Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 263 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

263 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

263 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
101
3 stars
25
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 230 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews
Serviceable secure storage cabinet
6/29/2012

Customer review by Globx44DCE

3.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Globx44DCE
by Globx44DCE

This product is what I expected: a serviceable secure storage cabinet for my guns. It's not going to withstand a determined assault by thieves, but that's what homeowner's insurance is for. The reason I rated it at only 3 stars is that the packaging in which the product is shipped provides insufficient protection for such a heavy object. The product arrived with a deep ding about the size of a quarter in the upper left front of the frame (beside the door). I've attached a photo. I had to install the cabinet immediately, as the worker who was re-doing my closet was only going to be available for a couple of more days, so I didn't return it. The defect is aesthetic and does not affect function, but that is no excuse for the sloppy packaging.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Globx44DCE
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well Worth the Price
3/9/2010

Customer review by MrRadio897

4.0 stars 3/9/2010 by MrRadio897
by MrRadio897

This is not a gun SAFE, but rather a gun CABINET. And it's an excellent gun cabinet for the price. It says it's a 5-gun cabinet, but realistically, it's more of a 3 or 4 gun cabinet. It stands about 4'7" tall and about a foot square - so you see why I say it holds more like 3 guns than 5. There is one shelf, and it is not very large. If I get ambitious, I'll install another one myself. The cabinet has ample space for the two large guns I have in there plus their ammo and some misc. Again, this is not a safe, so 1) it isn't fireproof, and 2) it needs to be screwed into the wall or floor or both (which is what I did) for it to be secure, but once it's bolted down, it's not going anywhere and is as secure as you'd want. Some bolts are included, but I bought larger, additional bolts. I installed it in a closet. It has a keyed lock with safe-style bolts. There won't be any prying the door open, for sure. This is a lower-end product from a top name in the business. If you are looking for a low-cost way to secure your guns from outsiders, this will do the trick nicely.

Was this review helpful? (221) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrRadio897
West Central Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value-nice product
6/18/2010

Customer review by billccm

4.0 stars 6/18/2010 by billccm
by billccm

I needed a gun storage cabinet that would fit in the corner of my den's closet. I considered quite a few in the price range of $150 to $350, and this SENTRY product was the most for the money. I wanted a keyed lock, not a combination, nor any electronics, and found that very few were available keyed. Like others here, my first cabinet arrived damaged, and without keys. Walmart.com customer service sent a replacement unit in two days, and UPS picked up the returned piece. A very pleasant return and exchange experience. I will agree with other reviewers that the top shelf is too small for much usefulness, but to store 5 rifles and have some room for a small handgun, or two this unit fits the bill. I recommend this unit as the best value for the money, and also recommend walmart.com for the excellent exchange service.

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billccm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sentry 5-Gun Safe
6/28/2009

Customer review by DollarsAndSense

5.0 stars 6/28/2009 by DollarsAndSense
by DollarsAndSense

Unbeatable value for a small, compact gun safe for the owner of a couple of rifles and/or shotguns who wants to protect children or inexperienced gun handlers from misguided curiousity or horseplay, but still have ready access to your home defense choices. This is not a top of the line gun safe. There is nothing plush or technically advanced about it. If properly used, it is simple and effective gun safety for your home at an economical price.

Was this review helpful? (47) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DollarsAndSense
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent value with almost free shipping
9/5/2009

