Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

150 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

150 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
50
1-20 of 146 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews
Simple and effective
6/12/2016

Customer review by MsB1980

5.0 stars 6/12/2016 by MsB1980
by MsB1980

I'm 36 years old and still have oily skin like a teenager. I've used tons of facial products over the years, and I've stopped buying the latest and greatest "hype" products that cost more but don't work. This cleanser is cheap and removes all of my makeup without making my skin dry. It feels clean after I wash. If you have normal or dry skin, it might not be the product for you, but I produce oil like an offshore rig. I like this better than the cream formula; it seems to rinse better.

Was this review helpful? (8) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsB1980
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this!!
7/22/2016

Customer review by pikachu12

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by pikachu12
by pikachu12

Have been using it for five years, everyday, twice a day. It always makes me feel fresh and clean. I would HIGHLY recommend especially if you have oily or combination skin (not great for dry skin)

pikachu12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
Cleanser works great for my skin!
6/29/2016

Customer review by Lisa

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Lisa
by Lisa

I have tried so many cleansers over the years and they have either made my face too dry/ squeaky clean or good moisture but not clean enough. But just happened to try Neutrogena Deep Clean and it has been working so well with my skin type. I am throwing out all of my old stuff no more searching for me!

Lisa
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Made my face tight and SWOLLEN!
4/5/2016

Customer review by Anna

1.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Anna
by Anna

I wanted to try this product because I find the wipes very good, and I like Neutrogena. However after using this cleanser I woke up with an extremely dry and itching face! My eyes were extremely swollen, my face felt so tight and I had white small dots on my forehead! At first I did not understand that it was the cleanser but after doing some research on google I found over 100 reviews of people having the same symptoms! I even found a British article specifically pointing this product out as dangerous! I stopped using this product 3 days ago and my face is not swollen anymore, but it is still extremely dry. I have to take allergy medicine and moisturize my face frequently for it to stop bothering me. I highly suggest that you look into this product ASAP because this customer experience was very scary and unpleasant.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 4/6/2016

Thanks for reaching out to us, Anna. We're sorry to hear about your experience. Everybody's skin is a little bit different, and we can assure you that this is not a typical reaction. We take matters like this seriously and would like to learn more. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. We look forward to hearing from you!

Anna
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
OUCH......
5/26/2016

Customer review by TIffani

1.0 stars 5/26/2016 by TIffani
by TIffani

I used this product about 4 times and it felt like it burnt my face. The last time I used it I could literally feel it burning my face. I woke up the next morning with dry skin and bumps all over my face.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 5/27/2016

Hey Tiffani! Thanks for taking time to reach out. We're so sorry to hear about the experience you had with our cleanser. We can assure you that this is not typical. In fact, we'd like to take the opportunity to learn more about what happened. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday so we can follow up with you. Thanks so much! We look forward to your call.

TIffani
Santa Maria
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
GOOD:)
8/21/2011

Customer review by butterflies1239

4.0 stars 8/21/2011 by butterflies1239
by butterflies1239

This has helped clear up my skin. It really does do a great job of controlling oily skin. My skin doesn't even feel or look oily anymore. It has helped in preveting break outs. However one side effect that I have experienced from using it, is that I can only use it once a day because it dries out my skin. So, I use it at night. I use face lotion too. I wait about ten minutes after I have washed my face before applying my lotion, and I use the lotion in the morning before applying my make-up. I highly recommend using face lotion with this product if you have problems with dry skin. I can defintly tell a good difference in my skin.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
butterflies1239
mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/27/2011

Customer review by Xeles

5.0 stars 10/27/2011 by Xeles
by Xeles

I had been using this for months. My face is always clear so I never even noticed. I finally ran out of this and got the other Neutrogena face soap, the original acne wash. My face immediately began peeling. I stopped using that and my face broke out like a bad rash. Next day I immediately ordered this and decided to write this review. This stuff is perfect for me. Btw, if it helps my skin is oily and dry, oily nose, dry everywhere else.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Xeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible Product!
5/6/2016

Customer review by Daniel

1.0 stars 5/6/2016 by Daniel
by Daniel

This product has caused inflammation, redness, skin peeling and burning. This is a skin peel product that burns. I do not recommend at all.

Comment from Neutrogena - 5/6/2016

Thanks for your review, Daniel! We would like to gather some more information about your experience with this product since this is not typical. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048 Mon-Fri 9AM-7PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

Daniel
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible!!!
5/2/2016

Customer review by Nicole314

1.0 stars 5/2/2016 by Nicole314
by Nicole314

My face is swollen, itchy, burning and I now have a rash. I don't have sensitive skin at all. I have used numerous products for many years and have never experienced any discomfort of any kind until now.

Comment from Neutrogena - 5/3/2016

Thanks for making us aware of this, Nicole314. It's not typical to experience a swollen, itchy, and burning face while using this product, and we want to learn more about your experience. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048 Monday-Friday between 9am-7pm ET. We look forward to speaking with you.

Nicole314
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
AMAZING..NEVER STOP MAKING IT
3/29/2016

Customer review by pikachulol

5.0 stars 3/29/2016 by pikachulol
by pikachulol

This is an amazing cleanser for oily/combination/acne prone skin. Keeps my acne at bay and kills of any before it grows out of control. I tried changing my cleansers after I ran out but nothing could control my acne and keep my skin so clear and almost flawless like this cleanser does. I really hope they never stop making this or change the formula because im a customer for life.

pikachulol
US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
This has been my go to product for many years!
3/21/2016

Customer review by cmoore

4.0 stars 3/21/2016 by cmoore
by cmoore

I absolutely love this product! It makes my face look and feel refreshed. Most importantly it does even my complexion! I rarely get pimples, but when I do I always pop them. This leaves a dark spot on my face. I use the Neutrogena Deep Clean Facial Cleanser and the dark spot becomes lighter and lighter with each wash. This product does dry out the skin so I try to use a half a pump for each wash. I only use once a day and give my face a break from this product on the weekends.

Comment from Neutrogena - 3/22/2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Cmoore. We'd like to learn a bit more about your experience with our product. Please give us a call at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM and 7PM ET Monday-Friday and a specialist will gladly help you. We really appreciate you sharing this with us and look forward to your call!

cmoore
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Superb!!
9/26/2012

Customer review by Kathy

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by Kathy
by Kathy

Iam asian dan 28 years old, living in Malaysia (pretty hot and humid here most of the times). I first bought this product when I was 15 years old and it helps me a lot with my oiliness in my teenage years. Iam 28 but I still use it, especially in the evening after work to remove my makeup, oil and dirt. Now that Iam married, I influenced my husband to use it for his face. He has oily skin, with blackheads on forehead and nose. It works great on him too!! I believe that the Salicylic Acid really does helps in clearing the pores and regulates the oil as well as sebum. He no longer suffers from "over-shininess" during the day. Am still trying to coax him into using them twice daily though. You know how some men are not really into this skincare thingy. But I would definitely recomend this to anyone with oily skin. I also wish Neutrogena would come up with a smaller size bottle for travel purposes.

Kathy
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
This stuff broke me out...
8/4/2012

Customer review by AquaLady

2.0 stars 8/4/2012 by AquaLady
by AquaLady

I have been using Neutrogena Deep Clean Cream cleanser for years, & I love it, except that it would leave my skin oily looking a few hours after I used it. So I decided to try this Deep Clean (non cream) cleanser instead, hoping that it would decrease the oil build up. And it definitely does help with oily skin, but for me its too drying. My skin feels very dry & tight and now I'm having more breakouts than when I started this cleanser. My skin hasn't been this broken out since I was a teenager, and I'm not happy with it. So I'll be switching back to the Cream cleanser again. I love Neutrogena products, and since this was the from the same brand I thought it would keep my skin clean & clear like the cream cleanser always has. But instead, it's given me new pimples all over my cheeks & jawbone. I never thought I had sensitive skin, but I think this cleanser is just too harsh for my skin type.

AquaLady
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
My face is itching
3/22/2016

Customer review by Lovely28

1.0 stars 3/22/2016 by Lovely28
by Lovely28

I used this product 3 times at the first it feel good my face but after the third used my face was red and itching bad; I always read the reviews before I buy a product of course not for this one. I went to the web site and check reviews OMG why is this product still on the stores they should remove it ASAP. Don't used his product.

Comment from Neutrogena - 3/23/2016

Thank you for your review, Lovely28. We want you to know that this reaction is truly not typical of our products, and we'd like to learn more about your specific bottle of product. Please call us at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday, 9AM to 7PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

Lovely28
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Oily
Gender:Female
neutrogena facial cleaner
1/15/2016

Customer review by Firewalker

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Firewalker
by Firewalker

This a great product, we have teenager girls and during this time in their lives they experience oil that are hard for other cleaners to wash away and they find that this product works well for them and i love the price compared to higher prices of other cleaners .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Firewalker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love
3/30/2016

Customer review by ginnyv85

5.0 stars 3/30/2016 by ginnyv85
by ginnyv85

I have been using this cleanser for years. I love it. I have sensitive skin and it cleanses without irritation or breakouts. Removes my makeup well.

ginnyv85
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Skin type:Combination
Gender:Female
Finally, clean AND smooth skin!
8/12/2011

Customer review by Kristen

5.0 stars 8/12/2011 by Kristen
by Kristen

I always check out product reviews online before purchasing any type of product. When researching this cleanser I was a little reluctant to purchase it because it didn't really advertise as being meant for eliminating acne. Over about the past half year my acne has mostly vanished, however I still get the occasional minor breakout, and little bumps that keep my skin from being smooth. I have very oily skin in the t-zone, and this product keeps my face from looking like an oil slick. :) As a bonus it leaves my skin incredibly soft, smooth, and zit free! It gives me a smooth canvas to put makeup on. I've used Neutrogena for a few years now, and it works better for my skin than any other brand. Along with this cleanser, (which I used just to wash my face in the morning) I also use the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash daily scrub, and the Oil-Free Moisturizer for Sensitive Skin at nighttime. Lastly, I also use their Rapid Clear 2-in-1 Fade & Fight Gel when needed. I am very impressed with their Deep Clean cleanser, and I will continue to use it along with their other products. Thank you Neutrogena!

Kristen
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ruined my skin
11/29/2015

Customer review by cnagirl5

1.0 stars 11/29/2015 by cnagirl5
by cnagirl5

I have always loved Neutrogena and the products. I bought this product as I've had a month of problems with my skin; figuring this would possibly help, as Neutrogena has always help with my acne as a teenager. So I used this product once, and my skin felt great. The second use wasn't that bad, I noticed some burning but thought that my skin was just so dry that I'd double up on lotion, that was Neutrogena Daily Moisturizer. Nope, third use was horrible! My eye's began to burn and my face was swollen and terribly dry and was bright red all day (totally embarrassing) and it was also full of bumps. Immediately stopping using product and my face is still messed up after two days! It's so dry and burning to even put anything on. Wouldn't ever recommend this product!

Comment from Neutrogena - 11/29/2015

We're sorry to hear about this, cnagirl5. We definitely wouldn't expect you to experience a burning sensation while using our products, and we want to learn more. Please call our consumer care center at 1-800-582-4048, Monday through Friday 8AM to 8PM ET. We look forward to hearing from you!

cnagirl5
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Skin type:Dry
Gender:Female
Love this cleanser!
3/28/2016

Customer review by GJJC

5.0 stars 3/28/2016 by GJJC
by GJJC

I have very oily skin and this product is great to deep clean and remove the oil. It is the only cleanser I use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GJJC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My skin is dry, tight and rashy!
5/6/2014

Customer review by Kitty

1.0 stars 5/6/2014 by Kitty
by Kitty

I've used other Neutrogena products (Visibly Even) and decided to buy Deep Clean Facial Cleanser. By the second day, i felt tightness and itchy around my mouth and chin. By the third day, my skin had completely broken out into fine bumps all over and is dry. My family says I look older as my face seems puffy, very dry and almost cracked. I am disappointed in this product. The directions merely say to use less frequently if dryness or irritation occurs. There is no contra-indications or clear guidelines for use. Example: that it's specifically for problem skin or how often it must be used. Most of your other products clearly state, 'use morning and evening'. This does not! I used it daily for 3 days. It's been a week since I've stopped and my skin has only marginally recovered! This is clearly not suitable for normal, clear skin. Terrible, misled and disappointed.

Comment from NEUTROGENA® - 5/6/2014

Thank you for taking the time to review this NEUTROGENA® product. We would like to learn more about the skin rash you had while using this product, as this is not typical of any of our products. Please call our customer care center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8AM and 8PM EST Monday through Friday. One of our care specialists will be happy to speak with you.

Kitty
Cape Town, South Africa
Skin type:Normal
Gender:Female
1-20 of 146 total reviews
1-20 of 146 reviews