Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 523 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

523 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

5 stars
202
4 stars
171
3 stars
70
2 stars
30
1 stars
50
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 447 total reviews
3/13/2008

Customer review by mygirlh

3.0 stars by mygirlh

We bought this gate for the top of our stairs. One problem. You can only mount it in wood or metal. So if you just have drywall it is not recommended that you use it. This was not mentioned in the description at all.

Was this review helpful? (239) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mygirlh
cincinnati oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Just what I needed/expected
10/11/2009

Customer review by LindsayMomOf4

5.0 stars by LindsayMomOf4

This an inexpensive gate that works wonderfully for my 1yr old to block her from going up the stairs. I did not install it into a wood frame, I just used anchors & it has held up great. I have 4 kids, some days up to 6 here & they climb over it instead of opening it, so when it does break I know it was my kids fault. I did do the measurements like it said after reading other posts saying to measure & re-measure, so no issues there. I think alot of the people who didn't like the product may have expected some elaborate gate, keep in mind the price! It works, but it isn't a luxurious wood & iron gate, it looks like the regular plastic gates that we have all seen, with the exception that this one opens & is mounted. I have had a ton of gates with having 4 kids. My last gate cost around $200,was huge but worked just as well as this one( I gave it away when I "thought" I was done having kids!) This gate does what is needed & it is so nice not to have to remove & set up a gate everytime I need to open it. My only suggestion to buyers is if you are using it on drywall, spend the $3 & buy some good anchors! The sturdier the hinges, the sturdier the gate will be. Also, the installation wasn't hard at all, I am a female who had the baby trying to squeeze pass me while I put it up & I still managed to get it up within 15 minutes, just read instructions before you do anything, measure twice & use an electric drill & you'll be done in no time. It also arrived on time, which was nice too. I am very pleased with this purchase & I recommend it to anyone on a budget!

Was this review helpful? (138) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LindsayMomOf4
West Palm Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dog Gate
11/9/2010

Customer review by PapasanTexas

5.0 stars by PapasanTexas

Product perfectly matched our needs. We needed to have an easy open/close gate to stop our dogs from getting into the back part of the house. We modified the gate by adding magnets so to open the gate was a simple push or pull and it automagically secured closed with the magnets without using hands. This is our second gate from the same manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (75) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PapasanTexas
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Essential stairway gate
10/14/2009

Customer review by ProtectTheKids

5.0 stars by ProtectTheKids

This gate is perfect for the stairs. I provides the security to keep my kids safe, but also opens nicely to have the entire width of the stairs accessible. Other gates with a door in the middle don't give you the room to walk through especially if you are carrying something like laundry! It is easy to open one-handed. We had one little issue with the install that meant flipping it around and making another set of holes so it would swing the right way. This is the only thing the directions could have been more clear on. Overall, very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (34) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ProtectTheKids
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good enough
1/5/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

The Good: ------------------------------------------------- - It mounts to the wall so you're not tripping over the bracket like some gates. - It easily expandable for on-the-fly adjustments. - It's reversible for hinging both directions (I had to read the directions to figure this out). - The latch is nice and sturdy - not something a child will be able to defeat. ------------------------------------------------- The Bad: - It doesn't have velcro or latch to keep it in the "open" position when not in use. This is probably due to the way I mounted the bracket to the wall, but it slowly swings closed when not in use. It doesn't latch automatically, just swings closed. - It's a little wonky to get it latched. You pull the lever, lift up on the latch end of the gate, and wiggle it around until both the top and bottom gate pegs fit into the wall brackets. Good for preventing kids from figuring it out, but also good for preventing parents from figuring it out. ------------------------------------------------- Overall, it's great top-of-the-stairs gate for the price ($20). I got it because it's cheap and it mounts to the wall. You don't want a pressure-mounted gate for the top of the stairs because the bracket that holds the ends apart is a tripping hazard. If you have a bigger budget, get a wall-mounting gate with a better latch like the Cardinal Gates Auto-Lock Gate ($85). I haven't tried it, but the latching mechanism looks much nicer.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great deal for the price with a little modificatio
5/12/2011

Customer review by honeygirlkel

3.0 stars by honeygirlkel

I paid about $13 for this gate, so for the money, it was well worth it...but not without modification. The gate is a pain to latch and unlatch. You actually have to lift pins out of the top and bottom to release the gate. It was a huge pain until I decided to only hook the top and use the bottom pin only as a stopper. I just moved the cup the hinge sits in back and now it just hits it and keeps it from swinging out the wrong way instead of having to fit it in at the same time as the top...which was a huge pain. Now that I have modified it, it is perfect. It takes a little while to get used to the latch, but you figure it out pretty quick. Remember though, this is a $13 gate and it is a good deal for the money, but it's not the quality or ease of a $30 gate. You get what you pay for. It ended up working for me once I decided to only "latch" the top...before that I was cussing and wanting to send it back.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
honeygirlkel
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great gate, Love that it swings!
10/14/2011

Customer review by ockatie

5.0 stars by ockatie

My husband was capable of installing and that says a lot in itself. He's not the handiest of men. We love that it swings and you don't have to step over anything. Just walk thru like normal. The latch does take a lil bit of getting use to. You have to fit a plastic piece into the top and bottom to lock it. It works great. Looks good. The dogs are scared of it and now stay out of the kitchen. (We don't really have to lock it anymore, they just stay out now). No more potential accidents. The only thing is that a really small dog can squeeze themselves under it, if you try to use it as a form of a cage. Reasonably priced too. Great delivery.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ockatie
Garden Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sounded Good
8/12/2008

Customer review by rowdysparents

1.0 stars by rowdysparents

I was looking for a walk thru gate so it would be easier so we didnt have to keep taking it down or moving it.I bought this one after reading the ratings and figured it would be a good one.It was not.It was more of a pain to open & close it since you have to use two hands,lift the lever,then slide it in then you can walk thru it and then of course you have to do it all over again.Be careful because it does have slots at the top and bottom for my "rowdy" one to put his little toes in and climb on it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rowdysparents
San Antonio,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BEST VALUE!
3/11/2010

Customer review by 3littleboys

4.0 stars by 3littleboys

I am so thankful to find a sturdy gate for such an awesome price! I am a mom of twin 2 yr olds and a four year old, all boy's! I needed to keep them safe from falling down the stair's. My oldest fell all the way down the stair due to a gate that was not permantely attached to the wall. Luckily he wasn't hurt but I wasn't taking any chances. I was relieved at how easy and cheap it was to get this product sent to my home! Thank You Walmart for such a great value!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
3littleboys
Whitehall, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome value...
4/20/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

This is a really durable baby gate. It works as well as more expensive versions that I have owned. It's not decorative, but serves the purpose. Invest in some good anchors for the installation, as they are not provided. I put it up myself in about 15 minutes, with two toddlers running by, and I am not a skilled labor-person. It's funny to see that it also contains my teens because they don't feel like unlocking it, even though it's pretty easy once you know how. It swings nicely and can withstand a lot of traffic and toddlers shaking it. Great value! Thanks, Wally!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not correct size!
2/7/2011

Customer review by Panda621

1.0 stars by Panda621

This product says it fits a 26" opening but with the hinges the smallest it can go is actually around 27 1/2". Didn't fit the space I needed!!! It can't even be used as a regular gate without the hinges because it has nothing to lock it to size. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Panda621
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Some Installation Advice
1/8/2014

Customer review by camera1000

3.0 stars by camera1000

It's a decent gate for the money. A little flimsy but gets the job done. In my case the measurements were a little off according to the manual. Following the manual's measurements it was an absolute pain to get the gate latched. I lowered the locking side maybe a half inch and it worked perfect. Here's what to do: Follow the manual's measurements for the hinge side. Then swing the gate over and hold into position the latch hinges. You'll be able to see better where they line up for a perfect fit. You can then mark and drill your pilot holes.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
camera1000
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap, but cheap.
11/16/2010

Customer review by alabubba

5.0 stars by alabubba

I got this gate to block off my kitchen from my grandson when he spends the night. I love to cook and wanted a swing gate to make if easier for me to go back and forth into the kitchen while still controlling my grandson from going into the kitchen and getting hurt. This gate does exactly that, and it was super inexpensive. It is not the most convenient or easily operated gate I have used, but did I mention it was super inexpensive. One feature that I really love is that when the grandson is not here it just lifts off the hinges and stores in the closet. Oh, its also super inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
alabubba
Russellville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Stong gate -keeps the baby off the steps
9/5/2014

