Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 298 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

298 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

298 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
204
4 stars
59
3 stars
20
2 stars
8
1 stars
7
1-20 of 196 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews
6/1/2008

Customer review by NickNameReviewer

2.0 stars 6/1/2008 by NickNameReviewer
by NickNameReviewer

I bought this warranty because I seen that there were some customers that had trouble with the TV that was purchasing. To start with you can not see a sample of what is covered or how a problem is to be handled till after you purchase the warranty. Also, you do not get a hard copy of the warranty, you must purchase it and they email it to you and you then must print it out if you want a copy. To have any warranty work done, you must first call them and get permission to have it serviced, and they will not cover anything while there is still a factory warranty in affect, and from the way the extended warranty reads, it doesn't matter if the factory warranty fixes your problem or not, the extended warranty still won't fix it till the factory warranty is completely finished. Also, it doesn't list any local shops in the warranty that I received, but does give a number to call so they can tell you where to send the TV for warranty service.I may have not have bought this warranty if I had been able to read a copy and see it's limitations before hand.

Was this review helpful? (59) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NickNameReviewer
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Best Value
10/7/2009

Customer review by Technocratic

5.0 stars 10/7/2009 by Technocratic
by Technocratic

The best feature of this plan is that it goes into effect AFTER the one year manufacturer's warranty expires, so the TV is covered for a total of 4 years. The price of approx $45 for 3 years is also far below what can be found elsewhere, including at SquareTrade. At Best Buy a 2 year warranty would be nearly triple the cost and it goes into effect upon purchase. At SquareTrade, a 3 or 4 year warranty also goes into effect upon purchase. So what you would be buying at BB or ST is really an additional year (BB) or 2 or 3 additional years (ST) beyond the mfg's warranty. This warranty was a major factor in my decision to buy the Sony TV at Walmart. In the store, you can buy a 2 year warranty, but a 3 year warranty is available online only. As to how good the warranty is, only a warranty claim will determine that and I hope that I never need to find that out. By and large, this warranty is, compared to all the others, the best value.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Technocratic
Fairfax, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Don't be an Idiot... GET IT
8/20/2009

Customer review by brndnb

5.0 stars 8/20/2009 by brndnb
by brndnb

This plan is EXCELLENT! Here's what you should know: 1. This plan DOES NOT kick in until after the manufacturer's warranty expires (typically one year). Basically you're buying yourself 2 extra years of warranty that is actually BETTER THAN the manufacturers. 2. Yes you have to send your product somewhere, but shipping is completely paid for. They also make it easy to track the repair by giving you shipping tracking numbers and a website to see what's happening with your repair. 3. If they can't fix it, they will replace it. By replacing I mean a new ____ (whatever you got) or a check for the original amount you paid plus whatever you paid in sales tax. 4. Once you send something in, just expect to not have it for a few days. I sent an iPod in, for example, and got it back in about 2 weeks. The wait was worth it as the battery, hard drive, and outer shell were replaced with new ones! It makes too much sense to ignore. Please, if you can live without your purchase for a few weeks should it break, I'm practically begging you to get this plan. I promise you'll be sorry someday if you don't!

Was this review helpful? (32) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brndnb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/22/2009

Customer review by Keybler

3.0 stars 12/22/2009 by Keybler
by Keybler

The price of the care plan is worthwhile for the coverage with a few exceptions. Not all of the deatils of the plan are available until you purchase it, then print it yourself. Coverage begins after the manufacture warranty. All service during the manufacture warranty must go through manufacturer. Plan not used yet. Cost is less than 15% of original price. Seems worth it at this point.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keybler
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3 yr. warranty
6/17/2009

Customer review by misty1534

5.0 stars 6/17/2009 by misty1534
by misty1534

I urge everyone who buys a tv to purchase the extra warranty. They stand behind the product and will fix or replace the tv. I know this from experience. Tv's today are so expensive, you can't afford not to buy the extra warranty!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
misty1534
Sevierville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Well worth it!!
4/10/2010

Customer review by nickgbwi

5.0 stars 4/10/2010 by nickgbwi
by nickgbwi

Purchased a 32" tv with the 3 year warranty back in 2007. Last month our tv started acting up. Placed one simple phone call and got a claim started for warranty service. The process was simple and quick. Unfortunately after having the same repair issue twice within two weeks, we placed another call and we had our tv REPLACED FOR FREE!! I highly recommend buying the extended warranty through WalMart and NOT the manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nickgbwi
Sheboygan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Which is worth more, money or your sanity?
8/17/2010

Customer review by Andiepoo

2.0 stars 8/17/2010 by Andiepoo
by Andiepoo

The picture on our Vizio LCD TV went out last summer 3 days after a tree fell on our house. The house was repaired before the TV was. It took almost two months to have the television fixed. I was told the part was back-ordered. I was told the part wasn't being made anymore. I was told about a thousand different things. I made call after call to the warranty company and the service center. The service center never knew what the warranty company was doing and the warranty company never knew what the service center was doing. I had to be person to get them to talk to each other if I wanted any hope of getting my television fixed. Guess what? The same television went out again 4 days ago. The protection plan was still valid so I called and was told by the warranty company that someone would be out this morning. Well, no one had called or shown up by 10:30am so I call the service center and they state they never received anything to set up an appointment and the earliest available time they have is 8 days from now. I called the warranty company back and they told me that when I was told 4 days ago that they would come out today that it wasn't a "guaranteed" appointment. When I asked "Was anyone ever going to call and tell me?" I didn't receive a response. Then after I voiced my displeasure some more the rep offered to put me on hold and call another service center to see if they could get there more quickly than 8 days, I was disconnected. Was it on purpose? I can't say. What I can say is that you may get your television fixed for free but at a significant cost of time and patience. These people care nothing about customer service and it is obvious.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Andiepoo
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
great warranty
10/17/2009

Customer review by dajk

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by dajk
by dajk

i have used the extended warranty after owning my hd tv 2 years and the warranty is great and they do take care of you and didn't cost me even a penny don't buy without the extended warranty

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dajk
joplin,mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad warranty!
1/11/2011

Customer review by racon

1.0 stars 1/11/2011 by racon
by racon

Just in case it's not clear to anyone buying this TV warranty - if your TV is smaller than 37", they do not send a technician to your house. Instead, they mail you a box and then you package up your TV and send it off for repairs. Expect to have no TV for upwards of 3 weeks.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
racon
Would recommend to a friend? No
3 Year Extended Service Plan for a TV
5/6/2009

Customer review by ShopperInVP

3.0 stars 5/6/2009 by ShopperInVP
by ShopperInVP

Great price for this plan, but... But I find it OUTRAGEOUS that not even a piece of paper is sent out to confirm purchase of this plan!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopperInVP
Ville Platte, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a no hassles product if needed
12/16/2008

Customer review by RoudMan

5.0 stars 12/16/2008 by RoudMan
by RoudMan

I purchased one of these on another tv that required this service after 2 1/2 years of service. There was no problem with the service. This extended warranty is so cheap to buy at Wal-Mart that it is a no brainer. RoudMan

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoudMan
Longview, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Bargain insurance
12/26/2009

Customer review by TNMike

4.0 stars 12/26/2009 by TNMike
by TNMike

This is one of two extended service plans for tv's that I have purchased from Walmart. Although I have not had to use either, you can't beat the price. After I purchase the first plan, I called just to verify that I had not messed up my purchase. The tv model or serial number was not linked to the plan. The customer service rep. I talked to assured me I would have no problems if I printed the plan guidelines, kept my receipt, and kept a copy of the plan purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNMike
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3 year extended service is great:
3/6/2010

Customer review by polisuzuki

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by polisuzuki
by polisuzuki

I bought a olevia lcd tv 6 months ago. I also bought the extended warranty just in case , It was only $ 44.00 for a tv 300 to 499 dollars. My tv started to have some problems, ( turn off by itself )So I called the service center and they sent me a box thru ups to send the tv to their repair center in NJ...It took a week to receive the box , another week for them to fix the tv and finaly another week to get the tv, total of 18 days...I hightly recomend this warranty to any one ,to file athe claim was fast and simple... was fast and simple...

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
polisuzuki
miami florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Service Plan
11/28/2010

Customer review by Goldstone

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by Goldstone
by Goldstone

This plan is very inexpensive, and I jumped at the chance to purchase it. I have a 42 inch Sharp tv--Sharp sent me an e-mail trying to sell a plan like this for over $300.00. Thanks for keeping it reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Goldstone
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WALMARTS THE BEST
2/11/2011

Customer review by KEKENAN

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by KEKENAN
by KEKENAN

Purchased Panasonic 42 inch TV for my 98 year old parents for Christmas. After using the TV for about 4 weeks, the closed caption went out (with 98 years olds that are almost deaf) this is not good. Called Panasonic and they advised it was my cable box, took box back to Verizon and they said it was my TV. Had no luck with Panasonic, So I e-mailed good ole "Walmart" and as usual they stood behind their products. Within 1 week I had a new Panasonic TV, that the closed captions works and they also picked up the defective one. I would highly recommend all purchases go thru Walmart as they are the best for following thru on complaints and replacing products. A big Thanks to WALMART

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEKENAN
BRADENTON FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Will never buy another product without
8/2/2011

Customer review by billigana

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by billigana
by billigana

I had a 46" vizio for 2.5 years and the screen had a black spot on it that took up probably 33% of the screen. Turns out the panel was going out. I forgot about the warranty and thought I was going to have to buy a new TV. Grateful I kept the paperwork. Make a long story short they cut me a check for what I originally paid 2.5 years ago. They offered several very nice TV's but I wanted to be in control over what I got. It worked out great. I bought a new TV with the warranty.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billigana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't Forget the Extended Protection
12/17/2010

Customer review by PCNerdAR

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by PCNerdAR
by PCNerdAR

I purchased this protection for my SONY HDTV-LCD 40", it is essential because LCD monitors backlight will die after a while, and you will need the replacement besides the original manufacturer warranty.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PCNerdAR
Hot Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Necessary product
2/8/2009

Customer review by TVBuff123

3.0 stars 2/8/2009 by TVBuff123
by TVBuff123

This warranty is a great value. The only problem is that it is difficult to register your TV after purchase. I finally called and asked for help. I very nice associate handled the problem. Difficult to impossible to register on line

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVBuff123
Myrtle Beach SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Have it if I need it
12/14/2010

Customer review by Brennabear

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by Brennabear
by Brennabear

I like the idea that the coverage begins after the factory warrenty runs out

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brennabear
Lake ity, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Extended protection pays off
1/3/2011

Customer review by tvilleshopper52

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by tvilleshopper52
by tvilleshopper52

Our 2 1/2 year old 50" plasma wouldn't turn on. Walmart verified we were covered and started the ball rolling to get it fixed. To make a long story short: the part needed couldn't be found so Walmart replaced our TV with a brand new one. We couldn't be happier! The money spent on the extended warranty was well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tvilleshopper52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1-20 of 196 reviews