Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 189 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

189 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

189 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
65
3 stars
27
2 stars
13
1 stars
36
1-20 of 170 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 170 total reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews
bike
5/8/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/8/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i ride this bike everyday last year i bourgt same bike at target for $159.00 and walmart had it for $89.00 the bike i got from walmart was easy to put to getter and since i been rideing i lost 20 lbs i will alway shop at walmart.com

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
st.louis mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
21 speed Next power stoke moutain bike
8/24/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/24/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

After buying my son this bike 6 months ago we took it to a repair shop where they charged $70 for new rims, tires, brakes and spokes. I thought it was a mistake that this bike needed soooo much work. A week later the frame broke in two. What a piece of junk. Don't waste your money. Buy something (anything) else, but not this one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Topeka IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I've been beating the snot out of this bike...
7/1/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/1/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This bike has bee discontinued for some time, but I thought I'd offer up my thoughts on this seven or eight year old bike. I bought this off of a guy who was hurting for money, and I stored it for probably three years before hopping on it. Anyway, I'm over 200 lbs and I put 4-8 miles a day on it 5 times a week for the last thirty days. The right hand shifter seems off by one gear but that's the only issue I've had with it. If I get serious about riding, I'd buy another bike, but this one does fine for now. Oh, BTW, the seat does suck, and my tailbone hurt for a week after my first long ride. Now it doesn't bother me at all. Bicycling is great cardio, and I can demonstrably see the difference it's making.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Next men's mountain bikes
6/5/2016

Customer review by FLYNRC

4.0 stars 6/5/2016 by FLYNRC
by FLYNRC

I have an almost new next men's mt.bike...a lady bought it and tried to assemble it herself....she nearly killed herself on the first up and down hill. She sold it to me for $10 bucks and thought she was being relieved from a curse....it had been sitting since that first ride....she claimed it didn't steer well. was way too heavy and would not shift gears. well now since the brakes were tightened way too tight, and the handlebars were on "backwards' you can imagine her dismay....I was able to push it home and begin a complete adjustment and detail from top to bottom...it is a fine bike for trail riding now and still new...I admit I have other bikes to "zoom climb hills'' but this one works just fine for easy trails with friends and family...be aware and have someone install all parts on this bike if planned for mountain use...signed A COLLECTOR AND RESTORER OF ALL THINGS CALLED "BICYCLES"

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLYNRC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent bike, but don't get it wet
5/20/2009

Customer review by Adrigo

4.0 stars 5/20/2009 by Adrigo
by Adrigo

I purchased this bike in August 08 - assembled it myself. It worked fine the first weekend I used it. The second week though the back tire had gotten a buldge in a s-pattern, causing it to rub against the frame. It ended up being that the rear tire was deformed - replaced it; bike ran well throughout fall, needing only minor adjustments. I've had to store it outside on covered porch under tarp due to size of apt I live in. From getting wet on several occasions, everything not painted has gotten rust on it - worst of which being the rims, which has affected braking. Still trying to adjust brake pads & cables to make up for it but no avail. If you have indoor storage trouble like me or tend to ride a lot in rain/puddles, etc I would consider coating rims w/protective coating or spray paint. Other than the rust issue only problem I've had is trying to get shifters aligned well enough to be able to shift into all gears, there's a few that still skip over or make a clanking noise from improper alignment.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adrigo
Emmaus, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Defects of Design Engineers
12/5/2007

Customer review by dlojikel

3.0 stars 12/5/2007 by dlojikel
by dlojikel

This product is one of the most easily available, seems best for the price and probably works fine for the price and may be a duration of 5 to 6 months normal use. Pros: price could be one when you are looking at a short-term use. Sleek, light when compared to other competitive models. Cons: One of the good examples of defective design engineering. Being a Mechanical/Manufacturing engineer, when I really observed the minor details after a little use of the bike, I noticed the crank fittings were getting loose almost after every ride. This is because of the wrong design of the lock nuts, which is a blunder for any design engineer. The brakes are not properly balanced and designed, which causes the brakes to behave in all different levels of braking frequently. Final conclusion: If you want to try buying one of these machines think about it, examine and may be you can spend a little more to make the better decision. P.S: And it is not for everyday use. (which it says it is)

Was this review helpful? (4) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlojikel
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent Bike for the Price
4/20/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 4/20/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I work in Amarillo, TX during the week but live in Arkansas. Palo Duro Canyon is about 25 miles south of here and I wanted to go ride it. Rather than shipping my mountain bike from home, I decided to just buy one here and keep it in my office. At first, this NEXT bike barely made it down the lighthouse trail. It needed a LOT of adjustments. Bought a seat cover, bought handle bar extensions, adjusted the rear suspension a LOT. Had to tighten the handle bars as tight as I could get them because they would slip if you used too much pressure on them when climbing. With all of these adjustments and add ons, it's a good bike for what you pay for it. I'd recommend it to anyone who isn't TOO awful serious about their bike. I have a Cannondale at home and yes, it's a way better bike but I also paid a heck of a lot more for it. :) One additional thing, I actually BROKE three teeth off my rear sprockets climbing hills in the canyon. Either they weren't made strong enough for me or I'm just too strong for it. :)

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A Big Mistake
6/18/2008

Customer review by Mullenman

1.0 stars 6/18/2008 by Mullenman
by Mullenman

My wife bought this bike as a gift for my 60th birthday. With all the gears... 18 of them...she thought it would be an excellent workout bike for me. She bought it preassembled since it was a surprise gift. This bike has turned out to be an absolute disaster. I have had it four weeks and have only been able to ride three times due to component failures. First thing was a front tire blow out because rubber protection that goes over the ends of the spoke heads inside the wheel rim was not properly installed, causing a spoke head to puncture the tube so severely it had to be replaced. Also, the gear changer at the pedal sprocket will not function correctly, and now the breaks are messing up. All this and it has only been ridden 3 or 4 times. Now, the bike is starting to rust. One more thing...this bike is incredibly heavy for its size. Unless you have a lot of time on your hands and a strong desire to fix things, don't waste your money on this bike!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mullenman
Newberry, Sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A++
8/7/2007

Customer review by Metaz39

4.0 stars 8/7/2007 by Metaz39
by Metaz39

I bought this bike and it was stolen less than 24 hours later. Big bummer but it says something. I then bought a diffrent bike (Roadmaster) but after riding the NEXT I took it back and bought another one just like this. It has a very smooth ride and handles pretty well for a department store bike. I am very pleased. You just cant beat it for the price.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Metaz39
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad shifting
4/12/2008

Customer review by operationteapot

3.0 stars 4/12/2008 by operationteapot
by operationteapot

I purchased this bike about 7 months ago, and rode it as a daily commuter for about 5 months straight, 5 days a week. It worked well for roughly the first week. After that, the brakes began to fail, so I replaced them, but they only got worse as the cheap rims began to wear and rust over. The last month I rode it, I had to drag my feet to stop myself, and I changed brake pads and tuned it up numerous times. The gear shift began failing after the first month of use. It began to shift late, and then not at all when down shifting. It shifted into higher gears almost predictably, but I would have to shift down at least 3 times before it would change at all. The components on this bicycle are horrible. Simply put, they're horrible. That coupled with the frame being extremely heavy should be enough to dissuade you from buying this bicycle. (If you're going to get a cheap bike, get the cheapest, not a more expensive cheap bike.)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
operationteapot
Bremerton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
3/13/2008

Customer review by JeffC

3.0 stars 3/13/2008 by JeffC
by JeffC

Spend a little more and get the Schwinn or the Mongoose, or better. Ever since I bought this bike I have been wishing I had bought the Schwinn which was right next to it. Don't be fooled by the flashy graphics and dual suspension. Although this bike gets me where I need to go, and I use it daily as part of my commute, the shifting is shaky, the rear shocks are so springy you lose downforce with powerful pedaling so hills are really tough, and you MUST buy a new seat because it is the most uncomfortable you can imagine, as if it's made of cement. The Schwinn is only about $30-$50 more, and is of far better quality

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeffC
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Hmm Interesting
12/10/2008

Customer review by Nandansho

4.0 stars 12/10/2008 by Nandansho
by Nandansho

After getting in a horrible bike accident with a magna I came across this bike. For 1 thing it is a beautiful design. I'm 5'11 240LBS AND THIS BIKE HAS NO PROBLEM CARRYING ME. I live in a mountainy area so I test it almost daily. The forks are strong, as I've hit rocks that should have launched me like a catapult. The gears/sproket are shakey so I swapped out a trek rear wheel. It solved that problem.(The teeth on the sproket are too small). It brakes fine and feels very balenced. I like the welds on the frame they look tig welded. I'd replace the pedals though with metal ones for a lifetime of no problems. I'd say this bike is good for big people who mountain bike. Because your average street biker is thin and lanky thus the light weight bikes. So buy this bike but upgrade with the pedals sproket, and seat. Overall for 100 dollars you cannot beat this bike, oh yeah get a softer seat.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nandansho
Flagstaff AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Stylish, Robust, Great value for money!
8/23/2007

Customer review by The007

4.0 stars 8/23/2007 by The007
by The007

I tried purchasing this bike twice online but it was temporarily sold out. Got curious and went to a Walmart store and there was one newlly assembled bike sitting there. Picked that up. Initial impression, bike looks great, has style, has strong frame and forks. Good value for the money. Riding the bike is great as well, I encountered no issues shifting gears (if done right way, like with any bike) and the suspension handles great on trails. The tires are fine, just don't blow them to 50lbs like it is said, I keep mine about 45-46. They won't blow. So overall, a very good, stylish and practical bike for the money. Good to start with and not feel sad when an expensive one breaks down the trails:). I also god a gel seat cover for more comfort (takes little time to get used to, but it is comfy) Make sure that the bike gets assembled properly, especially the gear mechanism and brakes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
The007
Ventura, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Generally good
8/27/2008

Customer review by Teddy2Ears

3.0 stars 8/27/2008 by Teddy2Ears
by Teddy2Ears

Bike arrived in a box which was wrecked - however the bike was fine and in good condition. It was easy enough to put together and after riding it a few times have found the brakes are not the best to adjust - also the gear change is a little weak and not 100% accurate I thought the front wheel was off 'true' at first- but actually it's the tyre that is set incorrectly and makes the wheel look like it's buckled - but it's not !! The seat is comfy enough and quite well padded,(must have improved on previous reviews!!) and the bike itself is great, it's a little heavy, so for anyone looking for something lighter then don't go for this - however the bike rides well and at my age I won't be racing with it - the niggles above are only small and with a bit of effort they are soon sorted. It looks great and funtions well once adjustments are done and I would say for the money is excellent

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teddy2Ears
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mens Mountain bike
6/24/2009

Customer review by PooPah

4.0 stars 6/24/2009 by PooPah
by PooPah

I had to buy this bike for my daughter away at college. Her old bike was left out & ruined by her brother, so we needed to replace it ( it too was a Wal-Mart bike) All her friends have cars or work during the day during the summer school session so she needed a way to get around! I ordered it online from my Wheeling, Ill. address & had it shipped to the Normal, Ill. store where she could pick it up. It came in sooner then we were told so that was a big bonus. Only glitch was I was NOT told during the online ordering process...that the bike WOULD NOT be assembled when it arrived! I panicked, my 20 year daughter doesn't know how, nor does she have the tools away at college, to assemble the bike if she did!!!I called the store manager & explained the situation, they were VERY NICE & HELPFUL, under the circumstances & had their in store assembler, Brandon, put her bike together for her that same night it arrived! The store manager called me back that same night & told me that she had taken care of it & the bike would be ready for her the next morning to pick up. She loves the bike and besides the price being right ($89.00)...and a good looking bike, the service at the Normal, Ill. store was EXCELLENT! Thanks again

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PooPah
Wheeling, Ill.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/22/2008

Customer review by Roman2000

5.0 stars 9/22/2008 by Roman2000
by Roman2000

Excellent Value - have used it all summer with no problems, and just yesterday went on a 40 ride with it. Just minor things i;ve had to do over the summer with it.. minor adjustment for gear shifting, tightening of handlebar. Tires have held up well. Very good for shorter trips, you may want to go for a lighter bike for longer trips.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roman2000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
8/4/2007

Customer review by everydaybiker

5.0 stars 8/4/2007 by everydaybiker
by everydaybiker

Very easy shifting, smooth ride. Much more than I expected for the money. I enjoy it on trails as well as for street riding.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
everydaybiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
transportation
4/9/2008

Customer review by topdog2805

4.0 stars 4/9/2008 by topdog2805
by topdog2805

the seat is very uncomfortable so i changed it with a better seat and it make for a mountain bike worth the asking price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
topdog2805
keene,tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I Like It...
9/16/2008

Customer review by CecilCecilCecil

4.0 stars 9/16/2008 by CecilCecilCecil
by CecilCecilCecil

------------------------------ I used to mountain bike a lot when I was in high school, but after I graduated, college baseball ate up all my free time and energy. However, now that I am out of school and have obtained a permanent engineering position, I wanted to get back into it to stay in shape and for recreational purposes. ------------------------------ I bought this bike preassembled at Wal-Mart. I tried riding a few in the store, to see which one felt right, and this one seemed to suit me. (Plus I didn't want to spend $150+ for an "upscale" model.) A few parts needed to be tightened, (whoever put it together at Wal-Mart probably didn't take the time to hand-tighten every little piece) and the brakes needed to be properly adjusted, but this goes for any new bike. ------------------------------ At first, as stated in one of the reviews, I thought that the dual suspension was too "spongy"; you lost a lot of downforce in the shock when pedaling hard. However, if you actually look at the bike for more than 5 seconds, you realize that this spring shock in the middle of the bike can be easily adjusted to make the suspension as rigid or as spongy as you like. ------------------------------ Overall, I like the bike and think that it is a great value for the money. I have logged approximately 70 miles on it so far within the first 2 or 3 weeks, 20 or so miles through some pretty rough, offroad conditions, and the bike has held up thus far. ------------------------------ I gave a 4-star overall rating because as stated in a previous review, the shifting IS a little shaky sometimes, and the stock seat is very uncomfortable (I bought a wider, more comfortable seat for around $20); however, this has been my experience with every bike I have ever owned, so I sort of expected it. ------------------------------

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CecilCecilCecil
Slippery Rock, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/20/2009

Customer review by JollyRider

4.0 stars 4/20/2009 by JollyRider
by JollyRider

Purchased bike pre-assembled at store after considering other mountain bikes costing $180 or more. Store clerk re-adjusted brake pads since Wal-mart assembler had pads too tight. I made slight adjustments to front and rear gear shifts after reading manual. Now bike rides and shifts smoothly. I also found the seat uncomfortable and had to replace the saddle with one that has more padding. A spoke wrench may be needed to true up the rims, and tightening the handlebar may be necessary. The steel frame is heavy compared to an aluminum frame. This combined with the wide-grooved tire treads makes the bike slower than a road bike on paved streets, but pretty stable on trails. If speed is not a consideration, and lifting the bike will not be a problem, this bike is a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JollyRider
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 170 total reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews