Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 648 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

648 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

648 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
255
4 stars
202
3 stars
61
2 stars
46
1 stars
84
1-20 of 647 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 647 total reviews
1-20 of 647 reviews
Great introduction to the mtb world
5/6/2014

Customer review by newtomtb

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by newtomtb
by newtomtb

I bought this bike to explore the sport of mountain biking on the local single tracks. I had to adjust the rear mech slightly to avoid the chain from falling off and had to adjust the brake tension slightly. I also got some no-flat tubes and another layer if rubber between the tube and rim as the spoke needles poke out a bit and would have caused a flat on the first real bump. Of course this bike will not compare to one with better components that usually start in the 700.00 range, but after about 150 miles of relatively rough terrain, it is holding up well. Gears are slow to respond and brakes need constant adjustments. However, it is a reliable hardtail that has helped me learn that i love mtb as much as road biking. I will upgrade eventually, but this is the best 80.00 i have spent on a bike. I have dropped it, crashed it, jumped it, mash it in the back of the suv and it still keeps on ticking. If you are going to ride every day or on trails, get thw upgraded tubes, another layer of protection under the tube, and the brakes right. Otherwise, beat it up while you save the remaining 1,000.00 for the next level up. I also put a road bike seat on, but that is only because i had it. The one that came with it was fine.

Was this review helpful? (260) (98)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newtomtb
tampa, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good bike.
8/12/2014

Customer review by BC081464

4.0 stars 8/12/2014 by BC081464
by BC081464
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have no problem. I like the front shocks.

Was this review helpful? (18) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BC081464
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy assembled and test at store.
8/26/2014

Customer review by Mebanite

4.0 stars 8/26/2014 by Mebanite
by Mebanite
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

With regard to the product, the bike is pretty sturdy and overall we're pleased, BUT we originally went through the "Site to Store" process and the box containing the first bike was completely destroyed with holes, and missing/broken parts (reflectors: one broken and one with a missing spoke bolt), and most importantly, the rear wheel was completely warped so we had to return it to the store. We looked around the offerings in the outdoor garden center and were only able to find one other model like the one purchased and it had a note stating it was damaged (broken gears). The design of the bike along with lower than average cost, coupled with pretty decent reviews elsewhere still prompted us to look around again for this specific model, and luckily we found one inside the store in the toy department. We purchased it on the spot and I had my teenage son ride it around in the parking lot just to cycle through the gears and we've had it for a couple weeks now with several rides around the neighborhood and library trips. So far a decent bike for the money.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mebanite
Mebane, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat the value.
9/28/2014

Customer review by Sagreseu

4.0 stars 9/28/2014 by Sagreseu
by Sagreseu

My intent on purchasing this bike was to spare the use of my higher end bikes (Specialized Stumpjumper and Sirrus) and to avoid them getting stolen when doing chores (trying to exercise more, when not "riding"). In any event, this bike cost $85 out the door, which is the cost of two tires for my Specialized bikes. It's a heavy bike, but sturdy, the gears are amazingly smooth, and the brakes quite impressive. The front end suspension, horrid and only adds weight to this already heavy ride. In spite of it's cons, it rides nicely, it's comfortable. My biggest critique is that the handlebar is to short in length, compelling my inner palms to wrap around the gears and handles collectively which can cause unintended (albeit slight and gradual) gear shifting. It wouldn't be cost prohibitive to add an additional inch (half on each end of the handlebars). I'm only 6' tall, average weight and frame. I've put 200 miles or so on this bike and it is dependable. You simply cannot beat the price for what you get. Don't take it off road and don't anticipate performance from the front end suspension. Aside from that, buy one!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sagreseu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Shortest lifespan of any bike I ever owned
10/16/2014

Customer review by TXChigger

2.0 stars 10/16/2014 by TXChigger
by TXChigger

Within 5 months the rear wheel hub fell apart. On the good side it was real fun picking up all the little bitty ball bearings off the floor

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXChigger
Wichita Falls, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
cannot turn
8/10/2014

Customer review by Samuel21th

1.0 stars 8/10/2014 by Samuel21th
by Samuel21th

It has a design problem. The front wheel hits the pedal when you turn. See the picture.

Was this review helpful? (64) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Samuel21th
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value!
5/24/2014

Customer review by ra3boy

5.0 stars 5/24/2014 by ra3boy
by ra3boy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Decent bike for the money, needs a long term review in a couple of months!

Was this review helpful? (12) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ra3boy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall it is very nice.
9/17/2014

Customer review by PrabhaS

4.0 stars 9/17/2014 by PrabhaS
by PrabhaS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

But, I already purchased one ergonomic seat for my Bike in Walmart. I need to change my Bike Seat, tell me where I have to go for that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PrabhaS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the steering coloum
4/10/2014

Customer review by LuckyBobcat101

3.0 stars 4/10/2014 by LuckyBobcat101
by LuckyBobcat101
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the steering An the tire sometimes Don't lock together An it's hard to ride Cuz you can't steer..

Was this review helpful? (19) (102)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuckyBobcat101
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive, yet worth more
5/24/2015

Customer review by Chevyjunkie

5.0 stars 5/24/2015 by Chevyjunkie
by Chevyjunkie

From a past life of running a Schwinn Dealership in the 80's I assembled and sold thousands of bike over six years there. Not only Schwinn, but Jamis, Redline, Mongoose, etc. My cardiologist told me I needed something to get some exercise. I have a $500 touring bike, but it's in need of an overhaul and I just wanted something simple for neighborhood riding with my girl. Okay so here it is. This bike is not at all expensive, but after I assembled it and fine tuned it I took it for a ride. About three miles of road time and I came home much more than satisfied. The wheels came trued well, the gear changers were on the money. I just needed to cant the brake pads and it was ready to go. I'm 64 years old and I felt very good from the ride and could actually gone several more miles. If you're looking for a bike that rides good and feels good on the road, this is a good choice. I would have expected a much higher price if I had not known before riding it.

Was this review helpful? (273) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chevyjunkie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent value for money
6/17/2014

Customer review by UNO2014

5.0 stars 6/17/2014 by UNO2014
by UNO2014
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bike is just great value for money its currently priced at. One would think it to be cheaply built, not exactly. This is a quality bike and has been built with almost same components as some of the more expensive brands (if you see the manual of this bike and more expensive brand - they are same, except for the cover). I stumbled on this bike as I wanted a inexpensive stater bike to see if I will keep up with cycling - no point purchasing expensive brand which I use for a week or so and then leave it to collect dust. So I thought I'd get a reasonable quality bike, see if I like cycling and then invest in a more expensive brand after 6-7 months as I get more used to cycling. This bike has set the bar high - it is smooth to peddle and gear system is smooth so no complaints there. It looks great and it is relatively light with all components working great. Only complaint is the seat - not at all comfortable. I invested in a separate gel seat cover and it has solved the problem.

Was this review helpful? (100) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UNO2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bike for the price.
6/14/2014

Customer review by ToastOfDoom

4.0 stars 6/14/2014 by ToastOfDoom
by ToastOfDoom

I just got it today. Had a lot of trouble setting it up, mostly in the front wheel and the braking system. It's the first time I've tried to build a bike though, and I'm not the most handy with a tool-belt, so that could probably also be why. I rode it around for a bit. It took rough pavement like a boss, but I think (and this also could be blamed with my assembly) the brakes were a bit sluggish, in that it would take a little bit from when I pulled them to when I actually stopped. I re-looked over the bike a few minutes ago and changed a few things around, but I haven't tested it yet, so we'll see how that goes. I don't understand the gears, and this might be that I've never used a mountain bike, but the gears tend to just fail. I'm having trouble thinking of just how to describe them, but understand they're not great, you're best off not getting fancy with them. Overall it's nice if you don't want to spend too much money, but understand there are way better bikes you can get if money's not the problem.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToastOfDoom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Un-useable - Costs more money to replace parts
6/8/2014

