Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 263 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

263 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

263 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
101
3 stars
25
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 230 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews
Well Worth the Price
3/9/2010

Customer review by MrRadio897

4.0 stars 3/9/2010 by MrRadio897
by MrRadio897

This is not a gun SAFE, but rather a gun CABINET. And it's an excellent gun cabinet for the price. It says it's a 5-gun cabinet, but realistically, it's more of a 3 or 4 gun cabinet. It stands about 4'7" tall and about a foot square - so you see why I say it holds more like 3 guns than 5. There is one shelf, and it is not very large. If I get ambitious, I'll install another one myself. The cabinet has ample space for the two large guns I have in there plus their ammo and some misc. Again, this is not a safe, so 1) it isn't fireproof, and 2) it needs to be screwed into the wall or floor or both (which is what I did) for it to be secure, but once it's bolted down, it's not going anywhere and is as secure as you'd want. Some bolts are included, but I bought larger, additional bolts. I installed it in a closet. It has a keyed lock with safe-style bolts. There won't be any prying the door open, for sure. This is a lower-end product from a top name in the business. If you are looking for a low-cost way to secure your guns from outsiders, this will do the trick nicely.

Was this review helpful? (221) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrRadio897
West Central Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value with almost free shipping
9/5/2009

Customer review by WhoWantsToBeAReviewer

5.0 stars 9/5/2009 by WhoWantsToBeAReviewer
by WhoWantsToBeAReviewer

Safe arrived in good shape. The door was NOT off the hinges, which was nice. No dents or scratches, even though the outer box was beat up some. The safe was double-boxed on the four long sides, with styrofoam on the ends instead of the second layer of cardboard. The shelf was in place, but only held there by a 2"x2"x8" (approx) piece of styrofoam, wedged in place against the top of the safe. I don't know how it had not come loose. Nicer finish and thicker sheet metal than the St---On brand seen elsewhere, but of course this 5-gun safe costs almost double those, so it's not exactly a fair comparison. You can check out that other brand at D---- S----ing Goods stores. I've compared them, and this one is much nicer. One drawback, but it is minor and easy to overcome: the shelf is too small. It does not come as far to the front as it could, and does not go all the way to the back, to allow longer guns to fit behind it. A 49" shotgun (28" bbl) needs to go past the shelf. A 43" shotgun (22" bbl) fits underneath. I made a larger shelf, with one 2 1/2" x 2 1/2" cut-out in the left rear corner for one longer gun. It also comes as far to the front as it can without hitting the door's U-iron reinforcements. The "carpeting" is not. It is cloth made to look like carpeting. Carpeting has a backing. This cloth does not. It covers the floor and the back, up to the barrel support (which is plastic, not foam like in the cheaper safes mentioned above.) [I will not ding the rating for this, because I knew the whole safe was not carpeted. The interior has the same nice paint finish as the exterior.] Anyway, I wanted the whole thing carpeted, so I went to a big box hardware store and picked up some inexpensive gray carpeting runner. I ripped out the existing fabric, which was glued on (had to sand out the glue and bits of fabric--took a bit of work), and used double-stick tape (carpet tape) to attach the new carpeting to the entire interior except the top. I also carpeted my new shelf, but needed to use staples for that. This was a lot of work, but the result is impressive. You'll want to bolt this safe to the wall if it's on carpeting. Opening the door makes it front-heavy. I bolted one in the wall and one in the floor. (My new carpeting has "flaps" for the bolt heads. The original carpeting does not.) Front door is reinforced top to bottom with two U-shaped iron sections. Door is recessed. Could you pry it open? Yeah, but you are going to need some time, and a crook isn't going to take that much time. The thing weighs 70 pounds. It could be pried from the wall and floor, but loaded with guns, no crook is going to easily make off with it. Two "bolts" on the door. Don't know if they are solid or not. Keys are "skeleton" type, but actually pretty complicated and heavy-duty. I was pleased with the keys and the lock. I am impressed with the Sentry safes, in general. I also have an electronic combination-lock safe made by them (1.25 cu ft). Good for ammo or handgun. These Sentry safes are a very good value, and if you can find one shipped for free or almost free, as this one from Walmart is, I think you'll find it's a keeper...that is, until you outgrow it!

Was this review helpful? (89) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhoWantsToBeAReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sentry 5-Gun Safe
6/28/2009

Customer review by DollarsAndSense

5.0 stars 6/28/2009 by DollarsAndSense
by DollarsAndSense

Unbeatable value for a small, compact gun safe for the owner of a couple of rifles and/or shotguns who wants to protect children or inexperienced gun handlers from misguided curiousity or horseplay, but still have ready access to your home defense choices. This is not a top of the line gun safe. There is nothing plush or technically advanced about it. If properly used, it is simple and effective gun safety for your home at an economical price.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DollarsAndSense
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent value-nice product
6/18/2010

Customer review by billccm

4.0 stars 6/18/2010 by billccm
by billccm

I needed a gun storage cabinet that would fit in the corner of my den's closet. I considered quite a few in the price range of $150 to $350, and this SENTRY product was the most for the money. I wanted a keyed lock, not a combination, nor any electronics, and found that very few were available keyed. Like others here, my first cabinet arrived damaged, and without keys. Walmart.com customer service sent a replacement unit in two days, and UPS picked up the returned piece. A very pleasant return and exchange experience. I will agree with other reviewers that the top shelf is too small for much usefulness, but to store 5 rifles and have some room for a small handgun, or two this unit fits the bill. I recommend this unit as the best value for the money, and also recommend walmart.com for the excellent exchange service.

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billccm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Safe
12/2/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/2/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

NICE storage and the quality is very good. The inside is carpeted and prevents scratching of guns. Not big enough for rimming, but for that you will need a larger cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Sentry Safe
5/7/2009

Customer review by Jeff4567

1.0 stars 5/7/2009 by Jeff4567
by Jeff4567

The product arrived with the door off of the hinges. Since it was not packaged properly, either the door or the cabinet was bent enough to present problems in opening and closing the door. Sentry told me to return the keys and they would ship a new safe. They said to dispose of the old safe in whatever manner I though appropriate. I am still waiting for the safe to arrive, that was 2 weeks ago…

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeff4567
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Worth every penny...
7/18/2010

Customer review by GrasshopperBoy

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by GrasshopperBoy
by GrasshopperBoy

Like others have stated, this is more a gun cabinet, than a gun safe. Will it keep curious children out, yes. Is it a better solution than putting guns behind the clothes in the closet, (or under the bed) absolutely. For the money, the expedience of shipping, and value for the dollar, this should be a "no-brainer" purchase. I highly recommend getting this if you don't already have a cabinet/safe. Just having this in place, I have a peace of mind with children in the house. Thanks again Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrasshopperBoy
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Round 1
5/3/2009

Customer review by popawheelieJ

2.0 stars 5/3/2009 by popawheelieJ
by popawheelieJ

After unpacking the product I inserted the key and made several attempts to open the door. The key felt sloppy in the key hole and took excessive force to disengage the locking pins. After 15min the door was freed open but would not open more than 30 degrees. I have returned the safe.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
popawheelieJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
great for the buck.
2/24/2011

Customer review by korneroner

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by korneroner
by korneroner

I bought this safe for my two rifles.I diddnt want to spend mor on a safe than my rifles are worth. I mainly bought this to keep my guns out of kids reach. it came preassembled i mounted in my garage w/ the 2 predrilled holes into a stud in the wall i did drill an extra hole for extra security close to the top and the steel is thick it took a little while to get through thats why i rate this secure. i also like how the hinges are on the inside of the safe and not the outside. It is a nice little safe for a few guns w/room for ammo and etc.It took like 2 days to get to me withe the .98 shipping fed ex dont waste your money on faster delevery. it was super quick. hope this helps....

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
korneroner
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5 Gun Cabinet
1/16/2011

Customer review by RandyRinFL

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by RandyRinFL
by RandyRinFL

The cabinet (safe) was what I expected after reading reviews prior to ordering. I received the cabinet as scheduled and it was not damaged. It is light enough for one person to move around fairly easily. The cabinet is not fire proof, but seems secure enough to slow down or deter a thief and keep children out. I used different screws to anchor it into a stud instead of using the plastic drywall anchors provided. For the price, I don't think you can beat this for a small cabinet. I have 1 shotgun, 1 rifle, and 2 pistols inside with ammo. I still have room to spare - for the next shotgun and/or rifle.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandyRinFL
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good fr the money
10/5/2010

Customer review by DoNotEnter

4.0 stars 10/5/2010 by DoNotEnter
by DoNotEnter

I got this "Safe" because I had a baby on the way. I wanted to be able to lock my guns up to keep them out of reach of little fingers. If you buy this safe for that reason then you will most likely be pleased with it. It is more like a heavy gun cabinate then an actual safe. It seems pretty sturdy but I doubt it will prevent a couple of determined burglers from getting in with a few pry bars abd a big hammer. It serves its purpose and from the feel of it, it most likely will for a long time. I'm pleased with it and it's quality for the money. Even after my son reached his teenage years, it should still prevent him from playing with dads guns, not because he CAN'T get into the safe given some time, but because it will take him completely destroying the safe to do it, which honestly will take a little while and some effort. For the money I would recommend it, provided you don't have to many long guns to store (It's not very wide) and you dont expect it to be as secure as Fort Knox. Also the shelf is quite small. I simply attatched another piece of wood to the factoy shelf because it did not go all the way to the back wall of the safe. This allowed me to store ammof and a handgun without worry of it falling off the back of the shelf. This works well for me because I only store a couple of 18.5" barreled shotguns and a few pistols. If you have "True long guns" this will not be an option simply because extending the shelf will prevent you from storing guns with barrels longer then aprox. 22" due to them being taller then the distance fromt he floor to the shelf. Taller guns will require the clearing behind the shelf to clear the longer barrel.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoNotEnter
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Pretty Good
4/2/2010