Customer review by WhoWantsToBeAReviewer

5.0 stars 9/5/2009 by WhoWantsToBeAReviewer
by WhoWantsToBeAReviewer

Safe arrived in good shape. The door was NOT off the hinges, which was nice. No dents or scratches, even though the outer box was beat up some. The safe was double-boxed on the four long sides, with styrofoam on the ends instead of the second layer of cardboard. The shelf was in place, but only held there by a 2"x2"x8" (approx) piece of styrofoam, wedged in place against the top of the safe. I don't know how it had not come loose. Nicer finish and thicker sheet metal than the St---On brand seen elsewhere, but of course this 5-gun safe costs almost double those, so it's not exactly a fair comparison. You can check out that other brand at D---- S----ing Goods stores. I've compared them, and this one is much nicer. One drawback, but it is minor and easy to overcome: the shelf is too small. It does not come as far to the front as it could, and does not go all the way to the back, to allow longer guns to fit behind it. A 49" shotgun (28" bbl) needs to go past the shelf. A 43" shotgun (22" bbl) fits underneath. I made a larger shelf, with one 2 1/2" x 2 1/2" cut-out in the left rear corner for one longer gun. It also comes as far to the front as it can without hitting the door's U-iron reinforcements. The "carpeting" is not. It is cloth made to look like carpeting. Carpeting has a backing. This cloth does not. It covers the floor and the back, up to the barrel support (which is plastic, not foam like in the cheaper safes mentioned above.) [I will not ding the rating for this, because I knew the whole safe was not carpeted. The interior has the same nice paint finish as the exterior.] Anyway, I wanted the whole thing carpeted, so I went to a big box hardware store and picked up some inexpensive gray carpeting runner. I ripped out the existing fabric, which was glued on (had to sand out the glue and bits of fabric--took a bit of work), and used double-stick tape (carpet tape) to attach the new carpeting to the entire interior except the top. I also carpeted my new shelf, but needed to use staples for that. This was a lot of work, but the result is impressive. You'll want to bolt this safe to the wall if it's on carpeting. Opening the door makes it front-heavy. I bolted one in the wall and one in the floor. (My new carpeting has "flaps" for the bolt heads. The original carpeting does not.) Front door is reinforced top to bottom with two U-shaped iron sections. Door is recessed. Could you pry it open? Yeah, but you are going to need some time, and a crook isn't going to take that much time. The thing weighs 70 pounds. It could be pried from the wall and floor, but loaded with guns, no crook is going to easily make off with it. Two "bolts" on the door. Don't know if they are solid or not. Keys are "skeleton" type, but actually pretty complicated and heavy-duty. I was pleased with the keys and the lock. I am impressed with the Sentry safes, in general. I also have an electronic combination-lock safe made by them (1.25 cu ft). Good for ammo or handgun. These Sentry safes are a very good value, and if you can find one shipped for free or almost free, as this one from Walmart is, I think you'll find it's a keeper...that is, until you outgrow it!

Was this review helpful? (89) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhoWantsToBeAReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good!
8/22/2011

Customer review by Yarrow313

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by Yarrow313
by Yarrow313

I needed a secure gun cabinet, on a budget, and fast. I know that safes can cost several hundred to several thousand dollars so honestly I wasn't expecting a whole lot for $150 & free shipping (site-to-store), so I was very pleasantly surprised. It is sturdy and secure. I didn't expect fort knox for what I paid, and I know it's not fireproof, but I'm confident that it will serve as a deterrent and that's what I wanted it for. Never having owned a gun cabinet or safe before, I had no basis of comparison; but I will say that the construction is thicker and the item is heavier than I anticipated at this price point. It's bolted in place and is immobile. As others have said, I like that the hinges are on the inside. There's absolutely nothing on the front of the door to grab onto, unless the key is dangling from the lock. I didn't buy this with children or thieves in mind, but rather an unstable soon-to-be-ex. I'm in a high-stress situation, obviously, but this thing has given me a little more peace of mind than I had before.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yarrow313
Eastern Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
great for the buck.
2/24/2011

Customer review by korneroner

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by korneroner
by korneroner

I bought this safe for my two rifles.I diddnt want to spend mor on a safe than my rifles are worth. I mainly bought this to keep my guns out of kids reach. it came preassembled i mounted in my garage w/ the 2 predrilled holes into a stud in the wall i did drill an extra hole for extra security close to the top and the steel is thick it took a little while to get through thats why i rate this secure. i also like how the hinges are on the inside of the safe and not the outside. It is a nice little safe for a few guns w/room for ammo and etc.It took like 2 days to get to me withe the .98 shipping fed ex dont waste your money on faster delevery. it was super quick. hope this helps....

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
korneroner
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth every penny...
7/18/2010

Customer review by GrasshopperBoy

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by GrasshopperBoy
by GrasshopperBoy

Like others have stated, this is more a gun cabinet, than a gun safe. Will it keep curious children out, yes. Is it a better solution than putting guns behind the clothes in the closet, (or under the bed) absolutely. For the money, the expedience of shipping, and value for the dollar, this should be a "no-brainer" purchase. I highly recommend getting this if you don't already have a cabinet/safe. Just having this in place, I have a peace of mind with children in the house. Thanks again Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrasshopperBoy
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Low priced gun cabinet is an excellent value
8/5/2011

Customer review by JoeBagz

4.0 stars 8/5/2011 by JoeBagz
by JoeBagz

Ordered this item online and had it delivered to my home. Item was listed as being in stock and was shipped quickly, I guess I took delivery in about a week. The cardboard box had some damage to the exterior but the contents, my safe was unmarked, didn’t have so much as a scratch. So as far as I’m concerned both Walmart and FedEx get high marks for this transaction. Now for the safe. Just my opinion but I would consider this more of sturdy gun cabinet rather than a safe. That said it seems quite well made for the price. I am sure it will keep the contents secure in the short term. However, I believe the mounting hardware is woefully inadequate. I opted to drill three additional holes in the back of the safe and used heavier steel bolts to secure it to the wall… The single supplied shelf for some reason does not reach the back of the case leaving a large gap that loose items always seem to find. I do plan on replacing the shelf and add an additional one as well. Overall, based on the price I think this product is an amazing value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeBagz
Northern New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Safe - Buy it at Store do not ship it
8/28/2012

Customer review by Gunsafer

4.0 stars 8/28/2012 by Gunsafer
by Gunsafer

This is a good safe and it does what it is intended, which is to keep your shotguns away from children and intruders. You are able to bolt it to the ground or a stud (bolts included) to give it a little more security. The door is noisy when it is closed, there should have been some neoprene or rubber to reduce this at the rim of the door. There is only one keylock that is used to close the safe. It would be wise to buy the safe at the store and certify that it is 100% before taking it home. SentrySafe does not package well and a 1 inch thick sheet of styrofoam (top and bottom of a cardboard box) is what is protecting your safe during transport (REALLY!). Unfortunately I had to return my safe once because it was so scratched and dented I couldn't even open the door. The second time it still came dented and scratched but not as much and I just gave up and kept it. ( By the way it is really hard to repackage and move it around by youyrself ask someone to help you)... Enjoy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gunsafer
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5 Gun Cabinet
1/16/2011

Customer review by RandyRinFL

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by RandyRinFL
by RandyRinFL

The cabinet (safe) was what I expected after reading reviews prior to ordering. I received the cabinet as scheduled and it was not damaged. It is light enough for one person to move around fairly easily. The cabinet is not fire proof, but seems secure enough to slow down or deter a thief and keep children out. I used different screws to anchor it into a stud instead of using the plastic drywall anchors provided. For the price, I don't think you can beat this for a small cabinet. I have 1 shotgun, 1 rifle, and 2 pistols inside with ammo. I still have room to spare - for the next shotgun and/or rifle.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RandyRinFL
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sentry Safe
5/7/2009

Customer review by Jeff4567

1.0 stars 5/7/2009 by Jeff4567
by Jeff4567

The product arrived with the door off of the hinges. Since it was not packaged properly, either the door or the cabinet was bent enough to present problems in opening and closing the door. Sentry told me to return the keys and they would ship a new safe. They said to dispose of the old safe in whatever manner I though appropriate. I am still waiting for the safe to arrive, that was 2 weeks ago…

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeff4567
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Nice Safe
12/2/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/2/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

NICE storage and the quality is very good. The inside is carpeted and prevents scratching of guns. Not big enough for rimming, but for that you will need a larger cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good with caveats
4/11/2009