Customer review by ANGRYCYCLIST

1.0 stars 6/8/2014 by ANGRYCYCLIST
by ANGRYCYCLIST

Very very disappointed with this product, I've only used the bike once since I bought it last month due to the following: 1. Bike comes with bolts that have clearly been factory tightened by some sort of air gun. Impossible to get some bolts off using the recommended spanners. As a result I needed to buy more tools to just get the bolts off to start assembly. 2. After finally getting the bike together I went for my first ride. Couldn't sit on the saddle for more than 4 seconds at a time due to the terrible rock hard saddle. Might as well be sitting on a aluminum block. Shocking - Again more money to replace the saddle. 3. Over the course of the next 3 days, both tyre tubes burst (WHILE THE BIKE WAS JUST SITTING IN MY LIVING ROOM!) - More money again for 2 new tubes. 4. Got the tubes, went to take the back wheel offer. REFER TO POINT 1 - NOT ABLE TO REMOVE BACK BOLTS. In summary - might as well just spend the extra $100 on getting a better bike. Walmart should not be selling rubbish like this.

Was this review helpful? (42) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ANGRYCYCLIST
Would recommend to a friend? No
price/value ratio is unbeatable
5/14/2014

Customer review by tom2r

4.0 stars 5/14/2014 by tom2r
by tom2r
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought already my third. Always use them for vacation. So much cheaper compared to renting. However you need to know how to set up a bike. It is absolutely normal that a bike needs frequent adjustment during the first weeks. The parts are ok, the weakest item is the right grip shift. It will not last long but can easily be replaced. Taller persons may want a larger saddle post. The first two bikes were out of the shop, this one came in a box. The box was slightly damaged and half open but the items were all included (bound together with plastic wraps) except for the tools. You need a set of Allen keys and wrenches and a screwdriver, perhaps pliers too. And some air. It took me about two hours until everything ran smoothly. Don't forget to take the tools with you on your first excursion. The price/value ratio is unbeatable and one has to feel sorry for the people who had to build it at this price or ashamed for buying it anyway.

Was this review helpful? (59) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tom2r
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bike for the price! Even for a bigger guy!
4/22/2015

Customer review by McSandersbro

4.0 stars 4/22/2015 by McSandersbro
by McSandersbro

Ok so I have owned this bike for a few days and here is what I have to say. First of all, let me say that I normally do not write reviews, but to help some other guys make a decision a little easier I would do this. 1. I am 6' tall and 215 lbs. of pure man and this bike is a good size for me. It is rated for people up to 6'2". 2. The overall quality of the bike is pretty impressive for $80. I didn't want to go crazy on the price, not because I am cheap, but because I simply wanted something that I could go bike riding with my 3yr old son and nothing else more. This bike is a basic mountain bike with a good look to it. 3. If it comes assembled already, make sure when you get it home that you tighten up and adjust every bolt and screw on the bike. My front tire was installed backwards, the handlebar loosened up on my first ride, and the brakes needed adjustment amongst a few other things. If you are not mechanically inclined, then just take it to a bike store and get it tuned...beware they may laugh at you because after all it is a Roadmaster. I hope this helps whoever is interested in the bike. I spent a few weeks researching and I couldn't find anything out there that was as inexpensive and had such a good quality to it.

Was this review helpful? (679) (66)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McSandersbro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I know it is only $80 but....
9/28/2014

Customer review by Kaspasia

1.0 stars 9/28/2014 by Kaspasia
by Kaspasia

I bought this bike based on having high ratings for such a low price and even with the good reviews I didn't expect this to be a bike to last over the long haul but hoped for a year or two. We live in the northeast so he can only ride a bike about seven or eight months of the year. He did use it a lot this summer but we live in the city so he mostly rides on a bike path, not exactly rough terrain. I bought this bike on July 9, 2014 and by the end of August it was unusable. The brake wires just shredded and there were issues with the steering. Not being a bike aficionado I can't give a lot of details about what went wrong but suffice it to say it became nonoperational very quickly. I just replaced it with the Mongoose Ledge 2.1 and I'm hoping for better luck. Whatever bike you buy I highly recommend the replacement plan. While my son's bike was still within the return period for about a $10 to $20 investment (based in the price of the bike) you can have the bike replaced if anything goes wrong within 2 years. Having this definitely gives me peace of mind!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaspasia
Boston MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good bike for a great price
7/22/2014

