Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

10 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

10 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-10 of 10 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good barrel, but with a problem.
5/18/2009

Customer review by littlecleo

3.0 stars 5/18/2009 by littlecleo
by littlecleo

I picked my barrel up from Wal Mart after using the ship to store feature, fast, and saved on shipping cost! I took the barrel home, unpacked it, and installed on my shotgun, only to find that the cantilever scope mount was bent, and not parallel with the receiver. I contacted Mossberg, and they replaced the barrel, no problems, even payed for all the shipping. I should have unpackaged the barrel and taken a better look at it when I picked it up, but hey, it's all good.

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littlecleo
Branson, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Excellent barrel!
1/15/2010

Customer review by Bluehawk

5.0 stars 1/15/2010 by Bluehawk
by Bluehawk

Excellent value and accurate barrel! I put the Bushnell Banner Dusk to Dawk 1.75-4X scope on mine and it works great! Being ported helps reduce recoil a lot but I went ahead and replaced the factory recoil pad this year with a Decelerator pad as my 500 is over 20 years old now. Having the scope mounted on the barrel is the best way...that way it stays with the barrel when you switch them and never have to sight it back in again!!! Highly recommend this barrel for slug shooters!

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bluehawk
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Product returned
9/1/2010

Customer review by hartspring

1.0 stars 9/1/2010 by hartspring
by hartspring

After I opened the package and removed the barrel from its' plastic-on-cardboard pak, I noticed right away it had plentiful scuff marks. These scuff marks just happened to correspond with the assembly points of my Maverick 88 shotgun. I immediatley looked into the bore and discovered rust. The barrel had been previously installed, used and shot mutiple times and then returned to Walmart and re-sold. The store associate couldn't believe that it happened until he looked at the bore. Since my sales receipt was only an hour old--no more questions. Open the package before you take it home.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hartspring
Saltillo, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Slug Barrel
7/25/2010

Customer review by mike12110

5.0 stars 7/25/2010 by mike12110
by mike12110

Great product.......Great Price.....Free shipping (site to store) Can't beat that !

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mike12110
Venice, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good deal but
4/21/2011

Customer review by Fishbuster

4.0 stars 4/21/2011 by Fishbuster
by Fishbuster

It would have gotten 5 stars on Meets expectations had it had a built in sling mount like the original 28" and 18 1/2" barrels that came with the gun. Of course mine is like 20 years or so old so things most likely have changed. That said I would more need a sling when going hunting with this barrel than I do with the 18 1/2" installed for home defence. I own several firearms and a bow or two :) I purchased this barrel because I am at an age (or condition) where pulling a bow to pratice is starting to hurt joints. I feel I can withstand the recoil however I know I can no longer get out there and track game especially through the low swampy land on the back of my property. Most my shots are 50-75 yards and I figure a good hit with this and a deer will go down hard besides in the south we have had hogs move in and I wanted a little more firepower. Aside from that this was a lot cheaper than a new gun and makes the home defence firearm actually get some use rather than sit and collect dust.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishbuster
Lowcountry, South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Excellent
2/4/2010

Customer review by ront65

5.0 stars 2/4/2010 by ront65
by ront65

Although I did not purchase my barrel at Walmart, I have had a few Mossberg shotguns. These cantilever barrels are tack drivers. Mossberg is way under rated. You won't find a better shotgun for accuracy at any price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ront65
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good barrel for the price
6/25/2013

Customer review by Digitaldude65837

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by Digitaldude65837
by Digitaldude65837

I needed a slug barrel for my 500 and this fit the bill.Came quick and even has the rail system for mounting scopes on top.Nice touch!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Digitaldude65837
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/21/2012

Customer review by Jeromia

1.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Jeromia
by Jeromia

Simply the worst barrel I have ever seen. The barrel is barely rifled and has many imperfections in the steel you can see when you look through barrel after cleaning (almost looks like like polished scaling). I have tried many brands including remington core lokt, hornady sst, remington sluggers, and federal ammo in this barrel and no way near even a 4" group at 60 yds. That is pathetic! You may save money because mossberg is cheap but I got what I payed for in this barrel.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeromia
Mogadore, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
MOSSBERG 500 BARREL #92056 PORTED RIFLED 12 GA. 2
1/11/2012

Customer review by sidneyr

1.0 stars 1/11/2012 by sidneyr
by sidneyr

I PURCHESED THIS NEW BARREL ON MAY 2011. IT WAS NEW IN THE CARTON . IT SAT IN MY GUN CASE UNTELL 1/12/2012. I DIDN'T CHECK IT OUT CAUSE IT WAS NEW . MY GUNES WERE DO TO BE CLEANED AFTER SETTING AROUND FOR A YEAR OND A HALF. WELL CLEANING THEM I THAUGHT I WOOD OIL MY NEW BARREL TOO. I GOT LOTS OF BLACK OUT OF THE NEW BARREL AND THE CARDBOARD THAT WAS TOUCHING THE BARREL BLACK AND RUSTY,THE INSIDE OF THE BARREL WOOD NOT COM CLEAN AFTER MULTIPUL CLEANINGS! THERE IS STILL SOMETHING IN THE BARREL?? I'M GOING TO TRY AGAIN BUT A NEW UNUSED BARREL SHOULD'NT HAVE SO MUCH STUFF IN IT ! I THINK IT MUST HAVE BEEN A RETURN THAT WAS USED??

Was this review helpful? (3) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sidneyr
seattle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
AWSOME
1/1/2015

Customer review by AwsomeCombination

5.0 stars 1/1/2015 by AwsomeCombination
by AwsomeCombination

Ordered two, one for myself and one for my son. Due to some regulation changes, we could no longer use our rifles to hunt deer, only shotguns are leagal here now. Received in perfect condition quick. Installation was a snap. Topped off with 3x9x40 scopes, sight in was a breeze and accuracy with 3" Federal trophy copper sabot slugs is AWSOME. My son killed a 14 point whitetail within a week of setting our guns up!! What is nice is the ability to simply change out the barrel with the shotgun barrel and you are ready to hunt ducks or squirrels without having to resight the scope!! If you have to shoot slugs, this barrel and the Federal copper sabot slugs are the answer!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AwsomeCombination
Would recommend to a friend? Yes