Customer review by Norgi

4.0 stars 4/2/2010 by Norgi
by Norgi

I would say this was a pretty good purchase. Do I think that a determined criminal could get my guns out if no one was home? Probably. However, my requirement was that this keep guns out of the hands of children and the overly-curious, and it will do that very well. Also, I keep the bolts in another secured location for extra safety. Construction is pretty impressive, if not exactly bank-vault like. Mounting was simple and the rack seems to fit shotguns well, and it has one slot for a scoped rifle.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Norgi
Pleasant Hill, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
safe good, bolts too small
12/1/2010

Customer review by thePhoenian

4.0 stars 12/1/2010 by thePhoenian
by thePhoenian

I like the safe but plan on getting new bolts. The heads of the bolt that come with the safe are so small that they almost slip through the holes provided in the safe for anchoring it to a wall. It is a bizarre mismatch.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thePhoenian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Gun Safe
3/17/2009

Customer review by azza266

5.0 stars 3/17/2009 by azza266
by azza266

This is a great value for the money. If you only have a few guns it's great and gives peace of mind keeping children from getting to them. Has no fireproof ability but for that you'll need a larger safe. Would work great for securing your ammo if you move up to a larger capacity safe. Perfect for a walk-in closet installation. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
azza266
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great gun / ammo storage
2/25/2011

Customer review by Ikanuba

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by Ikanuba
by Ikanuba

I bought this safe to store my shotguns (2) and ammo. It works perfectly. Size is compact enough to fit in corner of room without looking out of place. It's very solid and will prevent people from gaining easy access to your weapons / ammo. Great price and value from walmart

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ikanuba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for the Price
8/31/2010

Customer review by advan7

4.0 stars 8/31/2010 by advan7
by advan7

Like others have mentioned in previous reviews, this safe isn't Fort Knox, but is perfect for what I need. I only have 2 handguns, and 2 rifles at the moment, and it fits everything perfectly with room for my future shotgun, as well as another rifle. The top shelf is narrow and small, so I tossed it, and cut out a piece of MDF I had lying around to give me more room for my handguns, magazines, ammo, and other random things. It comes with wall anchors and screws, but I decided to floor mount it using 3" redhead anchors, and doesn't budge one bit.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
advan7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Bargain
4/1/2010

Customer review by Gewil

4.0 stars 4/1/2010 by Gewil
by Gewil

Well built for the price, and looks good too. The shelf is small so I built a larger one so I can store two hand guns and ammo on the shelf. I also put LED tap lights inside because it's dark in the back of my closet where I put it. I didn't want a large heavy duty safe, just something to safely store my guns away from my grandson and make it hard for someone to try to steal them. I bolted mine to a wall stud and the floor, so it's not going anywhere without a fight. Bottom line is it's well worth the price and it was delivered to my door for only 97 cents.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gewil
Belfair, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Useful Safe
2/29/2008

Customer review by LainLA

4.0 stars 2/29/2008 by LainLA
by LainLA

The safe is very light and can actually be carried out of your house. They provided one screw to bolt to the floor and one to the wall. I still think a crow bar would be able to pry it loose. However, based on the price I like the product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LainLA
Los Angeles, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Safe!
3/15/2010

Customer review by muxdragon

5.0 stars 3/15/2010 by muxdragon
by muxdragon

I was very surprised and pleased with this purchase. I needed a small gun safe to place into my closet without it being noticeable. I also wanted it to be secure and safe. I would have bought this safe much sooner if I had known it was this nice. It comes with 2 keys. The only drawback is that it is not fully carpeted. This is a great safe, and with the shipping practically free...you can't lose! Pick one up today.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
muxdragon
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not a 5 gun cabinet
2/13/2011

Customer review by SoCalGunOwner

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by SoCalGunOwner
by SoCalGunOwner

This cabinet is exactly as advertised except that it will not hold 5 guns. Three at best if a couple have optics. Rack holders are plastic and for the most part in the way. DO NOT USE INCLUDED HARDWARE. Spend a couple bucks and use quality bolts to secure. Remove carpet from floor BEFORE attempting to drill holes, otherwise carpet catches in drill and will be removed anyway.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoCalGunOwner
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews