 8 feet and, even with the wall screws mounted, (sticking out from the wall) the gate still did not reach across. The description doesn't tell you that the gate comes in two parts, doubled over to stay together, which makes you lose about 5 inches of length. I was very disappointed and upset by this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smwalmartshopper
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 556 total reviews
1-20 of 556 reviews