Customer review by er106

5.0 stars by er106

Gate was much better than expected at an excellent price. Easy installation, well built and a positive latching mechanism. I would recommend this gate for anyone in need of this type of item.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
er106
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional Value!!!!
10/30/2010

Customer review by fmommy5000

5.0 stars by fmommy5000

I LOVE these gates! They are a great price, we were able to afford two when finances were tight ( we had just moved into our new home). I can carry my son or laundry etc. and open and close them with ease. I love that the latches are on the other side of the gate so that curious little fingers aren't trying to figure things out. Buy this gate.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fmommy5000
Winchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value, performs well
6/7/2011

Customer review by StylishMommy154

5.0 stars by StylishMommy154

You absolutely can't beat the value of this product and it does the job, so for that reason alone it deserves 5 stars. It keeps my precious little son safe from the stairs and I can open it with one hand while holding him, which is all I was looking for. It's not going to hold up to a hurricane but it's adequate for my toddler. The color is not bad either, a soft gray--this gate is not going to win any awards for style but it's neutral and inoffensive. I bought this specifically for the top of our stairs because it is a hard-mounted gate, as recommended by safety experts (as opposed to a tension gate, which is not considered reliable enough for top-of-stairs use). We have a tension gate at the bottom of the stairs, which cost significantly more and damaged our drywall. If I had it to do over again, I might just buy another of these for the bottom of the stairs. Filling in the screw holes left by this gate will actually be easier than repairing the dented drywall left by the tension gate when it's time to take the gates down. The only complication installing this gate was that our walls were not even, so I had to have my husband cut a 1/2" shim so that I could mount the last bracket--but this would have happened with any hard-mounted gate and it was due to our uneven walls and in no way a defect of the gate itself. I'm pretty good with a drill and installed this myself. Installation tips: read the instructions well, measure several times before drilling; I made pencil marks and taped the brackets to the walls to make sure everything would line up when the gate was open and shut. If you have uneven walls like us and have to use a shim, you will need longer screws than are provided. Finally, the diagram in the instructions was a bit confusing because it doesn't tell you until the very end that you may need to reverse the orientation of the latch, depending on your desired opening direction. The gate came with the latch in a different position than the diagram showed. Overall I'm very satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
StylishMommy154
State College, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I expected!
10/1/2011

Customer review by IceyPricey

5.0 stars by IceyPricey

After reading mixed reviews I decided to try it because it was so inexpensive. I was not disappointed in my purchase! I bought 2, one for the doorway into our living room, a very high traffic area, and one at the top of the stairs, also fairly high traffic. The one in the living room I use multiple times each day and it opens easily when I need it to, even when I'm carrying my son. You just have to get the hang of how to open and close it and be patient. Usually the one upstairs is off the hinges but I like how easy it is to put in place and take down. It only takes a few moments to set up and I'm always sure that it is secure. The one in our living room doorway stays open very well and I don't have to take it off it's hinges each time I want the space open. Installation wasn't super easy. First, once installed, the door only opens one way, but you can remove the latch piece and change the direction you want it to go. In that way it is totally customizable. I recommend having a power drill for the holes/screws and measuring multiple times to make sure things line up (We had to install one gate twice because I measured incorrectly). But once the hinges are in place you are basically done. While it isn't the best gate out there, or the prettiest, I think it is unbeatable for the price. Anyone who needs a quality gate for small price I highly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
IceyPricey
Moscow, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's ok
9/7/2014

Customer review by Joyce47203

2.0 stars by Joyce47203

Flimsy, but for the price, it's fairly sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Joyce47203
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent product
3/16/2011

Customer review by NotSam

5.0 stars by NotSam

This gate is tough, easy to install, well designed, and easy to open and latch. Where I hung it (in my kitchen door) required one shim because the doorframe wasn't square. This was not a design fault of the gate. I would recommend this gate for anyone needing to keep small children or dogs out of an area. Nothing stops a determined cat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NotSam
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SO EASY to install!
9/7/2014

Customer review by DrewNsheenA

4.0 stars by DrewNsheenA

It REALLY was the easiest thing to install. We baught two so I got a little over confidant installing the second one and ended up having to adjust it a little. Follow the instructions and measure twice and you'll be fine. Perfect for our 14 month old but our 3 year old figured out the lock allready! All that said we are really happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DrewNsheenA
Plattsburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 447 total reviews