Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

100 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

100 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 stars
22
1-20 of 94 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
good product but games won't work on both screens
11/20/2007

Customer review by ay2005

4.0 stars 11/20/2007 by ay2005
by ay2005

We were very pleased with this dvd player. Our only problem is that we have two kids who wanted to play the games....this player will only allow the secondary screen to play games. So anytime they wanted to change & let one watch a movie & the other play a game, we had to stop the car & have them switch seats (which was easier than changing the dvd screens). With all the cords, it would be too hard to have a kid maneuver the switch while driving. Overall quality was good. We liked having two headsets so they could each listen to their screen & we could listen to a cd or talk. We didn't experience any of the problems that others have talked about. Another frustration is Walmart's shipping....we had to postpone our trip by a day because they didn't get it delivered as promised (and we had ordered it with plenty of time). The cords do cross the middle of the car, but each cord is needed to make the system function in so many ways. It was not a big deal to have the cords there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ay2005
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Keep the kids quiet
7/13/2007

Customer review by shopperMom55

5.0 stars 7/13/2007 by shopperMom55
by shopperMom55

This was just the right portable dvd player I was looking for. I was able to take the home movies on the road to show off to the grand parents. Even through it says that it plays dvd-r, that would depend on the the quality of the dvd-r. Headsets work great. Games could be a little more challenging or educational. It would be nice if it came with a case to carry in. For some cars or vans you will have to figure out a way to get straps around the headrest. If you do not wish to put both screens across form the other cords will stretch to the back.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopperMom55
America, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than I expected
9/19/2007

Customer review by newbieMA

4.0 stars 9/19/2007 by newbieMA
by newbieMA

After reading many mixed reviews on this page, I went ahead purchased this item, mainly because I didn't find too many better options at this price range with the same features. The installation was straightforward. Yes, there are a lot of wires, and it'd be better if they can change the connections to be at the bottom (rather than the side) of the unit. But I managed to organize the wires along the way and it doesn't look that bad at all. So far I had taken quite a few long trips and this unit had been great for my 2 and 4 year old! I had tested it with DVD, VCD, DVD-R with no issues. The things on my wish list: 1. batter, so I can shut off my car when idle; I think the unit does support that but I couldn't find the battery accessory on line; 2. remote to control the volume. I guess you then need two controls for both units. I ended using an FM module and it worked out well; 3. the last memory function just doesn't work for me, so the disc ALWAYS start from the beginning. For a peace of mind, I also purchased this "1 Year Replacement Plan for a Portable Audio Item from $50 - $149.99", which gives year 1 year replacement option after the manufacturer warranty, and it only cost $5.88. I know the turn around is probably not going to be great. I hope I don't get to use it tho.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
newbieMA
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Car Rides made easy
7/20/2007

Customer review by Spendaholic

5.0 stars 7/20/2007 by Spendaholic
by Spendaholic

This product helped me tremendously, especially with two boys under the age of 6. My boys, 2 and 5, can be pretty roudy during car rides. The two screen DVD Player takes the stress off of me having to cause an accident because I need to turn around. From now on, my roadtrips are hassle-free.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spendaholic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not what you expect!!!
9/6/2007

Customer review by Anon1

1.0 stars 9/6/2007 by Anon1
by Anon1

This product is not what it seems. There are way too many wires for a dvd car player and they have to stretch across from both ends of the seat with no other option. And the mounting straps go only from up to down not side to side which doesnt work with vehicles whose seats dont have seperate head sections. There are better options for car DVD players!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anon1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Dual DVD DUD
7/9/2007

Customer review by psu1mk

1.0 stars 7/9/2007 by psu1mk
by psu1mk

We purchased this product for our vacation trip to entertain the kids. We played about 4 DVD's total and the unit stopped working. Would not read any DVD we put in it. We even tried using it at home and still no success. Very disappointed with this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
psu1mk
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
MY KIDS LOVE IT
8/20/2007

Customer review by EricaLAM

5.0 stars 8/20/2007 by EricaLAM
by EricaLAM

Great investment for traveling. Remote Control makes it easy to handle while I'm driving. Head phones are great for when they watch a movie, but I want to listen to the radio. Nice size screens. If I could change one thing.... it would be to have velcro straps for the seats. They would hold better. But other than that.... GREAT PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EricaLAM
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great DVD Player for road trips
8/6/2007

Customer review by Daddy4shoes

4.0 stars 8/6/2007 by Daddy4shoes
by Daddy4shoes

I'm a Dad who loves electronic gadgets, and I would recommend this product to any parent who travels for long distances in a car. From the installation, loading DVD's, remote control use, and picture & sound quality were better than I expected. The only gripe I have is when you accidentally bump the power source out, or turn off your car, the DVD resets itself to the beginning. I like the credit card size remote, it helps control everything very easily from the front seat. Our 2 children where entertained the whole car trip. This product also comes with a plug in for the wall. So if you're traveling and need to continue the DVD entertainment, let's say in a hotel room, no problem.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daddy4shoes
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Road-trip Lifesaver
8/29/2007

Customer review by Mama2Boys

5.0 stars 8/29/2007 by Mama2Boys
by Mama2Boys

We recently took our 2 toddler boys (ages 1 and 2 1/2) on a 9 hour car trip, and this dvd player was a lifesaver! It was great that they each had their own screen, and mounting them on the headrests was easy. We used a cassette tape adapter to run the sound through the car stereo (and then shifted the sound to the rear speakers only so we didn't go nuts). We didn't have it on the whole time, but it helped during the rough spots. The screens are aren't big, but I think they are just right. There didn't seem to be any glare on the screens during the car ride. While we were on vacation, we also used them to watch DVDs and they were perfect size to hold on our laps.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mama2Boys
Marysville, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good player for small children
7/30/2007

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/30/2007 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This dual screen player almost met all my expectations. It won't play some DVD-R or DVD+R's, but does play others. Has to do with drive used to record the DVD and the menu format. Games are late 70's graphics and tech. At least it has an input for using a good gaming console. Inputs and outputs are great options. Used for traveling in relatives car with small child. All the wires are a pain, which is why I installed permanent flip down DVD players in our own vehicles. Quality of picture is good. Quality of output for connecting to a larger TV is good. Directions are terrible...but still a good buy...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Polaroid Dual Pros / Cons
8/23/2007

Customer review by HipDad

3.0 stars 8/23/2007 by HipDad
by HipDad

Overall, a decent picture. Sound through speakers is flat, weak. The two units can NOT operate autonomously (ie one master, one slave). One kid can watch a movie, the other can play a video game, but they must swap units if they want to switch. The set includes two headphones, video game console with games preloaded, car 12v adapter, home a/c plug, RCA cable for out to tv, straps to attach units to headrests, and cables to connect the two units together. The cables are all very short though, (ie only 4 feet) so the kids must be sitting side by side! Less than desireable at times! And your car must have back seat power source to be practical. (Or go to Radio Shack and buy a longer plug to reach from the front to the back seat(s). A word of caution - not all other DC power plugs will work; be sure to get one rated for 1200 mha). Currently retail priced at WalMart for $149, but reportedly was sold at X-Mas time for $79!! A STEAL AT THE LOWER PRICE IF YOU CAN GET IT. Other Dual units are available, generally for more money, but you may gain two fully functioning (ie seperate) units for around $185 -that aren't "joined at the hip"!. I would recommend spending a little more - and keeping them seperated! You may end up with more quiet time while driving, less fights, and happier (independant) children. But if your kids get along well and you don't want to spend any more money, this set shuold get you by.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HipDad
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Dual screen dvd's
8/6/2007

Customer review by mamaduck2

5.0 stars 8/6/2007 by mamaduck2
by mamaduck2

The dual screen dvd players are fantastic, i bought them for my two girls ages 9 & 11. they thoroughly enjoyed them while on vacation, we had a 13 hour drive. The only problem i saw with the set was the fact that only one screen can play games. this is when the fighting started. they would have to switch sides in the car for the other child to play games. the fact that while driving they are absolutely not allowed out of their seat belts started an argument over who would control the movie and who would control the games. otherwise i think it was a great investment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamaduck2
Greenville, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Flimsy and stopped working -Bad Disc error
7/30/2007

Customer review by 600HpRx7

2.0 stars 7/30/2007 by 600HpRx7
by 600HpRx7

I bought this product about 1 year ago. We never moved it and just let is stay in the vehicle. The first day the plastic latch that holds the case closed broke. We used some velcro to keep it closed. It was still a good deal until we started getting errors, bad disc. At first we would wait a few minutes and try again but kept getting the errors. We also tried other DVDs but it was the unit. It lasted about total of 1 year and was not abused. I would stay away from this item. We bought it when it was more expensive so I guess it's our loss.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
600HpRx7
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the money
1/22/2008

Customer review by GoingtoWalmart

1.0 stars 1/22/2008 by GoingtoWalmart
by GoingtoWalmart

The first time I purchased this product, it quit in a matter of two weeks. I had to return the first to get the second. Well, the second quit within a couple months. I had to go through the hassle of getting the unit repaired...just lucky I had purchased the extended warranty as well. I am awaiting my unit to come back from the servicing center now...One thing I am sure of is that I will never purchase this product again and will shop around and read reviews more thoroughly the next time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoingtoWalmart
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product for long trips
10/21/2007

Customer review by Aquarius21871

5.0 stars 10/21/2007 by Aquarius21871
by Aquarius21871

I purchased this DVD player because my family was driving to Florida and I figured it would keep the kids happy and quiet. I also figured that they could play the games when they got bored of movies. Well, it worked wonders!!!! I stocked up on DVD movies before we left and I never heard any complaints. And if one of them didn't want to watch a movie, they could just switch over to the game console and play some games. The investment for the price was well worth it to my family.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aquarius21871
Bensalem, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
stopped working
8/4/2007

Customer review by uniquenickname

1.0 stars 8/4/2007 by uniquenickname
by uniquenickname

we had a previous model dual-screen polaroid (not the one listed here); it worked fine for the 1st year or so, although we probably only used it 6-8 times; then the DC plug went bad; got around that, and it now says "bad disc" no matter what dvd disc we put in it; the warranty was only for like 90 days, so now have to purchase a new one; disappointed after not using it all that much; looking for another brand with a good history, but haven't yet found one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uniquenickname
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good idea, bad product
7/9/2007

Customer review by WallyWord101

1.0 stars 7/9/2007 by WallyWord101
by WallyWord101

I bought this product for a road trip. It worked for half the way there and quit. It kept saying bad disk regardless of what disk was put in. The game pack was really good and worked fine. The kids had a blast with it. I was very disappointed with this product. Maybe I just got a dud. I have owned two different portable dvd players and neither one of them has had a long life.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallyWord101
The Lone Star State
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product for a Great Price
8/11/2007

Customer review by GoneShoppin

4.0 stars 8/11/2007 by GoneShoppin
by GoneShoppin

We have been looking for a dual screen portable dvd to take on our summer vacation. I had borrowered a friends Polariod dvd and like the ease of use and picture clarity. The price was very reasonable for the dual screen system. It also came with games which my kids enjoyed - they are nothing hi-tech, but my kids are not in really into video games.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoneShoppin
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GOOD FOR THE PRICE
8/14/2007

Customer review by KIDSNEEDTOSEE

3.0 stars 8/14/2007 by KIDSNEEDTOSEE
by KIDSNEEDTOSEE

THE SOUND AND PICTURE QUALITY IS EXCELLENT. HOWEVER, AFTER 1 WEEK OF USE THE 2ND SCREEN STOPPED WORKING. I RETURNED IT AND ORDERED ANOTHER BUT HAVE NOT RECEIVED REPLACEMENT YET. RETURN TO THE STORE WAS PAINLESS EVEN THOUGH I ORDERED IT ONLINE. HOPEFULLY 2ND WILL WORK BETTER.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KIDSNEEDTOSEE
SNELLVILLE,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SAVIOR FOR ROAD TRIP!
7/25/2007

Customer review by Krismomofthree

5.0 stars 7/25/2007 by Krismomofthree
by Krismomofthree

Traveling 3,500 miles with three young kids bymyself proved to be challenging, but this product proved to be equally as helpful! From my 5 year old to my 8 year old the hardest challenge was making sure each child got equal time- defidently worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krismomofthree
MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews