Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 332 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

332 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

332 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
203
4 stars
74
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 stars
36
1-20 of 285 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 285 total reviews
1-20 of 285 reviews
1/14/2008

Customer review by LittleCBF

4.0 stars 1/14/2008 by LittleCBF
by LittleCBF

Novice breadmaker - recieved as gift - didn't know what to expect but really pleased with end result. The smell of fresh-baked bread is amazing. I have nothing to compare it to but I really like how this makes bread. Very happy with my Breadman!

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleCBF
NW PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/23/2011

Customer review by cklkitty

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by cklkitty
by cklkitty

This breadmaker is a lot better than i expected. I bake my fresh bread few times a week now. It has a lot choices for me to pick each time. It is easy to use and easy to clean. I love this product

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cklkitty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Yummy Bread
4/4/2011

Customer review by BusyMomofTwoPlusOne

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by BusyMomofTwoPlusOne
by BusyMomofTwoPlusOne

We purchased this bread maker a few months ago and have been very pleased. The bread is yummy and the maker is simple to operate. It is also a very attractive addition to our kitchen. We have stainless steel appliances so it fits right in even though I keep it stored in our pantry when not in use. I have only two complaints. (1) There is a misprint in the recipe section of the owner's manual for the 'white bread'. Salt is missing from the ingredient list. After one batch of saltless bread, I quickly discovered the error, compared the recipe to other recipes in the book and made the correction. (2) The maker is pretty noisy during operation. This isn't much of a problem and probably would not have been noticed at all except that we borrowed an older model Oster bread maker from a friend to try it out before buying our own maker. The Oster was much quieter. I would recommend this maker. My daughters and husband love the bread and now request that all sandwiches be made with "Mommy's Bread".

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyMomofTwoPlusOne
Pearland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fresh bread for half price
1/22/2009

Customer review by LifeShouldBe

4.0 stars 1/22/2009 by LifeShouldBe
by LifeShouldBe

With the rising cost of bread, and many failed attempts of baking homemade bread, I finally invested in this breadmachine (which I swore I would never stoop to!). A couple things I found out quickly. It is serious when the directions say that you must follow them EXACTLY. I had a few failed loafs. The next thing I found out is when you make a 2lb loaf, it is near impossible to slice a piece with any conformitty. So, now after a half dozen loafs, I make only a 1lb loaf and follow the instructions exactly. It is fun to smell the fresh bread baking! I think the recipes included, are pretty slim picken, but there are many recipes online. The only other thing I find a problem is the mixing blade. On several loafs I can not get it to release the bread from the machine so I end up with a big hole in my bread. Oh well. At least I can make fresh bread now, with all of the wholesome ingredients that I want and no extra preservatives and things I can't pronounce!! I think I will keep it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LifeShouldBe
Palmyra, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best price for value!
3/7/2008

Customer review by WWorldRocks

4.0 stars 3/7/2008 by WWorldRocks
by WWorldRocks

The Breadman is a versatile bread maker with more flexibility than any other I've encountered. It allows for more options to create one's own recipes. The pause feature is helpful, as well as the 60 minute blackout backup. For those who said they couldn't stop a cycle once it's started, there is actually a stop/cancel button that you can push (twice to cancel) if you start the wrong cycle. Reading the manual is essential, as the computerized functions are more complex than a traditional bread maker, so it is a bit less user-friendly. The bread pan on my machine stays locked firmly in place during kneading. That being said, one of the first loaves I made I followed a recipe included in the instruction booklet, and the bread came out delicious, but not cooked in the middle. One thing I have done since then is make sure the dough is spread evenly in the pan before the baking cycle (here is where the pause function comes in handy!). The dough was all lumped on one side in that cycle. Subsequent loaves have baked all the way through.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WWorldRocks
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Finally - A Breadmaker I am Very Happy With
8/12/2007

Customer review by VicW

4.0 stars 8/12/2007 by VicW
by VicW

I've owned a couple of much more expernsive Zojirushis, but I am much happier with the bread loaves produced by the Breadman. I've made several 1 lb and 1 1/2 lb loaves, using the White and the Caraway Rye recipes, exactly as specified, and they have all been perfectly cooked, with a nice soft crust (I never could accomplish that with the other breadmakers). I love the extensive, and reliable, recipe book included with the breakmaker, in fact I had been using the downloaded pdf version of the same book from the Salton site with my Zojiruchis, previously. The Breadman has an oven light that is a bit of a joke. It lights when the top is lifted slightly, but it is so faint that it is pretty useless, but that is a minor quible. I like the fact that the unit has individual cycles for every size and variety of loaf, which seems to help to insure a properly cooked loaf every time. The layout of the loaf pan results in a 1 lb. loaf that is nicely proportioned for use in a toaster, but the 1 1/2 lb. loaf comes out very tall. All in all, I'm delighted with the Breadman, especially considering the fact that it cost me about 1/3 the price of my most recent Zoji.

Was this review helpful? (154) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VicW
Southern Pines, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Super Machine
12/9/2008

Customer review by IronChef101

5.0 stars 12/9/2008 by IronChef101
by IronChef101

Picked up this bread maker and had the first loaf of bread cooking right off. Never used a bread maker before, and was pleased with the unit. It makes a superb loaf of bread! The fit and finish was 1st rate. However, having read reviews prior to purchase, I made sure that the two side "ears" of the bread pan were perpendicular to the pan, and would lock in to the side locators of the unit. A quick adjusment with needle nose pliers made it perfect. The controls do require reading the manual, which as a man, I hate to do. Swallow the pride and DO READ IT! Things go smoothly once you do. I have cooked quite a few loaves so far, and can't say enough positives about it. The bread and the operation of the TR2500BC have been top notch. The bread pan has remained clamped even during some serious kneeding of heavy dough. The stainless steel shell is sleek and easy to maintain. Have even made some "Cinnabon" Clone cinnamon rolls using the dough making feature and they turned out fantastic. My wife has become a fan and will certainly take over the bread making when I have lost interest and moved on to some other interest. We are quite pleased with this unit!

Was this review helpful? (121) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IronChef101
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't be counted on.....
10/20/2009

Customer review by ShopperTen

3.0 stars 10/20/2009 by ShopperTen
by ShopperTen

I am on my second Breadman machine. They both have had the same problem. When the machi ne enters it's kneading cycle, many times the force of the kneading will cause the pan to pop up. It no longer has contact with the mechanism that rotates the kneading blade and stops (althought the machine continues throught it's whole program). This has happend a few times now when I set the timer and wake up to find an unmixed loaf of half made dough in the machine. A second problem has popped up: the dispenser does not pop open to add the seed/nuts/ raisons, etc... although I do set the Extras button correctly. It seems to 'stick' ever since I had raisons in there. It does make good bread -when it works right-but as this is the second one, I can only assume there is a defect in the design and am going to try a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (89) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperTen
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bread maker
7/7/2016

Customer review by KimMc

5.0 stars 7/7/2016 by KimMc
by KimMc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have only made a few loaves of bread so far, but even the first loaf turned out great! Easy clean up. Doesn't 'walk' across counter during mixing. Relatively quite operation. So far, I'm loving it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KimMc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Family's Favorite Appliance
1/11/2008

Customer review by IrishTea

4.0 stars 1/11/2008 by IrishTea
by IrishTea

This is our second Breadman Ultimate. This one has new features: gluten free and low carb settings. With a son on a gluten free diet, it has been a lifesaver. The newer "four flour" GF recipies are significantly superior to store bought GF breads or earlier rice flour breads. Tip: remove the paddle during the final rise cycle of bread baking to avoid having a "key hole" shape in your loaf bottom. I make GF hamburger buns and pizza crusts ahead and fill the freezer. Our son takes his own bun/crusts into restaurants and he isn't left out. Pizza dough is the family favorite. After machine #1 broke (after 1+ year) and machine #2 arrived defective, machine #3 arrived 2 days ago. Last night was the first homemade pizza in many months. When the kids saw the pizza cooling, their expression was as excited as when they open their favorite Christmas gifts! Enjoy your machine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IrishTea
Aptos, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Buy
7/24/2016

Customer review by hummingrose

5.0 stars 7/24/2016 by hummingrose
by hummingrose
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this bread maker for my daughter-in-law, she loves it! With a family of 7 in the house all the time it will save them money by making their own bread. And you can't beat the aroma of fresh bread!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hummingrose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked good
6/23/2016

Customer review by Rosie

4.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Rosie
by Rosie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worked good

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice machine so far...
11/11/2011

Customer review by teacherto3

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by teacherto3
by teacherto3

I've only made one loaf of bread with the Breadman, and it was good, although one or two of the ingredients made it bitter. I'll experiment to see which caused that. The loaf turned out nice, otherwise, nicely golden and baked throughout. The machine was a bit loud during kneading, but nothing I can't live with. The only thing I'm disappointed with is that a majority of the recipes call for dry milk, which I don't usually use for baking. One really nice feature is that you can customize 5 of your own recipes, program the settings in, and save. I'm excitied to try that. Another thing that may or may not be a setback is that all the liquid ingredients are supposed to be 80 degrees when put into the bread machine. I used to put water straight from the tap into my old machine and it worked just fine. I'll do some experimenting. Maybe my tap water will work without being heated first. If not, it's only a small extra step.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
teacherto3
Kendalia, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great programmable machine
2/17/2010

Customer review by 2Lazy

5.0 stars 2/17/2010 by 2Lazy
by 2Lazy

I bake gluten free bread for my wife and neighbor and the results are great. It is great to be able to adjust programs. I keep house cool in winter so I programmed 12 minute pre-heat while warming liquid ingredients. I also increased rise time from 12 to 35 minutes and increased bake time from 52 to 55 minutes. I buy gluten free Bob's Red Mill - Homemade Wonderful Bread Mix at our local Walmart and it makes great tasting bread.