Customer review by JandP4

5.0 stars 7/22/2014 by JandP4
by JandP4

I picked this bike up to supplement my running program. It works perfectly for me; 2-3 days a week riding, mostly paved road usage with some light grave/dirt roads and trails thrown in for variety. The seat is uncomfortable and the shifters aren't user friendly. Tires seem a bit cheap but they hold air. I'll replace the seat in a few weeks and I'll deal with the shifters. For $80 out the door, its a steal. You'd be hard pressed to find a decent, functional bike for this price at a pawn shop or second hand store. The money you save can go towards a nice seat, bottleholder or whatever. This isn't a trail-rated bike and you aren't doing it or yourself any favors by thinking it is. Some reviewers claim it can handle hard riding, others say no. I have had no problems so far but I'm not beating the snot out of it. When and if I do have a breakdown, I'll fix it. Don't forget to pull all those stupid warning stickers off!

Was this review helpful? (28) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JandP4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broke it in hard, came out like a champ.
4/4/2014

Customer review by slavestudentou2011

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by slavestudentou2011
by slavestudentou2011

I bought this bike to replace a "daily driver" huffy bike from 2011. It was in need of a full rebuild, and the parts costs outweighed the price with tax for this brand new Roadmaster. My brake in ride was 7-8 miles on gravel, dirt, choppy concrete and even a little mud/wet grass. Mine also came equipped with the Shimano gears, which some reviewers noticed lacking from their model. This bike is up for the challenge, and I think it will last me a while (though in perspective) I ride about 14 -20 miles per day by bike and replace tires every 60-90 days. Great deal! I normally don't write reviews either, but for the value I'm hard pressed to admit there is a better alternative!!!

Was this review helpful? (398) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slavestudentou2011
Norman OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Economical and solid bike.
7/25/2014

Customer review by mcscookiejar

4.0 stars 7/25/2014 by mcscookiejar
by mcscookiejar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a solid bike for the price. I purchased this bike mainly for the frame and gear ratios and I am not disappointed. I have severe back problems and needed exercise but walking can be hard on me so I decided to try a bike. I changed the seat and handlebars to make it more comfortable for my situation though the original setup would be quite adequate for most people. I have to say that when it arrived I was quite impressed with the quality of this bike. I put the bike together without reading the instructions easily enough, but then as a teenager I worked at a department store and assembled many bikes so I had experience. I am 5' 10" and weigh 265 lbs. and I ride it almost every day on a hilly road with minimum problems from the gear shift (I am still adjusting them). If you are looking for an inexpensive solid bike you really should check this one out!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcscookiejar
Vancleave, Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke within first month
9/10/2014

Customer review by philip148

2.0 stars 9/10/2014 by philip148
by philip148
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My freewheel just broke inside. I didn't realize it right away. The bike just kind of made clunking noise and by the time I did notice there was something really amiss it was beyond the 6 month walmart return policy. I was able to get a new freewheel under warranty from pacific cycle. That one also went south after just one week. I think the quality of the bike and alignment of the frame to the parts is just so poor that the parts don't hold up very well. I would say be very wary and check over your bike really thoroughly after 5 months. If you see anything that looks like it is breaking just bring the whole thing back for a refund. I won't waste my time with a bike of this low quality again. Very disappointed. I really thought I was saving money and getting a half decent bike for exercise. I did neither. I lost money on the bike because it wasn't worth paying for repairs and I didn't get to ride it enough to exercise.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
philip148
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 647 total reviews
1-20 of 647 reviews