Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

28 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

28 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 21 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
North & South
3/5/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The movie is a little more expensive than the movies I usually buy, but it was worth the price. I watched all 4 parts in one night. This is a great movie. I wish it had a sequel.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great movie from BBC
6/19/2008

Customer review by Britts

5.0 stars 6/19/2008 by Britts
by Britts

I couldn't wait for it to come disk by disk from Netflix so I ordered it. It is a wonderful production and similar to Pride and Prejudice but with more to it than just a love story. Enjoyed it very much!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Britts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love It
7/12/2010

Customer review by EireWoman

5.0 stars 7/12/2010 by EireWoman
by EireWoman

This a wonderful movie; worth the four hours it takes to watch it. Not just a romance, it is also a social commentary on the industrial age in England and how difficult that time period was for the factory owners and workers alike. I highly recommend it to Jane Austen lovers or lovers of classic literature!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EireWoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great movie
8/29/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Wonderful that you guys carry this product

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
fort worth tc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well Done, BBC
1/10/2013

Customer review by PopPopPhoto

5.0 stars 1/10/2013 by PopPopPhoto
by PopPopPhoto

This is the perfect mix of romance and story line. This was adapted from the book beautifully. And, like usual, the BBC did an amazing job. I originally watched this on Netflix and had to watch the entire 4 segments in one night. I laughed, I cried, and my heart skipped a few beats. Very well done. I would watch it again in an instant. This is why I am purchasing it. :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PopPopPhoto
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
N&S: Not Your Average Romantic Period Drama
4/25/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First off, period dramas are definitely my favorite genre of movie. Up until I viewed this series, "Pride & Prejudice" '95 easily took top honors as my all-time favorite! Now I'd say, it's pretty much a tie between N&S and P&P! After all these years, I've finally decided to write a little review... I found this at my local library back in 2006, and promptly took it home to watch. (At the time, the authors name didn't jog my memory. I hadn't realized that she wrote "Wives & Daughters"-- which had previously been turned into a miniseries, that I enjoyed when (PBS) Masterpiece Classic aired a few years before.) Being as I hadn't read the book prior to viewing, I had nothing to compare it to. I can't remember exactly if I watched the whole series in one sitting or not, but I distinctly recall my reaction to the ending-- I was in utter tears! Never had an ending (a happy one at least) moved me so much as this one had!! Of course, the classical score ("Northbound Train") softly playing in the background packs quite the emotional punch as well! As far as initial impressions go-- I don't think anyone in the cast disappointed me with their performance. The whole thing was expertly acted; in particular by the leads Daniela Denby-Ashe (Miss Hale), and Richard Armitage (Mr. Thornton)- both of whom were entirely unknown to me at the time. The locations, scenery, script, and musical score are all top notch! Last year I was able to finally read the book, which brought fresh understanding to its characters (especially Mr. Thornton). ..For anyone inclined, I strongly urge you to read the book; you'll get so much more out of the story if you do! (Or perhaps the audio-book if you don't want to read all 400 some pages.) Beyond just a tale of romance, and social etiquette-- the book and movie really gives you a glimpse of the great change that the industrialized age was bringing to not just England, but the rest of the world. Which in turn had an impact on society in general. It really goes without saying that life back then was extremely hard; death came at a much earlier age than nowadays! The conditions the industrialized working class had to endure obviously led many to an early grave. Workers unions were created to ensure proper working conditions, and fair wages. Also, instead of being born into privilege, one could insure their own financial independence, and social status. Just like her contemporary (and friend) Charlotte Bronte, Elizabeth Gaskell wrote strong female characters. Like "Jane Eyre" I would imagine that "Margaret Hale" was not typical of the average woman of that period (or how they were expected to behave). These characters were ahead of their times, and obviously so where the real women that wrote them--or at least aspired to be (much like Jane Austen)! **POSSIBLE SPOILERS** If I had to have one little quibble about the film verses the book, it would be the way in which the leads met. Mr. Thornton although a "bulldog" never did that to a worker (in fact, as both later portrayed, he actually struck up a friendship with Nicholas Higgins)! One hit would have gotten the point across- instead he ended up beating him! While it's entirely possible that an owner/overseer could have done that back then for the reason stated in the movie, it just wasn't in line with his character. But I guess the writers/producer/director felt that the novel's reasons Margaret took a dislike to him maybe wouldn't translate to film well--especially since the way society viewed things back then and now, are so different; and therefore had to get to the point right away by having the character do that. Although the film ending is different than the book, I have no qualms with it. Perhaps it's not the way things would have been done back then (at least in public), but in my opinion, it does convey more emotional depth than the actual book ending (which has an abrupt, almost unfinished feel to it). ___________ If you desire further understanding of the Victorian era/life, here are a few things I can recommend to view: "Who the Dickens is Mrs. Gaskell?" (found on disc 3 of "Wives & Daughters" in "The Elizabeth Gaskell Collection" dvd collection). Historical (reality) documentary shows: "Victorian Farm", "Victorian Pharmacy", "The Supersizers Go...Victorian", and "Turn Back Time: The High Street (1st Episode: Victorian Era)". There's some others I have yet to fully see; but if you search "Victorian Factory Conditions", or "Victorian Era" on places like YT, you will find clips or whole segments of documentaries on life and conditions back then! In conclusion, I feel this series definitely did the book justice, despite the 2 discrepancies. And highly recommend this miniseries to those that enjoy period dramas (particularly those by Charles Dickens, the Brontës, Thomas Hardy, William Makepeace Thackeray, Anthony Trollope, Catherine Cookson, etc.)! **ATTENTION**: As of July 2013, Acorn Media (UK) is finally releasing the 1975 BBC miniseries adaptation of "North & South" (starring Patrick Stewart and Rosalie Shanks)! If you'd like to compare the two, you will soon have the chance! I sent inquiries to both Acorn Media UK, and the North American site to find out more about its release. "AM" UK stated that their dvd was Region 2/PAL, and that I needed to contact the NA/US company to find if it would be released on a Region 1/NTSC disc. I did, and this is the import of their reply: "Unfortunately, the product you are inquiring about is currently not available from Acorn. Your request however, has been forwarded to our purchasing group who will use this information in future product decisions." So, I would suggest that you contact Acorn Media yourself if you have any interest in buying a Region 1/NTSC disc.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/24/2010

Customer review by lovesLONDON

5.0 stars 1/24/2010 by lovesLONDON
by lovesLONDON

If you like Victorian period dramas that also serve in the romance department, then this is the movie for you. It is a wonderful tale of how to perfect opposites can fall in love. I love this movie, I would share it with anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovesLONDON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice miniseries
2/1/2014

Customer review by barbiejr

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by barbiejr
by barbiejr

I saw this on the pbs channel and I loved it. I know its the usual girl doesn't like boy routine till the end but it works for me. I think the last few minutes where they finally get together and kiss is very exciting!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barbiejr
naples, florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
North and South (in England)
7/27/2014

Customer review by OwlloverSheila

5.0 stars 7/27/2014 by OwlloverSheila
by OwlloverSheila

I love this movie and then had to buy the book and also found a sequel online, which is so romantic. The kiss on the train platform scene at the end has been played over and over again by me. Set during the Industrial Revolution in England this movie tells of a Vicar, his wife and daughter moving from the south of England to Milton (Manchester) in the north, where cotton mills pollute the air and give rise to UNIONS. John Thornton, Master of one mill, meets Margaret Hale when he goes to the vicar to further his education. Their relationship is reminiscent of that of Elizabeth and Darcy in P&P. This movie is not to be confused with North and South (American Civil War) by John Jakes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OwlloverSheila
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Minisiries DVD
4/2/2013

Customer review by Let31Brave

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by Let31Brave
by Let31Brave

Richard Armitage is awesome as Mr. Thornton. I can't believe this is the same actor that plays a prince dwarf in the Peter Jackson's trilogy of The Hobbit ( Dwarf Prince Thorin).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Let31Brave
Whittier, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Very Good Movie
11/7/2007

Customer review by DesertChild

5.0 stars 11/7/2007 by DesertChild
by DesertChild

When I first saw this movie, I so thoroughly enjoyed it, that I had to have it as a part of my collection. It was wonderful to see that WalMart carried this product. If you enjoy the movies based on the books by Jane Austin, you will enjoy this movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesertChild
Elko, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
You Will Love It
11/12/2007

Customer review by hereandnow

5.0 stars 11/12/2007 by hereandnow
by hereandnow

BBC puts on great stuff. you will love this drama/romance movie. So many different twist and turns. If you like Pride and Prejudice you fall in love with this movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hereandnow
omaha, ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Love this movie
11/17/2007

Customer review by youngwriter

5.0 stars 11/17/2007 by youngwriter
by youngwriter

I love classics and this movie is really well done. I am reading the book now and seeing the differences, but I still love the movie.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
youngwriter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/26/2012

Customer review by lunalovegood

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by lunalovegood
by lunalovegood

This is a very good adaption of Elizabeth's book.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lunalovegood
Superior, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lovely movie
5/12/2014

Customer review by happygoldfish

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by happygoldfish
by happygoldfish

Loved the book & loved this adaptation! The ending is different from the book, but nonetheless very romantic!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happygoldfish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
North and South BBC
9/14/2010

Customer review by romanicatheart

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by romanicatheart
by romanicatheart

This movie meet all my expectations for a historical romance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
romanicatheart
Shelby, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/2/2012

Customer review by PageBurner

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by PageBurner
by PageBurner

This is a great miniseries. Yes, there's a romance, but this story has so much to offer a viewer. The story is darker and deeper as it explores class differences among the poor and the upper class. The acting is top notch as well, and the lead actors have great chemistry. Super entertainment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PageBurner
MKassachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Wonderful dvd, thank goodness walmart had it!
1/20/2013

Customer review by lindseynaom

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by lindseynaom
by lindseynaom

This is a wonderful dvd. I wish they kept it in stores.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lindseynaom
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute romantic movie
11/22/2014

Customer review by Chitadetroit

4.0 stars 11/22/2014 by Chitadetroit
by Chitadetroit

I seen this movie on BBC network. I really enjoyed the movie the only problem is that the DVD is fuzzy doesn't give a clear picture so I will return the movie and purchase another one from Walmart. What I did like was that the was deliver list quick.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chitadetroit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good Movie
1/1/2009

Customer review by Popscicle

4.0 stars 1/1/2009 by Popscicle
by Popscicle

North and South is not quite Pride and Prejudice; however, it is a very good movie/mini-series.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Popscicle
Pekin, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews