Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 213 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

213 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

5 stars
107
4 stars
50
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 stars
36
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 181 total reviews
Good Sturdy Shade
7/3/2007

Customer review by Artemaria

5.0 stars by Artemaria

At 12' x 12' this shade is a little larger than most others on the market, but it is a good value for the money. I'd searched for other similar sized shades and was unable to find anything of similar size and cost. The color scheme is particularly appealing, you can't tell by the pictures, but the legs are brown and the top is beige and they go together quite nicely. My friends who bought cheaper shades have had problems with the shades being blown over by the wind. We've had no such problems with this shade. Overall, for the money, if you're looking for a shade this size with these colors, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (251) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Artemaria
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value, but too long
11/17/2009

Customer review by PSWalmartShopper

4.0 stars by PSWalmartShopper

Our soccer team purchased this canopy to use during the season, then one lucky family's name will be drawn and they'll take it home at the end of the season. The value is great, it's well made, easy to put up and down. However, it's very long once it's down... if we didn't have a large SUV we wouldn't be able to fit it in the car! I would recommend this product but I think the description should state the size when it's folded up and in the carrying case.

Was this review helpful? (162) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PSWalmartShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12 x 12 canopy
6/30/2007

Customer review by Luckydog

4.0 stars by Luckydog

The canopy was very easy to use. We took it to the beach and it was great. The bag however ripped on the second trip to the beach. Not very sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (71) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Luckydog
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
12' x 12' Instant Canopy
11/20/2009

Customer review by zmd0090

1.0 stars by zmd0090

When the item arrived it was damaged with broken brackets. But i would have returned it anyway because it was not what i expected. The Brackets on the main poles where plastic. We have had other canopy but they all had metal brakets. the plastic ones do not hold up to any kind of weather. I would not recommend this product unless the brackets were metal.

Was this review helpful? (104) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
zmd0090
Boardman, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not a true 12x12
7/28/2009

Customer review by Lakepeople52

4.0 stars by Lakepeople52

The canopy measures 9x9, 12x12 must be the measurement of the slanted leg area. It is made of solid construction, but we wanted a larger or true 12x12 canopy. We took it back to the store for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lakepeople52
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Short lifespan
2/10/2009

Customer review by bikeman51

1.0 stars by bikeman51

After 1 year of use the canopy's fabric is brittle and shredded. Very poor quality. The stitching has torn away at all the velcro tabs and the center post has pushed through the top of the fabric. Nice design and easy to set up but what good is a sun canopy that cannot survive more than a year of sun.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bikeman51
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice and cool
4/18/2011

Customer review by BalkiesMa

5.0 stars by BalkiesMa

Having had a canopy before, I expected shade but not the coolness that this one gives. The UV undercoating made such a difference in the hot Florida sun. Definitely looking forward to a good beach day now.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BalkiesMa
SW FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Canopy
6/29/2009

Customer review by Kamgir

5.0 stars by Kamgir

This beats our old one by a mile. It folds open like an umbrella and closes the same way (2 people would be a lot faster because of its size). For the price, nothing comes close.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kamgir
Great Neck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product, Good quality
10/27/2009

Customer review by Goldendomer

5.0 stars by Goldendomer

Purchased this item for tailgating, along with the optionalquik shade (separate cost at the Walmart web site) screen. It goes up quickly with two people, each standing opposite and with a slight lift and pull on the sides, it opens up. Put the cover on the top, velcro the corners to hold the cover on and then as one person holds one of the corner legs, the other lifts each leg with the spring loaded action. Very easy to attach the screen as well with velcro attachments. Sturdy, good quality and folds down, stores in a wheeled roller bag and has an outer pocket for the cover. The optional screen also has it's own storage bag. No parts that can get lost and includes 4 good quality stakes to hold down if windy. We are pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Goldendomer
Orlando Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Measurements are WRONG
5/31/2008

Customer review by AlwaysLookingforaBargain1

1.0 stars by AlwaysLookingforaBargain1

I purchased this canopy because I wanted to replace it with the 8' x 8' canopy I've had for a few years. When I got it home and set up it didn't look any bigger than the one I already had. I pulled out the tape measure and it did not measure 12' x 12', it measured 8' 11" X 8' 11". Word of caution. If it doesn't seem to be what it is advertised to be, get out the tape measure. I plan on returning this and buying the 10' x 10' canopy that they have in the store that is cheaper than this one.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AlwaysLookingforaBargain1
Jefferson, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
7/6/2009

Customer review by klokeh

2.0 stars by klokeh

size. I still don't know how they get the 12X12, at the top is only 8 feet, at the bottom with the legs extended is less than 10 feet. it looks good but not the size i was expecting.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
klokeh
LI, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12x12 Instant Canopy
6/30/2008

Customer review by Gottagocamping

5.0 stars by Gottagocamping

I have been wanting a canopy for several years, but could not find a 12x12 at a decent price. I chose this for the price plus it matches the awning and stripes on our camper. We have used it several times and it is great!! Only downfall is that the bag is not very thick and I do not anticipate it holding up as long as I hope the canopy does.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gottagocamping
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
wind-proof except storms
8/16/2008

Customer review by tallafl

4.0 stars by tallafl

I borrowed this canopy from my friend who has used it several times at the beach. It anchors very firmly and holds up quite well to wind. Unfortunately, we found the limit in a pretty brief rainstorm at the beach when a good gust broke it. I would still recommend this item, though, for its easy set-up and great shade. Easily fits in a car trunk.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tallafl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great awning
4/20/2010

Customer review by anythingbutshopping

5.0 stars by anythingbutshopping

Love the color. Love the easy up and down. It did get blown over in moderate wind first time out. Ended up ripping the awning in a few places, but feel that was my fault for not staking it---didn't think it was gonna get windy! :-) Now, I need some iron on patching done and need to get some good weights or make sure I stake it next time (it did come with 4 tie down stakes).

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
anythingbutshopping
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good buy
6/17/2011

Customer review by scoutey

5.0 stars by scoutey

This is a sturdy canopy which is user friendly. Very easy to put up. The only issue I had was I was expecting the canopy to be 12'x12' and it wasn't. The support posts are what measure 12'x12'. it widens out at the bottom and tapers at the top. Non the less, I love it. I did notice after a good rain there were a couple of pockets of rain which collected and didn't pour off. If thats my only issue I'm happy. Good price,well made, and easily assembled. I bought canopy lights which I'll put up this weekend to give it that final elegant touch. I would recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
scoutey
miami,fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quick Shade 12X12
8/23/2010

Customer review by dreamtoken

4.0 stars by dreamtoken

I purchased the Quick Shade for my son and daughter-in-law; they really needed it and appreciated it. However, when they picked it up from their local Wal-Mart and took it home to set up they noticed a flaw in the canopy that was obviously from the factory, but was shipped out. It was easy to see that someone HAD to see the flaw and they had tried to repair it, it was inches from the logo but was shipped out anyway. Oh well, the kids really needed it in this Florida heat and didn’t want to wait two to three weeks for a replacement so…

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dreamtoken
Orange City Fla.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Not a Value
6/22/2009

Customer review by dcw58

1.0 stars by dcw58

After reading the reviews, decided to purchase the canopy. Upon receiving it, when my husband opened the box to start to put it together, the item was broken in 4 different places. Rather than take a chance by calling customer service and ordering another one, we just returned this one without a problem.

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dcw58
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
So far So Good
3/21/2011

Customer review by finebyfive

5.0 stars by finebyfive

Just purchased this item, and got to use it this past weekend on a camping trip. Its easy to set up and take down. A good size, had two picnic tables under it. So far the materials seem to be of good quality. We are happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
finebyfive
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Okay Canopy
6/29/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Good product for the price. You should really follow the instructions, not only for the set-up and take-down, but more importantly for the general usage. When the instructions state that you should not leave the canopy up during heavy rains / winds, take this info very seriously. We set-up our canopy at our camp, and during the week we were not there a very heavy downpour occurred at least twice. When we next arrived at camp we immediately saw that the canopy was pulled down on two sides by the accumulated rainwater. Although the canopy fabric seems somewhat thin, it did not tear, but ballooned downward instead. The top side framework also bent to some degree due to the weight of the water accumulation which we think was approximately 3 - 5 gallons on two sides of the canopy. We hope that we can salvage the canopy if the stretched fabric retains its normal shape after drying, and if we can reinforce the frame work that was bent. A lesson to be learned !!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Windham, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this one. There are much better options.
8/14/2011

Customer review by walstib

1.0 stars by walstib

Bought this in a camping bundle just to have a second canopy, and I would not recommend it. The lowest setting for height on the legs is too high, so it lets in a lot of sun. It does not have any tie downs, only ground stakes. A thunderstorm came through an hour after I set this up with the stakes firmly pounded into the ground, and the wind took it right out of my yard. The construction is not nearly as solid as a First Up. Go with a 10 x 10 First Up brand if you're considering a canopy. I won't buy this brand again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
walstib
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 181 total reviews