Customer review by micron26

3.0 stars 4/11/2009 by micron26
by micron26

This is a decent product for the money, but far from great. Build quality and overall design are very good and essentially as advertised. But there is no way you will ever fit 5 long guns in this cabinet if any of them have a scope, pistol grip, or are not all .22 plink-plink guns. I use the cabinet for 2 scoped rifles, and neither of them sits comfortably in it because of the tight space and poor design of the upper rack (which cannot be moved or altered in any way). Also, the upper shelf inexplicably does not fit flush against the rear wall, leaving a 2" for ammo, etc. to fall through if you're not careful. I don't get it. Finally, the cabinet arrived with a huge dent/peeling paint in one corner that (fortunately) does not impair function. This is clearly a consequence of poor packaging. I don't really mind this issue because it sits inside a closet, but if I had installed the cabinet in plain sight I would be returning it. The price is reasonable, but I might have chosen a different cabinet if I had known about the shelf and upper rack.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
micron26
Westbury, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
safe good, bolts too small
12/1/2010

Customer review by thePhoenian

4.0 stars 12/1/2010 by thePhoenian
by thePhoenian

I like the safe but plan on getting new bolts. The heads of the bolt that come with the safe are so small that they almost slip through the holes provided in the safe for anchoring it to a wall. It is a bizarre mismatch.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thePhoenian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
An excellent buy for the protection given.
10/1/2008

Customer review by scotyosh

4.0 stars 10/1/2008 by scotyosh
by scotyosh

Yes the 75 lbs is not a-lot of weight, but loaded it can easily get to 100lbs+. The shelf is really flimsy. It floats between the left and right insides of the safe, and leaves a large exposed area in the back to allow longer guns to fit. Certainly not big enough to hold a large barreled pistol securely here in earthquake territory. Of course the safe itself is not very burglar proof, and in my opinion, would cover your from roaming teenagers and quick entry & exit burglars of opportunity with no pry tools. I live in the middle of a Big City. I could not find this anywhere in the area and buying it here online, was really the cheapest option. If you don't have a safe, I recommend starting out with this one. The $220 you spend will help shield you in court, and let you sleep better when you are away for the weekend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scotyosh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Gun Safe
3/17/2009

Customer review by azza266

5.0 stars 3/17/2009 by azza266
by azza266

This is a great value for the money. If you only have a few guns it's great and gives peace of mind keeping children from getting to them. Has no fireproof ability but for that you'll need a larger safe. Would work great for securing your ammo if you move up to a larger capacity safe. Perfect for a walk-in closet installation. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azza266
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little safe !
8/24/2009

Customer review by Portagoose

5.0 stars 8/24/2009 by Portagoose
by Portagoose

Great price ! Ive looked at all different sources and you can't beat WalMart's price. Shipping was very fast and you can't beat .97 cent shipping. It arrived safely and was packaged real well, so no damage at all. The key worked fine with no door problems. For the price you can't beat this great little safe. It is solid enough to keep kids and strangers with limited knowledge of breaking into safes out. I anchored it against the wall (Highly recommend this) so it is pretty stable and can't be pulled over by little ones. If you want a fire rated safe you can expect to pay at least $500 and up depending of the rating and manufacture. Plus you can expect it to be at least 400 plus pounds so you have to be careful where you put it. So for the price and quality this is as great little buy if you are on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Portagoose
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Good
4/2/2010

Customer review by Norgi

4.0 stars 4/2/2010 by Norgi
by Norgi

I would say this was a pretty good purchase. Do I think that a determined criminal could get my guns out if no one was home? Probably. However, my requirement was that this keep guns out of the hands of children and the overly-curious, and it will do that very well. Also, I keep the bolts in another secured location for extra safety. Construction is pretty impressive, if not exactly bank-vault like. Mounting was simple and the rack seems to fit shotguns well, and it has one slot for a scoped rifle.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Norgi
Pleasant Hill, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good Bargain
4/1/2010

Customer review by Gewil

4.0 stars 4/1/2010 by Gewil
by Gewil

Well built for the price, and looks good too. The shelf is small so I built a larger one so I can store two hand guns and ammo on the shelf. I also put LED tap lights inside because it's dark in the back of my closet where I put it. I didn't want a large heavy duty safe, just something to safely store my guns away from my grandson and make it hard for someone to try to steal them. I bolted mine to a wall stud and the floor, so it's not going anywhere without a fight. Bottom line is it's well worth the price and it was delivered to my door for only 97 cents.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gewil
Belfair, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews