Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 18 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

18 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-16 of 16 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

What a story, what a life!
6/4/2008

Customer review by mysweetadrina

5.0 stars 6/4/2008 by mysweetadrina
by mysweetadrina

This is a true story or so we are told and it doesn't really matter to me one way or the other. It's a fantastic read! Jeanette the narrator goes through her life which is mainly hardships without trying to gain sympathy but more as sharing her story and getting it out in the open. Although, very wealthy, her family grew up in poverty due to parents that were mentally unstable and not capable of giving their children the care they needed. The children raised above their parents faults every time and drew closer to each other until they were able to go out on their own. One could consider that some of this is "creative licensing" but so what? It was still fun to read. I think the only thing that bothered me about the book is that the author didn't take any of the good from her parents (there wasn't much so this would have been difficult) and never showed previous signs of really wanting to escape the philosophy's of her parents but just to escape the physical hardships. Definitely worth your time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mysweetadrina
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Read This Book
5/16/2009

Customer review by lindseyb

5.0 stars 5/16/2009 by lindseyb
by lindseyb

You won't be able to put this book down. Astonishing stories lurk around the turn of each page; you won't be able to stop until you know what happens next. Jeannette Walls is an amazing writer with an even more thrilling and amazing story. This book is uplifting and inspiring. The story had depth, growth and left absolutely nothing out. It brought me to places unimaginable and I hope one day I will be able to travel to some of them. The Glass Castle had everything from crazy family members to family members who just want to get out and forget. Growing up was an experience to be had, both amazing and difficult for the children in this novel. For example the neurotic father in the story takes his children to pet untamed lions and made them travel up and down the western US with no idea of a stable home. The reader really feels a part of the story and there are times where you will want to reach into the book and save these children. You will be shocked, warmed, dumbfounded, and enraptured by this book. It's amazing how strong people can really be and the lives that each of us lead can be so much deeper than we imagine. I would advise young readers to stay away from this book, because some of the scenes can be quite graphic, and the language is bad. I would recommend this book to teenagers and adults who are looking for a captivating read, which will keep you thinking all the way through. Read this book.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lindseyb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
According to the reviews this book is amazing..
7/8/2012

Customer review by TvThemeFan

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by TvThemeFan
by TvThemeFan

And I agree! I chose to read this book for a summer AP Lang essay. Along with this and the Handmaid's Tale I was able to really broaden my reading "Horizon" if you would say. After reading Mrs. Walls' book I was amazed at some of the things I read in her memoir including the part when she and her brother had to eat out of the dumpster in order to be fed... that broke my heart and left me dumbfounded that such things do ACTUALLY go on not only in this world but in this country. This book has made me look at life differently as a teenager. By that, I mean it has made me be more appreciative of my upbringing and be thankful for every little thing in my life even if it's not what I would've signed up for. I've realized that there will always be a time in everyone's life when you will be better off than someone else.. so be thankful for what you've got and to help you with that please read this book :)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TvThemeFan
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
A good read
7/21/2008

Customer review by Im4Him

4.0 stars 7/21/2008 by Im4Him
by Im4Him

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls must have been very difficult for her to write. Talk about a dysfunctional family! The children had a very rough upbringing since they mostly did that for themselves, but probably because of that they grew into strong adults! I enjoyed reading it and would recommend it to others. Some things were hard to read because you realize that this was a real family, not fiction.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Im4Him
Banner Elk,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Excellent book
12/7/2009

Customer review by Lovetoread789

5.0 stars 12/7/2009 by Lovetoread789
by Lovetoread789

This book was hard to put down and was one of the best books I have ever read. It was hard to believe that the author had endured so many hardships as a young child right here in the United States. The author does an excellent job of telling her story and it is hard to stop thinking about it long after you finish reading her true life story. I would say it is a "must read".

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovetoread789
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Glass Castle
11/12/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a great book. The parents of the author are unusual parents. You would expect the writer to be angry with their lackadaisical life style. Just when you think they have hit bottom, something worse comes along. This is a book you can't put down.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Spring TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
A very touching true life story
3/6/2009

Customer review by magnum24

5.0 stars 3/6/2009 by magnum24
by magnum24

After reading "The Glass Castle" I wanted to buy a copy for all of my friends. The author uses humor in such a unique way in describing her dysfunctional childhood. She is an amazing person and a very gifted author. I loved this book enough to read it more than just once. It's a keeper.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
magnum24
Columbus, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Memoir!
2/25/2010

Customer review by kea07

5.0 stars 2/25/2010 by kea07
by kea07

This is such a wonderful book. It is hard to believe the hardships Jeannette Walls has overcome to become the lady she is today. You won't be able to put this book down! It is very touching, one you won't soon forget!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kea07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
The Glass Castles
12/1/2009

Customer review by StormyinMonroe

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by StormyinMonroe
by StormyinMonroe

Awesome...totally awesome. It was extremely hard to put down and have been sharing it with everyone I know.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StormyinMonroe
Monroe, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Great book, great price!
10/18/2010

Customer review by sweetpea21093

5.0 stars 10/18/2010 by sweetpea21093
by sweetpea21093

Awesome book, worth reading for anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sweetpea21093
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Fun Read
3/16/2014

Customer review by MsJudee

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by MsJudee
by MsJudee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

It is so well written, you just get totally wrapped up with the experiences of this family and their way of life. A different type of story and exposes a way of life most of us have not experienced; loved the author's honesty.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsJudee
Escondido, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Everybody should read!
1/26/2011

Customer review by Proudmami01

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by Proudmami01
by Proudmami01
Walmart associate

This is an amazing book. It is incredible how Jeannette Walls took her childhood and turned it into such an amazing story. I recommend reading her other book "Half Broke Horses" before you read this book.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Proudmami01
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
No shipping fee!
6/8/2011

Customer review by Kjjmia

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by Kjjmia
by Kjjmia

Great product for the lowest price in my area. No shipping fee as it was shipped to store. Timely shipping and the check out at the ship to store was super fast.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kjjmia
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Enjoying the book, very much
6/23/2013

Customer review by prupi

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by prupi
by prupi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My book arrived very fast, in excellent condition, the Guy at Walmart was very friendly.. Will most certainly buy other items and have them sent to the store..Great service..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prupi
Seaside
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Someone else has been there
12/31/2013

Customer review by pheasants

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by pheasants
by pheasants
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I can totally relate to this book. It give me incite and also provides a comfort that others have gone through similar life experiences.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pheasants
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome read. I bought it for my philosophy class.
10/28/2012

Customer review by sugah50

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by sugah50
by sugah50
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This book was in excellent condition. I paid less for this book than I would have at my school bookstore.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sugah50
Atlanta Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.