Was this review helpful? (55) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2Lazy
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Simple To Use - Great Results!
2/17/2008

Customer review by XsTech

5.0 stars 2/17/2008 by XsTech
by XsTech

This product is great! It's like having a bakery in your home. Pros: Just add ingredients and select the correct settings for bread type, size and crust. Doesn't heat up your kitchen like an oven. Fresh 2 lb bread in two hours! Cons: Must press the bread pan down FIRMLY into machine to lock into place. A little noisey during kneading process, but what countertop applicance isn't noisy.

Was this review helpful? (44) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XsTech
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Fairly easy to use
5/20/2016

Customer review by NancyG54

4.0 stars 5/20/2016 by NancyG54
by NancyG54

The bread maker was stored in my basement, when my daughter moved to CA 8+ years ago. I needed the spot so I decided to try it to see if it would still work. It works great, even after sitting unused all those years. A couple of mishaps but I've only been using it for 5 months so I'm still learning. Being newly retired, it's now part of my regular food prep. My husband loves all the fresh bread. I'm impressed that the machine is still available, and not discontinued.

NancyG54
Concord, NH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I love the Breadman!
2/21/2010

Customer review by RustyMary

5.0 stars 2/21/2010 by RustyMary
by RustyMary

Yeah, there are less costly bread machines out there, but the Breadman has it all! Not only can you make bread, but all different kinds of bread. There are great recipes for white, wheat, french, sourdough breads, but also quick breads, like cornbread, batter breads like banana. I have also make a Pineapple Coconut cake (included in the recipe book). It will also make pizza dough, rolls and the like. The neat thing it will also do is make jam (yes, like strawberry!). I haven't used that feature yet, but as soon as summer comes, we'll be making jam! It is a very handsome machine. With chrome and black, it will go with any decor, if you intend to leave it out (we put ours away, we have limited counter space). While it's processing, it does tend to rattle and bump, but that's only during the mixing process. My only complaint is that you have to use a little common sense, when the recipes calls for a Sweet Course setting, it's listed on the machine as Fruit and Nut. And when the recipe says Quick Breads Course, it's listed as Batter Breads on the machine. Other then that, I am very pleased with this machine. It is my first one and I love the ease in which it can be used!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RustyMary
Oroville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wish I could say
1/14/2008

Customer review by skychap

1.0 stars 1/14/2008 by skychap
by skychap

We received this product in a very short time, and were anxious to use it. However, when we opened the box, we could hear something rattling in the bottom of the bread machine. I removed some of the screws on the bottom plate, and a light bulb fell out! Apparently the bulb that lights the inside of the baking chamber had somehow come out of its socket. Examination revealed that there is no way to replace the bulb without extensive disassembly of the machine. We plugged the machine in, and also noticed that the display is very difficult to see. Needless to say we will be returning the product for a refund, and selecting another machine. I wish I could say that the bread was great, the machine performed flawlesly, etc. Unfortunately, I won't have that opportunity. My complements to the online shipping department of Walmart, however.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skychap
DuBois, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
As Expected
5/5/2010

Customer review by Rdy2Retire

5.0 stars 5/5/2010 by Rdy2Retire
by Rdy2Retire

I found this product to be as I expected. I was specifically looking for a gluten free setting, which was an option on this machine. I like the loaf pan which is shaped in a more traditional bread loaf style.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rdy2Retire
Ozark< MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Works great for several years
4/6/2016

Customer review by HollyandWilliam

3.0 stars 4/6/2016 by HollyandWilliam
by HollyandWilliam

I've had this (or older model) for about 8 or 9 years and it has performed flawlessly, until it didn't. In recent months the clips holding the pan in place don't do their job and the pan pops out. Before today I've been able to bend the clips to hold the pan and all was well. Today I began a loaf and the pan popped out half a dozen times in the first few minutes. It performed very well up until the last couple of months. It, along with the partially kneaded dough, is now sitting in my garbage waiting until trash pickup. I don't want to spend a fortune on a new machine and wanted another Breadman until I read the reviews. Mine lasted longer than most but I'll be moving along to a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HollyandWilliam
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 285 total reviews
1-20 of 285 reviews