Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 313 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

313 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

313 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
193
4 stars
71
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
33
1-20 of 266 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 266 total reviews
1-20 of 266 reviews
Finally - A Breadmaker I am Very Happy With
8/12/2007

Customer review by VicW

4.0 stars 8/12/2007 by VicW
by VicW

I've owned a couple of much more expernsive Zojirushis, but I am much happier with the bread loaves produced by the Breadman. I've made several 1 lb and 1 1/2 lb loaves, using the White and the Caraway Rye recipes, exactly as specified, and they have all been perfectly cooked, with a nice soft crust (I never could accomplish that with the other breadmakers). I love the extensive, and reliable, recipe book included with the breakmaker, in fact I had been using the downloaded pdf version of the same book from the Salton site with my Zojiruchis, previously. The Breadman has an oven light that is a bit of a joke. It lights when the top is lifted slightly, but it is so faint that it is pretty useless, but that is a minor quible. I like the fact that the unit has individual cycles for every size and variety of loaf, which seems to help to insure a properly cooked loaf every time. The layout of the loaf pan results in a 1 lb. loaf that is nicely proportioned for use in a toaster, but the 1 1/2 lb. loaf comes out very tall. All in all, I'm delighted with the Breadman, especially considering the fact that it cost me about 1/3 the price of my most recent Zoji.

Was this review helpful? (133) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VicW
Southern Pines, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Super Machine
12/9/2008

Customer review by IronChef101

5.0 stars 12/9/2008 by IronChef101
by IronChef101

Picked up this bread maker and had the first loaf of bread cooking right off. Never used a bread maker before, and was pleased with the unit. It makes a superb loaf of bread! The fit and finish was 1st rate. However, having read reviews prior to purchase, I made sure that the two side "ears" of the bread pan were perpendicular to the pan, and would lock in to the side locators of the unit. A quick adjusment with needle nose pliers made it perfect. The controls do require reading the manual, which as a man, I hate to do. Swallow the pride and DO READ IT! Things go smoothly once you do. I have cooked quite a few loaves so far, and can't say enough positives about it. The bread and the operation of the TR2500BC have been top notch. The bread pan has remained clamped even during some serious kneeding of heavy dough. The stainless steel shell is sleek and easy to maintain. Have even made some "Cinnabon" Clone cinnamon rolls using the dough making feature and they turned out fantastic. My wife has become a fan and will certainly take over the bread making when I have lost interest and moved on to some other interest. We are quite pleased with this unit!

Was this review helpful? (109) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IronChef101
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't be counted on.....
10/20/2009

Customer review by ShopperTen

3.0 stars 10/20/2009 by ShopperTen
by ShopperTen

I am on my second Breadman machine. They both have had the same problem. When the machi ne enters it's kneading cycle, many times the force of the kneading will cause the pan to pop up. It no longer has contact with the mechanism that rotates the kneading blade and stops (althought the machine continues throught it's whole program). This has happend a few times now when I set the timer and wake up to find an unmixed loaf of half made dough in the machine. A second problem has popped up: the dispenser does not pop open to add the seed/nuts/ raisons, etc... although I do set the Extras button correctly. It seems to 'stick' ever since I had raisons in there. It does make good bread -when it works right-but as this is the second one, I can only assume there is a defect in the design and am going to try a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (79) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopperTen
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great programmable machine
2/17/2010

Customer review by 2Lazy

5.0 stars 2/17/2010 by 2Lazy
by 2Lazy

I bake gluten free bread for my wife and neighbor and the results are great. It is great to be able to adjust programs. I keep house cool in winter so I programmed 12 minute pre-heat while warming liquid ingredients. I also increased rise time from 12 to 35 minutes and increased bake time from 52 to 55 minutes. I buy gluten free Bob's Red Mill - Homemade Wonderful Bread Mix at our local Walmart and it makes great tasting bread.

Was this review helpful? (51) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2Lazy
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Simple To Use - Great Results!
2/17/2008

Customer review by XsTech

5.0 stars 2/17/2008 by XsTech
by XsTech

This product is great! It's like having a bakery in your home. Pros: Just add ingredients and select the correct settings for bread type, size and crust. Doesn't heat up your kitchen like an oven. Fresh 2 lb bread in two hours! Cons: Must press the bread pan down FIRMLY into machine to lock into place. A little noisey during kneading process, but what countertop applicance isn't noisy.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XsTech
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A must for every kitchen.
11/10/2007

Customer review by PRLovesToShop

5.0 stars 11/10/2007 by PRLovesToShop
by PRLovesToShop

It's beautiful and elegant enough that it goes with any decor. Does exactly what I bought it for (make bread) and much more.I didn't rate the durability bacause I have only had it a couple of weeks.But because of the job it has done for me since I got it, I would recommend this product to anyone that is thinking about getting a bread maker.

Was this review helpful? (60) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PRLovesToShop
Springfield,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
As Expected
5/5/2010

Customer review by Rdy2Retire

5.0 stars 5/5/2010 by Rdy2Retire
by Rdy2Retire

I found this product to be as I expected. I was specifically looking for a gluten free setting, which was an option on this machine. I like the loaf pan which is shaped in a more traditional bread loaf style.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rdy2Retire
Ozark< MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1/14/2008

Customer review by LittleCBF

4.0 stars 1/14/2008 by LittleCBF
by LittleCBF

Novice breadmaker - recieved as gift - didn't know what to expect but really pleased with end result. The smell of fresh-baked bread is amazing. I have nothing to compare it to but I really like how this makes bread. Very happy with my Breadman!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleCBF
NW PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
5/31/2008

Customer review by Ilikebread

5.0 stars 5/31/2008 by Ilikebread
by Ilikebread

Have had this Bread maker for 4 months and it is a great machine. Many say they could not press the bread bucket down to lock, I had the same problem until I pressed the left wall in, with my thumb while pushing the bucket down with the right hand. It snapped into place. Then be sure to see that it is centerd in each lock area, left and right, It makes great bread. I just removed a 2lb loaf out just now. I Highly recommend this Breadmaker

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ilikebread
Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Yummy Bread
4/4/2011

Customer review by BusyMomofTwoPlusOne

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by BusyMomofTwoPlusOne
by BusyMomofTwoPlusOne

We purchased this bread maker a few months ago and have been very pleased. The bread is yummy and the maker is simple to operate. It is also a very attractive addition to our kitchen. We have stainless steel appliances so it fits right in even though I keep it stored in our pantry when not in use. I have only two complaints. (1) There is a misprint in the recipe section of the owner's manual for the 'white bread'. Salt is missing from the ingredient list. After one batch of saltless bread, I quickly discovered the error, compared the recipe to other recipes in the book and made the correction. (2) The maker is pretty noisy during operation. This isn't much of a problem and probably would not have been noticed at all except that we borrowed an older model Oster bread maker from a friend to try it out before buying our own maker. The Oster was much quieter. I would recommend this maker. My daughters and husband love the bread and now request that all sandwiches be made with "Mommy's Bread".

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusyMomofTwoPlusOne
Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
poorly made
4/21/2010

Customer review by dove77

3.0 stars 4/21/2010 by dove77
by dove77

Purchased this product about a year ago. In first three months had problem with the baking pan staying locked down. Apperently a common problem, as there were instructions to pull side tabs out to lock in. After doing this about every third time, was afraid of bracking tabs off. Now I have the lid set on the pull handel to keep pan 'down'. Love the machine, and the recipes. It is a shame that a better lock down for the pan is not provided.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dove77
tenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do NOT buy this machine!
10/21/2008

Customer review by familyjeans

1.0 stars 10/21/2008 by familyjeans
by familyjeans

This is the second breadmaker I've owned, and I consider myself a seasoned home baker. The first machine I had was a wonderful GE 2lb horizontal that I literally wore out over the course of 7 years or so. GE no longer makes a bread machine, or I'd buy another one of theirs. The Breadman TR2500BC is by far the worst bread machine I've ever seen. It has a lot of great features, but the pan pops out of the clips while mixing, it is HORRIBLY loud - even my husband has complained about it. You have to literally stand there and hold the pan in place - clips are very cheaply put together. It's going back to the store tomorrow, and I'll keep looking or start making bread by hand. There's got to be a better option than this!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
familyjeans
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
12/23/2011

Customer review by cklkitty

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by cklkitty
by cklkitty

This breadmaker is a lot better than i expected. I bake my fresh bread few times a week now. It has a lot choices for me to pick each time. It is easy to use and easy to clean. I love this product

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cklkitty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fresh bread for half price
1/22/2009

Customer review by LifeShouldBe

4.0 stars 1/22/2009 by LifeShouldBe
by LifeShouldBe

With the rising cost of bread, and many failed attempts of baking homemade bread, I finally invested in this breadmachine (which I swore I would never stoop to!). A couple things I found out quickly. It is serious when the directions say that you must follow them EXACTLY. I had a few failed loafs. The next thing I found out is when you make a 2lb loaf, it is near impossible to slice a piece with any conformitty. So, now after a half dozen loafs, I make only a 1lb loaf and follow the instructions exactly. It is fun to smell the fresh bread baking! I think the recipes included, are pretty slim picken, but there are many recipes online. The only other thing I find a problem is the mixing blade. On several loafs I can not get it to release the bread from the machine so I end up with a big hole in my bread. Oh well. At least I can make fresh bread now, with all of the wholesome ingredients that I want and no extra preservatives and things I can't pronounce!! I think I will keep it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LifeShouldBe
Palmyra, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Piece of junk
12/11/2007

Customer review by AbbyJ220

1.0 stars 12/11/2007 by AbbyJ220
by AbbyJ220

I couldn't get the bread pan to stay put in the machine. Every time I tried to make a loaf it would knock around inside the machine. I tried adjusting the little clips that hold the pan in place, to no avail. Thankfully I still had the box and the receipt so I returned it. I thought Breadman was supposed to be a good brand but I will never buy one of their products again.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AbbyJ220
Duluth, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My Family's Favorite Appliance
1/11/2008

Customer review by IrishTea

4.0 stars 1/11/2008 by IrishTea
by IrishTea

This is our second Breadman Ultimate. This one has new features: gluten free and low carb settings. With a son on a gluten free diet, it has been a lifesaver. The newer "four flour" GF recipies are significantly superior to store bought GF breads or earlier rice flour breads. Tip: remove the paddle during the final rise cycle of bread baking to avoid having a "key hole" shape in your loaf bottom. I make GF hamburger buns and pizza crusts ahead and fill the freezer. Our son takes his own bun/crusts into restaurants and he isn't left out. Pizza dough is the family favorite. After machine #1 broke (after 1+ year) and machine #2 arrived defective, machine #3 arrived 2 days ago. Last night was the first homemade pizza in many months. When the kids saw the pizza cooling, their expression was as excited as when they open their favorite Christmas gifts! Enjoy your machine.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IrishTea
Aptos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best price for value!
3/7/2008

Customer review by WWorldRocks

4.0 stars 3/7/2008 by WWorldRocks
by WWorldRocks

The Breadman is a versatile bread maker with more flexibility than any other I've encountered. It allows for more options to create one's own recipes. The pause feature is helpful, as well as the 60 minute blackout backup. For those who said they couldn't stop a cycle once it's started, there is actually a stop/cancel button that you can push (twice to cancel) if you start the wrong cycle. Reading the manual is essential, as the computerized functions are more complex than a traditional bread maker, so it is a bit less user-friendly. The bread pan on my machine stays locked firmly in place during kneading. That being said, one of the first loaves I made I followed a recipe included in the instruction booklet, and the bread came out delicious, but not cooked in the middle. One thing I have done since then is make sure the dough is spread evenly in the pan before the baking cycle (here is where the pause function comes in handy!). The dough was all lumped on one side in that cycle. Subsequent loaves have baked all the way through.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WWorldRocks
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Breadman Product.
12/26/2013

Customer review by buzdo

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by buzdo
by buzdo

I ordered this breadmaker to replace my old one and it works great. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to make their own bread.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buzdo
San Pedro , Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good breadmaker
3/8/2011

Customer review by countrana

4.0 stars 3/8/2011 by countrana
by countrana

Just purchased this machine in February 2011 after our 10+ year old bread machine scooted off the counter during a kneading cycle and broke. This machine offers many more settings and so far the recipes have been better. Our old machine had a verticle loaf and this one has the horizontal loaf. The end result is prettier with this new machine but because of the wider container the paddle is not able to mix all of the ingredients without help. We have to scrape the sides to mix in all the flour before it goes into bake mode. You also have to be careful to line up the paddle holder underneath the baking container with the actual machine before starting to make sure the paddle is connected properly to mix. The end results are worth these 2 minor inconveniences though.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countrana
Mansfield, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
wrong choice
6/8/2009

Customer review by austinshopper32

2.0 stars 6/8/2009 by austinshopper32
by austinshopper32

The end product was great, but whenever the bread was kneading, the basket would come out of place and stop the process. Hopefully the TR2500BC that I purchased was the only one that had that problem. I had to return it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
austinshopper32
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 266 total reviews
1-20 of 266 reviews